DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 15 each recite “a heat-source end working fluid”, which renders the claims indefinite, because it is unclear if they refer to the same “a heat-source end working fluid” established in parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chuang (US 20240260228 A1).
As to claim 1, Chuang discloses: A phase change coolant distribution unit (Fig. 2A), comprising:
a heat-exchanging chamber 202;
a low-position heat-exchanging tube 220, disposed through the heat-exchanging chamber, wherein at least one portion of the low-position heat-exchanging tube is located in the heat-exchanging chamber;
a high-position heat-exchanging tube 207, disposed through the heat-exchanging chamber, wherein at least one portion of the high-position heat-exchanging tube is located in the heat-exchanging chamber, and a position of the high-position heat-exchanging tube is higher than a position of the low-position heat-exchanging tube; and
a phase change fluid 204 (par. 0089), disposed in the heat-exchanging chamber;
wherein a boiling point (e.g., less than 60° C; par. 0089, 0212-0213) of the phase change fluid 204 is lower than a boiling point (100° C for water) of a heat-source end working fluid (water; par. 0086) flowing in the low-position heat-exchanging tube 220.
As to claim 2, Chuang discloses: wherein the low-position heat-exchanging tube 220 is a U-shaped tube (makes multiple U-shapes through condensers 217) or a coiled tube.
As to claim 3, Chuang discloses:
wherein the high-position heat-exchanging tube 207 is a U-shaped tube or a bent tube (multiple U-shapes and bends at 208).
As to claim 4, Chuang discloses:
wherein the high-position heat-exchanging tube 207 is a heat pipe (heat pipe) or a vapor chamber, an evaporation end 208 (absorbs heat from chamber 202, condenses liquid vapor 204; par. 0082) of the heat pipe or an evaporation end of the vapor chamber is located in the heat-exchanging chamber, and a condensation end (at 211) of the heat pipe or a condensation end of the vapor chamber is located outside the heat-exchanging chamber.
As to claim 5, Chuang discloses:
further comprising a cooling chamber 211 disposed outside the heat-exchanging chamber, wherein the condensation end of the heat pipe is located in the cooling chamber (par. 0082).
As to claim 6, Chuang discloses:
wherein a liquid surface of the phase change fluid is located between the low-position heat-exchanging tube and the high-position heat-exchanging tube (high position tube 207 is located in vapor space above the cooling fluid 204; par. 0082), or the high-position heat-exchanging tube passes through the liquid surface, or the low-position heat-exchanging tube and the high-position heat-exchanging tube are located under the liquid surface.
As to claim 7, Chuang discloses:
wherein the phase change fluid is water, methanol, acetone, ionic fluid or dielectric fluid (par. 0081, 0212-0213).
As to claim 9, Chuang discloses:
a thermometer 228 (par. 0098), disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber 202 and configured to measure a temperature of the phase change fluid (par. 0098).
As to claim 11, Chuang discloses:
a pressure relief valve (par. 0081, 0084), disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber 202.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang (US 20240260228 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kulkarni (US 20210185850 A1).
As to claim 10, Chuang does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising a pressure gauge, disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber and configured to measure a pressure of a vapor-phase portion of the phase change fluid.
However, Kulkarni discloses:
a pressure gauge 360 (Fig. 3), disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber and configured to measure a pressure of a vapor-phase portion of the phase change fluid (par. 0043);
in order to control the gas pressure of the fluid and/or maintain the boiling point of the fluid (par. 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chuang as suggested by Kulkarni, e.g., providing:
a pressure gauge, disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber and configured to measure a pressure of a vapor-phase portion of the phase change fluid;
in order to control the vapor pressure of the fluid and/or maintain the boiling point of the fluid.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang (US 20240260228 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harrington (US 20180035569 A1).
As to claim 12, Chuang does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising a vacuum valve, disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber.
However Harrington discloses:
a vacuum valve 34 (par. 0076; Fig. 8), disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber 56;
in order to control the fill level of the chamber (par. 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chuang as suggested by Harrington, e.g., providing:
a vacuum valve, disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber;
in order to control the fill level of the chamber.
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang (US 20240260228 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Campbell (US 20140102672 A1).
As to claim 13 (as best understood), Chuang discloses:
the phase change coolant distribution unit according to claim 1.
Chuang does not explicitly disclose:
A data center, comprising:
a server rack, comprising:
a heat-source chamber; and
a plurality of heat sources, disposed in the heat-source chamber;
the heat-source end working fluid, disposed in the low-position heat-exchanging tube and the heat-source chamber; and
a heat-source pump, disposed between the heat-source chamber and the low-position heat-exchanging tube, wherein the heat-source pump is configured to drive the heat-source end working fluid to flow.
However, Campbell discloses:
A data center 100 (par. 0028, Fig. 1B), comprising:
a server rack 110 (par. 0022, 0024, 0031; Fig. 3), comprising:
a heat-source chamber (within 110); and
a plurality of heat sources 340 (par. 0031), disposed in the heat-source chamber;
the coolant distribution unit 314;
a heat-source end working fluid (from 314 through 318 through 322 and returned via 323, 319, 313, and 315, disposed in the low-position heat-exchanging tube (corresponding to right side loop of 314) and the heat-source chamber (within 110; see par. 0031); and
a heat-source pump 315, disposed between the heat-source chamber (within 110) and the low-position heat-exchanging tube (right side loop of 314), wherein the heat-source pump is configured to drive the heat-source end working fluid to flow (par. 0031);
in order to cool devices in a data center (par. 0028) and transfer the cooling burden from air conditioning units to building chilled water coolers (par. 0031).
