DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2026-06-11 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final office action on 2026-04-02. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed: 2026-09-02 have been entered. The amendments are responsive to the non-final action dated 2026-04-02 and examiners interview dated: 2026-09-01. Accordingly, the previously presented non-statutory double patenting is withdrawn by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 11 -18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (US-11735962-B2, published: 2023-08-22) hereinafter Schwartz in view of Pan (US-20200059110-A1, published 2020-02-20).
Regarding to Claims 1 and 11, Schwartz discloses a wireless power transmission system comprising (Schwartz, par. 12; A wireless power system): a Universal Serial Bus Type-A (USB-A) input power port that is configured to receive USB-A input direct current (DC) power, wherein: the USB-A input power comprises a substantially constant voltage and a variable current, and the variable current is constrained by a maximum USB-A current limit; an input power stabilization system comprising a proportional integral (PI) controller (Schwartz, par. 59; The offset Toffset can be computed by a compensator block within control circuitry … This compensator block can take various forms, such as a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller, a proportional-integral (PI) controller, or a simple integrator), the input power stabilization system configured to receive the USB-A input DC power, (i) via the USB-A input power port and (ii) from an external power source and generate a stabilized DC power that is (i) based on a desired input power (Schwartz, fig. 2, par. 26; FSK modulator 40T may modulate the power transmission frequency that is being supplied by controller 16M to input 74 of inverter 60. Operated in this way, FSK data is transmitted from device 12 to device 24. In device 24, coil 48 is used to receive signals 44. Power receiving circuitry 54 uses the received signals on coil 48 and rectifier 50 to produce DC power) and (ii) constrained by the maximum USB-A current limit (Schwarts, par. 52; As another example, the control circuitry can optionally adjust the switching frequency of the AC drive signal until saturation is no longer detected (step 210). Adjusting the switching frequency (e.g., increasing or decreasing Fs) can reduce the coupling gain as well as the half-cycle period, which can help limit the increase in the transmit coil current and thus prevent saturation. It is also possible to change power transmission levels to detect if power transmission wattage levels affect saturation.); a controller comprising: at least one processor, at least one machine-readable medium, and program instructions stored on the at least one machine-readable medium which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to generate driving signals for generating wireless power signals; an amplifier configured to (i) receive the stabilized DC power and driving signals, (ii) invert the stabilized DC power based on the driving signals to generate the wireless power signals; and an antenna configured to transmit the wireless power signals when driven by the amplifier (Schwartz, par. 18; AC-DC power converter 14 … Power transmitting circuitry 52 may have switching circuitry (e.g., inverter circuitry 60 formed from transistors) that is turned on and off based on control signals provided by control circuitry 16 to create AC current signals through one or more transmit coils 42).
Schwarts does not explicitly disclose the wireless power system comprises a USB-A input power port supplying a constant voltage and variable current which constrains the variable current is constrained by the USB-A maximum current limit. However, in analogous art, Pan discloses a multifunction wireless charging pad which consists of USB connector (Pan, figs. 1-2, par. 23; In the present invention, the electrical connector 13 is selected from the group consisting of USB connector, mini USB connector, micro USB connector, and Lightning connector), examiner notes, although not explicitly mentioned, it can be appreciated that the electrical connector is indeed a USB-A as presented in figure 1 and a current monitoring unit to monitor overcurrent events (Pan, fig. 2, par. 23; It is worth noting that, the current monitoring unit 123 would transmit an over-current signal to the main controlling unit 121 when finding that a current level of the current signal exceeds a threshold value).
Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Shwartz methods for wireless charging stabilization with Pans method for wireless charging utilizing USB-A as the power input connector to reduce manufacturing costs of wireless charging pads.
Regarding to Claims 2 and 12, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the input power stabilization system further comprises an input current sensing circuit configured to continuously determine an input current of the input power over time (Schwartz, par. 22; Control circuitry 16 may also include external object measurement circuitry 41 configured to detect external objects on a charging surface of device 12 and to make other desired measurements such as current measurements, voltage measurements, power measurements, and/or energy measurements).
Regarding to Claims 3 and 13, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 2 and 12, further comprising a differentiator circuit configured to (i) receive the input current of the input power over time, (ii) define a reference value for a stabilized input current, (iii) compare the input current of the input power over time (Schwartz, par 42; saturation detection circuit 102 can include a measurement circuit configured to measure an energy level of the resonant tank or a value representing the energy level such as a measured current level or a measured voltage level at a measurement frequency that is equal to half the inverter switching frequency (e.g., the measurement frequency may be equal to Fs/2)) with the reference value for the stabilized input current, and (iv) determine and output an error value (Schwartz, par. 41; In response to power transmitting device 12 receiving a control error packet from power receiving device 24, in response to a communications time out event, or in response to the saturation detection timer expiring, saturation detection circuit 102 (see, e.g., FIG. 2) may be configured to perform saturation detection operations at step 202. Various saturation detection schemes can be used) based on comparison of the input current of the input power over time with the reference value for the stabilized input current (Schwartz, par. 42; Saturation detection circuit 102 may compare the measured value to a threshold).
