DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/15/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 5 of Claim 1,
delete “adaptor” and insert --adapter--,
insert --adapter-- between “the” and “coupler”;
in line 8 of Claim 1, delete “adaptor” and insert --adapter--;
in line 9 of Claim 1, insert --UV-- before “disinfecting”;
in line 5 of Claim 16,
delete “adaptor” and insert --adapter--,
insert --adapter-- between “the” and “coupler”;
in line 6 of Claim 16, insert --lid-- before “adapter”;
in line 9 of Claim 16, delete “adaptor” and insert --adapter--;
in line 10 of Claim 16, insert --UV-- before “disinfecting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 11-12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “optical component” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao (20190135660).
As to Claim 1, Liao (‘660) discloses an adapter (130) for coupling an ultraviolet (UV) disinfecting device (190) to a container (120) suitable for holding liquid (see Figures 1-4), the adapter (130) comprising:
an adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) configured to enable the UV disinfecting device (190) to be removably coupled thereto, the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) defining a window (i.e. where 190/280 is located); and
an adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) connected to the adaptor body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295), the adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) configured to removably couple with the container (120) to thereby removably couple the adapter (130) to the container (120),
wherein when the UV disinfecting device (190) is coupled to the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) and the adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) is coupled to the container (120), the window (280) of the adapter body is alignable with a UV light source (290) of the UV disinfecting device (190) and configured to enable the UV light source (290) to be in communication with the interior of the container (120) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 2, Liao (‘660) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) defines a docking area (i.e. where 200, 210, 270, 280 are located) configured to receive the UV disinfection device (190) to enable coupling of the UV disinfection device (190) to the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 3, Liao (‘660) discloses that the window (290) is in registration with the docking area (i.e. where 200, 210, 270, 280 are located) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 4, Liao (‘660) discloses that the docking area (i.e. where 200, 210, 270, 280 are located) defines a recess (i.e. where 200, 210, and/or 290 are installed) in the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) configured to receive the UV disinfecting device (190) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 9, Liao (‘660) discloses that the adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) is configured to removably couple to an open top portion of the container (120) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 11, the adapter (130) of Liao (‘660) in combination with the UV disinfecting device (190), the UV disinfecting device (190) is/is capable of being removably coupled to the adapter (130).
As to Claim 12, the adapter (130) of Liao (‘660) in further combination with the container (120), the adapter (130) is removably coupled to the container (120).
As to Claims 13-14, Liao (‘660) discloses that the window (i.e. where 190/280 is located) includes an opening (i.e. openings in the body, which forms 295, to accommodate 290 and/or 200/210) defined by the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295), and an optical component in the form of a lens (280 and/or housing of 290) in registration with the opening (i.e. openings in the body, which forms 295, to accommodate 290 and/or 200/210) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 16, Liao (‘660) discloses a lid adapter (130) for coupling an ultraviolet (UV) disinfecting device (190) to a container (120) suitable for holding liquid (see Figures 1-4), the lid adapter (130) comprising:
an adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) configured to enable the UV disinfecting device (190) to be removably coupled thereto, the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) defining a window (280); and
an adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) connected to the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295), the adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) configured to removably couple to an open top portion of the container (120) to thereby removably couple the lid adapter (130) to the container (120),
wherein when the UV disinfecting device (190) is coupled to the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) and the adapter coupler (i.e. the cap portion of 130 which includes 160, 250 and layer of material directly that attaches/connects to neck of 120 – see Figure 4) is coupled to the container (120), the window (280) of the adapter body is alignable with a UV light source (290) of the UV disinfecting device (190) and configured to enable the UV light source (290) to be in communication with the interior of the container (120) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 17, Liao (‘660) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) defines a docking area (i.e. where 200, 210, 270, 280 are located) configured to receive the UV disinfection device (190) to enable coupling of the UV disinfection device (190) to the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) (see Figure 4).
As to Claim 18, Liao (‘660) discloses that the docking area (i.e. where 200, 210, 270, 280 are located) defines a recess (i.e. where 200, 210, and/or 290 are installed) in the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295) configured to receive the UV disinfecting device (190) (see Figure 4).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR20220020654).
