DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/10/2026, with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (Pub. No. US 2021/0124144 A1; hereafter Chen) have been fully considered. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Chen and Jun (Pub. No. US 2020/0409234 A1; hereafter Jun).
While Examiner does not agree that the blades, the aperture magnet, and the one or more coils of Chen could not reasonably be construed as being mounted on base 1-25 of Chen, since they are all operatively supported by the base 1-25, in order to advance prosecution Examiner notes that Jun discloses mounting the blades (see Jun Fig. 5 which shows that the blades 540-570 are connected to the base via pins 513a) directly to the same base as the aperture magnet (see Jun Fig. 5, magnet 521a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades directly on the same base as the aperture magnet 1-M1, like in Jun, in order to obviate the need for an intermediate component like the “first base body” 1-101 of Chen. Such a configuration would also include the one or more coils 1-C1 of Chen mounted on the same base, as called for in claim 1 as currently amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4, 7-10, 13, 18, 19, 22, 23, 27, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jun have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. in view of Jun and Chen.
Similarly to the arguments made with respect to Chen in view of Jun, Jun discloses placing the blades (see Jun Fig. 5, items 540-570) and the aperture magnet (see Jun Fig. 5, item 521a) on the same base (see Jun Fig. 5, item 510), and Chen discloses placing the aperture magnet (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1) and the one ore more coils (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-C1) on the same base (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades, the aperture magnet, and the one more more coils all on the same base in order to obviate the need for additional intermediate components.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 with respect to the 102/103 rejections of claims 22-24, 27, and 28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has barely asserted that Chen and Jun do not meet the claim limitations of claims 22-24, 27, and 28 without explanation. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. 37 CFR 1.111(b) requires that “the reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references.” Applicant has merely block quoted the claim and then asserted that the limitations are not met, despite the item-matching and explanation given in the previous Office Action. Since Examiner has met the prima facie burden of proof for obviousness, the burden shifts to Applicant (see MPEP 2142 “Once the examiner sets out this prima facie case, the burden shifts to the patentee to provide evidence, in the prior art or beyond it, or argument sufficient to rebut the examiner's evidence.”). Applicant’s bare assertion that the claim limitations are not met are unpersuasive, and the rejections made in view of Chen and Jun, respectively, are maintained.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments rest on the arguments regarding Chen and Jun, addressed above, and therefore are similarly addressed, with the rejections being modified accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22, 23, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jun (Pub. No. US 2020/0409234 A1; hereafter Jun).
Regarding claim 22, Jun discloses an aperture module comprising: a base configured to move in an optical axis direction, a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, item 220); a plurality of blades coupled to the base, forming an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction, and configured to rotate relative to the base to change a size of the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 5, items 540-570. The blades are “coupled” to the base, even if not directly mounted to the base.); an aperture magnet coupled to the base and configured to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 8, item 521a); and a plurality of magnets mounted on the base and configured to move the base in the first axis direction and the second axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810a and 830a).
Regarding claim 23, Jun discloses the aperture module of claim 22, further comprising a holder disposed on the base, coupled to the plurality of blades, and configured to move in the first axis direction or the second axis direction relative to the base to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 5, item 520), wherein the aperture magnet is disposed on the holder (see Jun Fig. 5, item 521a).
Regarding claim 26, Jun discloses a camera module comprising: the aperture module of claim 22; and a carrier configured to move in the optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, item 300), wherein the aperture module is disposed in the carrier and is configured to move in the optical axis direction together with the carrier (see Jun Fig. 2, items 300 and 500), the camera module further comprises a first magnet mounted on the carrier and configured to move the carrier and the aperture module in the optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 5, item 710), and the plurality of magnets comprise: a second magnet mounted on the base and configured to move the aperture module in the first axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, item 810a); and a third magnet mounted on the base and configured to move the aperture in the second axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, item 830a).
Regarding claim 27, Jun discloses an aperture module comprising: a base configured to move in an optical axis direction, a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, item 220); a plurality of blades coupled to the base, forming an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction, and configured to rotate relative to the base to change a size of the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 5, items 540-570); an aperture magnet coupled to the base and configured to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 5, item 521a); and a first magnet mounted on the base and configured to move the base in the optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, item 710).
