DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that Saitoh fails to disclose a wavelength selective twist. The examiner respectfully disagrees as Paragraph 0083 of Saitoh clearly discloses a cholesterically aligned liquid crystal element that is wavelength selective and has a twist less than 360 degrees.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 13-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grupp (US Patent No.: US 6,549,254 B1 of record)in view of Saitoh et al (US Publication No.: US 2020/0271839 A1 of record, “Saitoh”).
Regarding Claim 1, Grupp discloses an optical element (Figure 3, optical element 20), comprising at least
A first optically-anisotropic layer that is formed of a liquid crystal composition including a liquid crystal compound (Figure 3, first optically-anisotropic layer 24a-24d; Column 5, l-13-15); and
A second optically-anisotropic layer that is formed of a liquid crystal composition including a liquid crystal compound (Figure 3, second optically-anisotropic layer 24i; Columns 5, l.13-15), wherein
The first optically-anisotropic layer and the second optically-anisotropic layer have a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction (Column 1, l.21-25 disclose liquid crystal having a helical periodic structure having a pitch which can be adjusted resulting in Bragg reflections),
A birefringence Δn1 of the first optically-anisotropic layer and a birefringence Δn2 of the second optically-anisotropic layer satisfy a relationship of Expression (1), and
A thickness T1 of the first optically-anisotropic layer and a thickness of T2 of the second optically-anisotropic layer satisfy a relationship Expression (2), and transmitted light is diffracted (Figure 3; Column 5, l.28-31),
Expression (1) Δn1> Δn2 (Figure 4 discloses a decrease in birefringence as the layers progress from 24a-24j, so each of the first optically-anisotropic layer 24a-24d would have a greater birefringence than the second optically-anisotropic layer 24i), and
Expression (2) 0.002≤T2/T1≤0.3 (Figure 3 discloses uniform thickness of each layer 24a-24d, so the first optically-anisotropic layer consists of 24a-24d, having a four times thickness than that of the second optically-anisotropic layer 24i, so T2/T1=0.25).
Grupp fails to disclose that the first optically-anisotropic layer and the second optically-anisotropic layer each have, in a plane, a region in which optical axes of the liquid crystal compound are aligned in the same direction in a thickness direction, or have, a region in which the optical axes of the liquid crystal compound are twisted along a thickness direction with a twist angle of 10° to 360°.
However, Saitoh discloses a similar optical element where the first optically-anisotropic layer and the second optically-anisotropic layer each have, in a plane, a region in which optical axes of the liquid crystal compound are aligned in the same direction in a thickness direction, or have, a region in which the optical axes of the liquid crystal compound are twisted along a thickness direction with a twist angle of 10° to 360° (Saitoh, Figure 12, first optically-anisotropic layer 224, second optically-anisotropic layer 225, where Paragraphs 0092-0093 disclose a twist of 180°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twist angle as disclosed by Grupp to have a particular value as disclosed by Saitoh. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light reflection and transmission (Saitoh, Paragraph 0083).
Regarding Claim 2, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optically element according to claim 1, wherein the birefringence Δn1 is 0.21 or more and 0.50 or less, and the birefringence Δn2 is 0.05 or more and 0.20 or less (Figure 4 discloses a 0.24 birefringence of 24a at least for Δn1 and discloses a birefringence of roughly 0.06 for 24i).
Regarding Claim 3, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 1, further comprising: a third optically-anisotropic layer that is formed of a liquid crystal composition including a liquid crystal compound (Figure 3, third optically-anisotropic layer 24j), wherein the third optically-anisotropic layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction (Column 1, l.21-25), the second optically-anisotropic layer, the first optically-anisotropic layer, and the third optically-anisotropic layer are laminated in this order (Figure 3), a birefringence Δn3 of the third optically-anisotropic layer and the birefringence Δn1 satisfy a relationship of Expression (3), and a thickness T3 of the third optically-anisotropic layer and the thickness T1 satisfy a relationship of Expression (4), Expression (3) Δn1 > Δn3 (Figure 4 discloses a decrease in birefringence as the layers progress from 24a-24j, so each of the first optically-anisotropic layer 24a-24d would have a greater birefringence than the second optically-anisotropic layer 24j), and Expression (4) 0.002 ≤ T3/T1 ≤ 0.3 (Figure 3 discloses uniform thickness of each layer 24a-24d, so the first optically-anisotropic layer consists of 24a-24d, having a four times thickness than that of the second optically-anisotropic layer 24j, so T2/T1=0.25).
