DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsuka et al. [US 2024/0120165]
Claim 1, Otsuka et al. discloses a switching device [1] comprising: a housing [2/25] defining a volume; one or more fixed contacts [10/11] disposed at least partially in the volume; a movable contact [12/13] disposed in the volume; a shaft [15] extending from a first end coupled to the movable contact to a second end [figure 1]; a plunger [23] coupled to the second end of the shaft, the plunger [23] comprising: a first surface [top; figure 5], a second surface [bottom; figure 5] spaced from the first surface along an axis, an axial opening [31] extending from the first surface to the second surface and configured to receive the shaft, and an undercut [32]formed in an inner surface defining the axial opening proximate the second surface [figure 5]; and a coil [21] proximate the plunger, the coil being configured to be selectively energized to alter a magnetic field and cause the plunger to move along the axis between a first position that configures the switching device in a closed configuration in which the movable contact contacts the one or more fixed contacts and a second position that configures the switching device in an open configuration in which the movable contact is spaced from the one or more fixed contacts [paragraphs 0064-0065], wherein the shaft [15] extends at least partially into the undercut [at 28] of the plunger to secure the plunger to the shaft [figure 5].
Claim 2, Otsuka et al. discloses the switching device of claim 1, wherein: the shaft [15] is disposed in the axial opening [31]; the second end of the shaft extends past the second surface of the plunger; and the second end [28] of the shaft [15] is altered to secure the shaft to the plunger [paragraph 0063].
Claim 3, Otsuka et al. discloses the switching device of claim 2, wherein: the second end [28] of the shaft [15] is altered to form an increased diameter portion of the shaft proximate the second end [paragraph 0063]; and the increased diameter portion is wider than the central opening [figure 5].
Claim 5, Otsuka et al. discloses the switching device of claim 2, wherein: the second end [28] of the shaft [15] is altered to cause a portion of the shaft to extend into the undercut [31] of the plunger [figure 5].
Claim 6, Otsuka et al. discloses the switching device of claim 2, wherein the second end [28] of the shaft [15] is secured to the plunger [15; paragraph 0063] using a radial forming process. The Examiner notes that the limitation of “a radial forming process” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Claim 7, Otsuka et al. discloses an actuator assembly for an electrical device, the actuator assembly comprising: a shaft [15] extending from a first end [adjacent to 8] to a second end [adjacent to 23] generally along an axis; a movable contact [12/13] coupled to the first end of the shaft; and a plunger [23] coupled to the second end of the shaft, the plunger [23] comprising: an axial opening [27] extending through the plunger, and an undercut [32] formed in an inner surface defining the axial opening, wherein: the shaft extends through the axial opening, and a portion of the shaft extends laterally into the undercut to secure the shaft and the plunger [figure 5; paragraph 0063].
Claim 8, Otsuka et al. discloses the actuator assembly of claim 7, wherein: the plunger [23] comprises a body that extends along the axis from a first surface [top; figure 5] to a second surface [bottom; figure 5]; and the undercut [31] is formed proximate the second surface.
Claim 14, Otsuka et al. discloses the actuator assembly of claim 8, wherein: the plunger [23] is secured to the shaft [15] with the first surface of the plunger [top; figure 5] at a predetermined distance from the first end of the shaft [figure 5].
Claims 15-17, 19 and 20 a method of forming an actuator assembly is inherent in the product structure of claims 1-3, 5-7, 8 and 14 above as outlined by Otsuka et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9-13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837