Regarding claim 28, Jun discloses the aperture module of claim 27, further comprising a holder disposed on the base, coupled to the plurality of blades, and configured to move in the first axis direction or the second axis direction relative to the base to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole, wherein the aperture magnet is disposed on the holder (see Jun Fig. 5, item 520).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0124144 A1; hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 22, Chen discloses an aperture module comprising: a base configured to move in an optical axis direction, a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-10 and 1-11 and paragraphs [0169]-[0170]); a plurality of blades coupled to the base, forming an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction, and configured to rotate relative to the base to change a size of the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-112. The blades are “coupled” to the base, even if not directly mounted to the base.); an aperture magnet coupled to the base and configured to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1); and a plurality of magnets mounted on the base and configured to move the base in the first axis direction and the second axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M2. See also arguments regarding obviousness of reversing positions of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, below).
Regarding claim 23, Chen discloses the aperture module of claim 22, further comprising a holder disposed on the base, coupled to the plurality of blades, and configured to move in the first axis direction or the second axis direction relative to the base to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole, wherein the aperture magnet is disposed on the holder (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-14 and 1-M1).
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses the aperture module of claim 22, further comprising: a rotating body disposed between the base and the plurality of blades, coupled to the plurality of blades, and configured to rotate relative to the base to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 10, which is an alternative embodiment but preserves all of the relevant features of claims 21 and 22, item 2-521); and an aperture coil disposed between the base and the rotating member and coupled to the base (see Chen Fig. 10, coil 2-C2 is between the base 2-15 and the blades 2-522), wherein the aperture magnet is disposed on the rotating body facing the aperture coil, and cooperates with the aperture coil to rotate the rotating body to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 10, items 2-M2 and 2-C2).
Regrading claim 27, Chen discloses an aperture module comprising: a base configured to move in an optical axis direction, a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-10 and 1-11); a plurality of blades coupled to the base (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-112), forming an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-10G), and configured to rotate relative to the base to change a size of the entrance hole; an aperture magnet coupled to the base and configured to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1); and a first magnet mounted on the base and configured to move the base in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M2. See also arguments regarding obviousness of reversing positions of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, below).
Regarding claim 28, Chen discloses the aperture module of claim 27, further comprising a holder disposed on the base (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-14), coupled to the plurality of blades (see Chen Fig. 1, holder 1-14 is coupled to blades 1-112 through rotating ring 1-12), and configured to move in the first axis direction or the second axis direction relative to the base to rotate the blades to change the size of the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-14 moves side-to-side to drive the blades), wherein the aperture magnet is disposed on the holder (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Jun (Pub. No. US 2020/0409234 A1; hereafter Jun).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a camera module comprising: an aperture module configured to move in a direction of one or more axes among three axes intersecting each other and comprising an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in an optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-10 and 1-11); a lens module coupled to the aperture module and configured to move together with the aperture module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-LS. Both aperture and lens are mounted onto frame 1-25 and moved together. See Chen paragraphs [0169]-[0170]); a housing accommodating the aperture module and the lens module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-50); an aperture driving unit configured to generate a driving force to change a size of the entrance hole and comprising an aperture magnet and an aperture coil facing the aperture magnet (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M1 and 1-C1. Note: in Chen Fig. 1 label 1-C1 is erroneously used both for the aperture coil referred to as 1-C1 in the specification, and the shake/focus coils referred to as 1-C2 in the specification); and an actuator driving unit configured to generate a driving force in the direction of one or more of the axes to move the aperture module, and comprising one or more magnets and one or more coils facing the one or more magnets (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M2 and 1-C1), wherein the aperture module comprises a base, and a plurality of blades is rotatably coupled to the base and configured to form the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-112 and 1-25. As Examiner noted, Examiner does not concede that the blades cannot be construed as “rotatably coupled” to the base, however, in light of the combination with Jun, it is irrelevant.), wherein the aperture magnet or the aperture coil is disposed on the aperture module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1), wherein the one or more magnets or the one or more coils are disposed on the base (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-C1, corresponding to 1-C2 in the specification).
Jun discloses mounting the blades (see Jun Fig. 5 which shows that the blades 540-570 are connected to the base via pins 513a) directly to the same base as the aperture magnet (see Jun Fig. 5, magnet 521a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades directly on the same base as the aperture magnet 1-M1, like in Jun, in order to obviate the need for an intermediate component like the “first base body” 1-101 of Chen. Such a configuration would also include the one or more coils 1-C1 of Chen mounted on the same base, as called for in claim 1 as currently amended.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the aperture module further comprises: a holder configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction with respect to the base (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-14), and the aperture magnet is disposed on the holder (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1), and the aperture coil is disposed on the housing (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-C1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the camera module of claim 4, wherein the lens module is accommodated in the base (see Chen Fig. 10, items 2-LS and 2-15 and paragraph [0186] which discloses that frame 2-15 accommodates lens 2-LS), the one or more magnets comprise a plurality of magnets disposed on the housing (see Chen Fig. 10, which is an alternative embodiment but preserves all of the relevant features of claims 1 and 4, item 2-M1) and the plurality of magnets are disposed below the aperture magnet in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 10, item 2-M2 in this embodiment is placed above the magnets 2-M1 in the optical axis direction).