Regarding Claim 4, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 3, wherein the birefringence Δn3 is 0.05 or more and 0.20 or less (Figure 4 discloses a birefringence Δn3 of roughly 0.05).
Regarding Claim 5, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 3, wherein the birefringence Δn1, the birefringence Δn2, and the birefringence Δn3 satisfy relationships of Expressions (5) and (6), Expression (5) 0.1 ≤ Δn1 – Δn2 ≤ 0.25 (Figure 4 discloses Δn1 – Δn2=.18) , and Expression (6) 0.1 ≤ Δn1 – Δn3 ≤ 0.25 (Figure 4 discloses Δn1 – Δn3=.19).
Regarding Claim 9, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 1.
Grupp fails to disclose that the first optically-anisotropic layer has a region where the optical axis of the liquid crystal compound is twisted along a thickness direction in a plane, and a twisted angle of the region in the thickness direction is 10° to 360°.
However, Saitoh discloses a similar optical element where the first optically-anisotropic layer has a region where the optical axis of the liquid crystal compound is twisted along a thickness direction in a plane, and a twisted angle of the region in the thickness direction is 10° to 360° (Saitoh, Paragraph 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twist angle as disclosed by Grupp to have a particular value as disclosed by Saitoh. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light reflection and transmission (Saitoh, Paragraph 0083).
Regarding Claim 10, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 3, wherein in the liquid crystal alignment pattern of the first to third optically-anisotropic layers, the one direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating is provided in a radial shape from an inner side toward an outer side (Column 1, l.21-25).
Regarding Claim 11, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses an image display apparatus (Figures 3-5) comprising: the optical element according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 2, further comprising: a third optically-anisotropic layer that is formed of a liquid crystal composition including a liquid crystal compound (Figure 3, third optically-anisotropic layer 24j), wherein the third optically-anisotropic layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating in at least one in-plane direction (Column 1, l.21-25), the second optically-anisotropic layer, the first optically-anisotropic layer, and the third optically-anisotropic layer are laminated in this order (Figure 3), a birefringence Δn3 of the third optically-anisotropic layer and the birefringence Δn1 satisfy a relationship of Expression (3), and a thickness T3 of the third optically-anisotropic layer and the thickness T1 satisfy a relationship of Expression (4), Expression (3) Δn1 > Δn3 (Figure 4 discloses a decrease in birefringence as the layers progress from 24a-24j, so each of the first optically-anisotropic layer 24a-24d would have a greater birefringence than the second optically-anisotropic layer 24j), and Expression (4) 0.002 ≤ T3/T1 ≤ 0.3 (Figure 3 discloses uniform thickness of each layer 24a-24d, so the first optically-anisotropic layer consists of 24a-24d, having a four times thickness than that of the second optically-anisotropic layer 24j, so T2/T1=0.25).
Regarding Claim 14, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 13, wherein the birefringence Δn3 is 0.05 or more and 0.20 or less (Figure 4 discloses a birefringence Δn3 of roughly 0.05).
Regarding Claim 15, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 4, wherein the birefringence Δn1, the birefringence Δn2, and the birefringence Δn3 satisfy relationships of Expressions (5) and (6), Expression (5) 0.1 ≤ Δn1 – Δn2 ≤ 0.25 (Figure 4 discloses Δn1 – Δn2=.18) , and Expression (6) 0.1 ≤ Δn1 – Δn3 ≤ 0.25 (Figure 4 discloses Δn1 – Δn3=.19).
