Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed September 03, 2024 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities”
In claim 1, specifically step g), “using the first fluorescent signal and the second fluorescent signal to calculate the binding preferences” should read “calculating the binding preference of the test compound by comparing the first fluorescent signal and the second fluorescent signal.”
In claim 1, line 4, “a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties” should read “a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules that form one or more G-quadruplex moieties”.
In claim 1, lines 7-8, “a compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal” should read “a compound providing a fluorescent signal”.
In claim 1, lines 8-9, “the fluorescent compound is capable of binding to the target G-quadruplex moieties” should read “the fluorescent compound binds to the target G-quadruplex moieties”.
In claim 11, lines 1-2, “a test compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal” should read “a test compound providing a fluorescent signal”.
In claim 11, lines 4-5, “a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties” should read “a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules that form one or more G-quadruplex moieties”.
In claim 11, specifically step d), “a solution of solution of Li+” should read “a solution of Li+”.
In claim 11, specifically step g), “using the first fluorescent signal and the second fluorescent signal to calculate the binding preferences” should read “calculating the binding preference of the test compound by comparing the first fluorescent signal and the second fluorescent signal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8, It is unclear if the information in parentheses, “(a fluorescent compound),” is intended to be a claim limitation or not.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1, and are therefore included in this rejection.
Claim 2 line 6, It is unclear if the information in parentheses, “(G4 sequence),” is intended to be a claim limitation or not.
Claims 3-10 depend from claim 2, and are therefore included in this rejection.
Claim 11, line 2, It is unclear if the information in parentheses, “(a fluorescent test compound),” is intended to be a claim limitation or not.
Claims 12-20 depend from claim 11, and are therefore included in this rejection.
Claim 12, line 6, It is unclear if the information in parentheses, “(G4 sequence),” is intended to be a claim limitation or not.
Claims 13-20 depend from claim 12, and are therefore included in this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to one or more judicial exceptions (i.e., product of nature, a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Every claimed invention must be examined to determine whether the claimed invention complies with 35 U.S.C. 101, particularly whether the claimed invention falls within a 35 U.S.C. 101 judicial exception of non-patentable subject matter (e.g., an abstract idea, law of nature, natural phenomenon, natural product etc.). Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, natural products, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work. See MPEP 2106. As per the “2019 Revised Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (Federal Register Vol. 84, No. 4, available 01-07-2019), claims drawn to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter are further analyzed according to a two-part process to determine if A) the claim(s) is/are “directed to” a judicial exception because the claims(s) recite(s) a judicial exception (i.e. prong one) that is not integrated into a practical application (i.e. prong two) and, if so, if B) the claim(s) provide(s) an inventive concept, i.e. recite(s) additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes
Step 1 - Is the Claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition of Matter? YES
Claims 1-20 are directed to one of the statutory classes. Claims 1-20 are directed to a method for determining binding preferences of a non-fluorescent test compound for one or more target G-quadruplex moieties (Process).
Step 2A, Prong One — Does the Claim Recite an Abstract Idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon? YES
Claims 1-20 recite the abstract idea of receiving, processing data using mental steps and using mathematical concepts. Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas, natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection (see MPEP 2106.04). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships and mathematical
calculations), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes, including
procedures for collecting, observing, determining, evaluating, and organizing information (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). In particular, these abstract ideas include:
• Determining binding preferences of a non-fluorescent test compound for one or more target G-quadruplex moieties (mental process, human mind is capable of receiving/ collecting
data, observing/evaluating and organizing information).
• Measuring a first and second fluorescent signal and using the first and second fluorescent signal to calculate binding preferences of the test compound (mental process and using mathematic relationships, the human mind is capable of receiving/ collecting data, observing/evaluating, organizing information and comparing/receiving/organizing data using mathematical concepts such as mathematical formulas/equations, mathematical relationships and mathematical calculations).
Therefore, the claims recite elements that constitute one or more judicial exceptions
Step 2A, Prong Two — Does the Claim Recite an Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application? NO.