Campbell also discloses:
A water-cooling tower 175, connected with heat exchanging tubes 170, 171, 172 (Fig. 1B);
in order to facilitate heat transfer from electronics racks to the ambient outdoor air (par. 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chuang as suggested by Campbell, e.g., providing:
A data center, comprising:
a server rack, comprising:
a heat-source chamber; and
a plurality of heat sources, disposed in the heat-source chamber;
the heat-source end working fluid, disposed in the low-position heat-exchanging tube and the heat-source chamber; and
a heat-source pump, disposed between the heat-source chamber and the low-position heat-exchanging tube, wherein the heat-source pump is configured to drive the heat-source end working fluid to flow; and
a water-cooling tower, connected with the high-position heat-exchanging tube;
in order to cool devices in a data center and transfer the cooling burden from air conditioning units to building chilled water coolers and in order to facilitate heat transfer from electronics racks to ambient outdoor air.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 14 (as best understood), Chuang in view of Campbell discloses:
a cooling end working fluid (water; par. 0082; Chuang; par. 0028; Campbell) and a cooling pump 174 (Fig. 1B; Campbell), wherein the cooling end working fluid is disposed in the high-position heat-exchanging tube (207 of Chuang; corresponding to 171, 172, and/or 170 of Fig. 1B of Campbell) and the water-cooling tower 175 (Campbell), the cooling pump 174 (see Fig. 1B of Campbell) is disposed between the water-cooling tower 175 (Campbell) and the high-position heat-exchanging tube (207 of Chuang; corresponding to 171, 172, and/or 170 of Fig. 1B of Campbell), and the cooling pump is configured to drive the cooling end working fluid to flow.
As to claim 15 (as best understood), Chuang discloses:
the phase change coolant distribution unit according to claim 4.
Chuang does not explicitly disclose:
A data center, comprising:
a server rack, comprising:
a heat-source chamber; and
a plurality of heat sources, disposed in the heat-source chamber;
the heat-source end working fluid, disposed in the low-position heat-exchanging tube and the heat-source chamber; and
a heat-source pump, disposed between the heat-source chamber and the low-position heat-exchanging tube, wherein the heat-source pump is configured to drive the heat-source end working fluid to flow.
However, Campbell discloses:
A data center 100 (par. 0028, Fig. 1B), comprising:
a server rack 110 (par. 0022, 0024, 0031; Fig. 3), comprising:
a heat-source chamber (within 110); and
a plurality of heat sources 340 (par. 0031), disposed in the heat-source chamber;
the coolant distribution unit 314;
a heat-source end working fluid (from 314 through 318 through 322 and returned via 323, 319, 313, and 315, disposed in the low-position heat-exchanging tube (corresponding to right side loop of 314) and the heat-source chamber (within 110; see par. 0031); and
a heat-source pump 315, disposed between the heat-source chamber (within 110) and the low-position heat-exchanging tube (right side loop of 314), wherein the heat-source pump is configured to drive the heat-source end working fluid to flow (par. 0031);
in order to cool devices in a data center (par. 0028) and transfer the cooling burden from air conditioning units to building chilled water coolers (par. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chuang as suggested by Campbell, e.g., providing:
A data center, comprising:
a server rack, comprising:
a heat-source chamber; and
a plurality of heat sources, disposed in the heat-source chamber;
the heat-source end working fluid, disposed in the low-position heat-exchanging tube and the heat-source chamber; and
a heat-source pump, disposed between the heat-source chamber and the low-position heat-exchanging tube, wherein the heat-source pump is configured to drive the heat-source end working fluid to flow;
in order to cool devices in a data center and transfer the cooling burden from air conditioning units to building chilled water coolers.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 8 and 16, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the amended dependent claims 8 and 16, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because they recite the following limitations:
8. The phase change coolant distribution unit according to claim 1, further comprising a vapor-phase valve, a liquid-phase valve and a pressure relief tank, wherein the liquid-phase valve and the vapor-phase valve are disposed at the heat-exchanging chamber, and the pressure relief tank is connected to the liquid-phase valve and the vapor-phase valve.
16. The data center according to claim 15, further comprising a water-cooling tower, a cooling end working fluid and a cooling pump, wherein the phase change coolant distribution unit further comprises a cooling chamber, the cooling chamber is disposed outside the heat-exchanging chamber, a condensation end of the heat pipe is located in the cooling chamber, the cooling end working fluid is disposed in the cooling chamber and the water-cooling tower, the cooling pump is disposed between the water-cooling tower and the cooling chamber, and the cooling pump is configured to drive the cooling end working fluid to flow.
Inaba (US 20180246550 A1), Peterson (US 20230413485 A1), and Campbell (US 20110056674 A1) disclose conventional cooling systems but do not suggest the combinations of claimed limitations – specifically the combination of valves and pressure relief tank, or the phase change distribution unit comprising a cooling chamber outside the heat exchanging chamber in combination with the remaining limitations.
None of the prior art, either alone or in combination, can be reasonably construed as adequately teaching the above claimed elements, in combination with the remaining claim limitations.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841