DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 4/29/2024. Claims 1-7 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, (USNO.2009/0096427) in view of Ohkubo et al, (Ohkubo), (USPATNO.6,621,250).
As for claim 1, Yang discloses and shows in Figs.4-6 a power supply circuit which supplies, to a system, system power required for the system out of DC power supplied from a power supply, and charges a battery with charging power as remaining power, wherein when a cell voltage of the battery is a predetermined detection voltage or more and a charging current of the charging power becomes a predetermined detection current or less (combination with regulator and controller), the power supply circuit determines that a charged state of the battery is fully charged (via ref’s EOC detection), the cell voltage at a time when it is determined that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery (par.[0019-0023,0042-0045,0049-0051]).
Yang discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose cell voltage at a time when it is determined that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery is estimated as a second detection voltage, and the predetermined detection voltage is updated from a predetermined first detection voltage to the second detection voltage
Ohkubo discloses cell voltage at a time when it is determined that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery is estimated as a second detection voltage, and the predetermined detection voltage is updated from a predetermined first detection voltage to the second detection voltage (col.22, line 66 – col.23, line 44)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Yang by using cell voltage at a time when it is determined that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery is estimated as a second detection voltage, and the predetermined detection voltage is updated from a predetermined first detection voltage to the second detection voltage for advantages such as providing the ability to improve charged state judgement (col.2, line 54-64), as taught by Ohkubo.
As for claim 2, Yang in combination with Ohkubo discloses and shows charging the battery with the charging power without supplying the system power to the system, the cell voltage at the time when determining that the charged state is fully charged is determined to be the second detection voltage (obvious via further periods).
As for claim 4, Yang in combination with Ohkubo discloses and shows in Fig. 6 [of Yang] determining that the charged state is not fully charged even after a charging time to the battery exceeds a predetermined reference charging time, the predetermined detection voltage is changed to the first detection voltage.
As for claim 5, Yang in combination with Ohkubo discloses including the battery.
As for claim 6, Yang in combination with Ohkubo discloses an electronic apparatus comprising the circuit according to claim 1.
As for claim 7, Yang discloses and shows in Figs.4-6 a control method for a power supply circuit which supplies, to a system, system power required for the system out of DC power supplied from a power supply, and charges a battery with charging power as remaining power, and when a cell voltage of the battery is a predetermined detection voltage or more and a charging current of the charging power becomes a predetermined detection current or less (combination with regulator and controller), the power supply circuit determines that a charged state of the battery is fully charged (via ref’s EOC detection), wherein the power supply circuit estimates the cell voltage at a time when determining that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery (par.[0019-0023,0042-0045,0049-0051]).
Ohkubo discloses cell voltage at a time when it is determined that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery is estimated as a second detection voltage, and the predetermined detection voltage is updated from a predetermined first detection voltage to the second detection voltage (col.22, line 66 – col.23, line 44)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yang by using cell voltage at a time when it is determined that the charged state is fully charged based on the cell voltage obtained in a specific charging state to the battery is estimated as a second detection voltage, and the predetermined detection voltage is updated from a predetermined first detection voltage to the second detection voltage for advantages such as providing the ability to improve charged state judgement (col.2, line 54-64), as taught by Ohkubo.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, (USNO.2009/0096427) in view of Ohkubo et al, (Ohkubo), (USPATNO.6,621,250) and further in view of OHTOMO, (USNO.2013/0127415)
As for claim 3, Yang in combination with Ohkubo discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a charging method for the battery is changed from a first charging mode for charging with a constant charging current to a second charging mode for charging with a constant charging voltage, a circuit resistance value from the power supply circuit to the battery is measured based on a charging voltage to the battery, the cell voltage, and the charging current, and a voltage dropped from the charging voltage due to the circuit resistance value and the detection current is determined to be a detection voltage.
Ohtomo discloses a charging method for the battery is changed from a first charging mode for charging with a constant charging current to a second charging mode for charging with a constant charging voltage, a circuit resistance value from the power supply circuit (via ref’s electric resistance) to the battery is measured based on a charging voltage to the battery, the cell voltage, and the charging current, and a voltage dropped from the charging voltage due to the circuit resistance value and the detection current is determined to be a detection voltage (ref’s via battery voltage at fully charged state) (par.[0032-0033])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Yang and Ohkubo by using a charging method for the battery is changed from a first charging mode for charging with a constant charging current to a second charging mode for charging with a constant charging voltage, a circuit resistance value from the power supply circuit to the battery is measured based on a charging voltage to the battery, the cell voltage, and the charging current, and a voltage dropped from the charging voltage due to the circuit resistance value and the detection current is determined to be a detection voltage for advantages such as providing the ability to improve charged state judgement (abstract), as taught by Ohtomo.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859