The Supreme Court has long distinguished between principles themselves, which are not patent eligible, and the integration of those principles into practical applications, which are patent eligible. However, absent are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions which integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The “integration into a practical application” requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The claim analysis continues with identifying additional elements beyond the judicial exceptions that might evidence integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The steps or elements in addition to the judicial exceptions are: “incubating a device comprising a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties including the target G- quadruplex moieties with a solution comprising a G-quadruplex stabilizing cation selected from the group consisting of Na+, K+ and Li+”, “incubating the device with a solution of a compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal (a fluorescent compound), wherein the fluorescent compound is capable of binding to the target G-quadruplex moieties”, “contacting the device with a solution of the fluorescent compound and the test compound”, which is not indicative of integration into practical application. These steps, recited at a high level of generality, comprise routine data gathering, which is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity. This data gathering is required for using the judicial exceptions. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). There are no further/additional steps which applies either the identified judicial exception into practical application. Thus, a careful evaluation of the claim as a whole fails to reveal the practical application of the judicial exception to, e.g., effect an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technology/technical field, effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical treatment, implement a particular machine that is integral to the claim, or effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or to apply the judicial exception in another meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception(s) into a practical application and is therefore directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2B - Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception? NO.
The Supreme Court has identified a number of considerations for determining whether a claim with additional elements amounts to “significantly more” than the judicial exception(s) itself. The claims as a whole are analyzed to determine whether any additional element/step, or combination of additional elements/steps, in addition to the identified judicial exception(s) is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to “significantly more” than the exception(s).
The eligibility analysis proceeds with identifying any additional elements or limitations, separate from the judicial exceptions, that might potentially render the claims directed to a judicial exception patent eligible. To render the claims patent- eligible, these elements must comprise meaningful limitations that add to or transform the judicial exception to the effect that it amounts to significantly more than the natural correlation or abstract idea itself - i.e. provide an “inventive concept’. The elements that are in addition to the judicial exception comprise: incubating a device comprising a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties including the target G- quadruplex moieties with a solution comprising a G-quadruplex stabilizing cation selected from the group consisting of Na+, K+ and Li+, incubating the device with a solution of a compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal (a fluorescent compound), wherein the fluorescent compound is capable of binding to the target G-quadruplex moieties and contacting the device with a solution of the fluorescent compound and the test compound. When considered separately and in combination, these elements do not add significantly more to the judicial exception. These steps are well-understood, routine and conventional activities in the field. For example, Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, and O’Brien et al. (WIPO International Publication 2007/056113 A2, published May 18, 2007), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, discloses incubating a device comprising a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties including the target G- quadruplex moieties with a solution comprising a G-quadruplex stabilizing cation selected from the group consisting of Na+, K+ and Li+, incubating the device with a solution of a compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal (a fluorescent compound), wherein the fluorescent compound is capable of binding to the target G-quadruplex moieties and contacting the device with a solution of the fluorescent compound and the test compound. The claims recite an abstract idea with additional elements. Because these elements are not inventive concepts, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The judicial exception alone cannot provide that inventive concept or practical application (MPEP 2106.05). The claims therefore do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Accordingly, the claims do not qualify as patent-eligible subject matter.
For further information, please see the latest revision of MPEP 2104-2106 {Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. 101}, including MPEP 2106.04 {Eligibility Step 2A: Whether a Claim is Directed to a Judicial Exception} and 2106.05 {Eligibility Step 2B: Whether a Claim Amounts to Significantly More}, as well as the guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility, including the 2019 Guidance issued Jan. 7, 2019, and the October 2019 Update, provided on the USPTO website at https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/subject-matter- eligibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Balasubramanian teaches a method for determining binding preferences of a nonfluorescent test compound for one or more target G-quadruplex moieties (Page 3, Lines 13-17). Balasubramanian teaches incubating a device comprising a plurality of single stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties (Page 15, Lines 10-19). Balasubramanian teaches including the target G-quadruplex moieties with a solution comprising a G-quadruplex stabilizing cation selected from the group consisting of Na+ and K+ (Page 39, Lines 1-5, Page 9, Lines 9-12 and Page 75, Lines 3-11). Balasubramanian teaches incubating the device with a solution of a compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal (a fluorescent compound) (GFP/EGFP; Page 104, Lines 15-27). Balasubramanian teaches the fluorescent compound is capable of binding to the target G-quadruplex moieties (Page 4, Lines 15-27 and Page 5, Lines 1-5). Balasubramanian teaches measuring a first fluorescent signal from the fluorescent compound bound to the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches removing the fluorescent compound from the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches contacting the device with a solution of the fluorescent compound and the test compound (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches measuring a second fluorescent signal from the fluorescent compound bound to the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches using the first fluorescent signal and the second fluorescent signal to calculate the binding preferences of the test compound (Page 103, Lines 11-26, Fig. 19-20).
