DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 28 April 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 28 April 2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because there is no list of the applications submitted, only a cover sheet. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over URABE et al (2021/0012121) (herein “URABE”). In regards to claim 1, URABE teaches a computer-implemented method for ascertaining a position of a motor vehicle (1; 4) or of an object (2) (See Fig. 4 and p[0048] -p[0051] for determining the position of an object), comprising: optically recording data of a traffic environment having multiple motor vehicles (1; 2; 4) (See; Fig. 4 for multiple vehicles); detecting a reflection (3; 5) of at least a portion of a specific one of the See; Fig. 4, p[0048] and p[0081]-p[0082] for detecting a reflection object reflecting off object 503); ascertaining at least one prominent area of the specific See; Fig. 4, p[0048] and p[0081]-p[0082] for detecting a bicycle reflecting off object 503. Where the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “prominent area” could be interpreted as recognizing a type and a size of the object as disclosed); and ascertaining the position of the specific motor vehicle (1; 4) or the object (2) using the prominent area in the reflection (3; 5) (See Fig. 4 and p[0048] -p[0051] for determining the position of the object). URABE fails to explicitly teach that a reflection of a motor vehicle is detected and instead shows as an example, a bicycle rider. However, URABE does teach that the type of object reflected is determined so as to predict the objects size position and speed (See; p[0048], p[0052] and p[0083]), where it would have been obvious that the type of objects could also include motor vehicles that are obstructed from view of the driver. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to detect other moving objects such as motor vehicles in the reflections so as to better avoid collisions with any object. In regards to claim 2, URABE fails to explicitly teach wherein the object (2) is one of the motor vehicles. However, Urabe uses general language that would broadly assume that that the object could be another motor vehicle in the image (See; p[0048] “Further, the image data may present an object (hereinafter, referred to as a reflection object) which is different from the object, reflected on the object due to reflection. In such case, the object recognition unit 200 recognizes a type and a size of the reflection object presented in the image data.”). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to detect other moving objects such as motor vehicles in the detected reflections off any object so as to better avoid collisions with any object.
In regards to claim 3, URABE teaches wherein the prominent area differs more visually from a first neighboring areas adjacent to the prominent areas than other areas of the specific motor vehicle (1; 4) differ from a second neighboring area adjacent to the other areas (See; Fig. 4, p[0048] and p[0081]-p[0082] for detecting a bicycle reflecting off object 503. Where the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “prominent area” could be interpreted as recognizing a type and a size of the object as disclosed. Where the bicycle is more prominent that other areas surrounding it).
In regards to claim 4, URABE teaches wherein the optically recorded data are recorded by a camera of a camera motor vehicle (1) that is one of the motor vehicles, and wherein the specific motor vehicle (4) is distinct from the camera motor vehicle (1) (See; Fig. 1 and p[0030]).
In regards to claim 5, URABE teaches wherein the optical data are recorded by a camera of the specific motor vehicle (4) (See; Fig. 1 and p[0030]).
In regards to claim 6, URABE teaches further comprising retrieving information about an outer surface of the object (2), and using the retrieved information in ascertaining the position of the specific motor vehicle (1; 4) or of the object (2) (See; p[0048] and p[0051] “Further, the image data may present an object (hereinafter, referred to as a reflection object) which is different from the object, reflected on the object due to reflection. In such case, the object recognition unit 200 recognizes a type and a size of the reflection object presented in the image data.”).
In regards to claim 7, URABE teaches wherein the reflection was detected on the outer surface (See; Fig. 4).
In regards to claim 9, URABE fails to explicitly teach further comprising detecting in the optical data multiple reflections of at least a portion of the specific motor vehicle (1; 4) on a number of the motor vehicles; ascertaining the prominent area of the specific motor vehicle (1; 4) in the reflections; and ascertaining the position of the specific motor vehicle (1; 4) by way of the prominent area in the reflections. However, Urabe does teach detecting at least the one reflection to ascertain the position of the reflected object (See; p[0048] and p[0051] “Further, the image data may present an object (hereinafter, referred to as a reflection object) which is different from the object, reflected on the object due to reflection. In such case, the object recognition unit 200 recognizes a type and a size of the reflection object presented in the image data.”), where detecting multiple reflections is a mere duplication of parts (See; MPEP 2144.04 VI B ( In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to detect multiple reflections so as to better avoid collisions with objects.
In regards to claim 10, URABE teaches a system comprising a digital electronic storage medium and a digital electronic processing unit, wherein instructions are stored in the storage medium, wherein the processing unit is designed to read out and execute the instructions, wherein the instructions are designed such that, when the instructions are executed, the processing unit is prompted to perform a method of claim 1 (See; Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627