Chen discloses that the magnets 2-M2 are on the housing, while the coil is on the aperture module, opposite the recitation in claim 5. Mere reversal of parts is deemed to be well within the purview of the ordinary workman in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A)). Chen also discloses with respect to magnets and coils 2-M1 and 2-C1 that “the positions of the coil and the magnet can be exchanged” (see Chen paragraphs [0190]). It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to reverse the location of the coil and magnet of the drive system so that the magnet was on the movable part so as to obviate the need to provide wiring to the moving portion, as noted by Chen with respect to magnets and coils 2-M1 and 2-C1.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the aperture module and the lens module are further configured to move together in a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-25 and paragraphs [0169]-[0170] which disclose that the aperture and lens are connected and move together), the one or more magnets comprise a plurality of magnets disposed on the aperture module, and the one or more coils comprise a plurality of coils disposed on the housing (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M1 and 1-C1. See obviousness arguments made with respect to reversal of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, above.).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the aperture module and the lens module are configured to move together in the optical axis direction (see Chen paragraph [0169] “second driving assembly 1-MC2 can be used to drive the second movable part 1-25…to achieve the effect of anti-shake for optical image, auto focusing and/or optical zooming.”), the one or more magnets comprise a first magnet disposed on the aperture module, and the one or more coils comprise a first coil facing the first magnet (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M1 and 1-C1. See obviousness arguments made with respect to reversal of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, above.).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses a camera module comprising: an aperture module configured to move in an optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-10 and 1-11 and paragraph [0169] which discloses focusing), a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-10 and 1-11 and paragraph [0169] which discloses shake correction), and comprising an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-10G); a lens module coupled to the aperture module and configured to move together with the aperture module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-LS and paragraphs [0169]-[0170]); a carrier accommodating the aperture module and the lens module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-25); a housing accommodating the carrier (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-50); and an optical image stabilization unit comprising a plurality of magnets disposed on the aperture module, and a plurality of coils disposed on the housing, wherein an attractive force acts between the aperture module and the carrier in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M2 and 1-C1. See also arguments regarding obviousness of reversing positions of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, above), wherein the aperture module comprises a base, and a plurality of blades is rotatably coupled to the base and configured to form the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-112 and 1-25. As Examiner noted, Examiner does not concede that the blades cannot be construed as “rotatably coupled” to the base, however, in light of the combination with Jun, it is irrelevant.), wherein the plurality of magnets is disposed on the base (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M2 and 1-C1. See also arguments regarding obviousness of reversing positions of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, above).
Jun discloses mounting the blades (see Jun Fig. 5 which shows that the blades 540-570 are connected to the base via pins 513a) directly to the same base as the aperture magnet (see Jun Fig. 5, magnet 521a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades directly on the same base as the aperture magnet 1-M1, like in Jun, in order to obviate the need for an intermediate component like the “first base body” 1-101 of Chen. Such a configuration would also include the one or more coils 1-C1 of Chen mounted on the same base.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a camera module comprising: an aperture module configured to move in an optical axis direction, a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-10 and 1-11 and paragraphs [0169]-[0170]), and comprising an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-10G); a lens module coupled to the aperture module and configured to move together with the aperture module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-LS); an optical image stabilization (OIS) carrier accommodating the aperture module and the lens module (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-25); a housing accommodating the OIS carrier (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-50); and a focus adjustment unit comprising a first magnet disposed on the aperture module, and a first coil facing the first magnet, wherein an attractive force acts between the aperture module and the OIS carrier in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M2 and 1-C1, which can be construed as a focus adjustment unit as paragraph [0169] discloses that the frame 1-25 can be controlled in a focusing direction. See also arguments regarding obviousness of reversing positions of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, above); wherein the aperture module comprises a base, and a plurality of blades is rotatably coupled to the base and configured to form the entrance hole (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-112 and 1-25. As Examiner noted, Examiner does not concede that the blades cannot be construed as “rotatably coupled” to the base, however, in light of the combination with Jun, it is irrelevant.), wherein the first magnet is disposed on the base (see Chen Fig. 1, items 1-M2 and 1-C1. See also arguments regarding obviousness of reversing positions of magnets and coils made with respect to claim 5, above).
