DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims have periods after “a”, “b”, etc., and “i", “ii”, etc. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). MPEP 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a sample-retaining component (505), configured to accept one or more fluid samples or a vessel comprising one or more fluid sample… the sample-retaining component (505) places or can be configured to place the one or more fluid samples in optical alignment with at least one emitter's radiation, such that the radiation will pass through the one or more samples” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “narrow angular range” in claims 3 and 17-20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “narrow angular range” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The Specification does not define a “narrow angular range”. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as substantially collimated.
The term “durably aligns” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “durably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The Specification does not define a “durably”. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as substantially aligns.
Claims 9-14 are rejected based upon their dependency on claim 8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haguet (US 2019/0145887 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haguet discloses a solid-state quasi-collimation stack (abstract, Figs. 1, 15-16, 22), comprising:
a. a base layer (Fig. 1, ref 50, paragraph [0086]);
b. one or more electromagnetic emitters (200) in fixed positions on the base layer (ref 40, paragraph [0086]);
c. a first electromagnetic radiation reflection and selection layer (102) covering the one or more emitters (200), comprising a material containing one or more electromagnetically transparent pinholes (113) in alignment with each emitter to form an emitter-pinhole pairing (Fig. 15, refs 70, 100, 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
d. a spacing layer (103) covering the first selection layer, comprising an optically absorbent or black body material and containing, for each emitter-pinhole pairing, a channel in optical alignment therewith (ref 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
e. a second electromagnetic radiation reflection and selection layer (104) configured to cover the spacing layer (103), comprising a material containing, for each channel in the spacing layer, an electromagnetically transparent pinhole (110) in optical alignment therewith (refs 205, 220, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]); and,
f. a top layer (105) (ref 35, paragraph [0287]).
Regarding claim 2, Haguet discloses wherein each of the one or more electromagnetic emitters is operable to transmit electromagnetic radiation at one or more wavelengths in the infrared, visible, or ultraviolet spectrum (paragraphs [0100]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 3, Haguet discloses wherein the emissions exiting the stack are confined to a narrow angular range via reflection and absorption of rays outside of that range (paragraphs [0431]-[0433]).
Regarding claim 4, Haguet discloses wherein the emissions exiting the stack are near-parallel to one another (paragraph [0432], “radiation R is collimated between the focusing device 55 and the well”).
Regarding claim 5, Haguet discloses wherein there are the same number of emitters, first selection layer pinholes, spacing layer, second selection layer pinholes, and optical receptors (Fig 1, etc. shows a 1 to 1 correspondence).
Regarding claim 6, Haguet discloses g. an absorption layer (101) located between the base layer and the first selection layer (102) and containing an absorption column for each emitter present, each column being configured to circumscribe the corresponding emitter (ref 65, paragraph [0134]-[0139]).
Regarding claim 7, Haguet discloses wherein the pinholes of the first and second electromagnetic reflection and selection layers are less than or equal to two millimeters in diameter and the thickness of the selection layers is less than or equal to five hundred micrometers (paragraphs [0180], [0215]-[0218], [0252], [0255], [0262]).
Regarding claim 15, Haguet discloses a method for the optical measurement of a fluid sample by passing collimated electromagnetic (EM) radiation through a well containing the fluid sample (abstract, Figs. 1, 15, 16, 22), the method, comprising:
a. beamforming EM radiation using a quasi-collimation stack (refs 70, 120, paragraphs [0209]-[0225], [0431]-[0433]);
b. directing the beamformed radiation to pass through the fluid sample contained in the well (refs 30, 185, paragraphs [0337]-[0343]).
Regarding claim 16, Haguet discloses c. detecting the radiation after passing through the sample via an optical receptor (ref 185, paragraphs [0337]-[0343]).
Regarding claim 17, Haguet discloses wherein the beamforming, comprises the steps of:
i. passing electromagnetic radiation from an emitter through a first pinhole (Fig. 15, refs 70, 100, 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
ii. passing the resulting radiation through a spacing layer (ref 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]); and,
iii. passing the resulting radiation through a second pinhole (refs 205, 220, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
wherein the beamformed radiation is confined to a narrow angular range via reflection and absorption of rays outside of that range (paragraphs [0431]-[0433]).
