DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,090,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the examined claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 15 would have been obvious over the reference claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 13-15.
With respect to claim 1, Patent ‘106 claims a electrosurgical generator, comprising: a radio frequency (RF) inverter configured to generate an electrosurgical waveform; a software compensator configured to generate a desired value for a parameter of the electrosurgical waveform based on a control algorithm utilizing state machine logic for different operational modes; and a hardware accelerator including: a dosage monitoring and controller (DMAC) configured to output a measured value of the parameter the electrosurgical waveform; a hardware compensator configured to generate a phase shift based on the measured value and the desired value; and an RF inverter controller configured to generate a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal based on the phase shift to control the RF inverter, wherein the RF inverter controller includes a PWM module that further adjusts the PWM signal based on feedback from the hardware compensator (see reference claims 1 and 14-15).
With respect to claim 3, Patent ‘106 claims wherein the DMAC further comprises a set of analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) configured to digitize measured value of the parameter the electrosurgical waveform (see reference claims 14-15).
With respect to claim 4, Patent ‘106 claims wherein the DMAC further comprises filters configured to filter sensed voltage and current of the electrosurgical waveform to provide first and second path data (see reference claim 13).
With respect to claim 7, Patent ‘106 claims wherein the hardware compensator includes a phase gain scheduler configured to calculate a phase gain and adjust the phase shift in response to deviations between the measured value and the desired value (see reference claim 6).
With respect to claim 8, Patent ‘106 claims wherein the phase gain scheduler further executes a limit function to maintain the phase shift within a predetermined range (see reference claim 10).
With respect to claim 15, Patent ‘106 claims wherein the phase gain scheduler is configured to refine phase shift adjustments by employing a set of proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controllers to stabilize the electrosurgical waveform in response to dynamic changes in tissue impedance. (see reference claim 3).
Therefore, examined claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 15 are not patentably distinct from reference claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 13-15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friedrichs (US 20120215216; hereinafter Friedrichs).
Regarding claim 1, Friedrichs (Figure 3) discloses an electrosurgical generator (300), comprising: a radio frequency (RF) inverter (102) configured to generate an electrosurgical waveform; a software compensator (321) configured to generate a desired value for a parameter of the electrosurgical waveform based on a control algorithm (313) utilizing state machine logic (314) for different operational modes; and a hardware accelerator including: a dosage monitoring and controller (DMAC), (312), configured to output a measured value of the parameter the electrosurgical waveform; a hardware compensator (322) configured to generate a phase shift based on the measured value and the desired value; and an RF inverter controller (312) configured to generate a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal based on the phase shift to control the RF inverter (102) ([0027]-[0029], [0034]), wherein the RF inverter controller (312) includes a PWM module (323) that further adjusts the PWM signal based on feedback from the hardware compensator (322), ([0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Friedrichs (Figure 3) further discloses wherein the software compensator (321) includes a state machine (314) configured to select different operational modes based on inputs received from a user interface ([0026], [0034], [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Friedrichs (Figure 3) further discloses wherein the operational modes include at least one of cutting, coagulating, ablating, or sealing tissue ([0007], [0077]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrichs, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Goble, (US 6325799).
Regarding claim 2, Friedrichs fails to teach wherein the RF inverter includes a resonant tank circuit configured to tune the electrosurgical waveform to match impedance characteristics of a target tissue. However, Goble teaches an electrosurgical generator comprising an output stage including a resonant tank circuit configured to tune the electrosurgical waveform to match impedance characteristics of a target tissue. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Friedrichs to include a resonant tank circuit configured to tune the electrosurgical waveform to match impedance characteristics of a target tissue, as taught by Goble, because the modification would minimize harmonics in the output stage (Goble; Col. 5, lines 36-43).
Claims 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrichs, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Gilbert, (US 20120265195).
Regarding claim 3, Friedrichs fails to teach wherein the DMAC further comprises a set of analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) configured to digitize measured value of the parameter the electrosurgical waveform. However, Gilbert teaches an electrosurgical generator including a plurality of analog-to-digital converters, ADCs (215), configured to digitally sample sensed voltage and current waveforms ([0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Friedrichs to include a set of analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) configured to digitize measured value of the parameter the electrosurgical waveform, as taught by Gilbert, because the modification would provide a means for converting analog signal to digital signals (Gilbert, [0039]) so that analog sensors may be used with the device. Furthermore, the DMAC of the modified device would be coupled to the plurality of ADCs since it requires the sampled waveforms from the plurality of ADCs.
