DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 06/04/2026. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-13 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-13 have been amended; Claims 2, 7, and 14 have been amended. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-13 remain pending for evaluation. Applicants amendments to the claims and Specification have overcome each and every objection, §112(d) rejection, and §101 rejection from the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 04/02/2026. The Examiner also acknowledges Applicant’s ongoing preparation of the English translation of Chinese Patent Application No. 202111259695.1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 8-10 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, the system of Tsai/Jung/Zhu fails to teach or suggest at least “wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set” in the amended Claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the bitfield, or the bit-location information defining the bitfield, must be stored within or expressly included as a field of the reference-signal-resource-set configuration itself) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that although Jung discloses receiving bit-location information within a bitfield corresponding to an RS resource set, Jung fails to disclose how the bitfield is configured or that the bitfield is stored within an RS resource-set configuration. However, the presently amended claims do not require that the bitfield itself be stored within the reference signal resource set configuration. Rather, the claims require that the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets be based on configuration information that indicates which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set.
The combination of Tsai/Jung/Zhu teaches this relationship. Tsai teaches receiving a TRS configuration identifying one or more TRS resource sets and an L1-based availability indication comprising a bitmap in which each bit is associated with a corresponding TRS resource set (Tsai, Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0578]).
Jung further teaches receiving a set of RS resource-set configurations and configuring the RS resource sets based thereon (Jung Para. [0107]), receiving a bitfield providing respective availability information for the configured RS resource sets (Jung Para. [0109]), and receiving bit location information within the bitfield corresponding to an RS resource set, wherein the bit at that location indicates availability of the RS resource set (Jung Para. [0110]). Jung further expressly provides that the bitfield may be received in DCI (Jung Para. [0110]).
Thus, when Jung’s teaching of bit-location information identifying the bit corresponding to a configured RS resource set is applied to Tsai’s DCI availability bitmap, the combination teaches the claimed association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets based on configuration information identifying which indication bit is associated with each respective resource set. Applicant’s argument that neither Jung nor Tsai individually discloses the entirety of the amended limitation does not address the references as relied upon in combination.
In conclusion, Tsai/Jung/Zhu teaches or suggests at least “wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set” in the version of Claim 1 included in the claims submitted on 08/14/2024. However, the §103 rejection below is made in view of Tsai/Jung as the claims submitted on 06/04/2026 have removed the subject matter previously taught by Zhu. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments, presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 6, 11, and 12 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to independent Claim(s) 6, 11, and 12 and the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the fourth configuration information." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because Claim 7, which Claim 8 used to depend upon, has been cancelled. This rejection can be overcome by deleting “fourth” from the phrase “the fourth configuration information” such that Claim 8 is parallel to the amended version of Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2023/0051117, previously presented), Tsai hereinafter, in view of Jung et al. (US 2024/0187187, previously presented), Jung hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches a communication method, comprising (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]):
receiving first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI comprises reference signal availability indication information (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582] - [0573] FIG. 11 is a flowchart illustrating a method/process 1100 for monitoring a TRS, according to an implementation of the present disclosure. In action 1102, the UE receives, from a BS, a TRS configuration that indicates one or more TRS resource sets for the UE to monitor reference signals. In action 1104, the UE determines whether an L1-based availability indication (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS availability indication) for the one or more TRS resource sets is received from the BS. In action 1106, the UE determines the one or more TRS resource sets are unavailable when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has not been received from the BS… [0579] In some examples, the L1-based availability indication is indicated by the BS via a TRS availability indication included in DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]),
and the reference signal availability indication information comprises one or more indication bits, wherein each indication bit is associated with one of at least one reference signal resource sets, (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582] - [0578] In some examples, the L1-based availability indication includes a bitmap, each bit of the bitmap being associated with at least one corresponding TRS resource set of the one or more TRS resource sets; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
a value of the indication bit is used to determine whether one of a reference signal corresponding to the associated reference signal resource set is sent,(Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582] - [0574] In some examples, the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
and determining, based on the first DCI, whether the reference signal is sent (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582] - [0574] In some examples, the UE further determines the one or more TRS resource sets are present when the UE determines that the L1-based availability indication has been received from the BS and the L1-based availability indication indicates a first value for the one or more TRS resource sets; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]).
