DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat Pub No 20180133431 to Malchano et al. (hereinafter “Malchano”).
Regarding claim 1. Malchano discloses a light emitting ophthalmic lens (para 0265-0266, 0268 fig. 4A), comprising: a lens (para 0268 “lens or solid material 425”, fig. 4A); a light guiding element attached to the lens (fig. 4A, para 0269 “diffuser element”; para 0262 “one or more mirrors for reflecting or redirecting light []”); and a light source oriented to emit a light towards the light guiding element (para 0261 “light source 305 [] include any type of light source or light emitting device”, fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 2. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light is comprised of a blue light (para 0261).
Regarding claim 3. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 2, wherein the blue light has a wavelength of between 460 nanometers and 480 nanometers (para 0261, 0249 “blue (e.g., 450-495 nm)”).
Regarding claim 4. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light is comprised of a red light (para 0261).
Regarding claim 5. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light is comprised of a green light (para 0261).
Regarding claim 6. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light is comprised of a yellow light (para 0261, 0249 “yellow”, also see para 0333).
Regarding claim 11. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light source is comprised of a light emitting diode (para 0261 “LED”).
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10, 13-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat Pub No. 20200026101 to Rosero et al (hereinafter “Rosero”).
Regarding claim 1. Rosero discloses a light emitting ophthalmic lens (para 0056, abstract), comprising: a lens (para 0039, 0041, 0056 “transparent substrate and lens layer”); a light guiding element attached to the lens (para 0048-0049); and a light source oriented to emit a light towards the light guiding element (para 42).
Regarding claim 7. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is oriented so as to emit light directly onto an outer area of a retina of an eye (fig. 3-4, para 0009, 0054).
Regarding claim 8. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light source is attached to an outer rim of the lens (abstract, para 0009, etc.).
Regarding claim 10. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light source is attached to a surface of the lens (para 0042, figs 2 and 4)
Regarding claim 13. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is embedded within a body of the lens (para 0048, 0050, 0060).
Regarding claim 14. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is positioned on a surface of the lens (para 0048, 0050, 0060).
Regarding claim 15. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is comprised of a microlens (para 0060).
Regarding claim 16. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is comprised of an openings formed within a body of the lens (para 0050, also see para 0048).
Regarding claim 17. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is comprised of a laminate (para 0050) having areas of a different refractive index (para 0013).
Regarding claim 18. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, wherein the light guiding element is comprised of voids formed within a body of the lens (para 0050).
Regarding claim 19. Malchano discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, further comprising a frame (para 0040, frame 12), wherein the lens is attached to the frame (para 0041, fig 3), and wherein the light source is attached to the frame (para 0042, fig 3).
Regarding claim 20. Rosero discloses a light emitting ophthalmic lens system (abstract, par a0056), comprising: a lens (para 0039, 0041 and 0056); a plurality of light guiding elements attached to the lens (para 0048, 0049); a light source attached to the lens, the light source being configured to emit a light towards the plurality of light guiding elements (para 0042); and a control unit in electrical communication with the light source (para 0043 “electronic components [] to power and control the operation []).
Regarding claim 21. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens system of claim 20, wherein the control unit is comprised of a power source (para 0043 “power supply 22”).
Regarding claim 22. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens system of claim 20, wherein the control unit is comprised of a sensor (para 0047- sensing input).
Regarding claim 23. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens system of claim 20, wherein the control unit is operable to adjust an intensity of the light emitted from the light source (para 0044).
Regarding claim 24. Rosero discloses a method of providing optical light therapy (para 0054 “light 27 is redirected by the refractive elements 26 to emanate from the entire second inner surface 16 of the transparent substrate 14”, para 0001, 0003, 00007 “use in the treatment of light related medical conditions”), comprising: orienting a light guiding element near an eye (para 0054, fig 3); orienting a light source towards the light guiding element (para 0054 fig. 3); emitting a light from the light source towards the light guiding element (para 0054, light emitted from the light sources 21”); and guiding light from the light guiding element towards the eye (para 0054, fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 25. Rosero discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the light is selected from the group consisting of a blue light, a red light, a green light, and a yellow light (para 0042).
Regarding claim 26. Rosero discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the light is guided by the light guiding element towards an outer area of a retina of the eye (fig. 3-4, para 0009, 0054).
Regarding claim 27. Rosero discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the light is guided by the light guiding element towards a central area of a retina of the eye(fig. 3-4, para 0009, 0054).
Regarding claim 28. Rosero discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the light is guided by the light guiding element towards an inner area of a retina of the eye (fig. 3-4, para 0009, 0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosero in view of EP1642609 to Klose
Regarding claim 9. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the light source is embedded into a body of the lens.
Klose, from a similar field of endeavor teaches a device having LEDs embedded into the body of the lens (para 0027). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Rosero with the teachings of Klose, because doing so would allow for embedding the LEDs directly into the lens, so as to provide a lower profile frame/arms (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosero in view of US Pat Pub No. 20100174345 to Ashdown
Regarding claim 12. Rosero discloses the light emitting ophthalmic lens of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the light source is comprised of a light emitting semiconductor nanocrystal.
Ashdown, from a similar field of endeavor teaches a light therapy for the eye (para 0001, 0005-0006, 0027-0028) and discloses nanocrystal light emitting semiconductor diodes (para 0023). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Rosero with the teachings of Ashdown to implement any LED device including nanocrystals, to provide the predictable result of designing flexibility for the source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10881550 to Tedford et al.; US 20180074322 to Rousseau et al.; US 6053936 to Koyama et al; US 20170367879 to Lopath et al.
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796