Regarding claim 3, Balasubramanian teaches the G quadruplex stabilizing cation is K+ (Page 9, Lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 8, Balasubramanian teaches the test compound is a protein, an oligopeptide, an oligonucleotide, or a small molecule (Page 9, Lines 9-12, Page 45, Lines 22-25 Page 52, Lines 9-15 and Page 106, Lines, 7-13).
Regarding claim 9, Balasubramanian teaches the test compound is a protein (Page 9, Lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 10, Balasubramanian teaches the test compound is a small molecule (Page 45, Lines 22-25 and Page 106, Lines, 7-13). Balasubramanian teaches that examples of such molecules are those which bind to quadruplex nucleic acid (Page 45, Lines 22-25). Balasubramanian teaches that small molecules are candidate small molecules, preferably in form of an array library (Page 106, Lines, 7-13). Balasubramanian teaches that examples of suitable libraries for arraying include nucleic acid libraries (including DNA, cDNA, oligonucleotide, etc. libraries), peptide, polypeptide and protein libraries, as well as libraries comprising any molecules, such as ligand libraries, among others (Page 52, Lines 9-15).
Balasubramanian teaches each and every limitation of claims 1, 3 and 8-10 and therefore Balasubramanian anticipates claims 1, 3 and 8-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, as applied to claims 1, 3 and 8-10, in view of Fedoroff et al. (WIPO International Publication 99/40087, published August 12, 1999), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 7, Balasubramanian teaches the device is a microarray comprising a plurality of single stranded DNA molecules (s-DNAs) attached to a solid substrate, such as a glass substrate (Page 5, Lines 19-25 and Page 52, Lines 9-30). Balasubramanian teaches each s-DNA is from 50 nucleotides (nt) to 100 nt in length (Page10, Lines 13-21) and includes an independently selected linker sequence (Page 19, Lines 1-16) and an independently selected G-quadruplex-forming region (G4 sequence) (Page 41, Lines 1-9). Balasubramanian teaches a G4 sequence occurring in a viral vector (Page 110, Lines 18-27).
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest the G4 sequence has the specific formula I S1-T1-S2-T2 S3-T3-S4-T4-S5 (I) (SEQ ID NO: 54) wherein T1 is G-Gx1, T2 is G-Gx2, T3 is G-Gx3, and T4 is G-Gx4; S1 to S5 are independently selected sequences of from 0 to 5 nucleotides independently selected in each instance from the group consisting of A, T, C, and G; and xl to x4 are each independently selected in each instance from the group consisting of 2, 3, 4, and 5. Balasubramanian does not specifically teach or suggest the G4 sequence is specifically telomeric 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' (SEQ ID NO: 48). Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest that the G4 sequence occurs in a human oncogene.