Regarding claim 18, Haguet discloses wherein the beamforming, comprises the steps of:
i. passing electromagnetic radiation from an emitter through a first pinhole (Fig. 15, refs 70, 100, 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
ii. passing the resulting radiation through a spacing layer (ref 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]); and,
iii. passing the resulting radiation through a second pinhole (refs 205, 220, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
wherein the beamformed radiation is confined to a narrow angular range via reflection and absorption of rays outside of that range (paragraphs [0431]-[0433]).
Regarding claim 19, Haguet discloses wherein the beamforming, comprises the steps of:
i. passing electromagnetic radiation from an emitter through an absorptive beam emitter separation layer (refs 65, 75, paragraph [0134]-[0139]);
ii. passing the resulting radiation from an emitter through a first pinhole (Fig. 15, refs 70, 100, 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
iii. passing the resulting radiation through a spacing layer (ref 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]); and,
iv. passing the resulting radiation through a second pinhole (refs 205, 220, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
wherein the beamformed radiation is confined to a narrow angular range via reflection and absorption of rays outside of that range (paragraphs [0431]-[0433]).
Regarding claim 20, Haguet discloses wherein the beamforming, comprises the steps of:
i. passing electromagnetic radiation from an emitter through an absorptive beam emitter separation layer (refs 65, 75, paragraph [0134]-[0139]);
ii. passing the resulting radiation from an emitter through a first pinhole (Fig. 15, refs 70, 100, 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
iii. passing the resulting radiation through a spacing layer (ref 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]); and,
iv. passing the resulting radiation through a second pinhole (refs 205, 220, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
wherein the beamformed radiation is confined to a narrow angular range via reflection and absorption of rays outside of that range (paragraphs [0431]-[0433]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haguet, and further in view of Seitter et al. (US 2022/0362776 A9), hereinafter “Seitter”.
Regarding claim 8, Haguet teaches a solid-state system for optical measurement of fluid samples (abstract, Figs. 1, 15-16, 22), comprising:
a. a quasi-collimation stack (Fig 1, ref 25, paragraphs [0084]-[0086], [0098]), comprising:
i. a base layer (Fig. 1, ref 50, paragraph [0086]);
ii. one or more electromagnetic emitters (200) in fixed positions on the base layer (ref 40, paragraph [0086]);
iii. a first electromagnetic radiation reflection and selection layer (102) covering the one or more emitters (200), comprising a material containing one or more electromagnetically transparent pinholes (113) in alignment with each emitter to form an emitter-pinhole pairing (Fig. 15, refs 70, 100, 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
iv. a spacing layer (103) covering the first selection layer, comprising an optically absorbent or black body material and containing, for each emitter-pinhole pairing, a channel in optical alignment therewith (ref 105, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]);
v. a second electromagnetic radiation reflection and selection layer (104) configured to cover the spacing layer (103), comprising a material containing, for each channel in the spacing layer, an electromagnetically transparent pinhole (110) in optical alignment therewith (refs 205, 220, paragraphs [0210], [0219]-[0222]); and,
vi. a top layer (105) (ref 35, paragraph [0287]);
b. a sample-retaining component (505), configured to accept one or more fluid samples or a vessel comprising one or more fluid samples (ref 20, paragraphs [0389]-[0392]);
c. an optical detection system (300), comprising one or more optical receptors (301) (ref 185, paragraphs [0338]-[0346]); and,
d. an emitter-detector coupling assembly (500) (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0337]-[0343]);
wherein:
each receptor (301) is operable to detect the electromagnetic radiation from at least one of the emitters (200) (paragraphs [0343]-[0348]);
the sample-retaining component (505) places or can be configured to place the one or more fluid samples in optical alignment with at least one emitter's radiation, such that the radiation will pass through the one or more samples (as shown in Fig. 1, paragraphs [0337]-[0348]); and,
the coupling assembly (500) durably aligns, temporarily or permanently, the quasi-collimation stack, sample-retaining component, (505) and optical detection system, such that at least one of the emitter's emissions is in optical alignment with at least one sample and whose emissions pass through the sample to at least one the receptor (as shown in Fig. 1, paragraphs [0343]-[0348]);.
