DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 7 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
As amended, claim 1 is directed to a glass core laminate wherein, in relevant part, “cutting grooves are prepared as a pair on the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, the pair of cutting grooves being symmetric with respect to a center line of the glass layer in a thickness direction of the glass layer” (ll. 8 – 10 of the claim).
First, the examiner understands the “center line” to mean the line in a cross-section of the glass layer which is at the midpoint between the upper and lower surfaces. Using Fig. 3 of the instant application as an example, the center line corresponds to the dotted-and-dashed line extending left-to-right in the annotation below:
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Accordingly, again referring to the above annotation, a pair of cutting grooves which is symmetric with respect to a center line is such that the cutting grooves align as shown with the dashed line extending top-to-bottom.
While Fig. 3 of the instant application appears to show cutting grooves with equal depth from their respective surfaces, the instant specification does mention that different depths are possible (e.g. p. 8, l. 26, to p. 9, l. 3). Accordingly, the examiner finds the term “symmetric” in claim 1 encompasses embodiments where the individual depths are equal or unequal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth (EP 3,361,839 A1) in view of Imoto (JP 11-195624 A, referencing a translation thereof provided with the Office Action mailed 23 April 2026), Lee (US 2011/0306167 A1), and Nagasawa (JP 2012-031018 A, referencing a machine translation thereof provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Roth discloses a glass layer, wherein the glass layer has cutting grooves (“brittle-facture plate”, “brittle fracture layer” comprising a “glass plate” or “glass layer”, e.g. “brittle-fracture plate”, “brittle fracture layer” 2: e.g. Fig. 1 – 4; ¶¶ [0001], [0011] – [0063]).
Although Roth is not explicit as to
(I) a glass core laminate comprising the above glass layer and an insulating layer laminated on upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, wherein the glass layer has cutting grooves defined in advance along a singulation cutting line before the insulating layer is laminated on the upper and lower surfaces,
(II) the glass layer further has a through-hole for electrical connection between layers of the glass core laminate,
(III) the cutting grooves are prepared as a pair on the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, the pair of cutting grooves being symmetric with respect to a center line of the glass layer in a thickness direction of the glass layer,
(IV) a total depth of the pair of cutting grooves in the thickness direction of the glass layer is less than half of a thickness of the glass layer, such that a remaining area of the glass layer in the thickness direction of the glass layer is connected through an extension portion of the glass layer, and
(V) the through-hole being defined through the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, such that a depth of the through-hole in the thickness direction of the glass layer is greater than the total depth of the pair of cutting grooves,
these features would have been obvious in view of Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa.
With respect to (I), Imoto provides an insulating layer laminated on upper and lower surfaces of a substrate (e.g. Fig. 6; ¶¶ [0040], [0041]), wherein the substrate cutting grooves defined in advance (e.g. ¶ [0021]) along a singulation cutting line before the insulating layer is laminated on the surface (“grooves” 2-1 to 2-4 are formed in “Si substrate” 1 before lamination with the “insulating film” 3: e.g. Fig. 1 – 6; ¶¶ [0001], [0014] – [0051]). Imoto discloses providing such an insulating layer over said cutting grooves in this manner advantageously allows singulation with great accuracy, reliability, and speed (e.g. ¶¶ [0001], [0013], [0022], [0048] – [0050]).
Imoto primarily relates to silicon substrates (“Si substrate”, e.g. “Si substrate” 1: e.g. Fig. 1 – 6; ¶¶ [0014], [0018] – [0021], [0024], [0026], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0034], [0036], [0037], [0039], [0041], [0043] – [0047], [0049]). However, Imoto also notably acknowledges their disclosure applies to other substrates, e.g. ceramic substrates such as alumina (e.g. ¶ [0045]). Given Roth discloses alternative embodiments where, instead of a glass layer, a ceramic layer such as alumina is used (e.g. ¶ [0014]), there is an establish equivalency in the art for the indicated substrate or layer materials. This in turn would have suggested Imoto’s disclosure can be equally applied to a glass layer as Roth discloses.