Regarding Claim 19, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 2.
Grupp fails to disclose that the first optically-anisotropic layer has a region where the optical axis of the liquid crystal compound is twisted along a thickness direction in a plane, and a twisted angle of the region in the thickness direction is 10° to 360°.
However, Saitoh discloses a similar optical element where the first optically-anisotropic layer has a region where the optical axis of the liquid crystal compound is twisted along a thickness direction in a plane, and a twisted angle of the region in the thickness direction is 10° to 360° (Saitoh, Paragraph 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the twist angle as disclosed by Grupp to have a particular value as disclosed by Saitoh. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light reflection and transmission (Saitoh, Paragraph 0083).
Regarding Claim 20, Grupp in view of Saitoh discloses the optical element according to claim 4, wherein in the liquid crystal alignment pattern of the first to third optically-anisotropic layers, the one direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating is provided in a radial shape from an inner side toward an outer side (Column 1, l.21-25).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grupp in view of Saitoh in further view of Escuti et al (US Publication No.: US 2016/0033698 A1 of record, “Escuti”).
Regarding Claim 6, Grupp discloses the optical element according to claim 1.
Grupp fails to disclose that the thickness T1 is 1um to 3um.
However, Escuti discloses a similar element where the thickness T1 is 1um to 3um (Escuti, Paragraph 0007, Paragraph 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thickness T1 as disclosed by Grupp to be a particular thickness as disclosed by Escuti. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light transmission (Escuti, Paragraph 0081).
Regarding Claim 16, Grupp discloses the optical element according to claim 2.
Grupp fails to disclose that the thickness T1 is 1um to 3um.
However, Escuti discloses a similar element where the thickness T1 is 1um to 3um (Escuti, Paragraph 0007, Paragraph 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thickness T1 as disclosed by Grupp to be a particular thickness as disclosed by Escuti. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing light transmission (Escuti, Paragraph 0081).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grupp in view of Saitoh in further view of Farrand (US Patent No.: US 6,514,578 B1 of record).
Regarding Claim 7, Grupp discloses the optical element according to claim 1.
Grupp fails to disclose that the liquid crystal compound is a tolane type liquid crystal compound.
However, Farrand discloses a similar compound where the liquid crystal compound is a tolane type liquid crystal compound (Farrand, (Column 1, l.1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the liquid crystal compound as disclosed by Grupp to be a tolane type as disclosed by Farrand. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the anisotropic mechanical properties (Farrand, Column 1, l.1-5).
Regarding Claim 17, Grupp discloses the optical element according to claim 2.
Grupp fails to disclose that the liquid crystal compound is a tolane type liquid crystal compound.
However, Farrand discloses a similar compound where the liquid crystal compound is a tolane type liquid crystal compound (Farrand, (Column 1, l.1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the liquid crystal compound as disclosed by Grupp to be a tolane type as disclosed by Farrand. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the anisotropic mechanical properties (Farrand, Column 1, l.1-5).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grupp in view of Saitoh in further view of Kozenkov et al (US Publication No.: US 2002/0172893 A1 of record, “Kozenkov”).
Regarding Claim 8, Grupp discloses the optical element according to claim 1.
Grupp fails to disclose that the liquid crystal compound is a thiotolane type liquid crystal compound.
However, Kozenkov discloses a similar liquid crystal compound which is a thiotolane type liquid crystal compound (Kozenkov, Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the liquid crystal compound as disclosed by Grupp to be a thiotolane type as disclosed by Kozenkov. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the anisotropic mechanical properties (Kozenkov, Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 18, Grupp discloses the optical element according to claim 2.
Grupp fails to disclose that the liquid crystal compound is a thiotolane type liquid crystal compound.
However, Kozenkov discloses a similar liquid crystal compound which is a thiotolane type liquid crystal compound (Kozenkov, Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the liquid crystal compound as disclosed by Grupp to be a thiotolane type as disclosed by Kozenkov. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the anisotropic mechanical properties (Kozenkov, Paragraph 0036).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871