DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, line 5, the limitation of “wherein one second battery assembly” is unclears if it is the same or different than “at least one second battery assembly” in line 5.
The limitation of “the remaining second battery assemblies” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding Claims 4-5, the limitation of “one second battery assembly” is unclears if it is the same or different than “at least one second battery assembly” in claim 1, line 5.
The limitation of “the remaining second battery assemblies” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 2-3, and 6-10 are also rejected since the claims depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Tracy (US Pub No. 2008/0254351)
Regarding Claim 1, Tracy et al. teaches a battery mounting structure [10, Fig. 2A, 0008], comprising:
a telescopic member [107-109, Fig. 2A-2B, 0009];
a first battery assembly [110, 112, and 114, Fig. 1, 0010], wherein the first battery assembly is sleeved on the telescopic member [Fig. 1]; and
at least one second battery assembly [111, 113, and 115, Fig. 1, 0010], wherein one second battery assembly is sleeved on the telescopic member and electrically connected with the first battery assembly [Fig. 1, 0010], and the remaining second battery assemblies are sleeved on the telescopic member in an axial direction of the telescopic member in sequence and electrically connected in sequence [Fig. 1, 0010]
Regarding Claim 2, Tracy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tracy et al. teaches wherein the battery mounting structure further comprises a supporting member [104, Fig. 2A, 0010], the first battery assembly is arranged on the supporting member [Fig. 2A], and a part of the telescopic member [107-109, Fig. 2A-2B, 0009] is located in an inner circumferential direction of the supporting member [Fig. 2A]
Regarding Claim 3, Tracy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tracy et al. teaches wherein the battery mounting structure further comprises a base [213, Fig. 2A, 0011], and the supporting member and the telescopic member are both arranged on the base [Fig. 2A, 0010-0011].
Regarding Claim 4, Tracy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tracy et al. teaches wherein one end of the first battery assembly close to the second battery assembly is provided with a first conductive portion [210, Fig. 2A, 0010], one second battery assembly is sleeved on the telescopic member and electrically connected with the first conductive portion, and the remaining second battery assemblies are sleeved on the telescopic member in the axial direction of the telescopic member in sequence and electrically connected in sequence [Fig. 2A, 0010-0011].
Regarding Claim 5, Tracy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tracy et al. teaches wherein the second battery assembly is provided with a second conductive portion [206, Fig. 2A, 0010] and a third conductive portion [202, Fig. 2A, 0010], the second conductive portion and the third conductive portion are respectively arranged at two ends of the second battery assembly, a second conductive portion of one second battery assembly is electrically connected with the first conductive portion, and a third conductive portion of one second battery assembly is electrically connected with a second conductive portion of an adjacent second battery assembly [Fig. 2A, 0008].
Regarding Claim 9, Tracy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tracy et al. teaches an outdoor mobile power supply, comprising the battery mounting structure according to claim 1 [Fig. 2A, 0010-0011].
Regarding Claim 10, Tracy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tracy et al. teaches an electronic assembly, comprising an electronic device and the outdoor mobile power supply according to claim 9 [Fig. 2A, 0010-0011].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Tracy (US Pub No. 2008/0254351) is the closest prior art.
Tracy et al. teaches limitations of the claim but does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the first battery assembly comprises a first shell, a first battery and a circuit board, the first battery and the
circuit board are both arranged in the first shell, and the first battery is electrically connected
with the circuit board and the first conductive portion respectively.” in claim 6, “wherein the circuit board is provided with a charging interface and a power button, and the first shell is provided with a
first avoidance port matched with the charging interface and a second avoidance port matched
with the power button.” in claim 7, and “wherein the second battery assembly comprises a second shell and a second battery, and the second battery is arranged in the second shell, and electrically connected with the second conductive portion and the third conductive portion respectively.” in claim 8.
These references, nor any other reference or combination of references in the prior art suggest or render obvious the limitations of “wherein the first battery assembly comprises a first shell, a first battery and a circuit board, the first battery and the circuit board are both arranged in the first shell, and the first battery is electrically connected with the circuit board and the first conductive portion respectively.” in claim 6, “wherein the circuit board is provided with a charging interface and a power button, and the first shell is provided with a first avoidance port matched with the charging interface and a second avoidance port matched with the power button.” in claim 7, and “wherein the second battery assembly comprises a second shell and a second battery, and the second battery is arranged in the second shell, and electrically connected with the second conductive portion and the third conductive portion respectively.” in claim 8.
Therefore; claim 1 is allowed once the rejections under 35 USC 112 are overcome, and the limitations of claims 6-8 are incorporated into claim 1.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728