Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the first calibrator system signal” in the fourth line from the bottom. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the second calibrator system signal” in the second line from the bottom. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the first and second calibrator system signals” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is assumed that claim 17 depends on claim 16 in order to provide sufficient antecedent basis
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu CN109683176 in view of Kallio US20050179888.
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhu discloses, in Figure 1,
A lidar assembly (Zhu; Fig. 1) for atmospheric measurements (Zhu; abstract: “laser radar cloud aerosol”), the lidar assembly comprising:
for collimating a transmitter beam (Zhu; emitting light path 1) originating from a first focal point (Zhu; emitting light path 1) within the lidar assembly to illuminate a target (Zhu; abstract: “monitoring of aerosol cloud”) at a distance from the lidar assembly and for focusing a backscattered light (Zhu; receiving path 2) from the target to a second focal point (Zhu; receiving path 2) within the lidar assembly;
a transmitter (Zhu; seed laser 101), arranged in said first focal point, for generating said transmitter beam for transmission towards (Zhu; Fig. 1);
a receiver (Zhu; telescope 201), arranged in said second focal point, for capturing said backscattered light entering the lidar assembly (Zhu; Fig. 1);
a beam reflector (Zhu; dichroic mirror 402), arranged between the first focal point and the, for reflecting the backscattered light towards said second focal point such that the beam reflector allows the transmitter beam to reach (Zhu; Fig. 1);
a beam sampler (Zhu; reflector 401), arranged between the beam reflector and the, for reflecting a portion of the transmitter beam as a calibrator beam (Zhu; Fig. 1); and
an optical arrangement (Zhu; offline monitoring light path 401) for transferring the calibrator beam towards a selected one of a plurality of targets (Zhu; sampling mirrors 403 and energy meter probes 404) in a calibrator subsystem (Zhu; page 4/14 “3. offline monitoring path can be used periodically to calibrate the seed laser, light path, to improve the accuracy and reliability of measurement.”) wherein said plurality targets include at least the following:
a first scattering plate (Zhu; the first one of two sampling mirrors 403) arranged to produce a diffuse reflection of the calibrator beam meeting its surface, thereby invoking a backscattered calibrator beam for transfer to the receiver via said optical arrangement, via the beam sampler and via the beam reflector (Zhu; Fig. 1), and
at least one element arranged to prevent provision of the backscattered calibrator beam (Zhu; energy meter probes 404).
Zhu is silent regarding a primary lens assembly.
Kallio teaches a primary lens assembly (Kallio; Fig. 3; collimating lens 33; [0043] lens 33 provides “the principle refraction of the light”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lidar assembly as taught by Zhu to include the primary lens assembly as taught by Kallio for the purpose of providing the principle refraction of the light (Kallio; [0043] lens 33 provides “the principle refraction of the light”).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein the beam reflector comprises a mirror (Zhu; dichroic mirror 402) to enable at least a portion of the transmitter beam to travel through the mirror towards the primary lens assembly.
Modified Zhu does not teach wherein the beam reflector comprises a mirror provided with a hole to enable at least a portion of the transmitter beam to travel through the mirror towards the primary lens assembly.
Kallio teaches wherein the beam reflector comprises a mirror provided with a hole to enable at least a portion of the transmitter beam to travel through the mirror towards the primary lens assembly (Kallio; Fig. 3; [0042-0043] mirror 34 with a hole for the purpose of providing the desired “division between two focal points”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mirror as taught by Modified Zhu to additionally include a hole as taught by Kallio for the purpose of providing an additional/redundant means to achieve the desired division between two focal points (Kallio; Fig. 3; [0042-0043] mirror 34 with a hole for the purpose of providing the desired “division between two focal points”).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein the optical arrangement (Zhu; offline monitoring light path 401) is arranged to focus the calibrator beam on the surface of the first scattering plate (Zhu; one of two sampling mirrors 403) when the calibrator beam is transferred towards the first scattering plate (Zhu; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 3, wherein said plurality of targets (Zhu; sampling mirrors 403 and energy meter probes 404) comprises a second scattering plate (Zhu; the second/other one of two sampling mirrors 403) for producing a diffuse reflection of the calibrator beam meeting its surface, and the optical arrangement (Zhu; offline monitoring light path 401) is arranged to focus the calibrator beam behind the surface of the second scattering plate when the calibrator beam is transferred towards the second scattering plate (Zhu; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein the optical arrangement (Zhu; offline monitoring light path 401) is arranged to focus the calibrator beam behind the surface of the first scattering plate (Zhu; the first one of two sampling mirrors 403) when the calibrator beam is transferred towards the first scattering plate (Zhu; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein said at least one element arranged to prevent provision of the backscattered calibrator beam comprises a light detector element (Zhu; energy meter probes 404) to facilitate estimating optical energy conveyed by the calibrator beam and wherein at least one of the following applies: the optical arrangement is arranged to focus the calibrator beam off the surface of the light detector element when the calibrator beam is transferred towards the light detector element (Zhu; energy meter probes 404), the light detector element comprises a substantially non-reflecting surface, and the surface of the light detector element is arranged in an oblique angle with respect to a main axis of the calibrator beam.