As to Claim 1, Lee (‘654) discloses an adapter (200) for coupling an ultraviolet (UV) disinfecting device (300) to a container (100) suitable for holding liquid (see Figures 1-12), the adapter (200) comprising:
an adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) configured to enable the UV disinfecting device (300) to be removably coupled thereto (see Figures 1-12), the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) defining a window (222) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-11; entire English translation, particularly p. 3 lines 9 and 15, p. 6 lines 1-20); and
an adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) connected to the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200), the adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) configured to removably couple with the container (100) to thereby removably couple the adapter (200) to the container (100) (see Figures 1-7 and 9-12; entire English translation, particularly p. 3 lines 17-19 and 23),
wherein when the UV disinfecting device (300) is coupled to the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) and the adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) is coupled to the container (100), the window (222) of the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) is alignable with a UV light source (324) of the UV disinfecting device (300) and configured to enable the UV light source (324) to be in communication with the interior of the container (100) (see Figures 6-7 and 10).
As to Claim 2, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) defines a docking area (220) configured to receive the UV disinfection device (300) to enable coupling of the UV disinfection device (300) to the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-12).
As to Claim 3, Lee (‘654) discloses that the window (222) is in registration with the docking area (220) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-12).
As to Claim 4, Lee (‘654) discloses that the docking area (220) defines a recess (224a, 224b) in the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) configured to receive the UV disinfecting device (300) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-12).
As to Claim 5, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) includes a magnetic coupler configured to magnetically couple to the UV disinfecting device (300) when the UV disinfecting device (300) is received in the recess (220) (see entire document, particularly Figure 11; see entire English translation, particularly p. 6 – lines 5-10).
As to Claim 6, Lee (‘654) discloses that the magnetic coupler includes a magnetic strip (i.e. magnet corresponding to the iron plate) disposed over the recess (220) (see entire English translation, particularly p. 6 – lines 5-10), wherein the magnetic strip (i.e. magnet corresponding to the iron plate) and the recess (220) define a slot sized and shaped to receive the UV disinfecting device (300) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-7 and 9-12, more particularly Figures 11-12).
As to Claim 7, Lee (‘654) discloses that the recess (220) is defined by a surface (222a; 224a, 224b), wherein the window (222) extends through the surface (222a; 224b) of the recess (222) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-12).
As to Claim 8, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) includes a magnetic coupler configured to magnetically couple to the UV disinfecting device (300) when the UV disinfecting device (300) is received in the docking area (220) (see entire document, particularly Figure 11; see entire English translation, particularly p. 6 – lines 5-10).
As to Claim 9, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) is configured to removably couple to an open top portion of the container (100) (see Figures 6-7).
As to Claim 11, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter (200) in combination with the UV disinfecting device (300), the UV disinfecting device (300) is removably coupled to the adapter (200) (see Figures 1-12; entire English translation, particularly p. 3 lines 9 and 15, p. 6 lines 1-20).
As to Claim 12, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter (200) in combination with the container (100), the adapter (200) is removably coupled to the container (see Figures 1-12; entire English translation, particularly p. 3 lines 17-19 and 23).
As to Claims 13-14, Lee (‘654) discloses that the window (222) includes an opening (222a) defined by the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200), and an optical component in the form of a lens (222) in registration with the opening (222a) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-10).
As to Claim 16, Lee (‘654) discloses a lid adapter (200) for coupling an ultraviolet (UV) disinfecting device (300) to a container (100) suitable for holding liquid (see Figures 1-12), the lid adapter (200) comprising:
an adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) configured to enable the UV disinfecting device (300) to be removably coupled thereto (see Figures 1-12), the adapter body (i.e. top portion of 200) defining a window (222) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-11); and
an adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) connected to the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200), the adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) configured to removably couple to an open top portion the container (100) to thereby removably couple the lid adapter (200) to the container (100) (see Figures 1-7 and 9-12),
wherein when the UV disinfecting device (300) is coupled to the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) and the adapter coupler (i.e. lip/edge portion of 200 that interacts/connects to 100) is coupled to the container (100), the window (222) of the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) is alignable with a UV light source (324) of the UV disinfecting device (300) and configured to enable the UV light source (324) to be in communication with the interior of the container (100) (see Figures 6-7 and 10).
As to Claim 17, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) defines a docking area (220) configured to receive the UV disinfection device (300) to enable coupling of the UV disinfection device (300) to the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-12).
As to Claim 18, Lee (‘654) discloses that the docking area (220) defines a recess (224a, 224b) in the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) configured to receive the UV disinfecting device (300) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-12).
As to Claim 19, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) includes a magnetic coupler configured to magnetically couple to the UV disinfecting device (300) when the UV disinfecting device (300) is received in the recess (220) (see entire document, particularly Figure 11; see entire English translation, particularly p. 6 – lines 5-10).