This equivalency particularly arises because both Roth and Imoto relate to singulation processes used to make circuits (Roth: e.g. ¶¶ [0002], [0004], [0005], [0015], [0017], [0019], [0020], [0026], [0042], [0043], [0057], [0059], [0062]; Imoto: e.g. ¶¶ [0002], [0022], [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Roth’s glass layer to have an insulating layer laminated on upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, wherein the glass layer has cutting grooves defined in advance along a singulation cutting line before the insulating layer is laminated on the upper and lower surfaces as Imoto suggests. The motivation for this modification is to ensure great accuracy, reliability, and speed in the singulation process.
Modifying Roth in this manner thus forms a glass core laminate.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP § 2112.01, I.
The timing of the lamination process as Imoto discloses for forming cutting grooves is the same as claimed in claim 1. Accordingly, a glass core laminate as Roth and Imoto collectively disclose is formed by a substantially identical process with substantially identical materials to that claimed, and a prima facie case of obviousness is established.
With respect to (II), Lee discloses a “semiconductor chip”, e.g. “semiconductor chip” 110, comprising a through-hole for electrical connection between opposing surfaces of the “semiconductor chip” (“semiconductor chip” 110 with “through-hole via” 161: e.g. Fig. 1 – 16; ¶¶ [0007] – [0072]). Lee provides such a through-hole for reducing the size of a “semiconductor package” comprising the “semiconductor chip” and to increase signal transfer speed (e.g. ¶ [0041]).
Among other uses, Roth and Imoto relate to circuits and semiconductor manufacturing (Roth: e.g. ¶¶ [0002], [0004], [0005], [0015], [0017], [0019], [0020], [0026], [0042], [0043], [0057], [0059], [0062]; Imoto: e.g. ¶¶ [0002], [0013], [0022], [0050]). Accordingly, it would have been reasonable to consider Lee for purposes of improving the glass core laminate Roth and Imoto disclose.
It would have been obvious to modify Roth’s glass layer to further have a through-hole for electrical connection between layers of the glass core laminate, the motivation being to reduce the size of singulated parts and to increase signal transfer speed as Lee suggests.
With respect to (III) and (IV), Nagasawa discloses a glass layer having cutting grooves prepared as a pair on the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer (“glass substrate” 1, 15, 16, 17 having “cutting grooves” 3, 10, 11, 12, 13: e.g. Fig. 1 – 8; ¶¶ [0010] – [0039]), the pair of cutting grooves being symmetric with respect to a center line of the glass layer in a thickness direction of the glass layer (“symmetric”, “aligned vertically”: e.g. Fig. 1 – 8; ¶¶ [0012], [0019], [0024], [0026]), wherein a total depth of the pair of cutting grooves in the thickness direction of the glass layer is 70% or less, e.g. 60% or less or 40% or less of a thickness of the glass layer (35% or less for each groove, e.g. 30% or less or 20% or less: e.g. ¶¶ [0012], [0015], [0034]), such that a remaining area of the glass layer in the thickness direction of the glass layer is connected through an extension portion of the glass layer (“cutting grooves” 3, 10, 11, 12, 13 do not extend completely through a “center” of the “glass substrate” 1, 15, 16, 17: e.g. Fig. 1, 3 – 8; ¶¶ [0011], [0012], [0014], [0016] – [0018], [0021], [0022], [0024] – [0027]).
Nagasawa discloses such a configuration of cutting grooves improves the reliability of cutting (e.g. ¶ [0010]), e.g. for tempered, reinforced, or strengthened glass (e.g. ¶¶ [0001], [0010] – [0038]), especially in comparison to non-tempered, non-reinforced, or non-strengthened glass (e.g. ¶¶ [0002] – [0004] discuss the general purpose in the art for tempering to strengthen glass). Notably, Nagasawa considers tempering a necessary process to prevent early breakage caused by defects in non-tempered glass in glass substrates for devices such as mobile devices, PDAs, touch panels, and thin-film solar cells (e.g. ¶¶ [0002] – [0004]).
