DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that both Izraelevitz et al. and Kahlon et al. teach away from the Applicant’s invention. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Izraelevitz et al. discloses that prior to the launch, SQUID rests in a folded state/configuration 802 inside of the launch tube 708 as shown in Fig. 8 (paragraph [0110]), which reads on the claim limitation that while the drone is in an un-deployed position, the drone is stowed in a stowed position within the launch tube. Furthermore, Izraelevitz et al. discloses that after the launch 804 is triggered, the compressed gas accelerates SQUID through the tub 708 (Fig. 8; paragraph [0111]), which reads on the launch tube is open and the drone is exposed and capable of the drone passing from an un-deployed position of the drone to a drone in a deployed position of the drone when the drone still rests in the launch tube. Kahlon et al. is then only relied upon to explicitly disclose that the launch tube is closed while in an un-deployed position, which can be seen in Fig. 1 and described in paragraph [0034]. While there are differences between the overall inventions described in both the Izraelevitz et al. and Kahlon et al. references and the Applicant’s invention, the claims are broad enough to be read on the inventions described by both Izraelevitz et al. and Kahlon et al. Therefore, when the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretations, the combination of the Izraelevitz et al. and Kahlon et al. references meet the claimed limitations and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izraelevitz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0107645) in view of Kahlon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0244402).
Regarding claim 1, Izraelevitz et al. discloses a drone assembly (10) comprising a drone (12) and a launch tube (78) therefor (Figs. 7A-7C; Fig. 8 – launch tube and drone; paragraph [0110] – prior to launch, SQUID (Streamlined Quick-Unfolding Investigator Drone) rests in folded state/configuration 802 inside the launch tube 708, which is generally pointed upwards), wherein in an un-deployed position of the drone assembly, the drone is stowed in a stowed position within the launch tube (Fig. 8 – launch tube and drone; paragraph [0110] – prior to launch, SQUID (Streamlined Quick-Unfolding Investigator Drone) rests in folded state/configuration 802 inside the launch tube 708, which is generally pointed upwards), in a deployed position of the launch tube, the launch tube is open and the drone is peripherally exposed and capable of passing from an un-deployed position of the drone to a deployed position of the drone when the drone still rests in the launch tube (Fig. 8 – launch tube and drone; paragraph [0110] – prior to launch, SQUID (Streamlined Quick-Unfolding Investigator Drone) rests in folded state/ configuration 802 inside the launch tube 708, which is generally pointed upwards; paragraph [0111] – after launch 804 is triggered, the compressed gas accelerates SQUID through the tub 708). However, Izraelevitz et al. fails to disclose in an un-deployed position of the drone assembly, the launch tube is closed.
Referring to the Kahlon et al. reference, Kahlon et al. discloses a drone assembly comprising a drone and a launch tube therefor, wherein in an un-deployed position of the drone assembly, the launch tube is closed (Fig. 1; paragraph [0034] – the launch tube 10 has a frontal opening 12 for takeoff and launching of the UAV that the launch tube body 11 contains – this opening is normally closed by a square-shaped cover 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had the launch tube be closed when it is an un-deployed position of the drone assembly as disclosed by Kahlon et al. in the drone assembly disclosed by Izraelevitz et al. in order to prevent the drone from being damaged while being stored in the tube.
Regarding claim 2, Izraelevitz et al. in view of Kahlon et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the drone (12) comprises a generally cylindrical frame (14) and a longitudinal axis (A), the frame comprises four beams (16) that extend between a lower base (18) and an upper base (20), an arm support (28) is connected between each beam and the upper base, an arm (30) is connected between each two adjacent arm supports, each arm is rotatable with respect to its adjacent arm supports around and arm axis (B) that is perpendicular to a plane passing through the longitudinal axis and through the arm (Izraelevitz et al.: Figs. 1A and 1B; abstract – three or more foldable arms are attached to the central body frame via a hinge and exist in two states – a closed state where the foldable arms are parallel to a central body axis, and an open state (after launch) where the foldable arms extend radially outward perpendicular to the central body axis; paragraph [0044] – Fig. 1A illustrates a design of a SQUID in different stages in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention – the different stages are illustrated from left to right: ballistic configuration view 102, multirotor configuration view 104, and section view 106 with a hinge zoom/closer look 108 – similarly, Fig. 1B illustrates the key design elements of the design from a launch/ballistic configuration 102 to a deployed/multirotor configuration section view 106 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention), wherein in an un-deployed position of the drone, the arms are positioned parallel to each other and to the longitudinal axis (Izraelevitz et al.: Figs. 1A and 1B; abstract – three or more foldable arms are attached to the central body frame via a hinge and exist in two states – a closed state where the foldable arms are parallel to a central body axis, and an open state (after launch) where the foldable arms extend radially outward perpendicular to the central body axis; paragraph [0044] – Fig. 1A illustrates a design of a SQUID in different stages in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention – the different stages are illustrated from left to right: ballistic configuration view 102, multirotor configuration view 104, and section view 106 with a hinge zoom/closer look 108 – similarly, Fig. 1B illustrates the key design elements of the design from a launch/ballistic configuration 102 to a deployed/multirotor configuration section view 106 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention), and in a deployed position of the drone, the arms are perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Izraelevitz et al.: Figs. 1A and 1B; abstract – three or more foldable arms are attached to the central body frame via a hinge and exist in two states – a closed state where the foldable arms are parallel to a central body axis, and an open state (after launch) where the foldable arms extend radially outward perpendicular to the central body axis; paragraph [0044] – Fig. 1A illustrates a design of a SQUID in different stages in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention – the different stages are illustrated from left to right: ballistic configuration view 102, multirotor configuration view 104, and section view 106 with a hinge zoom/closer look 108 – similarly, Fig. 1B illustrates the key design elements of the design from a launch/ballistic configuration 102 to a deployed/multirotor configuration section view 106 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the invention).