Jun discloses mounting the blades (see Jun Fig. 5 which shows that the blades 540-570 are connected to the base via pins 513a) directly to the same base as the aperture magnet (see Jun Fig. 5, magnet 521a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades directly on the same base as the aperture magnet 1-M1, like in Jun, in order to obviate the need for an intermediate component like the “first base body” 1-101 of Chen. Such a configuration would also include the one or more coils 1-C1 of Chen mounted on the same base.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-10, 13, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (Pub. No. US 2020/0409234 A1; hereafter Jun) in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Jun discloses a camera module comprising: an aperture module configured to move in a direction of one or more axes among three axes intersecting each other and comprising an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in an optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, items 500 and 220); a lens module coupled to the aperture module and configured to move together with the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 2, item 210); a housing accommodating the aperture module and the lens module (see Jun Fig. 2, items 110 and 120); an aperture driving unit configured to generate a driving force to change a size of the entrance hole and comprising an aperture magnet and an aperture coil facing the aperture magnet (see Jun Figs. 2 and 4, items 521a and 521b); and an actuator driving unit configured to generate a driving force in the direction of one or more of the axes to move the aperture module, and comprising one or more magnets and one or more coils facing the one or more magnets (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810a, 830a, 810b, and 830b), wherein the aperture module comprises a base (see Jun Fig. 5, item 510), and a plurality of blades is rotatably coupled to the base and configured to form the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 5, items 540-570), wherein the aperture magnet or the aperture coil is disposed on the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 2, item 521a).
Jun does not disclose that the one or more magnets or the one or more coils are disposed on the base.
Chen discloses placing the aperture magnet (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1) and the one or more coils (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-C1) on the same base (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades, the aperture magnet, and the one or more coils all on the same base in order to obviate the need for additional intermediate components.
Regarding claim 4, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the aperture module further comprises: a holder configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction with respect to the base (see Jun Fig. 5, item 520), and the aperture magnet is disposed on the holder (see Jun Fig. 5, item 521a), and the aperture coil is disposed on the housing (see Jun Fig. 2, item 521b).
Regarding claim 7, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the aperture module and the lens module are further configured to move together in a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, items 210, 220, and 500), the one or more magnets comprise a plurality of magnets disposed on the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810a and 830a), and the one or more coils comprise a plurality of coils disposed on the housing (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810b and 830b).
Regarding claim 8, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 1, further comprising: a carrier disposed in the housing (see Jun Fig. 2, item 300); and a focus adjustment unit comprising a first magnet disposed on the carrier and a first coil facing the first magnet (see Jun Fig. 2, items 710 and 730), wherein the aperture module and the lens module are disposed in the carrier (see Jun Fig. 2, items 210, 220, and 300).
Regarding claim 9, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 8, wherein the one or more magnets comprise a second magnet and a third magnet both disposed on the base (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810a and 830a), and the one or more coils comprise a second coil facing the second magnet and a third coil facing the third magnet (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810b and 830b).
Regarding claim 10, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of ball members disposed between the base and the carrier (see Jun Fig. 2, items C).
Regarding claim 13, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the aperture module and the lens module are configured to move together in the optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, items 200 and 500, which move together), the one or more magnets comprise a first magnet disposed on the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810a and 830a), and the one or more coils comprise a first coil facing the first magnet (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810b and 830b).
Regarding claim 18, Jun discloses a camera module comprising: an aperture module configured to move in an optical axis direction, a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction, and comprising an entrance hole configured to allow light to pass therethrough in the optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, items 220 and 500); a lens module coupled to the aperture module and configured to move together with the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 2, item 210); a carrier accommodating the aperture module and the lens module (see Jun Fig. 2, item 300); a housing accommodating the carrier (see Jun Fig. 2, items 110 and 120); and an optical image stabilization unit comprising a plurality of magnets disposed on the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810a and 830a), and a plurality of coils disposed on the housing, wherein an attractive force acts between the aperture module and the carrier in the optical axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, items 810b and 830b), wherein the aperture module comprises a base (see Jun Fig. 5, item 510), and a plurality of blades is rotatably coupled to the base and configured to form the entrance hole (see Jun Fig. 5, items 540-570).
Jun does not disclose that the one or more magnets are disposed on the base.
Chen discloses placing the aperture magnet (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-M1) and the one or more coils (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-C1) on the same base (see Chen Fig. 1, item 1-25), opposite the recitation in claim 5. Mere reversal of parts is deemed to be well within the purview of the ordinary workman in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A)). Chen also discloses with respect to magnets and coils 2-M1 and 2-C1 that “the positions of the coil and the magnet can be exchanged” (see Chen paragraphs [0190]). It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to reverse the location of the coil and magnet of the drive system so that the magnet was on the movable part so as to obviate the need to provide wiring to the moving portion, as noted by Chen with respect to magnets and coils 2-M1 and 2-C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to mount the blades, the aperture magnet, and the one or more coils all on the same base in order to obviate the need for additional intermediate components.