Fedoroff teaches the G-quadruplex structure is formed from the specific sequence 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' (instant, SEQ ID NO: 48) (Page 4, Lines 24-31, Appendix III). Fedoroff teaches compounds that inhibit telomerase are potential drugs for the treatment of cancer (Page 29, Line 8). Fedoroff teaches that the method selects compounds based upon ability to interact with the human DNA-G-quadruplex (Page 29, Lines 8-9). Fedoroff teaches compounds may be selected for their ability to interact with human DNA G-quadruplex as indicated by NMR spectroscopy (Page 6, lines 24-31). Fedoroff teaches the NMR solution structure of 5’-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3’ and its corresponding molecular surface used as inputs to the SPHGEN program (Page 29, Lines 13-19). Fedoroff teaches that the resulting sphere cluster was used as input to DOCK v2.0 and a subset of the Cambridge crystallographic database was searched using the contact scoring algorithm (Page 29, Lines 13-19). N,N' -bis(2-dimethylaminoethyl)-3,4,9,10-perylenetetracarboxylic acid diimide was found to have one of the highest contact scores in the ~ 2000 compounds examined (Page 29, Lines 13-19). Fedoroff teaches the G-rich DNA sequences are capable of forming G-quadruplexes, particularly some cancer related genes and sequences such as c-MYC and telomerase (Page 40, Lines 24-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian to incorporate the teachings of Fedoroff, to use the specific sequence 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' in a human oncogene. This particular sequence was selected using NMR spectroscopy, and selected for the ability to interact with human DNA G-quadruplexes. The NMR solution structure of 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' and its corresponding molecular surface used as inputs to the SPHGEN program (Page 29, Lines 13-19). The resulting sphere cluster was used as input to DOCK v2.0 and a subset of the Cambridge crystallographic database was searched using the contact scoring algorithm (Page 29, Lines 13-19). N,N' -bis(2-dimethylaminoethyl)-3 ,4,9 , 10-perylenetetracarboxylic acid diimide was found to have one of the highest contact scores in the ~ 2000 compounds examined (Page 29, Lines 13-19), resulting in a highly effective telomerase inhibitor which are potential drugs that can be used for the treatment of cancer, as taught by Fedoroff (Page 29, Lines 8-19).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, as applied to claims 1, 3 and 8-10 above, and in view of Bates et al. (WIPO International Publication 2011/109677 A2, published September 09, 2011), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claim 5, Balasubramanian teaches the G4 sequence as discussed above.
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest the G4 sequence is specifically 5'-TGA1-5GGGT1-5GGG(GA)1-5GGGT1-5GGGGAA-3' (SEQ ID NO: 51).
Bates teaches a method of delivering a therapeutic compound to cancer cells by contacting the cancer cells with a G-rich nucleic acid that is capable of forming a quadruplex structure (Page 1, Lines 17-30). Bates teaches the therapeutic compound is taken up (i.e., endocytosed) by the cancer cells via micropinocytosis (Page 2, Lines 1-5). Bates teaches G-Rich Oligonucleotides with the specific sequence Myc-2345 TGAGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGGAA used to evaluate whether or not macropinocytosis was increased in cancer cells (Page 19, Lines 19-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian to incorporate the teachings of Bates, to use the G-rich Myc-2345 TGAGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGGAA G4 sequence (Appendix I) to form a g-quadruplex because in accordance with MPEP 2141 section Ill (A) citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any G-rich sequence that is capable of being used in the system of Balasubramanian to create the G-quadruplexes to measure binding preferences of a test compound. There is a reasonable expectations of success of combing Balasubramanian with Bates because both use G-rich sequences that are capable of forming g-quadruplexes. Likewise, Balasubramanian teaches a plurality of single stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties (Page 15, Lines 10-19) and Bates teaches a method of delivering a therapeutic compound to cancer cells by contacting the cancer cells with a G-rich nucleic acid that is capable of forming a quadruplex structure (Page 1, Lines 17-30), therefore the G-rich sequence of Bates is well-suited to the system taught by Balasubramanian.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, as applied to claims 1, 3 and 8-10 above, and in view of Tapolsky et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0281090 A1, published September 29, 2016), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claim 6 , Balasubramanian teaches a G4 sequence as discussed above.
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest that the G4 sequence is specifically 5-'NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' (instant, SEQ ID NO: 3).
Tapolsky teaches quadruplex-forming guanine-rich promoter gene oligonucleotide (GPGO) (Abstract). Tapolsky teaches GPGO derived from an oncogene specifically c-Myc (Page 5, [0047]). Tapolsky teaches the G4 sequence is 5'-NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' (SEQ ID NO: 3) (Appendix II).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian in view of Fedoroff to incorporate the teachings of Tapolsky to specifically use the G4 sequence 5'-NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' because in accordance with MPEP 2141 section Ill (A) citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. Tapolsky and the claims differ in that they do not teach the exact same G-quadruplex-forming region (G4 sequence) as Balasubramanian. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been obvious because there is a reasonable expectations of success combining the G4 sequence of Tapolsky with Balasubramanian because both use methodologies involving cancer treatment using DNA quadruplex-forming oligonucleotides. Likewise, Balasubramanian teaches a method of identifying a molecule capable of binding to a telomeric, G-quadruplex, or G-quartet structure in a nucleic acid, the method comprising monitoring the binding between a nucleic acid comprising a telomeric, G-quadruplex, or G-quartet structure and a nucleic acid binding polypeptide capable of binding to a nucleic acid comprising such a structure, in the presence and absence of a candidate molecule (Page 4 , Lines 9-14). Tapolsky teaches the specific G4 sequence 5'-NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' which is guanine-rich promoter gene oligonucleotide capable of forming G-quadruplexes which is well-suited to the system as taught by Balasubramanian.