Haguet is silent regarding the emitter-detector coupling assembly (500) comprising a rigid frame or a series of interlocking or semi-permanently coupled parts
However, Seitter teaches a well-plate reader (abstract, Figs 1, 2, 5, 6) including a emitter-detector coupling assembly (500) comprising a rigid frame or a series of interlocking or semi-permanently coupled parts (paragraphs [0043], [0047]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Haguet with the teaching of Seitter by including emitter-detector coupling assembly (500) comprising a rigid frame or a series of interlocking or semi-permanently coupled parts in order to prevent misalignment of the elements, paragraphs [0056]-[0057].
Regarding claim 9, Haguet teaches wherein the quasi-collimation stack, further comprises: vii. an absorption layer (101) located between the base layer and the first selection layer (102) and containing an absorption column for each emitter present, each column being configured to circumscribe the corresponding emitter (refs 65,75 paragraph [0134]-[0139]).
Regarding claim 10, Haguet teaches wherein there are the same number of emitters, first selection layer pinholes, spacing layer, second selection layer pinholes, and optical receptors (Fig 1, etc. shows a 1 to 1 correspondence).
Regarding claim 11, Haguet teaches wherein the pinholes of the first and second electromagnetic reflection and selection layers are less than or equal to two millimeters in diameter and the thickness of the selection layers is less than or equal to five hundred micrometers (paragraphs [0180], [0215]-[0218], [0252], [0255], [0262]).
Regarding claim 12, Haguet is silent regarding wherein the coupling assembly (500) comprises a single rigid case configured to block interfering electromagnetic emissions from outside of the frame or coupled parts, but which contains an opening for a sample or samples to be inserted.
However, Seitter teaches wherein the coupling assembly (500) comprises a single rigid case configured to block interfering electromagnetic emissions from outside of the frame or coupled parts, but which contains an opening for a sample or samples to be inserted (paragraphs [0043], [0047]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Haguet with the teaching of Seitter by including wherein the coupling assembly (500) comprises a single rigid case configured to block interfering electromagnetic emissions from outside of the frame or coupled parts, but which contains an opening for a sample or samples to be inserted in order to prevent misalignment of the elements, paragraphs [0056]-[0057].
Regarding claim 13, Haguet is silent regarding wherein the coupling assembly comprises two rigid cases configured to couple and decouple with each other such that the one or more emitters and one or more optical receptors are in optical alignment when the cases are coupled.
However, Seitter teaches wherein the coupling assembly comprises two rigid cases configured to couple and decouple with each other such that the one or more emitters and one or more optical receptors are in optical alignment when the cases are coupled (Figs, 1, 2A-B, 4, 6A-B, Refs 4, 5, 6, 10, paragraphs [0043], [0047]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Haguet with the teaching of Seitter by including wherein the coupling assembly comprises two rigid cases configured to couple and decouple with each other such that the one or more emitters and one or more optical receptors are in optical alignment when the cases are coupled in order to prevent misalignment of the elements, paragraphs [0056]-[0057].
Regarding claim 14, Haguet is silent regarding wherein one case contains the quasi-collimation stack and one case contains the optical detection system and when coupled they define the sample-retaining component (505).
However, Seitter teaches wherein one case contains the quasi-collimation stack and one case contains the optical detection system and when coupled they define the sample-retaining component (505). (Figs, 1, 2A-B, 4, 6A-B, Refs 4, 5, 6, 10, paragraphs [0043], [0051]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Haguet with the teaching of Seitter by including wherein one case contains the quasi-collimation stack and one case contains the optical detection system and when coupled they define the sample-retaining component (505) in order to prevent misalignment of the elements, paragraphs [0056]-[0057].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Papin (US 9885652) teaches a conventional multi-well plate for optical analysis and appears to render obvious at least claim 1.
Acharya (US 2023/0273119) teaches a conventional multi-well plate for optical analysis and appears to render obvious at least claim 1.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877