The amendment filed 2/24/26 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “When preparing the linen blocks, linen fibers are combed and laid out into a linen felt. Then, the linen felt is soaked in latex, dried, and hot-pressed to form a linen mat. Finally the liner mat is cut into the linen blocks”.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification as originally filed does not provide support for the limitation that each of the linen blocks are made by bonding and compressing linen fibers.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al, CN 216797267, (equivalent to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0134291 which is relied on for citations below) in view of Gordon, U.S. Patent No. 2,856,323 and Gleich et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0196081.
Cao discloses a carpet comprising a face layer which is the top layer and an adhesive anti-slip layer having an anti-slip bottom which is the bottom layer. The face layer and the adhesive anti-slip layer are detachably connected through an extension layer. See figures and paragraphs 0010-0014. The anti-slip layer can include an elastic layer which can include a plurality of block-like elastic materials spliced together. See paragraph 0015.
Cao does not disclose that the block-like elastic materials are linen blocks.
However, Gordon teaches forming carpet backing/padding by combining natural fibers such as jute with a rubber latex binder. See col. 3, lines 43-61. While Gordon teaches jute instead of linen, note that Gleich teaches a structure comprising natural fibers such as cotton, linen, hemp, jute, ramie or sisal which are bound together by a latex binder to form a pad which can be used to manufacture carpet. See paragraphs 0050, 0088 and 0001.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed natural fibers such as linen in a rubber latex as taught by Gordon and Gleich to form the elastic blocks of Cao in view of the art recognized suitability of such structures as carpet backing and to have selected suitable dimensions for the blocks/padding to provide properties such as cushioning and sound deadening without using excessive materials and avoid excess weight.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the features of each of the linen blocks are made by bonding and compressing linen fibers as well as the amendments to the specification are not new matter because the term linen blocks means that the linen fibers are bonded and compressed into blocks. However, the term “linen blocks” does not appear to be a term of art. There are multiple ways of forming a block of linen, including processing fabrics or processing loose fibers, mechanically intertangling, bonding with synthetic fibers, bonding with glue, foams, etc., bonding multiple fabric layers, forming thick fabric layers by interweaving or three dimensional knitting, etc. The addition to the specification and claims is therefore new matter because the term linen block is not a term of art and does not have a standard recognized structural definition or a standard process of making.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789