As these fields are generally related to the fields Roth (e.g. ¶¶ [0002], [0004], [0005], [0015], [0017], [0019], [0020], [0026], [0042], [0043], [0057], [0059], [0062]), Lee (e.g. ¶¶ [0005], [0006]), and Imoto (e.g. ¶¶ [0002], [0013], [0022], [0050]), particularly as electronic devices or components thereof, there is an understanding within Roth, Lee, and Imoto that a glass layer is, or at least ought to be, a tempered glass layer like those Nagasawa references in order to be less susceptible to breakage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify the glass core laminate Roth, Lee, and Imoto disclose such that the cutting grooves are prepared as a pair on the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, the pair of cutting grooves being symmetric with respect to a center line of the glass layer in a thickness direction of the glass layer, and such that a total depth of the pair of cutting grooves in the thickness direction of the glass layer is 70% or less (or 60% or less, or 40% or less) of a thickness of the glass layer, such that a remaining area of the glass layer in the thickness direction of the glass layer is connected through an extension portion of the glass layer as Nagasawa suggests. The rationale for this modification is improving cutting reliability.
With respect to (V), per the discussion above with respect to (IV), the glass core laminate Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa disclose provides a total depth of the pair of cutting grooves in the thickness direction of the glass layer is 70% or less (or 60% or less, or 40% or less) of a thickness of the glass layer, such that a remaining area of the glass layer in the thickness direction of the glass layer is connected through an extension portion of the glass layer. Additionally, per the discussion above with respect to (II), a through-hole as Lee suggests adding to the glass core laminate extends the whole way through the glass core laminate (“through-hole via” 161 connects opposing surfaces: e.g. Fig. 1, 14 – 16; ¶¶ [0041], [0069], [0070]).
Accordingly, the modification to provide (I) – (IV) above, the through-hole is, by default, defined through the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, such that a depth of the through-hole in the thickness direction of the glass layer is greater than the total depth of the pair of cutting grooves.
The total depth relative to the thickness of the glass layer Nagasawa discloses for modifying Roth’s disclosure encompasses the range (for the 70% or less and 60% or less embodiments) or lies within the claimed range (for the 40% or less embodiment).
“[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, the cutting grooves Roth discloses extend in the thickness direction of the glass layer (e.g. ¶¶ [0015], [0016], [0039]). Given Imoto (e.g. Fig. 1 – 6; ¶ [0047]) and Nagasawa (e.g. Fig. 1, 3 – 8; ¶¶ [0012], [0015], [0016], [0019], [0024], [0026], [0034]) also discloses the cutting grooves extend in a thickness direction of their respective substrates, the modifications to form a glass core laminate as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 in view of Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa would have been understood to likewise have the cutting grooves extend in a thickness direction of the glass layer.
While Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa are not explicit as to the cutting grooves being particularly defined as a transformable portion extending in a thickness direction of the glass layer is defined by irradiating a laser beam to the glass layer and as the transformable portion is etched by immersing the glass layer on which the transformable portion is defined in an etching solution, these are limitations defining claim 2 as a product-by-process claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP § 2113, I.
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See MPEP § 2113, I.
In the case of claim 2, no process parameters are defined for either the irradiating or the immersing. The examiner therefore considered the structures of the cutting grooves as required in claim 1, i.e. the base claim of claim 2, sufficient for describing the product itself. Accordingly, the glass core laminate Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa disclose is understood to satisfy the requirements of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, although Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa are not explicit as to the through-hole being defined as a transformable portion extending in a thickness direction of the glass layer is defined by irradiating a laser beam to the glass layer and as the transformable portion is etched by immersing the glass layer on which the transformable portion is defined in an etching solution; and the cutting grooves being defined together when the through-hole is defined, these features define claim 3 as a product-by-process claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP § 2113, I.
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See MPEP § 2113, I.
In the case of claim 3, no process parameters are defined for either the irradiating or the immersing. The defining of the cutting grooves and the through-hole being together as claim 3 requires implies a structure similar to that for claim 1 between the cutting grooves and the insulating layer.