Claims 11, 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, in view of O’Brien et al. (WIPO International Publication 2007/056113 A2, published May 18, 2007), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claim 11, Balasubramanian teaches a method for determining the binding preference of a test compound capable of providing a fluorescent signal (a fluorescent test compound) for one or more target G-quadruplex moieties (Page 3, Lines 13-17). Balasubramanian teaches incubating a device comprising a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties (Page 15, Lines 10-19). Balasubramanian teaches including the target G-quadruplex moieties with a solution comprising a G-quadruplex stabilizing cation selected from the group consisting of Na+ and K+ (Page 39, Lines 1-5, Page 9, Lines 9-12 and Page 75, Lines 3-11). Balasubramanian teaches contacting the fluorescent test compound with the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27). Balasubramanian teaches measuring a first fluorescent signal from the fluorescent test compound bound to the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches contacting the fluorescent test compound with the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches measuring a second fluorescent signal from the fluorescent test compound bound to the device (Page 104, Lines 15-27 and Page 105, Lines 1-19). Balasubramanian teaches using the first fluorescent signal and the second fluorescent signal to calculate the binding preference of the fluorescent test compound (Page 103, Lines 11-26, Fig. 19-20).
Regarding claim 13, Balasubramanian teaches the G quadruplex stabilizing cation is K+ (Page 9, Lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 18, Balasubramanian teaches the test compound is a protein, an oligopeptide, an oligonucleotide, or a small molecule (Page 9, Lines 9-12, Page 45, Lines 22-25 Page 52, Lines 9-15 and Page 106, Lines, 7-13).
Regarding claim 19, Balasubramanian teaches the test compound is a protein (Page 9, Lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 20, Balasubramanian teaches the test compound is a small molecule (Page 45, Lines 22-25 and Page 106, Lines, 7-13). Balasubramanian teaches that examples of such molecules are those which bind to quadruplex nucleic acid (Page 45, Lines 22-25). Balasubramanian teaches that small molecules are candidate small molecules, preferably in form of an array library (Page 106, Lines, 7-13). Balasubramanian teaches that examples of suitable libraries for arraying include nucleic acid libraries (including DNA, cDNA, oligonucleotide, etc. libraries), peptide, polypeptide and protein libraries, as well as libraries comprising any molecules, such as ligand libraries, among others (Page 52, Lines 9-15). Balasubramanian teaches a method of identifying a molecule capable of binding to a telomeric, G-quadruplex, or G-quartet structure in a nucleic acid, the method comprising monitoring the binding between a nucleic acid comprising a telomeric, G-quadruplex, or G-quartet structure and a nucleic acid binding polypeptide capable of binding to a nucleic acid comprising such a structure, in the presence and absence of a candidate molecule (Page 4 , Lines 9-14).
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest incubating the device with a solution of solution of Li+.
O’Brien teaches an invention that relates to quadruplex nucleotide sequences and methods for identifying interacting molecules (Page 1, [0001]). O’Brien teaches test molecules identified as having an effect in an assay described herein can be analyzed and compared to one another (e.g., ranked). Molecules identified as having an interaction or effect in methods described herein are referred to as "candidate molecules." (Page 18, [0044]). O’Brien teaches candidate molecules identified by screening methods, information descriptive of such candidate molecules, and methods of using candidate molecules (e.g., for therapeutic treatment of a condition) (Page 18, [0044]). O’Brien teaches in cases where a candidate molecule is sufficiently basic or acidic to form stable nontoxic acid or base salts, administration of the candidate molecule as a salt may be appropriate (Page 159 , [0126]). O’Brien teaches Pharmaceutically acceptable salts are obtained using standard procedures well known in the art, for example by reacting a sufficiently basic candidate molecule such as an amine with a suitable acid affording a physiologically acceptable anion. Alkali metal (e.g., sodium, potassium or lithium) or alkaline earth metal (e.g., calcium) salts of carboxylic acids also are made (Page 159, [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian to incorporate the teachings of O’Brien to incubate the device with a solution of Lithium. This allows one to form stable nontoxic acid or base salts in cases where a candidate molecule is sufficiently basic or acidic (Page 159 , [0126]). Pharmaceutically acceptable salts are obtained using standard procedures well known in the art, for example by reacting a sufficiently basic candidate molecule such as an amine with a suitable acid affording a physiologically acceptable anion. Alkali metal (e.g., sodium, potassium or lithium) or alkaline earth metal (e.g., calcium) salts of carboxylic acids also are made (Page 159, [0126]). This allows for use of the candidate molecules for therapeutic treatment of a condition as taught by O’Brien (Page 18, [0044]).
