CTNF 18/648,019 CTNF 80416 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on April 26, 2024 . These drawings are acceptable . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 of claim 1 recites “A network node for wireless communication, comprising, comprising:” It should be corrected as - - A network node for wireless communication, comprising: - - Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 10-11, 19-20, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (hereinafter “Ren”, US 2023/0299821) in view of Rahman et al. (hereinafter “Rahman”, US 2016/0142117) . Regarding claims 1, and 19 , Ren discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (i.e., terminal 1200 as shown in Fig. 12) , and a method for wireless communication by a UE, comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (i.e., processor 1210) and one or more memories (i.e., memory 1209) coupled with the one or more processors (i.e., memory 1209 coupled to processor 1210) , the processing system configured to cause the UE to: select, a first spatial domain (SD) basis for a first layer (i.e., a valid orthogonal basis as described in paragraph 0043) ; select, beams that are orthogonal to the first SD basis, one or more additional SD bases for one or more additional layers (i.e., the valid orthogonal basis includes a spatial domain orthogonal basis as described in paragraph 0043) ; and transmit, to a network node, information that indicates the first SD basis selected for the first layer, the one or more additional SD bases selected for the one or more additional layers, and a co-phase coefficient associated with the first SD basis and the one or more additional SD bases (i.e., sending information for determining a position of a valid orthogonal basis including a spatial domain orthogonal basis, and a coefficient of the valid orthogonal basis to a network side as described in paragraphs 0042-0043) . Ren, however, does not expressly disclose select, from a set and/or a subset of candidate beams in a codebook. In a similar endeavor, Rahman discloses methods to calculate linear combination pre-coders for MIMO wireless communication systems. Rahman also discloses select, from a set and/or a subset of candidate beams in a codebook (i.e., basis beam vectors selected from a master beam set or retrieved from memory, a codebook enables selection of a linear combination of at least a subset of the beams as described in Abstract) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to feedback with the best beam selection and reduce overhead. Regarding claims 10, and 25 , Ren discloses network node for wireless communication (i.e., network-side device 1300 as shown in Fig. 13) , and a method for wireless communication by a network node, comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (i.e., processor 1304) and one or more memories (i.e., memory 1305) coupled with the one or more processors (i.e., memory 1305 coupled to processor 1304) , the processing system configured to cause the network node to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more reference signals (i.e., the network side uses signaling to trigger the terminal to send a sounding reference signal (SRS) as described in paragraph 0108) ; and receive, from the UE, information that indicates a first spatial domain (SD) basis selected for a first layer, one or more additional SD bases selected for one or more additional layers from a subset of the candidate beams in the codebook that are orthogonal to the first SD basis, and a co-phase coefficient associated with the first SD basis and the one or more additional SD bases (i.e., sending information for determining a position of a valid orthogonal basis including a spatial domain orthogonal basis, and a coefficient of the valid orthogonal basis to a network side as described in paragraphs 0042-0043) . Ren, however, does not expressly disclose information selected for a first layer, from a set and/or a subset of candidate beams in a codebook. In a similar endeavor, Rahman discloses methods to calculate linear combination pre-coders for MIMO wireless communication systems. Rahman also discloses information selected for a first layer, from a set and/or a subset of candidate beams in a codebook (i.e., basis beam vectors selected from a master beam set or retrieved from memory, a codebook enables selection of a linear combination of at least a subset of the beams as described in Abstract) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to feedback with the best beam selection and reduce overhead. Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, and 26 , Ren and Rahman disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Rahman also discloses wherein the co-phase coefficient has an identical value for the first SD basis and the one or more additional SD bases (i.e., selected beams are partitioned into groups such that beams in the same group share common SB co-phase and coefficient as described in paragraph 0288) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4, 6, 12-13, 15, 21-22, 24, 27-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Rahman and further in view of Jeon et al. (hereinafter “Jeon”, US 2026/0045998) . Regarding claims 3, 12, 21, and 27 , Ren and Rahman disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims. In a similar endeavor, Jeon discloses method and device for estimating and predicting channel of secondary cell in wireless communication system. Jeon also discloses wherein the co-phase coefficient has an identical sign for the first SD basis and the one or more additional SD bases (i.e., co-phase component between the plus and minus antennas as described in paragraph 0200) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the base station to reconstruct the beam directions consistently. Regarding claims 4, 13, 22, and 28 , Ren and Rahman disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims. In a similar endeavor, Jeon discloses method and device for estimating and predicting channel of secondary cell in wireless communication system. Jeon also discloses wherein the co-phase coefficient has a first sign for the first SD basis and a second sign for at least a second SD basis, of the one or more additional SD bases (i.e., co-phase component between the plus and minus antennas as described in paragraph 0200) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the base station to reconstruct the beam directions consistently. Regarding claims 5, 14, 23, and 29 , Ren and Rahman disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims. In a similar endeavor, Jeon discloses method and device for estimating and predicting channel of secondary cell in wireless communication system. Jeon also discloses wherein the co-phase coefficient has a first sign for the first SD basis and at least a second SD basis, of the one or more additional SD bases, and wherein the co-phase coefficient has a second sign for at least a third SD basis, of the one or more additional SD bases (i.e., co-phase component between the plus and minus antennas as described in paragraph 0200) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the base station to reconstruct the beam directions consistently. Regarding claims 6, 15, 24, and 30 , Ren and Rahman disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims. In a similar endeavor, Jeon discloses method and device for estimating and predicting channel of secondary cell in wireless communication system. Jeon also discloses wherein the co-phase coefficient has a respective sign, for each of the one or more additional SD bases, that is equal to or opposite from a sign of the co-phase coefficient for the first SD basis (i.e., co-phase component between the plus and minus antennas as described in paragraph 0200) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to simplify signaling . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Rahman and further in view of Wu et al. (hereinafter “Wu”, US 2026/0156510) . Regarding claims 7, and 16 , Ren and Rahman disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims. In a similar endeavor, Wu discloses managing machine learning based channel state information reporting at a network. Wu also discloses wherein a total quantity of the candidate beams in the codebook is a product of a first quantity of antenna ports in a first dimension, a second quantity of antenna ports in a second dimension, a first oversampling factor in the first dimension, and a second oversampling factor in the second dimension (i.e., the product of N1 & N2 correspond to the number of ports, and O1 & O2 correspond to an oversampling factor in a horizontal and vertical domain as described in paragraphs 0052-0053) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention. The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to yield more accurate channel state estimation . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8-9, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WAYNE CAI whose telephone number is (571)272-7798. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:00 AM-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, KATHY WANG-HURST can be reached on (571)270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/648,019 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/648,019 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644