DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first connection pad having the first and second section and being located on the lens assembly (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “… the boding matrix…” should be changed to “…the bonding matrix…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, it states that the first connection pad is arranged on the first body which is part of the lens assembly and the second connection pad is arranged on the second body which is part of the circuit board. There is no disclosure for this in the specification as originally filed. Specifically, claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, states that the first connection pad comprises the first and second section. Therefore, according to the specification, the claimed first connection pad must correspond to the first connection pad 11 in the specification. As described in the specification and clearly shown in the drawings, the first connection pad 11 is located on flexible board 22 and not on the lens assembly 30. Rather, the specification describes that the second connection pad 12 is provided on the lens assembly 30. As there is no disclosure for the claimed invention in the specification as originally filed it is unclear how this is arrangement is possible or how it would work. If Applicant were to swap “the first connection pad” and “the second connection pad” in claim 2, it would overcome this rejection. However, the claim would be rejected just as claim 8 is below (see prior art rejections.)
Regarding claims 5-7, they depend from claim 2 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0374200 A1) hereinafter referenced as Lee in view of Kani et al. (US 2023/0056922 A1) hereinafter referenced as Kani.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses
A method for establishing electrical connection, comprising:
providing a pre-bonding assembly, wherein the pre-bonding assembly comprises a first connection pad (12; fig. 3), a second connection pad (230; fig. 3), and an insulating layer (100; fig. 3), the first connection pad comprises a first section (Section of 12 not covered by insulating layer 100; fig. 3) and a second section (Section of 12 covered by insulating layer 100; fig. 3) connected to the first section, the first section is spaced apart from the second connection pad (By the thickness of ACF 300; fig. 3; [0037]), the second section is staggered relative to the second connection pad, and the insulating layer covers the second section (fig. 3);
placing an activatable conductive film (300; fig. 3) between the first section and the second connection pad, the activatable conductive film comprising a plurality of conductive particles electrically isolated from each other (This is inherent to anisotropic conductive film; [0037]);
pressing the first section, the second connection pad, and the activatable conductive film together, causing the activatable conductive film to become an activated conductive film, a portion of the activated conductive film extending into the insulating layer, wherein the plurality of conductive particles in the activated conductive film is connected to each other to form a conductive pathway, the conductive pathway electrically connects the first section to the second connection pad (This is inherent to anisotropic conductive film and also the only method to allow conduction between the first and second pad using the anisotropic conductive film as this is how ACFs work.), and the insulating layer electrically isolates the second section from the second connection pad (As the insulating layer 100 covers the second section, it has inherently isolated the second section from the second connection pad; fig. 3);
wherein the activatable conductive film (300; fig. 3) further comprises an adhesive (Solder cream; [0052]), the plurality of conductive particles is dispersed within the adhesive, the method further comprises.
However, Lee, fails to explicitly disclose heating and curing the adhesive to form a bonding matrix. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Kani.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kani discloses heating and curing the adhesive to form a bonding matrix (182; fig. 4A), wherein the bonding matrix defines a thickness direction, the conductive pathway is electrically connected to the first section (130, 150; fig. 4A) and the second connection pad (142; fig. 4A) along the thickness direction ([0040]; fig. 4A).
Lee teaches using solder cream to conductively adhere two pads. Kani teaches using an anisotropic film including an adhesive matrix to conductively adhere two pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the solder cream with the anisotropic film of Kani to achieve the predictable result of conductively connecting two pads.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kani further in view of Xu (WO 2022/218225) (corresponding US 2024/0040219 used for citations).
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Kani, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein the pre-bonding assembly further comprises a [first body] and a circuit board assembly, the [first body] comprises a first body (200; fig. 3), the first connection pad (12; fig. 3) is arranged on the first body (After connection it can be said that it is on the body 200; fig. 3), the circuit board assembly comprises a second body (110, 100; fig. 3), and the second connection pad is arranged on the second body (After connection it can be said that it is on the body 100, 110; fig. 3).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose a lens assembly. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this, as taught by Xu.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xu discloses wherein the pre-bonding assembly further comprises a lens assembly…the lens assembly comprises a first body (fig. 3).
Lee teaches an assembly including connection pads which is connected to a circuit board assembly using the connection pads. Xu teaches a lens assembly including connection pads which is connected to an external element using the connection pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed assembly of Lee with the lens assembly of Xu to achieve the predictable result of being able to transmit signals to or from the lens assembly to an external processor.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kani further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 4, Lee and Kani, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Kani discloses, wherein the plurality of conductive particles is made from [metal], and the adhesive is made from epoxy resins, polyimides, or phenolic resins ([0040]).
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose what type of metal the conductive particles are. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
The combination teaches the plurality of conductive particles of the anisotropic film are metal. Gold, nickel, silver, and copper are all well-known conductive metals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed type of metal with one of gold, nickel, silver, or copper to achieve the predictable result of creating an electric connection.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kani further in view of Xu further in view of Siddique (US 2017/0048977 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, Kani, and Xu, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), however, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose the heat press machine. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Siddique.
