DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-12 and 18-20 in the reply filed on Aug. 5, 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “aligned or unaligned CNT material” in line 2, and “aligned CNT material” in lines 3-4. The recitation is not clear. The Examiner notes the claim was considered for examination purposes as reciting “CNT material comprising aligned or unaligned CNTs” and “CNT material comprising aligned CNTs.”
Claim 6 recites “layers of aligned CNT material” in lines 1-2. The recitation is not clear. The Examiner notes the claim was considered for examination purposes as reciting “layers of CNT material comprising aligned CNTs.”
Claim 7 recites “optionally wherein the metal is one or more selected from Cu, In, Ni, Ag, Au, Sn, Al, Zn, Pt, Pd, Pb, Mo, Mg, Rh, and W, further optionally wherein the metal is selected from Cu, In, or Ni.” That recitation is not clear.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim recites the broad recitation “the metal is one or more selected from Cu, In, Ni, Ag, Au, Sn, Al, Zn, Pt, Pd, Pb, Mo, Mg, Rh, and W”, and the claim also recites “further optionally wherein the metal is selected from Cu, In, or Ni.” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites “aligned CNT material” in line 2. The recitation is not clear. The Examiner notes the claim was considered for examination purposes as reciting “CNT material comprising aligned CNTs.”
The term “thin” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 11 recites “AC power cables, A/C transmission lines” in line 9. The recitation is not clear with respect to “A/C.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio et al. (US 2022/0055903 A1) (“Bengio”).
With respect to claim 1, Bengio discloses an assembly comprising CNT component connected to a metal component (0131, 0134), wherein the CNT component comprises a CNT material comprising at least about 95% wt.% carbon nanotubes (0020). The range of the percentage amount overlaps the range recited in claim 1; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05). The CNT material has electrical conductivity of more than 10 MS/m (0038), the CNTs have an aspect ratio greater than 1000 (0029), and a G/D ratio greater than 1 (0029). The ranges of aspect ratio, and G/D ratio overlap the ranges recited in claim 1; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio, in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0268061 A1) (“Wang”).
With respect to claim 2, Bengio teaches the assembly of claim 1, but is silent regarding a CNT-to-metal connector as recited in the claim. Wang discloses an assembly wherein the CNT component is connected to a metal component through a CNT-to-metal connector (abstr., 0053), wherein the CNT-to-metal connector comprises graphene (0053-0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the CNT-to-metal connector of graphene to increase charge transport as Wang discloses that CNTs can act as conductive framework such that a seamless connections at the graphene and CNT interface can increase conductivity and charge transport (0005).
Claim(s) 3, 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio, in view of Ward et al. (US 2007/0248758 A1) (“Ward”).
With respect to claim 3, Bengio teaches the assembly of claim 1, but is silent with respect to the CNT component being connected to the metal component through a CNT connector pad, wherein the CNT connector pad comprises a CNT material as recited in the claim.
Ward discloses an assembly (0016), comprising CNT films layers, fabrics and articles of various shapes and characteristics, wherein pre-formed nanotubes are used and a CNT connector pad comprises a CNT material (0072, 0075), wherein multilayer fabrics increase current density (0183). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the CNT connector pad wherein the CNT component of Bengio and the metal component of Bengio are connected through the CNT connector pad of Ward to increase current density.
Regarding the amount of the CNTs in the CNT material of the connector pad, Ward discloses that the amount of the nanotubes must be sufficient to form a conductive pathway between two points in the pad (0074), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the weight percentage amount of CNTs in the CNT material of the pad in order to obtain the desired conductive pathway.
Regarding an average aspect ratio, Ward discloses that the aspect ratio is used to control the density of the pad (0077, 0153), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the aspect ratio of the CNTs in order to obtain the required density of the pad.
Regarding claim 5, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Ward discloses the CNT connector pad comprises a plurality of layers of CNT material comprising aligned or unaligned CNTs (0183). Ward is silent with respect to the thickness of the CNT material, but it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the thickness in order to obtain the desired electrical characteristics (0183).
As to claim 6, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Ward discloses the CNT connector pad comprising a plurality of layers comprising a first layer of the CNT material and a second layer of the CNT material (0166). The reference does not explicitly disclose the orientation of the CNTs in the layers of the CNT material, however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the orientation of the layers depending on the desired level of current density (Ward, 0183).
With respect to claim 7, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Ward discloses the connector pad includes a plurality of layers comprising an outer layer and one or more intermediate layers of the CNT material (0166). The intermediate layers may be deposited by vapor deposition with a metal layer, the metal layer including nickel (0079, 0089, 0090).