Regarding claim 4, Friedrichs fails to teach filters configured to filter sensed voltage and current of the electrosurgical waveform to provide first and second path data. However, Gilbert teaches (Figure 2) a controller having a signal processor (DSP) which is configured to decimate and filter sensed voltage and current waveforms of an electrosurgical waveforms to provide first and second path data through a polyphase filter and decimator ([0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Friedrichs to include the polyphaser filter and decimator in the signal processor, as taught by Gilbert, because the modification would provide filtering and decimation as a combined function within the signal processor (Gilbert, [0011]) to provide usable data paths efficiently.
Claim 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrichs, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wham et al., (US 8303580; hereinafter Wham).
Regarding claim 7, Friedrichs fails to teach wherein the hardware compensator includes a phase gain scheduler configured to calculate a phase gain and adjust the phase shift in response to deviations between the measured value and the desired value. However, Wham teaches a compensator which includes: a phase gain scheduler configured to calculate a phase gain (see current/voltage control gain multiplier), (Col. 11, lines 14-36). Furthermore the compensation is done in the PID compensator by multiplying the gains by the PID values (Col. 17, 11-18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Friedrichs to include a phase gain scheduler in order to multiply the PID values, as taught by Wham because the modification would modulate the PID gains during a procedure in virtual real-time based on the input signals (Wham; Col. 17, lines 11-18) to provide efficient control of the signal.
Regarding claim 8, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the phase gain scheduler (Wham; see current/voltage control gain multiplier) further executes a limit function (Wham; limit algorithm) to maintain the phase shift within a predetermined range (Wham; Col. 15, lines 52-65).
Regarding claim 9, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the phase gain scheduler (Wham; see current/voltage control gain multiplier) further executes a fitting curve (Wham; control curve) component to adjust the phase gain, the fitting curve (Wham; control curve) component configured to determine phase adjustments based on an inverse relationship between the measured value and the desired value (Wham; Col. 16, line 33 – Col. 17, line 18).
Regarding claim 10, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the fitting curve (control curve) component includes a lookup table (configuration data) to rapidly access pre-calculated phase adjustments corresponding to specific values of measured and desired parameters (Col. 14, lines 36-48; Col. 16, lines 32-55).
Regarding claim 11, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the phase gain scheduler (Wham; see current/voltage control gain multiplier) uses a limit function (Wham; limit algorithm) to restrict the phase shift, the limit function (Wham; limit algorithm) employing an error calculator that adjusts the phase shift based on a linear interpolation between measured and desired values (Wham; Col. 15, lines 52-65).
Regarding claim 12, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the error calculator uses an inverse lookup table (Wham; configuration data) to calculate real-time adjustments of the phase shift by reversing calculated phase deviations (Wham; Col. 16, line 33 – Col. 17, line 18).
Regarding claim 13, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the phase gain scheduler (Wham; see current/voltage control gain multiplier) adjusts the phase shift using a multiphase limiter algorithm (Wham; limit algorithm), (Wham; Col. 16, lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 14, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the phase gain scheduler (Wham; see current/voltage control gain multiplier) adjusts the phase shift incrementally based on successive approximations (Wham; Col. 11, lines 14-36: loop control).
Regarding claim 15, Friedrichs/Wham further teaches wherein the phase gain scheduler (Wham; see current/voltage control gain multiplier) is configured to refine phase shift adjustments by employing a set of proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controllers to stabilize the electrosurgical waveform in response to dynamic changes in tissue impedance (Wham; Col. 11, line 14 – Col. 12, line 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of the Friedrichs reference. Under the new interpretation, Friedrichs discloses that the RF inverter controller (312) includes a PWM module (323) that further adjusts the PWM signal based on feedback from the hardware compensator (322), ([0028]). Therefore, Friedrichs teaches at least independent claim 1.
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794