DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-11 are pending in this application.
Claims 1 and 7-11 have been amended [5/26/2026].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument based on newly applied reference Ferreri (US-2019/0075220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferreri (US-2019/0075220).
As to Claim 1, Ferreri teaches ‘A profile editing apparatus comprising: one or more memories that store instructions; and one or more processors that cause, by executing the instructions, the profile editing apparatus to: obtain a color profile including a table, wherein the table includes conversion information for mapping an input color value to a first output color value via a calculation that is based on the input color value and on the conversion information [Figs 1 (140), 4, par 0019-0024, 0038-0042 – printing system includes a print controller and color management unit for providing a color-mapping from an input color space to a printer color space in one or more color lookup tables (LUTs) including InColor and OutColor1]; obtain specific color information that maps the input color value to a second output color value, wherein the second output color value is different from the first output color value [Fig 4, par 0027-0042 – computing a second output color (OutColor2) from an input color (InColor) based on enabling Force-X implementation]; and register the specific color information in the color profile such that the color profile includes both the specific color information and the conversion information [par 0023-0024, 0041 – InColor, x, OutColor1, and OutColor2 are all added and cached storing the color mapping data]’.
As to Claim 2, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the color profile and the specific color information are expressed in a color space with three or more channels [par 0026, 0048 – RGB to CMYK]’.
As to Claim 3, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the color space with three or more channels is a red-green-blue (RGB) color space [par 0026, 0048 – RGB to CMYK]’.
As to Claim 4, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the color space with three or more channels is a cyan-magenta-yellow-black (CMYK) color space [par 0026, 0048 – RGB to CMYK].
As to Claim 5, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the color profile is an International Color Consortium (ICC) profile [par 0023 – ICC profiles]’.
As to Claim 7, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the specific color information includes the input color value and the second output color value [par 0023-0042 – Force-X transformation maps an input color to a second output color]’.
As to Claim 8, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the calculation that is based on the input color value and on the conversion information includes interpolation [par 0027-0039 – color engine enables two colors to be simultaneously interpolated in LUT to compute a first output color and a second output color]’.
As to Claim 9, Ferreri teaches ‘wherein the profile editing apparatus is an image forming apparatus, and wherein the image forming apparatus performs color adjustment on image data based on the color profile including the specific color information [Fig 1, par 0018-0023 – printing system includes printer controller and printer that includes one or more color caches and color lookup tables (LUTs) storing mapping of an input color and two output colors]’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreri et al. in view of Bala et al. (US-2010/0086230).
As to Claim 6, Ferreri teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in dependent claim 5 and independent claim 1. Ferreri does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the specific color information is added as a private tag of the ICC profile’.
Bala teaches ‘wherein the specific color information is added as a private tag of the ICC profile [par 0020, 0028-0029 – private tags are used to store special information of a color transformation, where new NLC private tags and modified lookup table are written in a new ICC profile]’.
Ferreri and Bala are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data print color systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include private tags in a special CMM, as taught by Bala. The motivation for doing so would have been to providing a user-friendly color editing system when reading from private tags. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bala with Ferreri to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Publication No. 2019/0075220
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681