Regarding claim 8, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Bengio discloses the CNT material of the CNT component comprises less than 2% of impurities (0020), which has been interpreted as any impurities including metallic particle impurities.
As to claim 9, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Bengio discloses the CNT component is in the form selected from a film, a fiber (0028).
With respect to claim 10, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Bengio discloses the metal component may be a metal wire – coil transformer (0131, 0132, 0134).
Regarding claim 11, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. Bengio discloses the CNT component includes transformer coils, and antennas (0039).
As to claim 12, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3. The references do not disclose the specific properties of the assembly, however, since the references teach all the elements of the assembly, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the assembly according to the references would be capable to perform as intended.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio, in view of Ward, and further in view of Wang.
With respect to claim 4, Bengio and Ward teach the assembly of claim 3, but are silent regarding a CNT-to-metal connector as recited in the claim. Wang discloses an assembly wherein the CNT component is connected to a metal component through a CNT-to-metal connector (abstr., 0053), wherein the CNT-to-metal connector comprises graphene (0053-0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the CNT-to-metal connector of graphene to increase charge transport as Wang discloses that CNTs can act as conductive framework such that a seamless connections at the graphene and CNT interface can increase conductivity and charge transport (0005).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio et al. (US 2022/0055903 A1) (“Bengio”).
With respect to claim 18, Bengio discloses an assembly comprising CNT component connected to a metal component (0131, 0134), wherein the CNT component comprises a CNT material comprising at least about 95% wt.% carbon nanotubes (0020). The range of the percentage amount overlaps the range recited in claim 18; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05). The CNT material has electrical conductivity of more than 10 MS/m (0038), the CNTs have an aspect ratio greater than 1000 (0029), and a G/D ratio greater than 1 (0029). The ranges of aspect ratio, and G/D ratio overlap the ranges recited in claim 18; overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Bengio is silent with respect to the CNT component being connected to a CNT connector pad, wherein the CNT connector pad comprises a CNT material as recited in the claim.
Ward discloses an assembly (0016), comprising CNT films, layers, fabrics and articles of various shapes and characteristics, wherein pre-formed nanotubes are used and a CNT connector pad comprises a CNT material (0072, 0075), wherein multilayer fabrics increase current density (0183). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the CNT connector pad wherein the CNT component of Bengio and the metal component of Bengio are connected through the CNT connector pad of Ward to increase current density.
Regarding the amount of the CNTs in the CNT material of the connector pad, Ward discloses that the amount of the nanotubes must be sufficient to form a conductive pathway between two points in the pad (0074), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the weight percentage amount of CNTs in the CNT material of the pad in order to obtain the desired conductive pathway.
Regarding an average aspect ratio of the CNTs of the CNT material of the connector pad, Ward discloses that the aspect ratio is used to control the density of the pad (0077, 0153), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the aspect ratio of the CNTs in order to obtain the required density of the pad.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio et al. (US 2022/0055903 A1) (“Bengio”).
With respect to claim 19, Bengio discloses an assembly comprising a metal component connected to a CNT component (0131, 0134).
Bengio is silent with respect to the metal component being connected to the CNT connector pad, wherein the CNT connector pad comprises a CNT material as recited in the claim.
Ward discloses an assembly (0016), comprising CNT films, layers, fabrics and articles of various shapes and characteristics, wherein pre-formed nanotubes are used and a CNT connector pad comprises a CNT material (0072, 0075), wherein multilayer fabrics increase current density (0183). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the CNT connector pad wherein the metal component and the CNT component of Bengio are connected through the CNT connector pad of Ward to increase current density.
Regarding the amount of the CNTs in the CNT material of the connector pad, Ward discloses that the amount of the nanotubes must be sufficient to form a conductive pathway between two points in the pad (0074), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the weight percentage amount of CNTs in the CNT material of the pad in order to obtain the desired conductive pathway.
Regarding an average aspect ratio of the CNTs of the CNT material of the connector pad, Ward discloses that the aspect ratio is used to control the density of the pad (0077, 0153), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the aspect ratio of the CNTs in order to obtain the required density of the pad.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengio, in view of Wang.
With respect to claim 20, Bengio teaches the assembly of claim 1. Bengio discloses the metal component (0131-0134), but is silent with respect to the metal component comprising one or more metals selected from the metals as recited in claim 20. Wang discloses an assembly wherein the CNT component is connected to a metal component through a CNT-to-metal connector (abstr., 0053), wherein the metal component comprises copper (0053, 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the metal component in the assembly of Bengio of copper as it is known in the art of CNT assemblies to form metal components of copper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
/Joanna Pleszczynska/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783