Regarding claim 19, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 18, further comprising: an aperture driving unit comprising an aperture magnet disposed on the aperture module (see Jun Fig. 5, item 521a), and an aperture coil disposed on the housing (see Jun Fig. 2, item 521b); and a focus adjustment unit comprising a first magnet disposed on the carrier (see Jun Fig. 2, item 710), and a first coil disposed on the housing (see Jun Fig. 2, item 730), wherein the aperture magnet and one of the plurality of magnets are spaced apart from each other in the first axis direction, and the first magnet and another one of the plurality of magnets are spaced apart from each other in the second axis direction (see Jun Fig. 2, which shows the magnets are placed on three sides of the aperture module).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Jun as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,794,459 B1; hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the camera module of claim 1, but does not disclose that the lens module comprises a first lens unit and a second lens unit spaced apart from each other in the optical axis direction, and the aperture module is disposed between the first lens unit and the second lens unit; [claim 3] wherein the aperture module further comprises: a base and a cover coupled to each other and forming an internal space; and a plurality of blades forming the entrance hole and disposed in the internal space, and the first lens unit is mounted on an upper surface of the cover, and the second lens unit is accommodated in the base.
Kim discloses a device wherein the lens module comprises a first lens unit and a second lens unit spaced apart from each other in the optical axis direction (see Kim Fig. 3, items 211 and 212), and the aperture module is disposed between the first lens unit and the second lens unit (see Kim Fig. 3, item 220); [claim 3] wherein the aperture module further comprises: a base and a cover coupled to each other and forming an internal space (see Kim Fig. 4, items 221a and 221b); and a plurality of blades forming the entrance hole and disposed in the internal space (see Kim Fig. 4, items 225 and 226), and the first lens unit is mounted on an upper surface of the cover (see Kim Figs. 3 and 9, items 221a and 211), and the second lens unit is accommodated in the base (see Kim Figs. 3 and 9, items 221b and 212).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the aperture device could be mounted in between two lens groups of the lens device, like that in Kim, in order to enable some of the lenses to remain fixed, thereby reducing the movable load on the actuators.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun in view of Chen as applied to claim 10, above, and further in view of Yu et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0109421 A1; hereafter Yu).
Regarding claim 11, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 10, further comprising guide grooves on a surface of the carrier facing the base in the optical axis direction (see Chen Fig. 2, item 400) but does not specifically disclose that there are also a plurality of guide grooves accommodating the plurality of ball members and formed in a surface of the base, and wherein a size of the guide groove is greater than a size of the plurality of ball members; [claim 12] and further comprising: a guide frame disposed between the aperture module and the carrier; a plurality of ball members disposed between the carrier and the guide frame; and a plurality of ball members disposed between the guide frame and the aperture module.
Yu discloses a plurality of guide grooves accommodating the plurality of ball members and formed in a surface of the base in the optical axis direction, and wherein a size of the guide groove is greater than a size of the plurality of ball members (see Yu Fig. 3, items 132d); [claim 12] and further comprising: a guide frame disposed between the aperture module and the carrier (see Yu Fig. 3, item 133); a plurality of ball members disposed between the carrier and the guide frame (see Yu Fig. 3, item 136); and a plurality of ball members disposed between the guide frame and the aperture module (see Yu Fig. 3, item 135).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Chen with a ball and guide system of enabling the device to move in the first and second directions, as taught by Yu, in order to provide discrete axes of motion for better directional isolation of shake correction control.
Regarding claim 14, Jun discloses the camera module of claim 13, but does not disclose that the device further comprises an optical image stabilization (OIS) carrier disposed in the housing, wherein the aperture module and the lens module are disposed in the OIS carrier, and the OIS carrier, the aperture module, and the lens module are configured to move together in a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction.
Yu discloses an optical image stabilization (OIS) carrier disposed in the housing, wherein the aperture module and the lens module are disposed in the OIS carrier (see Kim Fig. 3, items 132 and 133 can be construed as an OIS carrier), and the OIS carrier, the aperture module, and the lens module are configured to move together in a first axis direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and a second axis direction perpendicular to both the optical axis direction and the first axis direction (see paragraphs [0058] and [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Chen with a ball and guide system of enabling the device to move in the first and second directions, as taught by Yu, in order to provide discrete axes of motion for better directional isolation of shake correction control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 15-17, 21, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/NOAM REISNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 4/7/2026