Regarding to claims 4 and 14, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 3 and 13, wherein the PI controller is configured to (i) receive the error value and (ii) determine and output the stabilized DC power based on the error value (Schwartz, par. 40; At step 200, data receiver 40R may receive a control error packet (CEP), the communications between devices 12 and 24 may time out, or a saturation detection timer may expire .The Qi mechanism for controlling the transmit power level uses power receiving device 24 to send to power transmitting device 12 power adjustment requests such as ASK modulated packets sometimes referred to as a control error packet (CEP)).
Regarding to Claims 5 and 15, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 3 and 13, wherein the PI controller (Schwartz, par. 59; This compensator block can take various forms, such as a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller, a proportional-integral (PI) controller, or a simple integrator) further comprises an inversion circuit . (Schwartz, par. 18; AC-DC power converter 14 … Power transmitting circuitry 52 may have switching circuitry (e.g., inverter circuitry 60 formed from transistors) that is turned on and off based on control signals provided by control circuitry 16 to create AC current signals through one or more transmit coils 42).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 3 and 13, wherein the input power stabilization system further comprises an upper saturation circuit (Schwartz, par. 32; measurement circuitry 41 may include a foreign object detection (FOD) circuit such as FOD circuit 100 and/or a saturation detection circuit such as saturation detection circuit 102).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 3 and 13, wherein the input power stabilization system further comprises an lower saturation circuit (Schwartz, par. 32; measurement circuitry 41 may include a foreign object detection (FOD) circuit such as FOD circuit 100 and/or a saturation detection circuit such as saturation detection circuit 102).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 1 and 11, The wireless power transmission system of claim 1, wherein the USB-A input power port comprises a standard type of USB Type-A port or a USB-micro interface connector (Pan, figs. 1-2, par. 23; In the present invention, the electrical connector 13 is selected from the group consisting of USB connector, mini USB connector, micro USB connector, and Lightning connector), examiner notes, although not explicitly mentioned, it can be appreciated that the electrical connector is indeed a USB-A as presented in figure 1.
Claim(s) 9-10, and 19 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al. (US-11735962-B2, published: 2023-08-22) hereinafter Schwartz in view of Pan (US-20200059110-A1, published 2020-02-20) and further in view of Peralta et al. (US-20220029472-A1) hereinafter Peralta.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, The combination of Schwartz and Pan teach the wireless power transmission system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the controller further comprises program instructions stored on the at least one machine-readable medium which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to decode data signals that are encoded in the wireless power signals based on a period-length encoding scheme, the period-length encoding scheme starting at least one message of the data signals with a leading edge and ending the at least one message of the data signals with a trailing edge (Schwartz, par. 14; the processing circuitry may be used in selecting wireless power coils, determining power transmission levels, processing sensor data and other data, processing user input, handling negotiations between devices 12 and 24, sending and receiving in-band and out-of-band data, making measurements, and otherwise controlling the operation of system 8).
The combination of Schwartz and Pan does not explicitly teach decoding the wireless power signals based on a period length encoding scheme starting at least one message of the data signals with a leading edge and ending the at least one message of the data signals with a trailing edge. However, in analogous art, Peralta a low cost demodulation system for wireless transmission which utilizes a demodulation circuit for monitoring amplitude shift key (Peralta, par. 78; Such slope monitoring and/or slope detection by the communications system 70 is particularly useful when detecting or decoding an amplitude shift keying (ASK) signal that encodes the wireless data signals in-band of the wireless power signal at the operating frequency. In an ASK signal, the wireless data signals are encoded by damping the voltage of the magnetic field between the wireless transmission system 20 and the wireless receiver system 30. Such damping and subsequent re-rising of the voltage in the field is performed based on an encoding scheme for the wireless data signals (e.g., binary coding, Manchester coding, pulse-width modulated coding, among other known or novel coding systems and methods). The receiver of the wireless data signals (e.g., the wireless transmission system 20) must then detect rising and falling edges of the voltage of the field and decode said rising and falling edges to receive the wireless data signals.)See also pars. 7 and 10.
Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Shwartz’s methods for wireless charging stabilization with Pan’s method for wireless charging utilizing USB-A as the power input connector and Peralta’s teachings for slope monitoring based on an encoding scheme for wireless data signals in wireless power transfer devices to enhance communication demodulation in low cost wireless charging systems.