Claims 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, as applied to claims 11, 13 and 18-20 above, and in view of Fedoroff et al. (WIPO International Publication 99/40087, published August 12, 1999), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claims 12, 14, and 17 Balasubramanian teaches the device is a microarray comprising a plurality of single stranded DNA molecules (sDNAs) attached to a solid substrate, such as a glass substrate ( Page 5, Lines 19-25 and Page 52, Lines 9-30). Balasubramanian teaches each s-DNA is from 50 nucleotides (nt) to 100 nt in length (Page10, Lines 13-21) and includes an independently selected linker sequence (Page 19, Lines 1-16) and an independently selected G-quadruplex-forming region (G4 sequence) (Page 41, Lines 1-9). Balasubramanian teaches a G4 sequence occurring in a viral vector (Page 110, Lines 18-27).
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest the G4 sequence has the specific formula I S1-T1-S2-T2 S3-T3-S4-T4-S5 (I) (SEQ ID NO: 54) wherein T1 is G-Gx1, T2 is G-Gx2, T3 is G-Gx3, and T4 is G-Gx4; S1 to S5 are independently selected sequences of from 0 to 5 nucleotides independently selected in each instance from the group consisting of A, T, C, and G; and xl to x4 are each independently selected in each instance from the group consisting of 2, 3, 4, and 5. Balasubramanian does not specifically teach or suggest the G4 sequence is specifically telomeric 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' (SEQ ID NO: 48). Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest that the G4 sequence occurs in a human oncogene.
Fedoroff teaches the G-quadruplex structure is formed from the specific sequence 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' (instant case, SEQ ID NO: 48) (Page 4, Lines 24-31) (Appendix III). Fedoroff teaches compounds that inhibit telomerase are potential drugs for the treatment of cancer (Page 29, Line 8). Fedoroff teaches that the method selects compounds based upon ability to interact with the human DNA-G-quadruplex (Page 29, Lines 8-9). Fedoroff teaches compounds may be selected for their ability to interact with human DNA G-quadruplex as indicated by NMR spectroscopy (Page 6, lines 24-31). Fedoroff teaches the NMR solution structure of 5’-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3’ and its corresponding molecular surface used as inputs to the SPHGEN program (Page 29, Lines 13-19). Fedoroff teaches that the resulting sphere cluster was used as input to DOCK v2.0 and a subset of the Cambridge crystallographic database was searched using the contact scoring algorithm (Page 29, Lines 13-19). N,N' -bis(2-dimethylaminoethyl)-3,4,9,10-perylenetetracarboxylic acid diimide was found to have one of the highest contact scores in the ~ 2000 compounds examined (Page 29, Lines 13-19). Fedoroff teaches the G-rich DNA sequences are capable of forming G-quadruplexes, particularly some cancer related genes and sequences such as c-MYC and telomerase (Page 40, Lines 24-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian to incorporate the teachings of Fedoroff, to use the specific sequence 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' in a human oncogene. This particular sequence was selected using NMR spectroscopy, and selected for the ability to interact with human DNA G-quadruplexes. The NMR solution structure of 5'-AGGGTTAGGGTTAGGGTTAGGG-3' and its corresponding molecular surface used as inputs to the SPHGEN program (Page 29, Lines 13-19). The resulting sphere cluster was used as input to DOCK v2.0 and a subset of the Cambridge crystallographic database was searched using the contact scoring algorithm (Page 29, Lines 13-19). N,N' -bis(2-dimethylaminoethyl)-3 ,4,9 , 10-perylenetetracarboxylic acid diimide was found to have one of the highest contact scores in the ~ 2000 compounds examined (Page 29, Lines 13-19), resulting in a highly effective telomerase inhibitor which are potential drugs that can be used for the treatment of cancer, as taught by Fedoroff (Page 29, Lines 8-19).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, as applied to claims 11, 13, and 18-20 above, and in view of Tapolsky et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0281090 A1, published September 29, 2016), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claim 16 , Balasubramanian teaches a G4 sequence as discussed above.