Regarding claim 5, Izraelevitz et al. in view of Kahlon et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the drone (12) comprises at least one camera (74) that provides video images and/or thermal video images (Izraelevitz et al.: Fig. 6 – camera 632; paragraph [0088] – camera 632; paragraph [0092] – camera 632 (e.g., FLIR CHAMELEON3); paragraph [0149] – further use cases include use in applications ranging from farmland and structural inspection to consumer platforms for personal video - take photos – investigate intrusions on perimeter of a fixed protected area).
Regarding claim 6, Izraelevitz et al. in view of Kahlon et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the drone (12) is provided with built-in Al for autonomously controlling launch, ascent, navigation, hovering, and descent to landing, and wherein the built-in Al uses multiple sensors for navigation, including motion sensors for inertial navigation, camera looking at ground for optical flow, and object anchoring and identification for navigation (Izraelevitz et al.: Fig. 6 – onboard computer 614 (e.g., TX2); paragraph [0088] – the layout of key components is illustrated in Fig. 6 – onboard computer 614 (e.g., TX2) – the onboard computer 614 may receive input from various sensors 632-638 – further, the onboard camera 614 may include a processor, memory, and/or other components that enable the computer 636 to execute a set of instructions thereby autonomously stabilizing the vehicle 600 and/or controlling vehicle flight; paragraph [0092] – vehicle embodiment 2 also requires a perception system comprising a camera 632, rangefinder 634, IMU/barometer 636, and onboard computer 614 to achieve full autonomous stabilization; paragraph [0124] – active stabilization; paragraph [0161] – an autonomy pipeline that carries the platform from launch detection to full 6-degree of freedom stabilization using only onboard sensing (IMU, barometer, rangefinder, and camera) and without the need for GPS; a TX2 computer is a fast, power-efficient embedded AI computing device).
Regarding claim 7, Izraelevitz et al. in view of Kahlon et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the launch tube has a power switch (112) and an arming and deployment switch (116) that enables launching of the drone even if no mobile phone, computer, tablet computer, or laptop computer are connected or paired to the drone (Kahlon et al.: Fig. 3; paragraph [0035] – referring now also to Fig. 3, the rear end portion 16 may include a safety mechanism means 31 which is used to help prevent an accidental launching of a UAV in the pneumatic launcher 10 and helping to insure safer handling – the rear end portion 16 may further include a trigger 32 and/or a launching mechanism – the safety mechanism means 30 can include a safety pin 31 or a switch, a button, or a lever that when set to the “safe” position, prevents the activation of the pneumatic launcher 10 – the safety mechanisms 31 can be a block or latch that prevents the trigger 32 and/or launching mechanism from moving – the rear end portion 16 may further includes an electrical switch 35 for electrically activating the UAV electrical power source(s)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art, singularly or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with all of the other elements claimed:
wherein each arm comprises, in an inward portion (54) thereof, a toothed portion (56) that extends at a sector of 90-degrees,an operating pin (58) is positioned between the toothed portions of the arms, the operating pin has a flat pin head (60) and four toothed racks (62) extending downwardly therefrom, each toothed rack conforms in shape and position to a toothed portion of an arm that is in contact therewith, a tensioning bolt (64), having a bolt head (66) and a threaded portion (68) extending upwardly from the bolt head, is threadingly engaged into a lower portion (70) of the operating pin, an activating spring (72) is compressed between the bolt head and the lower portion of the operating pin, wherein in the deployed position of the launch tube, a tension of the activating spring urges the operating pin to a downward movement until the pin head abuts against the upper base of the drone, and wherein during the downward movement of the operating pin, each of the four toothed racks rotates a mating toothed portion of an arm, and, each arm rotates a 90-degrees rotation about its arm axis, and the drone gets into a deployed position (dependent claim 3, which depends from claims 1 and 2; claim 4 depends from claim 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
June 27, 2026