Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to claims filed on July 16, 2026. Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melo et al “Melo”, US-PGPub. No. 20200274721 in view of Hughes et al “Hughes”, US-PGPub. No. 20150222619.
As per claims 1, 14 and 22, Melo teaches methods comprising:
providing a cryptographically secured secret to a first user (Paragraph(s) [0038]; when signing up for a service for the first time, a client creates and presents to the service a self-signed public key certificate, which is created from a private key that is kept secret. The service verifies all information it needs from the connection to establish the identity of the specific individual, then creates a new-user database record that contains the public-key certificate along with that individual's identifying information);
providing a first radio associated with the first user and having stored therein data for use in verifying an origin of a response received to a challenge (Paragraph(s) [0076]; user credentials are the presentation of a cryptographically-signed payload, who's signing origins can be traced to possession of the user's Personal Root Certificate private key via a chain-of-trust validation mechanism. In addition, Melo discloses the private key can be stored internally in a consumer device's hardware security module (HSM) or in a special, separate key-storage device (Paragraph(s) [0011], [0018]). In further details. Melo discloses, in a subsequent Log-in Example. Step 1) a client presents the same certificate and the service validates the certificate chain-of-trust and performs a challenge/response to ensure certificate ownership (with TLS, this is done automatically). Step 2) the service compares the presented certificate with certificates in the service's database. If both steps are successful, the certificate belongs to and is a credential identifying the existing user and specific individual in the database (Paragraph(s) [0039]));
transmitting to the first radio a response to the challenge with data derived from information for responding to the challenge and the cryptographically secured secret (Paragraph(s) [0016]; the self-signed certificate is transmitted to a verifying party computer over a network. In further details, Melo discloses using cryptographic credential service to separately and independently determining the connecting individual's actual identity, and creating a database record for that individual containing the certificate. Then, when a self-signed certificate is subsequently presented in a connection and is affirmatively compared against the certificate database entry of the individual, it securely identifies the specific user (Paragraph(s) [0035-0036];);
verifying the cryptographically secured secret by at least one of a trusted system and the first radio to make a determination, the determination being one of (a) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified trusted response from an authorised origin and (b) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified untrusted response (Paragraph(s) [0064-0067], [0076], [0081-0082], [0155-0156]; since the verifying party uses the user's Personal Root Certificate to authenticate the user, the user can easily migrate and recover lost credentials by signing new certificates on their Personal Certificate Chain, without direct involvement of the verifying party); and
in response to a verified untrusted response other than resetting access credentials to the first radio (Paragraph(s) [0075], [0122]).
While Melo discloses recovering lost credentials (Melo - Paragraph(s) [0074], [0082]), Melo fails to explicitly disclose automatically resetting on-device access credentials of the first radio for access to the first radio.
However, Hughes teaches quantum keys produced by QKD can be used for authentication and other set-up operations before subsequent QKD sessions, so that such set-up operations are automatic and seamless to the user (Hughes - Paragraph(s) [0057]). In addition, Hughes teaches password-based authentication using a QIP can provide security in the event of loss of a user device. Without the part of a password that a user provides as input (or without the biometric indicia that the user provides as input), a non-authorized user cannot convince the trusted authority to accept him as the authorized user of the device, and the non-authorized user is unable to use the device to perform QKD with the trusted authority (Hughes - Paragraph(s) [0148]). Furhtermore, Hughes teaches the user device uses the device factor information and the user factor information in multi-factor authentication that uses QC with the computer system that implements the trusted authority (Hughes - Paragraph(s) [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicants' invention to combine the teachings of Melo and Hughes in order to provide more efficient and secure way of protecting user data while enabling device access reset, specifically in the event of a device loss (see Hughes - Paragraph(s) [0148]).
As per claims 2 and 15, Melo teaches wherein, the verified trusted response includes new access credentials (Paragraph(s) [0055]).
As per claims 3 and 16, Melo teaches wherein, automatically resetting access credentials comprises resetting access credentials to a default value (Fig. 4, Paragraph(s) [0020], [0045], [0170]).
As per claims 4 and 17, Melo teaches wherein, automatically resetting access credentials comprises resetting access credentials through a further secure data exchange (Paragraph(s) [0055], [0057], [0062]).
As per claim 5, Melo teaches providing from the first radio the challenge (Paragraph(s) [0035]).
As per claims 6 and 18, Melo teaches wherein providing from the first radio the challenge comprises broadcasting from the first radio a challenge packet at intervals, the challenge packet comprising challenge data (Paragraph(s) [0036], [0156], [0190]).
As per claims 7 and 19, Melo teaches wherein the challenge data is verifiably provided by the first radio (Paragraph(s) [0018], [0073], [0199]).
As per claims 8 and 20, Melo teaches wherein the challenge data is cryptographically verifiable as being provided by the first radio (Paragraph(s) [0011], [0196]).
As per claims 9 and 21, Melo teaches wherein the challenge data comprises a radio identifier for identifying the first radio (Paragraph(s) [0011]).
As per claims 10, Melo teaches wherein verifying the cryptographically secured secret by at least one of a trusted system and the first radio to make a determination, the determination being one of c) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified trusted response from an authorised origin and d) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified untrusted response comprises verifying the first user in reliance upon a trusted authority (Paragraph(s) [0036], [0038]).
As per claims 11, Melo teaches wherein verifying the cryptographically secured secret by at least one of a trusted system and the first radio to make a determination, the determination being one of e) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified trusted response from an authorised origin and f) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified untrusted response comprises receiving a certificate of a response from the first user, the certificate provided by the trusted authority (Paragraph(s) [0038-0039]).
As per claims 12, Melo teaches wherein verifying the cryptographically secured secret by at least one of a trusted system and the first radio to make a determination, the determination being one of g) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified trusted response from an authorised origin and h) that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified untrusted response comprises receiving a certificate of a trusted authority, the trusted authority having verified a response by the first user (Paragraph(s) [0039]).
As per claims 13, Melo teaches wherein verifying the cryptographically secured secret by at least one of a trusted system and the first radio to make a determination, the determination being one of that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified trusted response from an authorised origin and that the cryptographically secured secret indicates a verified untrusted response comprises verifying a cryptographic signature of the first user by the first radio (Paragraph(s) [0081], [0085-0086]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED A. WASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454