DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 25 August 2026, has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending, though Claims 17, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration.
The outstanding rejection of Claims 1-16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment.
The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-13 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and Claims 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claims 1 and 19.
Response to Arguments
The Office notes Applicant’s argument with respect to the antecedent basis for claim language “the first report” in Claims 1 and 19 and finds this persuasive. As noted above, the rejection of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment and this persuasive argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 June 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Großmann et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0143885), hereinafter Großmann, in view of Manolakos et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20230328559), hereinafter Manolakos.
Regarding Claim 19, Großmann discloses a terminal, comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Figure 11 and paragraphs 0365-0366 – the computer system in the disclosure comprises a memory storing software); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (Figure 11 and paragraphs 0365-0366 – the computer system in the disclosure comprises a processor coupled via bus 304 to the memory), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
obtaining to-be-reported target time domain information based on a first report configuration, wherein the to-be-reported target time domain information is used to indicate channel change characteristics at a plurality of occasions (Figure 4 at step 250 and paragraph 0232 – the gNB sends a CSI-RS configuration and CSI report configuration to the UE; paragraph 0233 – the time-domain-repetition of the CSI-RS, in terms of the number of consecutive slots the CSI-RS is repeated in, is provided by the higher layer parameter CSI-RS-BurstDuration; paragraphs 0256-0261 – the UE performs measurements for future time instants and sends a CSI report to the gNB based on the parameters received from the gNB); and
reporting a first report on a target resource, wherein the first report comprises the to-be-reported target time domain information, and the target resource is a reporting resource indicated by the first report configuration (paragraphs 0256-0261 – the UE performs measurements for future time instants and sends a CSI report to the gNB).
However, Großmann does not disclose wherein the to-be-reported target time domain information comprises correlation information of the target time domain channel, wherein the correlation information of the target time domain channel comprises characteristic information of channel information at the plurality of occasions. In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses this. Specifically, Manolakos discloses a channel portion of a CSI feedback report including a transmission-side correlation matrix and eigenvectors of the transmission-side correlation matrix (paragraph 0182). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Großmann and Manolakos. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve accuracy of CSI reporting and manage control traffic overhead (e.g., refer to paragraph 0081 of Manolakos).
Claim 1 is a method claim comprising the same steps performed by the terminal of Claim 19. Therefore, Claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 2, Großmann discloses wherein the to-be-reported target time domain information comprises at least one of the following: information about the target time domain channel, wherein the information about the target time domain channel comprises channel information obtained by the terminal based on a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) at the plurality of occasions paragraphs 0256-0261 – the UE performs measurements for future time instants and sends a CSI report to the gNB based on the parameters received from the gNB); or Doppler domain channel information, wherein the Doppler domain channel information comprises information obtained by transforming the characteristic information of channel information at the plurality of occasions in a predetermined manner (paragraphs 0258-0261 – the UE selects, at step 256, the Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix for each layer (PMI selection) with respect to a specific performance metric; calculates, at step 258, a CQI value, a predicted CQI value, or predicted differential CQI values (if configured) for a future time instant or for a set of future time instants using the selected Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix and at least one of the MIMO channel tensor and a prediction of the MIMO channel tensor for future time instants, and, optionally, selects a RI value (if configured) using the selected Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix and the MIMO channel tensor, and sends, at step 260, the CSI report to the gNB).
Regarding Claim 3, Großmann discloses wherein the first report configuration comprises at least one of the following:
first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate quantity information reported in the first report, wherein the quantity information comprises to-be-reported target time domain information (Figure 4 at step 250 and paragraph 0232 – the gNB sends a CSI-RS configuration and CSI report configuration to the UE; paragraph 0233 – the time-domain-repetition of the CSI-RS, in terms of the number (i.e., quantity) of consecutive slots the CSI-RS is repeated in, is provided by the higher layer parameter CSI-RS-BurstDuration);
second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate frequency domain information corresponding to the to-be-reported target time domain information (Figure 4 at step 250 – the CSI parameters include a number of PRBs related to the time instances);
third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to indicate a codebook configuration associated with the to-be-reported target time domain information (Figure 4 at step 250 and paragraph 0231 - The base station or gNB signals via a higher layer or a physical layer at least five integer values for (N1,N2,P), S, and T, where (N1,N2,P) are used to configure a first codebook, and S and T are used to configure a second codebook and a third codebook, respectively, for the PMI decomposition/calculation at the UE); or
fourth indication information, wherein the fourth indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a measurement resource corresponding to the to-be-reported target time domain information or a measurement port corresponding to the to-be-reported target time domain information (Figure 4 at step 250 and paragraph 0231 – the UE may be configured with a CSI-RS resource configuration via a higher layer (such as RRC) containing information about the number of assigned CSI-RS ports used for the transmission to the UE. The number of CSI-RS ports, M, is equal to P*N1*N2 (where P=1 for co-polarized array antennas, and P=2 for dual-polarized array antennas at the base station), and where N1 and N2 are the number of antenna ports of the first and second spatial dimensions of the gNB array, respectively).