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set.
However, Jung teaches
wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set (Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110] - [0110] In various embodiments, the method 1000 further comprises receiving bit location information within a bitfield corresponding to the RS resource set, wherein a bit corresponding to the bit location within the bitfield indicates availability of the RS resource set. In one embodiment, the bitfield is received in downlink control information (DCI) including a paging early indication. In certain embodiments, the bitfield is received in paging DCI, wherein the paging DCI is monitored in a paging occasion; See also Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsai teaches a communication method, comprising (Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]):
determining first downlink control information (DCI); and sending the first DCI, wherein the first DCI comprises reference signal availability indication information (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]),
and the reference signal availability indication information comprises one or more indication bits, wherein each indication bit is associated with one of at least one reference signal resource sets, (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
a value of the indication bit is used to determine whether one of a reference signal corresponding to the associated reference signal resource set is sent, (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set.
However, Jung teaches
wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set (Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; See also Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai teaches a communication apparatus, comprising (Fig. 12, Para. [0583-0592]):
one or more processors (Fig. 12, element 1228, Para. [0583-0592])
and one or more non-transitory memories (Fig. 12, element 1234, Para. [0583-0592]),
wherein the one or more non-transitory memories are coupled to the one or more processors (Fig. 12, elements 1228 and 1234, Para. [0583-0592]),
the one or more non-transitory memories are configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the terminal device is enabled to perform operations comprising (Fig. 12, element 1234, Para. [0583-0592]):
receiving first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI comprises reference signal availability indication information (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]),
and the reference signal availability indication information comprises one or more indication bits, wherein each indication bit is associated with one of at least one reference signal resource sets, (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
a value of the indication bit is used to determine whether one of a reference signal corresponding to the associated reference signal resource set is sent, (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
and determining, based on the first DCI, whether the reference signal is sent (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]).
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set.
However, Jung teaches
wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set (Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; See also Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsai teaches a communication apparatus, comprising (Fig. 12, Para. [0583-0592]):
one or more processors (Fig. 12, element 1228, Para. [0583-0592])
and one or more memories (Fig. 12, element 1234, Para. [0583-0592]),
wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors (Fig. 12, elements 1228 and 1234, Para. [0583-0592]),
the one or more memories are configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the terminal device is enabled to perform operations comprising (Fig. 12, element 1234, Para. [0583-0592]):
determining first downlink control information (DCI); and sending the first DCI, wherein the first DCI comprises reference signal availability indication information (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]),
and the reference signal availability indication information comprises one or more indication bits, wherein each indication bit is associated with one or more reference signal resource sets, (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
a value of the indication bit is used to determine whether a reference signal corresponding to the associated reference signal resource set is sent (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]);
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set.
However, Jung teaches
wherein the association between the indication bits and the reference signal resource sets is based on configuration information of the reference signal resource sets, the configuration information indicating which indication bit is associated with each reference signal resource set (Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; See also Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai in view of Jung teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein a quantity of bits comprised in the reference signal availability indication information is E, and E is determined based on the configuration information comprised in each reference signal resource set.
However, Jung teaches
wherein a quantity of bits comprised in the reference signal availability indication information is E, and E is determined based on the configuration information comprised in each reference signal resource set (Para. [0101] - In another example, a bitwidth of a bitfield indicating availability of TRS/CSI-RS may be based on the number of TRS/CSI-RS occasions of a particular QCL source (e.g., associated with a particular SSB index) within a particular DRX/paging cycle (or a predefined/configured number of DRX/paging cycles), where the UE identifies the particular QCL source (or the particular SSB index) based on a QCL source of a PDCCH monitoring occasion for PEI. For example, the first/leftmost bit of the bitfield corresponds to the earliest TRS/CSI-RS occasion associated with the particular QCL resource within the particular DRX/paging cycle, the second bit corresponds to the second earliest TRS/CSI-RS occasion associated with the particular QCL resource within the particular DRX/paging cycle, and so forth. If a TRS/CSI-RS occasion of a particular QCL source is not configured, the UE assumes that the bitwidth of the bitfield is zero, that is, the bitfield indicating the availability of TRS/CSI-RS does not exist. In a further example, a bitwidth of a bitfield indicating availability of TRS/CSI-RS is one if at least one TRS/CSI-RS occasion of a particular QCL source is configured; otherwise, the bitfield does not exist (or is reserved). The one bit, if it exists (or if it is used), indicates whether a UE can assume that TRS/CSI-RS is present on all TRS/CSI-RS occasions associated with a particular QCL source within a particular DRX/paging cycle; See also Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsai in view of Jung teaches Claim 6.