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest that the G4 sequence is specifically 5'-NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' (instant SEQ ID NO: 3).
Tapolsky teaches quadruplex-forming guanine-rich promoter gene oligonucleotide (GPGO) (Abstract). Tapolsky teaches GPGO derived from an oncogene specifically c-Myc (Page 5, [0047]). Tapolsky teaches the G4 sequence is 5'-NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' (instant, SEQ ID NO: 3; Appendix II).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian in view of Fedoroff to incorporate the teachings of Tapolsky to specifically use the G4 sequence 5'-NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN-3' because in accordance with MPEP 2141 section Ill (A) citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. Tapolsky and the claims differ in that they do not teach the exact same G-quadruplex-forming region (G4 sequence) as Balasubramanian. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have been obvious because there is a reasonable expectations of success combining the G4 sequence of Tapolsky with Balasubramanian because both use methodologies involving cancer treatment using DNA quadruplex-forming oligonucleotides. Likewise, Balasubramanian teaches a method of identifying a molecule capable of binding to a telomeric, G-quadruplex, or G-quartet structure in a nucleic acid, the method comprising monitoring the binding between a nucleic acid comprising a telomeric, G-quadruplex, or G-quartet structure and a nucleic acid binding polypeptide capable of binding to a nucleic acid comprising such a structure, in the presence and absence of a candidate molecule (Page 4 , Lines 9-14). Tapolsky teaches the specific G4 sequence 5'NNGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGNN3' which is guanine-rich promoter gene oligonucleotide capable of forming G-quadruplexes which is well-suited to the system as taught by Balasubramanian.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian et al. (WIPO International Publication 02/04488 A2, published January 17, 2002), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024, as applied to claims 11, 13 and 18-20 above, and in view of Bates et al. (WIPO International Publication 2011/109677 A2, published September 09, 2011), cited on the IDS filed September 03, 2024.
Regarding claim 15, Balasubramanian teaches the G4 sequence as discussed above.
Balasubramanian does not teach or suggest the G4 sequence is specifically 5'-TGA1-5GGGT1-5GGG(GA)1-5GGGT1-5GGGGAA-3' (instant, SEQ ID NO: 51).
Bates teaches a method of delivering a therapeutic compound to cancer cells by contacting the cancer cells with a G-rich nucleic acid that is capable of forming a quadruplex structure (Page 1, Lines 17-30). Bates teaches the therapeutic compound is taken up (i.e., endocytosed) by the cancer cells via micropinocytosis (Page 2, Lines 1-5). Bates teaches G-Rich Oligonucleotides with the specific sequence Myc-2345 5’-TGAGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGGAA-3’ used to evaluate whether or not macropinocytosis was increased in cancer cells (Page 19, Lines 19-26) (Appendix I).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Balasubramanian to incorporate the teachings of Bates, to use the G-rich Myc-2345 5’-TGAGGGTGGGGAGGGTGGGGAA-3’ G4 sequence to form a g-quadruplex because in accordance with MPEP 2141 section Ill (A) citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any G-rich sequence that is capable of being used in the system of Balasubramanian to create the G-quadruplexes to measure binding preferences of a test compound. There is a reasonable expectations of success of combining Balasubramanian with Bates because both use G-rich sequences that are capable of forming g-quadruplexes. Likewise, Balasubramanian teaches a plurality of single stranded nucleic acid molecules capable of forming one or more G-quadruplex moieties (Page 15, Lines 10-19) and Bates teaches a method of delivering a therapeutic compound to cancer cells by contacting the cancer cells with a G-rich nucleic acid that is capable of forming a quadruplex structure (Page 1, Lines 17-30), therefore the G-rich sequence of Bates is well-suited to the system taught by Balasubramanian.
Conclusion
/JESSICA D PARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684