In a similar field of endeavor, Siddique discloses wherein of the pressing comprises:
providing a heat press machine (fig.2), wherein the heat press machine comprises a base (26; fig. 2) and a heating head (30; fig. 2);
placing the pre-bonding assembly (12, 16; fig .2) and the activatable conductive film (18; fig. 2) between the base and the heating head, wherein the base supports the first body (10; fig. 2), the second body (14; fig. 2) faces the heating head, the activatable conductive film is placed between the first section (16; fig. 2) and the second connection pad (12; fig. 2);
moving the heating head towards the base, causing the heating head to apply pressure onto the second body and the base to apply pressure onto the first body, thereby causing the activatable conductive film to become the activated conductive film ([0037]-[0038]).
The combination teaches activating the anisotropic film by applying heat and pressure, but is silent on the device used to apply this. Siddique teaches a heat press for applying heat and pressure used to bond two circuit boards to each other with anisotropic film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed device applying heat and pressure in the combination with the heat press device of Siddique to achieve the predictable result of bonding the two circuit boards using anisotropic film.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Kani, Xu, and Siddique, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition, Siddique discloses, further comprising:
placing a first cushioning pad (28; fig. 2) between the heating head (30; fig. 2) and the second body (14; fig. 2); and
placing a second cushioning pad (32; fig. 2) between the base (26; fig. 2) and the first body (10; fig. 2).
The combination teaches activating the anisotropic film by applying heat and pressure, but is silent on the device used to apply this. Siddique teaches a heat press for applying heat and pressure used to bond two circuit boards to each other with anisotropic film wherein the heat press includes a first and second cushioning pad. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed device applying heat and pressure in the combination with the heat press device of Siddique to achieve the predictable result of bonding the two circuit boards using anisotropic film while achieving uniform thermal energy distribution as taught by Siddique ([0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, Kani, Xu, and Siddique, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), in addition, Siddique discloses, wherein the first cushioning pad is made of silicone, and the second cushioning pad is made of rubber or polyurethane ([0043]; Cushions 28, 32 may be formed of a silicone-based material such as silicone rubber.).
The combination teaches activating the anisotropic film by applying heat and pressure, but is silent on the device used to apply this. Siddique teaches a heat press for applying heat and pressure used to bond two circuit boards to each other with anisotropic film wherein the heat press includes a first and second cushioning pad. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed device applying heat and pressure in the combination with the heat press device of Siddique to achieve the predictable result of bonding the two circuit boards using anisotropic film while achieving uniform thermal energy distribution as taught by Siddique ([0038]).
Claim(s) 8-11, 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses
A
a circuit board assembly (100, 12, 110; fig. 3) comprising a first connection pad (12; fig. 3) and an insulating layer (100; fig. 3), the first connection pad comprising a first section (Section of 12 not covered by insulating layer 100; fig. 3) and a second section (Section of 12 covered by insulating layer 100; fig. 3), the insulating layer covering the second section (fig. 3);
a[n] (200; fig. 3) comprising a second connection pad (230; fig. 3), wherein the second connection pad corresponds to the first section (fig. 3), the second section is staggered from the second connection pad (fig. 3);
an activated conductive film (300; fig. 3) positioned between the first connection pad and the second connection pad, the activated conductive film comprising a conductive pathway (solder cream; [0052]), wherein the conductive pathway electrically connects the first section and the second connection pad (solder cream; [0052]), and the insulating layer electrically isolates the second section from the second connection pad (fig. 3).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose the assembly is a lens assembly. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this, as taught by Xu.
A camera module, comprising (fig. 3)…a lens assembly (fig. 3) comprising a second connection pad (20; fig. 3).
Lee teaches an assembly including connection pads which is connected to a circuit board assembly using the connection pads. Xu teaches a lens assembly including connection pads which is connected to an external element using the connection pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed assembly of Lee with the lens assembly of Xu to achieve the predictable result of being able to transmit signals to or from the lens assembly to an external processor.
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Xu, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), in addition, Lee discloses, wherein the circuit board assembly (12, 100, 110; fig. 3) further comprises a base layer (100; fig. 3) and a conductive structure (20-22; fig. 2) in the base layer, the first connection pad is arranged on the base layer ([0035]; fig. 2), the first connection pad (12; fig. is connected to the conductive structure ([0036]; Signal transmitting lines 20-22 and pads 10-12 are integrally formed of the same conductive material.), the insulating layer is connected to the base layer ([0046]), the insulating layer covers the first connection pad (fig. 3), the insulating layer defines an opening (Opening is where the second section is located; fig. 3), and the first section is exposed from the opening (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Lee and Xu, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), in addition, Xu discloses, wherein the lens assembly further comprises a lens component (100; fig. 2), a voice coil motor (11,50, 60, 61, 70, 71; figs. 1-3), an image stabilization unit (10, 12, 20, 30, 40; figs. 1-4) , and an image sensor (13; figs. 1, 2, 4), the lens component is connected to one side of the voice coil motor (figs. 1-3), the image stabilization unit is connected to another side of the voice coil motor (figs. 1-4), and the image sensor is disposed on the image stabilization unit (figs. 1, 2, 4).