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein a quantity of bits comprised in the reference signal availability indication information is E, and E is determined based on the fourth configuration information comprised in each reference signal resource set.
However, Jung teaches
wherein a quantity of bits comprised in the reference signal availability indication information is E, and E is determined based on the fourth configuration information comprised in each reference signal resource set (Para. [0101]; See also Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 9, Tsai in view of Jung teaches Claims 1 and 6.
Yet, Tsai does not expressly teach wherein the quantity of reference signal resource sets associated with the first DCI is equal to a quantity of reference signal resource sets configured in system information.
However, Jung teaches
wherein the quantity of reference signal resource sets associated with the first DCI is equal to a quantity of reference signal resource sets configured in system information (Para. [0085] - In one implementation, a UE receives a cell-specific TRS/CSI-RS configuration (e.g., TRS-ResourceCommon) in a system information block (e.g., SIB1) or in a dedicated RRC message (e.g., in the CellGroupConfig IE), where the TRS/CSI-RS configuration includes at least one TRS/CSI-RS resource set configuration and a TRS/CSI-RS resource set configuration includes one or more TRS/CSI-RS resources. For example, the TRS/CSI-RS resource set configuration includes an even number of TRS/CSI-RS resources (e.g., 2 or 4); See also Para. [0063, 0075]; Fig. 4-9, Para. [0079-0105]; Fig. 10, Para. [0106-0110]; Fig. 11, Para. [0111-0144]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsai’s invention of “a method for monitoring a tracking reference signal and a related device configured to employ the method” (Tsai Para. [0002]) with Jung’s invention of “configuring a reference signal resource set based on quasi-co-location information” (Jung Para. [0002]) because Jung’s invention provides “methods to provide quasi-co-location (“QCL”) information of additional RS provisioned to idle and/or inactive UEs for UE power saving and improved time, frequency, and/or beam tracking” (Jung Para. [0056]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 10, Tsai in view of Jung teaches Claims 1 and 6.
Tsai further teaches
wherein the first DCI is one of a paging DCI or a paging early indication (PEI) (Fig. 11, steps 1102 and 1104; Para. [0573-0582] - [0580] In some examples, the L1-based availability indication is indicated by the BS via a PEI. The PEI is monitored by the UE on a PEI search space; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582]).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsai in view of Jung teaches Claim 1.
Tsai further teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer- readable storage medium stores computer instructions or a program, and when the computer instructions or the program is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the communication method according to claim 1 (Fig. 12, element 1234, Para. [0583-0592] - [0590] The memory 1234 may include computer-storage media in the form of volatile and/or non-volatile memory. The memory 1234 may be removable, non-removable, or a combination thereof. For example, the memory 1234 may include solid-state memory, hard drives, optical-disc drives, etc. As illustrated in FIG. 12, the memory 1234 may store computer-readable and/or computer-executable instructions 1232 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause the processor 1228 (e.g., processing circuitry) to perform various disclosed functions. Alternatively, the instructions 1232 may not be directly executable by the processor 1228 but may be configured to cause the node 1200 (e.g., when compiled and executed) to perform various disclosed functions; See also Para. [0040]; Fig. 1, Para. [0061]; Fig. 2, Para. [0062-0081]; Fig. 3-5, Para. [0082-0154]; Fig. 6, Para. [0155]; Fig. 7, Para. [0157-0270]; Fig. 8, Para. [0271-0286]; Fig. 9, Para. [0287-0549]; Fig. 10, Para. [0550-0572]; Fig. 11, Para. [0573-0582] ).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Nagano (US 20240154757) teaches a TRS availability indication comprising multiple bits/values and configuring, through higher-layer signaling, a correspondence between TRS-availability indication values and NZP-CSI-RS resource sets or TRS resources/occasions (Nagano Para. [0074-0075]).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468