DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 29 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2, 6, 21-22, 26-28, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goyal et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0284373 (hereinafter Goyal).
Regarding claim 1, Goyal discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (disclosed is a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, according to [0059], Fig. 6 [element 10]), comprising:
one or more memories (the UE comprises a volatile memory and a non-volatile memory, according to [0064], Fig. 6 [elements 40 and 42]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (the UE comprises a processor that is coupled to the volatile memory and the non-volatile memory, according to [0064], Fig. 6 [element 20]), configured to:
receive, from a serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order initiating a random access procedure in a candidate cell (the UE receives, from the source DU (distributed unit), a PDCCH order that triggers a random access procedure for a target DU (which is also referred to as a candidate DU), according to [0021], Fig. 1 [steps 15, 19, and 20]);
determine a timing delay associated with a timing difference between the serving cell and the candidate cell (the UE acquires the timing advance (TA) for the candidate DU, via the coordination of the source DU and the target DU, by receiving said TA value in a MAC CE cell switch command, according to [0021], Fig. 1 [step 18]); and
transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) communication to the candidate cell in accordance with the PDCCH order and the timing delay (in response to the PDCCH order and using the received TA, the UE transmits a PRACH signal to the target DU, according to [0021], Fig. 1 [step 19]).
Claim 21 recites the method (disclosed is a method according to which the UE operates, according to [0019], Fig. 1) according to which the UE recited in claim 1 operates, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 27 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising one or more instructions, that when executed by one or more processors of the UE (the UE comprises a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that are executed in order to perform the functions of said UE, according to [0068]), cause the UE to perform the method recited in claim 21, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 21.
Regarding claim 2, Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timing difference is associated with downlink transmission timing difference or a downlink reception timing difference between the serving cell and the candidate cell (the timing advance is obtained via a coordinated effort of the source DU and the candidate DU (the timing advance, by definition refers to the transmission and/or reception timing difference), according to [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Goyal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a random access response message from the candidate cell in accordance with the timing delay (a RAR (random access response) message is received by the UE from the target DU in accordance with the TA, according to [0042], Fig. 1 [step 20]).
Claims 22 and 28 do not differ substantively from claim 2, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claims 26 and 32 do not differ substantively from claim 6, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3-4, 23-24, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal as applied to claims 1, 21, and 27 above, in view of You et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0141074 (hereinafter You).
Regarding claim 3, Goyal discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Goyal discloses that the PRACH communication is transmitted to the candidate cell in accordance with a latency (the PRACH transmission is sent to the target DU in accordance with the TA, according to [0042]).
Goyal does not expressly disclose that the latency is based at least in part on a fixed time delay, a bandwidth part switching delta, the timing delay, and a switching time.
You discloses that the latency is based at least in part on a fixed time delay, a bandwidth part switching delta, the timing delay, and a switching time (a PRACH is transmitted after a time since the last symbol of a PDCCH order was received, whereby said time is the sum of (1) a time duration allocated for PUSCH preparation time and processing capability [“fixed time delay”], (2) a BWP (bandwidth part) switching delta [“bandwidth part switching delta”, “switching time”], and (3) a delta delay [“timing delay”], according to [0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal with You such that the latency is based at least in part on a fixed time delay, a bandwidth part switching delta, the timing delay, and a switching time.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to accommodate services, terminals, and UEs that are sensitive to reliability and latency (You: [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Goyal discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Goyal does not expressly disclose that the PRACH communication is transmitted in a PRACH occasion for which a time between a last symbol of the PDCCH order and a first symbol of the PRACH communication is larger than or equal to a latency that is based at least in part on the timing difference between the serving cell and the candidate cell.
You discloses that the PRACH communication is transmitted in a PRACH occasion for which a time between a last symbol of the PDCCH order and a first symbol of the PRACH communication is larger than or equal to a latency that is based at least in part on the timing difference between the serving cell and the candidate cell (the first symbol of a PRACH transmission is separated from the last symbol of a PDCCH order by a time that is equal to or longer than a sum of times that includes a timing difference, according to [0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal with You such that the PRACH communication is transmitted in a PRACH occasion for which a time between a last symbol of the PDCCH order and a first symbol of the PRACH communication is larger than or equal to a latency that is based at least in part on the timing difference between the serving cell and the candidate cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to accommodate services, terminals, and UEs that are sensitive to reliability and latency (You: [0002]).
Claims 23 and 29 do not differ substantively from claim 3, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claims 24 and 30 do not differ substantively from claim 4, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
10. Claims 5, 25, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal as applied to claims 1, 21, and 27 above, in view of Comsa et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0207040 (hereinafter Comsa).
Regarding claim 5, Goyal discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Goyal does not expressly disclose that the one or more processors are further configured to receive a random access response message from the serving cell in accordance with the timing delay.
Comsa discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to receive a random access response message from the serving cell in accordance with the timing delay (a source eNB transmits a RAR to a WTRU during an adjusted RAR window, according to [0198]-[0200]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goyal with Comsa such that the one or more processors are further configured to receive a random access response message from the serving cell in accordance with the timing delay.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to avoid and mitigate interference (Comsa: [0005]-[0007]).
Claims 25 and 31 do not differ substantively from claim 5, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645