DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim 1 recites limitations which were not present in the parent application e.g. at least the “first conducting unit attached to at least part of the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body such that no portion of the at least one first conducting unit extends more than 3 millimeters from the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body”. As such, Claim 1 and its dependents take on the filing date of present application, 26 April 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Subspecies 1.a., 2.b, and 3.a. in the reply filed on 18 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the communication unit and data transmission device" in the final clause. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to whether this device is the same as the communication unit or some other device, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims dependent upon a rejected claim are therefore rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 - 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soltanmohammadi (US 2021/0278359), in view of Ruys et al. (US 2020/0150067).
Regarding Claim 1, Soltanmohammadi discloses an environmental sensing device, in at least Figure 1, comprising: an environmental sensing device body (10) that forms an environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space (where internal components are) [0043], and an environmental sensing device exterior surface (surface seen in Figure 1); at least one first conducting unit (11) attached to at least part of the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body (Figure 1); at least one second conducting unit (12) attached to at least part of the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body (Figure 1); an electric measuring unit (13) disposed entirely within the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space [0043], the electric measuring unit measuring current, voltage, capacitance, and temperature of a surrounding environment of the environmental sensing device corresponding to the first conducting unit and the second conducting unit [0046], the electric measuring unit being capable of transmitting a first signal that includes data indicating the measurement of the current, voltage, capacitance, and temperature of the surrounding environment [0046]; a processing unit (14) disposed entirely within the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space [0047], the processing unit being capable of receiving the first signal from the electric measuring unit and processing the first signal data to calculate a moisture of the surrounding environment [0047]; a power supply unit (15) disposed entirely within the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space for supplying power to the electric measuring unit and the processing unit [0048]; and a communication unit (17), the communication unit and data transmission device being entirely disposed within the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space [0050].
Soltanmohammadi fails to expressly disclose the first conducting unit is such that no portion of the at least one first conducting unit extends more than 3 millimeters from the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body; the second conducting unit is such that no portion of the at least one second conducting unit extends more than 3 millimeters from the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body.
Ruys teaches first and second conducting units (set of 7) [0030] such that no portion of the first or second conducting unit is more than 3 mm (flush) from the exterior surface of an environmental sensing body (B) [0030].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Soltanmohammadi so that the first and second conducting units are flush with the environmental sensing device body i.e. no portion extending more than 3 millimeters from the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body for the benefit of not providing resistance to movement within the ground, as taught by Ruys [0030].
Regarding Claim 2, Soltanmohammadi discloses the environment sensing body is a general shape such that a length dimension of the environmental sensing device body is more than a width or diameter of the environmental sensing body (Figure 1).
Soltanmohammadi fails to expressly disclose the length dimension is no more than twice a width or diameter dimension.
Soltanmohammadi does disclose the dimension can be designed to be comparable to that of a desired crop [0044].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Soltanmohammadi’s length including a length dimension is no more than twice a width or diameter dimension for the benefit of selecting an appropriate size so that the body is comparable to that of the desired crop, as taught by Soltanmohammadi [0044].
Regarding Claim 4, Ruys teaches the first conducting unit and the second conducting unit do not extend beyond the exterior surface of the environmental sensing body [0030].
The combination would have been obvious for the same reasons regarding the rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 5, Soltanmohammadi discloses the first conducting unit and the second conducting unit are annular and disposed around the exterior surface of the environmental sensing device body (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Soltanmohammadi discloses a temperature sensing unit (16) disposed in the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space for sensing temperature of the surrounding environment and transmitting a second signal [0049], wherein the processing unit is further used to receive the second signal and calibrate the measurement of the temperature of the surrounding environment by the second signal [0049], further wherein the processing unit further calculates the moisture of the surrounding environment according to the environmental data, the measurement of the current, voltage, and capacitance of the surrounding environment and the calibrated temperature of the surrounding environment [0049].
Regarding Claim 7, Soltanmohammadi discloses a positioning unit (18) disposed in the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space and electrically connected to the processing unit for tracking a location of the environmental sensing device [0051].
Regarding Claim 8, Soltanmohammadi discloses a storage unit (19) disposed in the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space for receiving and recording the measurement of the current, voltage, capacitance, and temperature of the surrounding environment, the moisture calculated by the processing unit, and the corresponding time [0054].
Regarding Claim 9, Soltanmohammadi discloses an acceleration sensing unit (20) disposed in the environmental sensing device interior/accommodating space and electrically connected to the processing unit for sensing an external force received by the environmental sensing device [0054].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0333278 disclosing equivalency between protruding, flush, and recessed electrodes in [0047].
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855