As to Claim 20, Lee (‘654) discloses that the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200) includes a magnetic coupler configured to magnetically couple to the UV disinfecting device (300) when the UV disinfecting device (300) is received in the docking area (220) (see entire document, particularly Figure 11; see entire English translation, particularly p. 6 – lines 5-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (20190135660) or Lee (KR20220020654) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Rajagopalan (ES2622755).
Liao (‘660) and Lee (‘654) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Neither Liao (‘660) or Lee (‘654) appears to specifically teach that the adapter coupler comprises a resiliently elastic material.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a resiliently elastic material with an adapter coupler. Rajagopalan (‘755) discloses an adapter (3) for coupling an ultraviolet (UV) disinfecting device (15, 6, 7, 7a) to a container (1) suitable for holding liquid, the adapter (3) comprising:
an adapter body (5) configured to enable the UV disinfecting device (15, 6, 7, 7a) to be removably coupled thereto (see Figure 3), the adapter body (5) defining a window (6) (see Figure 4); and
an adapter coupler (20) connected to the adapter body (5) (see Figure 2),
wherein when the UV disinfecting device (15, 6, 7, 7a) is coupled to the adapter body (5) and the adapter coupler (20) is coupled to the container (1) (see Figures 1-2), the window (6) of the adapter body (5) is alignable with a UV light source (7a) of the UV disinfecting device (15, 6, 7, 7a) and configured to enable the UV light source (7a) to be in communication with the interior of the container (1) (see Figures 1-2),
wherein the adapter coupler (20) comprises a resiliently elastic material (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 – last 3 lines),
in order to provide a coupling/closure means that enables a tight or sealed arrangement between the adapter and the container (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 – last 3 lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a resiliently elastic material for the adapter coupler in the adapter of Liao or Lee as a known material for a coupling means in order to provide a sealed configuration between the container and the adapter as shown by Rajagopalan.
Thus, Claim 10 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Liao (‘660) or Lee (‘654), and Rajagopalan (‘755).
In the event that rejections above are deemed inadequate to meet the limitations of Claims 13-14, the following rejection will apply.
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (20190135660) or Lee (KR20220020654) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (KR20200109662).
Liao (‘660) and Lee (‘654) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
While Liao (‘660) discloses that the window (i.e. where 190/280 is located) includes an opening (i.e. openings in the body, which forms 295, to accommodate 290 and/or 200/210) defined by the adapter body (i.e. protruding portion of 130 which possesses 190 and 295), and an optical component (280 and/or housing of 290) in registration with the opening (i.e. openings in the body, which forms 295, to accommodate 290 and/or 200/210) (see Figure 4) and Lee (‘654) discloses that the window (222) includes an opening (222a) defined by the adapter body (i.e. top/body/main portion of 200), and an optical component (222) in registration with the opening (222a) (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9-10), neither Liao (‘660) nor Lee (‘654) appears to specifically teach that the optical component comprises a lens.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a lens as a component of a window in an adapter. Han (‘048) discloses an adapter (100) for coupling an ultraviolet (UV) disinfecting device (110) to a container (200) suitable for holding liquid (see Figures 1-4), the adapter (100) comprising:
an adapter body (150) coupled with the UV disinfecting device (110), the adapter body (150) defining a window (120, 130); and
an adapter coupler (160) connected to the adaptor body (150), the adapter coupler (160) configured to removably couple with the container (200) to thereby removably couple the adapter (100) to the container (200) (see Figures 1-2),
wherein when the UV disinfecting device (110) is coupled to the adapter body (150) and the adapter coupler (160) is coupled to the container (200), the window (120, 130) of the adapter body (150) is alignable with a UV light source (110) of the UV disinfecting device and configured to enable the UV light source (110) to be in communication with the interior of the container (200) (see Figure 2),
wherein the window (120, 130) includes an opening defined by the adapter body (150), and an optical component (120, 130) comprising a lens (120) in registration with the opening (see Figure 2),
in order to adjust/condense the light emitted from the UV light source and emit the light at a specific angle (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 lines 27-28, p. 5 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a lens as an optical component in the window of the adapter of Liao or Lee as a known additional component in order to allow the light to be condensed and be emitted at a desired angle so as to direct the light to a desired region/location as shown by Han.
Thus, Claims 13-14 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Liao (‘660) and Lee (‘654), and Han (‘662).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references relate either to the field of the invention or subject matter of the invention, but are not relied upon in the rejection of record: 20110038754 and 20050258108 and 6042720 and CN109574342 (bottle water sterilizer), 20190142987 and 10653808 (fluid sterilization device), KR20210002932 and KR20210069252 and CN112472838 and KR20210012254 and 20200345876 and KR20170011761 and CN106175348 and KR101067450 (an adapter for a bottle/container).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758