Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore.
Regarding claim 1, Moore discloses the use of a musical instrument mounting device, comprising: a mounting body ; an attachment portion (20) affixed to the mounting body, the attachment portion configured to attach to one or more types of musical instruments (100) ; and a receiver section (62) affixed to the mounting body and positioned adjacent the attachment portion (20), the receiver section (62) including a retainer body (64a, 64b); wherein the attachment portion of the mounting body is proportional to an attachment point on each of the one or more types of musical instruments (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, The musical instrument mounting device of Claim 1, wherein the retainer body is positioned perpendicular to one or more compressive forces exerted by the attachment portion (20) on the one or more types of musical instruments (see the position in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, The musical instrument mounting device of Claim 1, wherein the attachment point is positioned adjacent a line of vision of an individual playing the one or more types of musical instruments (see the attachment point in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Moore disclses wherein the retainer body is configured to receive a retainer and coupling device for securing a device within a line of vision of an individual playing the one or more types of musical instruments (see the securing device position in figure 1).
Moore does not disclose the use of mobile electronic device.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Moore to include a retainer device that is capable for holding a mobile electronic device since It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647.
Regarding claim 5, Moore does not disclose wherein the attachment portion and the retainer body are affixed to one another as an integral body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Moore to include the use of an integral body as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 15, Moore discloses an attachment portion that includes an upper compression section configured to circumnavigate a body of a woodwind instrument (see the upper portion in figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Moore discloses an attachment portion wherein the attachment portion further includes cutouts (the opening that the straps go through) configured to at least partially surround portions of the woodwind instrument.
Regarding claim 19, Moore discloses the use of an attachment portion that includes a clamp body having upper (upper strap) and lower clamp (lower strap) sections fuller separable from one another.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837