Regarding Claim 4, Großmann discloses wherein the frequency domain information comprises information about at least one subband (Figure 4 at step 250 – the CSI parameters include a number of PRBs (i.e., subbands) related to the time instances), or wideband (Note: this is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding Claim 5, Großmann discloses wherein obtaining the to-be-reported target time domain information comprises:
performing channel measurement on at least one Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) at each of the plurality of occasions to obtain measurement results of a plurality of channels (Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances; see also paragraph 0256 for measurements on downlink CSI-RS (i.e., CMR)); and obtaining the to-be-reported target time domain information based on the measurement results of the plurality of channels (Figure 4 at steps 254-260 – the UE calculates parameters to be included in the CSI reported back to the gNB; see also paragraphs 0258-0261).
Regarding Claim 6, Großmann discloses, wherein the at least one CMR comprises a plurality of CMRs (Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances), wherein performing the channel measurement on the at least one CMR at each of the plurality of occasions comprises:
obtaining the plurality of CMRs based on CSI-RS information configured or indicated by a network-side device, wherein time domain resources occupied by the CMRs are not identical (Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances; see also paragraph 0256 for measurements on downlink CSI-RS (i.e., CMR); see also Figure 5(b) that shows the CSI-RS transmission slots are not identical)), and the CSI-RS information comprises one of the following: a plurality of CSI-RS resources, at least one CSI-RS resource set, or at least one CSI-RS resource group, and
performing channel measurement on the plurality of CMRs (Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances); or
obtaining a target measurement resource or a target measurement port indicated by fourth indication information in the first report configuration, wherein the fourth indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: a measurement resource corresponding to the to-be-reported target time domain information or a measurement port corresponding to the to-be-reported target time domain information (Figure 4 at step 250 and paragraph 0231 – the UE may be configured with a CSI-RS resource configuration via a higher layer (such as RRC) containing information about the number of assigned CSI-RS ports used for the transmission to the UE. The number of CSI-RS ports, M, is equal to P*N1*N2 (where P=1 for co-polarized array antennas, and P=2 for dual-polarized array antennas at the base station), and where N1 and N2 are the number of antenna ports of the first and second spatial dimensions of the gNB array, respectively), and performing channel measurement on the target measurement resource or the target measurement port at each of the plurality of occasions (Figure 4 at steps 254-260 – the UE calculates parameters to be included in the CSI reported back to the gNB and the configured time instants; see also paragraphs 0258-0261).
Regarding Claim 7, Großmann discloses wherein obtaining the to-be-reported target time domain information based on the measurement results of the plurality of channels comprises:
obtaining measurement results of a plurality of target channels based on the measurement results of the plurality of channels (Figure 4 at step 250 – the CSI parameters include a number of PRBs (i.e., subbands) related to the time instances; Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances), and using the measurement results of the plurality of target channels as the to-be-reported target time domain information (Figure 4 at steps 254-260 – the UE calculates parameters to be included in the CSI reported back to the gNB and the configured time instants; see also paragraphs 0258-0261);
or
(Note: the following limitations are claimed in the alternative) obtaining measurement results of a plurality of target channels based on the measurement results of the plurality of channels, and calculating a plurality of eigenvectors or a plurality of eigenvalues of an autocorrelation matrix of a target matrix, wherein the target matrix comprises measurement results of a plurality of target channels, and the to-be-reported target time domain information comprises at least one of the following: the plurality of eigenvectors or the plurality of eigenvalues; or obtaining measurement results of a plurality of target channels based on the measurement results of the plurality of channels, calculating a plurality of eigenvectors and a plurality of eigenvalues of an autocorrelation matrix of a target matrix, wherein the target matrix is formed by the measurement results of the plurality of target channels, performing, based on a preset discrete Fourier transform matrix, discrete Fourier transform on the matrix formed by the eigenvectors, selecting at least one specific value from each column of a transformed-to matrix, and obtaining the to-be-reported target time domain information based on a plurality of selected specific values, wherein the to-be-reported target time domain information comprises each specific value and a row vector identifier of a discrete Fourier transform matrix corresponding to each specific value, or the to-be-reported target time domain information comprises each specific value, a row vector identifier of the discrete Fourier transform matrix corresponding to each specific value, and the eigenvalues corresponding to each specific value.
