DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 32-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cribb et al. (US 3509578; hereinafter Cribb) in view of Freebury et al. (US20200358200; hereinafter Freebury’200) and Lieberman et al. (US7574832; hereinafter Lieberman).
Regarding claim 1, Cribb discloses “An antenna, comprising: a stem (11) having a longitudinally tubular body (fig. 1 and 2 show 11 is a tubular shape) disposed between a stem first end (12) and a stem second end (far end of 11 (near 2)); a plurality of bulkheads (17) including a terminal bulkhead (17 nearest to end of 22 (near 2)) coupled to said stem second end (last 17 coupled to end of 11) and a plurality of intermediate bulkheads (multiple 17’s in between) disposed on said stem between said stem first end and said stem second end (see fig. 1); and a helix of electrically conductive material disposed around said stem and through an open space of the intermediate bulkheads between a helix first end coupled to a base plate and a helix second end coupled to said terminal bulkhead (helix 18 coupled to 12 via 19)”.
Cribb does not disclose that the stem is a slit tubular body, that the intermediate bulkheads are slidably disposed, and that the helix of conductive material is disposed through an open space of the intermediate bulkheads.
However, Freebury’200 teaches a slit tubular body (12’) and intermediate bulkheads slidably disposed (16/16a are slidable bulkheads).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Freebury’200 and make Cribb’s antenna wherein the stem is a slit tubular body and the intermediate bulkheads are slidably disposed, in order to make the making the antenna extendable as shown in Freebury’200.
Cribb does not disclose that the helix of conductive material is disposed through an open space of the intermediate bulkheads.
However, Lieberman teaches a slideable tower structure with intermediate bulkheads (62) and a helix of conductive material (60) and the helix is disposed through the bulkheads.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Lieberman and make Cribb’s antenna with a helix of electrically conductive material disposed around said stem and through an open space of the intermediate bulkheads, in order to decrease the space used by the antenna by having the wire within the slide-able structure.
Regarding claim 2, Cribb discloses “The antenna of claim 1, further comprising a passthrough in said base plate, said stem extending through passthrough (fig. 1 shows 11 passing through 12)”.
Regarding claim 6, Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein said terminal bulkhead and each of said plurality of intermediate bulkheads comprise a plurality of triangular bulkheads”.
However, Lieberman teaches wherein said terminal bulkhead (62) and each of said plurality of intermediate bulkheads (62) comprise a plurality of triangular bulkheads (see fig. 3)”.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cribb in view of Freebury’200, further in view of Freebury et al. (US20170222308; hereinafter Freebury’308).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 2 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein said base plate configured as a ground plane”.
However, Freebury’308 teaches “wherein said base plate configured as a ground plane (reflector assembly includes a reflector 21 which acts as a ground plane)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Freebury’308 and make Cribb’s antenna wherein said base plate configured as a ground plane, in order to receive electromagnetic waves from another source.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 3 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein said ground plane has a circular perimeter”.
However, Freebury’308 teaches “wherein said ground plane has a circular perimeter (21 is circular)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Freebury’308 and make Cribb’s antenna wherein said ground plane has a circular perimeter, in order to receive electromagnetic waves from another source.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cribb in view of Freebury’200, and Freebury’308, further in view of Ohgren et al. (US20170317423; hereinafter Ohgren).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 4 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “further comprising a sidewall circumferentially coupled to and upwardly extending about said circular perimeter of said ground plane”.
However, Ohgren teaches “further comprising a sidewall (11) circumferentially coupled to and upwardly extending about said circular perimeter of said ground plane (3)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ohgren and make Cribb’s antenna further comprising a sidewall circumferentially coupled to and upwardly extending about said circular perimeter of said ground plane, in order to provide a secure mounting for the antenna assembly and protect the antenna.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cribb in view of Freebury’200, further in view of Holzheimer.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 6 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein each successive one of said plurality of triangular bulkheads having a rotational offset”.
However, Holzheimer teaches “wherein each successive one of said plurality of triangular bulkheads having a rotational offset (14’s are rotationally offset in fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Holzheimer and make Cribb’s antenna wherein each successive one of said plurality of triangular bulkheads having a rotational offset, in order to improve field of view of the antenna.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 7 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein each successive one of said plurality of triangular bulkheads having said rotational offset of about 60 degrees”.
However, Holzheimer already teaches rotational offsets of the bulkheads and it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the priority date, to offset the triangular bulkheads about 60 degrees, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Holzheimer and make Cribb’s antenna wherein each successive one of said plurality of triangular bulkheads having said rotational offset of about 60 degrees, in order to improve field of view of the antenna.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 7 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “further comprising a vertex cap coupled at each triangular bulkhead vertex”.
However, Holzheimer teaches “further comprising a vertex cap (18) coupled at each triangular bulkhead vertex (14)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Holzheimer and make Cribb’s antenna further comprising a vertex cap coupled at each triangular bulkhead vertex, in order to receive the highest frequencies within the bandwidth.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 9 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “further comprising a cord network interconnecting said plurality of bulkheads, said cord network comprises pairs of cords drawn diagonally to interconnect each adjacent pair of vertex caps of a first bulkhead with each successive rotationally offset vertex cap of a second bulkhead”.
Freebury‘200 teaches a cord network interconnecting said plurality of bulkheads, said cord network comprises pairs of cords drawn diagonally to interconnect each adjacent end of a first bulkhead with each successive end of a second bulkhead (pairs of diagonal cords 21 interconnect each adjacent bulkhead first ends 19 or second ends 20; figs 15,16,18; para[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date, to modify Cribb with the pairs of cords drawn diagonally to interconnect each adjacent end of a first bulkhead with each successive end of a second bulkhead o fFreebury‘200,for the purpose of increasing axial and lateral
Stiffness in the reflector assemblies.
Holzheimer teaches each adjacent pair of vertex caps and each successive rotationally offset vertex cap of a second bulkhead (a radiator at the tip 18 (vertex cap) where the triangular elements 14 meet and tips 18 of the triangular elements 14 offset from the vertical and horizontal planes (rotational); paras[0036], [0042]; figs1,3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date, to modify Cribb with the vertex caps of Raytheon, for the purpose of transmitting and receiving the highest frequencies within the bandwidth range (para[0053])
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cribb in view of Freebury’200, further in view of Tay et al. (US5563615; hereinafter Tay).
Regarding claim 32, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein said helix of electrically conductive material disposed around said stem comprises a plurality of helixes”.
However, Tay teaches “wherein said helix of electrically conductive material disposed around said stem comprises a plurality of helixes (multiple helixes 11 and 12)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tay and make Cribb’s wherein said helix of electrically conductive material disposed around said stem comprises a plurality of helixes, in order to transmit signals at different frequencies.
Regarding claim 33, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 32 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein each of said plurality of helixes operates singularly or concurrently at a different operational frequency”.
However, Tay teaches “wherein each of said plurality of helixes operates singularly or concurrently at a different operational frequency (two helixes 11/12 for two shortened monopoles radiating by themselves (singularly) at two different resonant frequencies; fig1; col3, lines 25-43)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tay and make Cribb’s wherein each of said plurality of helixes operates singularly or concurrently at a different operational frequency, in order to transmit signals at different frequencies.
Regarding claim 34, the modified Cribb discloses the antenna of claim 33 as shown previously.
Cribb does not disclose “wherein said plurality of helixes comprises two helixes, three helixes, or four helixes”.
However, Tay teaches “wherein said plurality of helixes comprises two helixes (multiple helixes 11 and 12)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tay and make Cribb’s wherein said plurality of helixes comprises two helixes, in order to transmit signals at different frequencies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845