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein said at least one element arranged to prevent provision of the backscattered calibrator beam comprises an absorber element (Zhu; energy meter probes 404) and wherein at least one of the following applies: the absorber element comprises a substantially non-reflecting surface, the surface of the absorber element is arranged in an oblique angle with respect to a main axis of the calibrator beam, and the optical arrangement is arranged to focus the calibrator beam off the surface of the absorber element when the calibrator beam is transferred towards the absorber element (Zhu; energy meter probes 404).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to any of claim 1, wherein the optical arrangement (Zhu; offline monitoring light path 401) comprises a calibrator beam reflector (Zhu; the second/other one of two sampling mirrors 403) for reflecting the calibrator beam such that its main axis is substantially in parallel with main axis of the transmitter beam (Zhu; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, comprising a control entity arranged to: operate the transmitter, the receiver and the calibrator subsystem to derive a first calibrator system signal that is descriptive of backscattered calibrator beam at a first time instant; operate the transmitter, the receiver and the calibrator subsystem to derive a second calibrator system signal that is descriptive of backscattered calibrator beam at a second time instant that occurs later than the first time instant; derive a calibration factor on basis of the first and second calibrator system signals; apply, at and/or after the second time instant, the calibration factor to adjust measurement signals recorded on basis of backscattered light captured at the receiver (Zhu; page 4/14 “3. offline monitoring path can be used periodically to calibrate the seed laser, light path, to improve the accuracy and reliability of measurement.”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Kallio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shotan US20210270970.
Regarding claim 8, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein the beam sampler comprises a surface for reflecting said portion of the transmitter beam as the calibrator beam (Zhu; reflector 401).
Modified Zhu is silent regarding a glass surface material.
Shotan teaches a glass surface material (Shotan; [0042] “formed from a transparent material (e.g., glass) that is coated with a reflective material 142”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the beam sampler as taught by Modified Zhu to comprise a glass surface with reflective material as taught by Shotan for the purpose of providing the desired hybrid functionality of both transmission and reflection of light.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Kallio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mayor US7580127.
Regarding claim 9, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 1, wherein the optical arrangement (Zhu; offline monitoring light path 401) comprises the calibrator beam at the scattering plate when the calibrator beam is transferred towards the scattering plate (Zhu; the first one of two sampling mirrors 403).
Modified Zhu is silent regarding a calibrator lens assembly.
Mayor teaches a calibrator lens assembly (Mayor; Fig. 4; col. 17:65-67 to col. 18:1-4 focusing lens 413 for focusing the second beam path of second beam component 412).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical arrangement as taught by Modified Zhu to comprise a calibrator lens assembly as taught by Mayor for the purpose of providing focused light for the second/offline/calibration beam path (Mayor; col. 17:65-67 to col. 18:1-4 focusing lens 413 for focusing the second beam path of second beam component 412).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Kallio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang US20210349192.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to any of claim 1, wherein the calibrator subsystem (Zhu; page 4/14 “3. offline monitoring path can be used periodically to calibrate the seed laser, light path, to improve the accuracy and reliability of measurement.”) comprises transferring the calibrator beam towards one of the plurality of targets (Zhu; sampling mirrors 403 and energy meter probes 404) in the calibrator subsystem.
Modified Zhu is silent regarding a selection mechanism for selectively transferring the calibrator beam towards one of the plurality of targets.
Wang teaches a selection mechanism for selectively transferring the beam towards one of the plurality of targets (Wang; Fig. 3B; [0058] lidar controller 306 and rotatable mirrors of mirror assembly 312 that provides selection of the desired angle of the light beam 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the calibrator subsystem as taught by Modified Zhu to comprise a selection mechanism as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing the desired angle/direction of the beam to select the desired target (Wang; Fig. 3B; [0058] lidar controller 306 and rotatable mirrors of mirror assembly 312 that provides selection of the desired angle of the light beam 320).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 12, wherein the selection mechanism comprises a moveable mirror that is selectively arrangeable into one of a plurality of predefined positions, wherein each predefined position results in the moveable mirror reflecting the calibrator beam towards a corresponding one of said plurality of targets (Wang; Fig. 3B; [0058] lidar controller 306 and rotatable mirrors of mirror assembly 312 that provides selection of the desired angle of the light beam 320).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Zhu teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The lidar assembly according to claim 13, wherein the moveable mirror is rotatable about a pivot point (Wang; Fig. 3B; [0057] second axis 326) into a selected one of said plurality of predefined positions (Wang; Fig. 3B; [0058] lidar controller 306 and rotatable mirrors of mirror assembly 312 that provides selection of the desired angle of the light beam 320).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As noted above in the 35 USC 112(b) rejection for claim 17, for examination purposes, it is assumed that claim 17 depends on claim 16 in order to provide sufficient antecedent basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anderson US20160025842 teaches, in Fig. 1, “a LIDAR system 100 in accordance with the present disclosure for monitoring performance of optical components.” ([0020]).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 7/28/26