Regarding Claim 8, Großmann discloses the limitations of Claim 7, as described above. Claim 8 further limits a non-selected alternative from Claim 7 (the number of specific values selected from each column of the transformed-to matrix). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 8 are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Accordingly, Großmann anticipates Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9, Großmann anticipates the limitations of Claim 8, as described above. Claim 9 further limits a non-selected alternative from parent Claim 7 (the number of specific values selected from each column of the transformed-to matrix by way of the transformed-to matrix of Claims 7 and 8). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 9 are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Accordingly, Großmann anticipates Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, Großmann discloses wherein obtaining the measurement results of a plurality of target channels based on the measurement results of the plurality of channels comprises:
selecting measurement results of a plurality of target channels corresponding to first information from the measurement results of the plurality of channels (Figure 4 at step 250 – the CSI parameters include a number of PRBs (i.e., subbands) related to the time instances; Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances; Figure 4 at steps 254-260 – the UE calculates parameters to be included in the CSI reported back to the gNB and the configured time instants; see also paragraphs 0258-0261), wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: at least one pair of transceiver ports or at least one carrier (Figure 4 at step 250 – the CSI parameters include a number of PRBs (i.e., subbands) related to the time instances; Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances).
Regarding Claim 11, Großmann discloses wherein the first information is configured by the network-side device, or the first information is selected by the terminal (Figure 4 at step 252 – the UE performs CSI measurement over the configured CSI-RS ports over T time instances; see also paragraph 0256 for measurements on downlink CSI-RS (i.e., CMR); Figure 4 at steps 254-260 – the UE performs selection and calculation for parameters to be included in the CSI reported back to the gNB; see also paragraphs 0258-0261).
Regarding Claim 12, Großmann discloses wherein the to-be-reported target time domain information further comprises the first information selected by the terminal (Figure 4 at steps 254-260 – the UE performs selection and calculation for parameters to be included in the CSI reported back to the gNB; see also paragraphs 0258-0261).
Regarding Claim 13, Großmann discloses the limitations of Claim 7, as described above. Claim 13 further limits a non-selected alternative from Claim 7 (related to eigenvalues). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 13 are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Accordingly, Großmann anticipates Claim 13.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Großmann in view of Manolakos, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Wei et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0081676), hereinafter Wei.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Großmann and Manolakos discloses the limitations of Claim 1, as set forth above. Großmann further discloses generating the first report (Figure 4 at step 260). However, the aforementioned references do not disclose mapping the first report onto an Uplink Control Information (UCI) bit sequence on the target resource. In an analogous art, Wei discloses this. Specifically, Wei discloses CSI reporting streams comprising bit sequences sent uplink to the network (Figures 5A and 5B, as well as Figures 6A and 6B; refer also to paragraphs 0070-0078 for details about the information and formatting of the CSI reporting stream). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Großmann / Manolakos with Wei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to manage excessive downlink CSI-RS overhead and uplink CSI feedback overhead (refer to paragraph 0056 of Wei).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Großmann, Manolakos and Wei further discloses wherein mapping the first report onto the UCI bit sequence on the target resource comprises one of the following: generating a first UCI bit sequence based on other parameters in the first report, generating a second UCI bit sequence based on the to-be-reported target time domain information, and mapping the first UCI bit sequence and the second UCI bit sequence onto the target resource (Wei at Figures 5A and 5B, as well as Figures 6A and 6B for illustrations of the bit sequences in the CSI report; refer also to paragraphs 0070-0078 for details about the information and formatting of the CSI reporting stream); or generating a first UCI bit sequence based on a first part in the first report, generating a second UCI bit sequence based on a second part in the first report, and mapping the first UCI bit sequence and the second UCI bit sequence onto the target resource, wherein the second part comprises the to-be-reported target time domain information (Note: this is claimed in the alternative). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Großmann / Manolakos with Wei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to manage excessive downlink CSI-RS overhead and uplink CSI feedback overhead (refer to paragraph 0056 of Wei).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Großmann, Manolakos and Wei further discloses wherein the first UCI bit sequence further comprises sixth indication information, wherein the sixth indication information is used to indicate a bit length of the second UCI bit sequence (Note: this is claimed in the alternative), or the sixth indication information is used for determining the bit length of the second UCI bit sequence (Note: this is claimed in the alternative), or wherein a bit length of the second UCI bit sequence comprises a length of a subsequence, related to the to-be-reported target time domain information, in the second UCI bit sequence (Wei at Figures 5A and 5B, as well as Figures 6A and 6B for illustrations of the bit sequences (and corresponding lengths) in the CSI report; refer also to paragraphs 0070-0078 for details about the information and formatting of the CSI reporting stream). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Großmann / Manolakos with Wei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to manage excessive downlink CSI-RS overhead and uplink CSI feedback overhead (refer to paragraph 0056 of Wei).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ramireddy et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20210099210) discloses explicit CSI reporting based on channel transformation and channel techniques (paragraph 0201).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472