Imoto makes a point to form their cutting grooves in advance of lamination of the insulating layer as this help reliability of forming the cutting grooves and to improve processing speed (e.g. ¶¶ [0021], [0051]). Accordingly, defining the through-hole Lee suggests together with the cutting grooves, i.e. before lamination with the insulating layer, would have been understood to exhibit the same benefits as Imoto discloses for the cutting grooves and therefore would have been obvious to provide a through-hole.
The examiner therefore considered the structures of the cutting grooves and the through-hole as required in claim 3 sufficient for describing the product itself. Accordingly, the glass core laminate Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa disclose is understood to satisfy the requirements of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, although Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa are not explicit as to the through-hole and the cutting grooves being defined together as at least one of the followings is set differently: power of the laser beam for defining the through-hole and the cutting grooves, respectively; a focusing position of the laser beam for defining the through-hole and the cutting grooves, respectively; and an etching time for defining the through-hole and the cutting grooves, respectively,
these are limitations define claim 4 as a product-by-process claim.
Referring to the portions of MPEP § 2113, I, as cited for claim 3 previously, in the case of claim 4, no process parameters are defined for the power of the laser beam, the focusing position for the laser beam, or the etching time. The examiner therefore considered the structures of the cutting grooves and the through-hole as required in claim 3, i.e. the base claim of claim 4, sufficient for describing the product itself. Accordingly, the glass core laminate Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa disclose is understood to satisfy the requirements of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Roth discloses the singulation cutting line comprises:
a plurality of first cutting lines that, to define a horizontal side of a package unit, extend in a horizontal direction and are spaced apart by a vertical width of the package unit (“horizontal predetermined fracture line” 4: e.g. Fig. 1 – 4; ¶¶ [0037], [0038], [0052], [0056]); and
a plurality of second cutting lines that, to define a vertical side of the package unit, extend in a vertical direction and are spaced apart by a horizontal width of the package unit (“vertical predetermined fracture line” 5: e.g. Fig. 1 – 4; ¶¶ [0037], [0038], [0052], [0056]),
wherein starting and ending points of each of the first cutting lines and the second cutting lines are disposed away from an edge side surface of the glass layer without extending to the edge side surface of the glass layer (implied due to a transition, and requisite material, desired from the “line” 4 to the edge or an aperture: e.g. ¶¶ [0017], [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Roth discloses the singulation cutting line comprises a plurality of unit cutting lines prepared to correspond to a shape of a package unit and spaced apart at predetermined intervals in the horizontal and vertical directions of the package unit (to form “single substrates” 3, 12, 15, 19: e.g. Fig. 1 – 6; ¶¶ [0011], [0015] – [0017], [0019] – [0022], [0027], [0037], [0040] – [0044], [0048] – [0052], [0054] – [0056], [0058], [0059], [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Roth discloses the unit cutting lines have a curved corner area (e.g. Fig. 3; ¶¶ [0048] – [0051]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 5 – 10, filed 8 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 – 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Roth, Imoto, Lee, and Nagasawa. Roth, Imoto, and Lee were previously cited, and Nagasawa is newly cited (and also noted as a citation in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 8 June 2026).
Applicant asserts Roth, Imoto, and Lee fail to teach
1) the glass layer further has a through-hole for electrical connection between layers of the glass core laminate
2) the cutting grooves are prepared as a pair on the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, symmetric with respect to a center line of the glass layer in a thickness direction of the glass layer
3) a total depth of the pair of cutting grooves is less than half of a thickness of the glass layer, such that a remaining area is connected through an extension portion; and
4) the through-hole is defined through the upper and lower surfaces of the glass layer, such that a depth of the through-hole is greater than the total depth of the pair of cutting grooves.
As noted in the rejections, the examiner observes Roth, Imoto, and Lee teach (1) and (2) while Nagasawa teaches (3). As a consequence of modifying Roth’s disclosure to include (1) – (3), (4) is observed to naturally arise given the construction of the through-hole and the cutting grooves as claimed.
Accordingly, the new grounds of rejection are presented herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ETHAN A. UTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783