Lee teaches an assembly including connection pads which is connected to a circuit board assembly using the connection pads. Xu teaches a lens assembly including connection pads which is connected to an external element using the connection pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed assembly of Lee with the lens assembly of Xu to achieve the predictable result of being able to transmit signals to or from the lens assembly to an external processor.
Regarding claim 11, Lee and Xu, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), in addition, Xu discloses, wherein the image stabilization unit (10, 12, 20, 30, 40; figs. 1-4) protrudes from an edge of the voice coil motor (11,50, 60, 61, 70, 71; figs. 1-3) to form a connection portion (fig. 3), the connection portion is electrically connected to the voice coil motor, and the second connection pad is arranged on the connection portion ([0028], Coils 11 are electrically connected to circuit board 10 which is electrically connected to flexible circuit board 20 where the connection pads are; fig. 3).
Lee teaches an assembly including connection pads which is connected to a circuit board assembly using the connection pads. Xu teaches a lens assembly including connection pads which is connected to an external element using the connection pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed assembly of Lee with the lens assembly of Xu to achieve the predictable result of being able to transmit signals to or from the lens assembly to an external processor.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses
An electronic device, comprising:
a
a circuit board assembly (100, 12, 110; fig. 3) comprises a first connection pad (12; fig. 3) and an insulating layer (100; fig. 3), the first connection pad comprising a first section (Section of 12 not covered by insulating layer 100; fig. 3) and a second section (Section of 12 covered by insulating layer 100; fig. 3), the insulating layer covering the second section (fig. 3);
a[n] (200; fig. 3) comprising a second connection pad (230; fig. 3), the second connection pad corresponds to the first section (fig. 3), the second section is staggered from the second connection pad (fig. 3);
an activated conductive film (300; fig. 3) positioned between the first connection pad and the second connection pad, the activated conductive film comprises a conductive pathway (solder cream; [0052]), wherein the conductive pathway electrically connects the first section and the second connection pad (solder cream; [0052]), and the insulating layer electrically isolates the second section from the second connection pad (fig. 3).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose the assembly is a lens assembly. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this, as taught by Xu.
An electronic device ([0013]), comprising:
a casing (Inherent in an electronic device such as a computer, mobile phone, a tablet, etc. ; [0069]); and
a camera module partially exposed from the casing (This is inherent as this is the only way the camera module could capture images without being obstructed by the casing; [0069]).
Lee teaches an assembly including connection pads which is connected to a circuit board assembly using the connection pads. Xu teaches a lens assembly including connection pads which is connected to an external element using the connection pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed assembly of Lee with the lens assembly of Xu to achieve the predictable result of being able to transmit signals to or from the lens assembly to an external processor.
Regarding claim 15, it recites similar limitations to claim 9 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 16, it recites similar limitations to claim 10 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 17, it recites similar limitations to claim 11 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 20, Lee and Xu, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), in addition, Xu discloses, wherein the electronic device is selected from a smartphone, tablet, or smartwatch with camera functionality ([0069]).
Claim(s) 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xu further in view of Kani.
Regarding claim 12, Lee and Xu, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), however, the combination, fails to explicitly disclose the bonding matrix. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Kani.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kani discloses wherein the activated conductive film (Anisotropic film [0040]) further comprises a bonding matrix, the boding matrix defines a thickness direction, and the conductive pathway is disposed in the bonding matrix in the thickness direction (130, 150; fig. 4A; [0040]).
Lee teaches using solder cream to conductively adhere two pads. Kani teaches using an anisotropic film including an adhesive matrix to conductively adhere two pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the solder cream with the anisotropic film of Kani to achieve the predictable result of conductively connecting two pads.
Regarding claim 18, it recites similar limitations to claim 12 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 12).
Claim(s) 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xu further in view of Kani further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 13, Lee, Xu, and Kani, the combination, discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), in addition, Kani discloses, wherein the conductive pathway is made from [metal], and the bonding matrix is made from epoxy resins, polyimides, or phenolic resins ([0040]).
However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose what type of metal the conductive particles are. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
The combination teaches the plurality of conductive particles of the anisotropic film are metal. Gold, nickel, silver, and copper are all well-known conductive metals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed type of metal with one of gold, nickel, silver, or copper to achieve the predictable result of creating an electric connection.
Regarding claim 19, it recites similar limitations to claim 13 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Go et al. (US 2019/0067844 A1) discloses connecting two circuit boards using ACF (fig. 3).
Hsu et al. (US 2008/0149947 A1) discloses connecting two circuit boards using ACF (figs. 7-8).
Huang et al. (US 2009/0321110 A1) discloses connecting two circuit boards using ACF (fig. 1).
Ahn et al. (KR 10-2018-0077835) discloses connecting two circuit boards using ACF (fig. 9).
Osterwald et al. (US 2021/0013175 A1) discloses a heat press for bonding electrical components including a cushion (fig. 4).
Yanagawa (US 2010/0021667 A1) discloses a heat press for bonding electrical components including a cushion (fig. 7).
Saito (US 2014/0302643 A1) discloses a heat press for bonding electrical components including a cushion (fig. 4).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 4/27/2026