Regarding to Claims 10 and 20, the combination of Schwartz, Pan and Peralta further teach The wireless power transmission system of claim 9, further comprising: at least one sensor configured to detect electrical information associated with electrical characteristics of the wireless power signals at the antenna (Schwartz, par. 14; the processing circuitry may be used in selecting wireless power coils, determining power transmission levels, processing sensor data and other data, processing user input, handling negotiations between devices 12 and 24, sending and receiving in-band and out-of-band data, making measurements, and otherwise controlling the operation of system 8), the electrical information including one or more of a current of the wireless power signals, a voltage of the wireless power signals, or a power level of the wireless power signals (Schwartz, par. 22; Control circuitry 16 may also include external object measurement circuitry 41 configured to detect external objects on a charging surface of device 12 and to make other desired measurements such as current measurements, voltage measurements, power measurements, and/or energy measurements); and a demodulation circuit configured to (i) receive the electrical information from the at least one sensor (Schwartz, par. 26; Power receiving circuitry 54 uses the received signals on coil 48 and rectifier 50 to produce DC power. At the same time, wireless transceiver circuitry 46 (e.g., FSK demodulator 46R) uses FSK demodulation to extract the transmitted in-band data from signals 44), (ii) detect a change in the electrical information, (iii) determine if the change in the electrical information meets or exceeds one of a rise threshold or a fall threshold, (Schwartz, par. 42; Saturation detection circuit 102 may compare the measured value to a threshold) (iv) if the change exceeds one of the rise threshold or the fall threshold, generate an alert, (v) and output a plurality of data alerts, and wherein the controller is configured to receive the plurality of data alerts (Peralta, par. 8, The demodulation circuit is configured to (i) receive the electrical information from the at least one sensor, (ii) detect a change in the electrical information, (iii) determine if the change in the electrical information meets or exceeds one of a rise threshold or a fall threshold, (iv) if the change exceeds one of the rise threshold or the fall threshold, generate an alert, (v) and output a plurality of data alerts), and wherein the program instructions stored on the at least one machine-readable medium, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to decode data signals that are encoded in the wireless power signals comprises decoding the plurality of data alerts (Peralta, par. 8; The transmitter controller is configured to (i) receive the plurality of data alerts from the demodulation circuit, and (ii) decode the plurality of data alerts into the wireless data signals).
Other Pertinence References Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Plancherel et al. (US-20240111374-A1), WIRELESS CHARGING FOR AN INPUT DEVICE. A method comprises: determining whether an external wireless power (EWP) source is coupled to an interface configured to transfer power from the EWP source to the power management (PM) system; selecting the EWP to power the computer mouse when the EWP source is electrically couples and provides power to the interface; determining whether a fixed internal power source (PS) is coupled to the PM system; selecting a fixed internal PS to power the computer mouse when the fixed internal PS is coupled to the PM system and the EWP source is coupled to but not providing enough power to the interface; determining whether a removeable internal PS is electrically coupled to a PM system in the computer mouse; and selecting the removeable internal PS to power the computer mouse when the removeable internal PS is electrically coupled to the PM system and the EPS is not coupled to the interface.
Lu et al. (US-20220103014-A1), MOUSE PAD HAVING MULTI-COIL CAPABLE OF A DYNAMICALLY ADJUSTED CONFIGURATION. A mouse pad suitable for operating with a wireless mouse is provided. The mouse pad includes a first charging circuit, a second charging circuit, a control circuit, a power supply module, a conversion circuit and a main body. The first charging circuit, the second charging circuit and the conversion circuit are each electrically connected to the control circuit, and the power supply module is electrically connected to the conversion circuit. The first charging circuit and the second charging circuit each outputs an electromagnetic energy to the wireless mouse. When the control circuit receives a load current flowing through the first charging circuit and the load current flowing through the second charging circuit, through the control circuit, a power supply current of the power supply module to the first charging circuit and to the second charging circuit are dynamically adjusted.
Lu (US 20210210993 A1), PERIPHERAL DEVICE. A peripheral device includes a flat body, a control module, a wireless charging module, a first connector module, a second connector module, and a signal transmission module. The wireless charging module is electrically connected to the control module. The wireless charging module is disposed in the flat body. The first connecter module is disposed in the flat body. The second connector module is disposed in the flat body. The signal transmission module is electrically connected to the control module, the first connector module, the second connector module, and the wireless charging module. The signal transmission module is disposed in the flat body. A turn-on state or a turn-off state of the wireless charging module is determined based on whether the first connector module is electrically connected to wireless signal receiver or not.
DAYERIZADEH et al. (US-20230136406-A1), Dual communications demodulation of a wireless power transmission system having an internal repeater. A wireless power transmission system includes a transmission antenna that has a source antenna coil and an internal repeater coil. The system further includes two demodulation circuits, for demodulating incoming communications from a power receiver. One demodulation circuit receives sensed signals at the source coil and the other receives sensed signals at the internal repeater coil. The pair of sensed signals are then summed at a summing amplifier to generate a communications signal for input to a controller of the wireless power transmission system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649