DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Potter (US 2022/0170606).
Regarding claim 1, Potter discloses a lightbar comprising:
an emergency warning section comprising at least one LED (140b, Fig. 3C) and a reflective enclosure (150, Fig. 3C);
at least one peripheral LED (140a, Fig. 3C) positioned behind the at least one LED such that the at least one peripheral LED is obstructed from view from an exterior of the lightbar due to the at least one LED (Fig. 3C) and the reflective enclosure being positioned in front of the at least one peripheral LED (Fig. 3B and 3C); and
light transmissive material (150 and the air between 150 and 140a, Fig. 3C), wherein the light transmissive material is in visual communication with the at least one peripheral LED and a periphery of the lightbar (outer area of 120 and 150, Figs. 3B and 3C).
Regarding claim 3, Potter discloses the light transmissive material is an acrylic, a polycarbonate, glass, a silicone, or a plastic (Paragraphs 0039 and 0052).
Regarding claim 4, Potter discloses the light transmissive material is air (Specifically the lighting device is not taught having specific gas so air is considered to be implicitly taught).
Regarding claim 5, Potter discloses a reflective material (150, specifically the limit between the light transmissive material and air is what makes the reflective material) surrounds the light transmissive material (the insides of 150).
Regarding claim 6, Potter discloses the light transmissive material (150, Fig. 3C) transmits light from the at least one peripheral LED to a top periphery (top of 130, Fig. 1) of the lightbar.
Regarding claim 7, Potter discloses the light transmissive material transmits light from the at least one peripheral LED to a bottom periphery of the lightbar (Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 8, Potter discloses at least one upper peripheral LED (140a, Figs. 1 and 3C) configured to transmit light to a top periphery (top of 130, Fig. 1) of the lightbar; and
at least one bottom peripheral LED (140a, Figs. 1 and 3C) configured to transmit light to a bottom periphery (bottom of 130, Fig. 1) of the lightbar.
Regarding claim 9, Potter discloses the light transmissive material is fixed to a top cover or a base of the lightbar (top or base of 130, Fig. 1).
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 10, and 12-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art taken as a whole does not show nor suggest an emergency warning section with at least one LED, reflective enclosure, at least one peripheral LED positioned behind the at least one LED such that the at least one peripheral LED is obstructed from view from exterior of the light bar due to the at least one LED and reflective enclosure being positioned in front of the at least one peripheral LED the light transmissive material being in visual communication with the peripheral LED and a periphery of the light bar as specifically called for the claimed combinations.
The closest prior art, Olson (US 2015/0330592) in view of Wang (US 6650058) teaches several limitations and their specifics as rejected in the office action on 12/11/2025.
However Olson in view of Wang fail to disclose at least one peripheral LED positioned behind the at least one LED such that the at least one peripheral LED is obstructed from view from exterior of the light bar due to the at least one LED and reflective enclosure being positioned in front of the at least one peripheral LED the light transmissive material being in visual communication with the peripheral LED and a periphery of the light bar as required by the claim and there is no motivation absent the applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the Olson in view of Wang reference in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
/ERIC T EIDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875