Claims 1-28 are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shor et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0123806 A1) in view of Gibson et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0316291 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shor in view of Gibson disclose an infusion device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) comprising;
a reservoir configured to hold a medicament (Shor, medicament reservoir 106, Fig. 2);
a first epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114a, Fig. 10C) comprising a first output (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C);
a second epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114b, Fig. 10C) comprising a second output (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C);
a first cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) coupled to the first output (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) and movably coupled to a sensor electrode (Shor, electrodes 243a, Fig. 29B) (Shor, "… two electrodes located, 243a, 243b, located on the cannula 216." - Para [0222]);
a second cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) coupled to the second output (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) and movably coupled to an infusion cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A), wherein the infusion cannula is fluidically coupled to the reservoir (Shor, "… fluidically coupling the reservoir 106 with the cannula 216 …" - Para [0181]),
wherein actuation of the first epicyclic gear arrangement drives linear travel of the first cannula and the sensor electrode (Shor, "When the torsion spring 202 is released, rotation of the torsion spring 202 rotates the hub 404, which causes the inner gear 406 to rotate counter clockwise, forcing the upper portion 210, lower portion 212, cannula 216, and needle 214 towards the patient's skin/tissue. " - Para [0185], Figs. 21A-21C), and actuation of the second epicyclic gear arrangement drives linear travel of the second cannula and the infusion cannula (Shor, "… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue." - Para [0189]).
Shor does not expressly disclose a first trocar and a second trocar.
Gibson teaches a first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]) and a second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include a first trocar and a second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Regarding claim 2, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114a, Fig. 10C) comprises a first ring gear (Shor, outer gear 407, Fig. 24C) and a first planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) engaged with the first ring gear (Shor, Figs. 24C-24E), and wherein the second epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114b, Fig. 10C) comprises a second ring gear (Shor, outer gear 407, Fig. 24C) and a second planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) engaged with the second ring gear (Shor, Figs. 24C-24E).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas as shown in Fig. 25A to have its own gear arrangement as described in the spec (“… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue.” – Para [0189]). Thus, each cannula has the same gear arrangement as depicted in Figs. 24A-24E.
Regarding claim 3, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
at least one shaft (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 24A) coupled to one or both of the first and second epicyclic gear arrangements (Shor, cannula insertion mechanism 400, Fig. 24A).
Regarding claim 4, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the at least one shaft (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 24A) comprises a first rotatable hub (hub 404, Fig. 24A) coupled to the first planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24A) (Shor, "The hub 404 can attach to an inner gear 406 …" - Para [0183]) and a second rotatable hub (Shor, hub 404, Fig. 24A) coupled to the second planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24A) (Shor, "The hub 404 can attach to an inner gear 406 …" - Para [0183]).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas in Fig. 25A to have its own respective gear arrangement as described in the spec ("… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue." - Para [0189]). Thus, each cannula have the gear arrangement depicted in Figs. 24A-24E.
Regarding claim 5, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first and second rotatable hubs are coupled to each other (Shor, See annotated Fig. 10C).
Regarding claim 6, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first output is the first planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C), and the second output is the second planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas in Fig. 25A to have its own respective gear arrangement as described in the spec ("… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue." - Para [0189]). Thus, each cannula have the gear arrangement depicted in Figs. 24A-24E.
Regarding claim 7, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 24A) is pivotably coupled to the first output (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24A) (Shor, "The inner gear 406 can also be attached to the upper portion 210 of the cannula plunger 208." - Para [0183]) and constrained to move along a first linear path (Shor, Figs. 24A-24C), and wherein the second cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 24A) is pivotably coupled to the second output (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24A) (Shor, "The inner gear 406 can also be attached to the upper portion 210 of the cannula plunger 208." - Para [0183]) and constrained to move along a second linear path (Shor, Figs. 24A-24C).
Shor does not expressly disclose the first trocar and the second trocar.
Gibson teaches the first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]) and the second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include the first trocar and the second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas in Fig. 25A to have its own respective gear arrangement as described in the spec ("… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue." - Para [0189]). Thus, each cannula have the gear arrangement depicted in Figs. 24A-24E.
Regarding claim 8, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
an actuator (Shor, torsion spring 202, Fig. 24A) coupled to the first and second epicyclic gear arrangements (Shor, cannula insertion mechanism 400) (Shor, "… the cannula insertion mechanism 400 also uses the rotational force of a torsion spring 202." - Para [0183]).
Regarding claim 9, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the actuator comprises a torsion spring (Shor, torsion spring 202, Fig. 24A).
Regarding claim 10, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
a first range of rotation of the torsion spring ("… rotation of the torsion spring 202 initially causes the cannula plunger 208 to displace downwards, causing insertion of both the needle 214 and the cannula 216 into the subcutaneous tissue of the patient." - Para [0177]) is configured to drive the first cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A), the sensor electrode (electrodes 243a, Fig. 29B) ("… two electrodes located, 243a, 243b, located on the cannula 216." - Para [0222]), the second cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A), and the infusion cannula in a first direction (cannula 216, Fig. 25A), and wherein a second range of rotation of the torsion spring (torsion spring 202, Fig. 24A) is configured to retract the first cannula and the second cannula in a second direction opposite the first direction ("… the torsion spring 202 continues to rotate the cam 204, the upper portion 210 of the cannula plunger 208 is displaced upward removing the needle 214 from the subcutaneous tissue …" - Para [0177]).
Shor does not expressly disclose that the rotation of the torsion spring is configured to drive the first trocar and the second trocar.
Gibson teaches that the rotation of the torsion spring is configured to drive the first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]) and the second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include that the rotation of the torsion spring is configured to drive the first trocar and the second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas in Fig. 25A to have its own respective gear arrangement as described in the spec ("… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue." - Para [0189]). Thus, each cannula would be inserted and removed by the rotation of the torsion spring.
Regarding claim 11, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
a trigger (Shor, button 220, Fig. 21A) configured to activate the actuator (Shor, "In operation, when a user presses a button 220, the pin 218 is displaced allowing the torsion spring 202 to rotate the cam 204." - Para [0177]).
Regarding claim 12, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the trigger (Shor, button 220, Fig. 21A) comprises a manual trigger mechanism (Shor, "In operation, when a user presses a button 220, the pin 218 is displaced allowing the torsion spring 202 to rotate the cam 204." - Para [0177]).
Regarding claim 14, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
a housing (Shor, disposable part 102, reusable part 104, Fig. 1) configured to at least partially surround the reservoir (Shor, reservoir 106, Fig. 2), the first epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114a, Fig. 10C), the second epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114b, Fig. 10C) (Shor, Fig. 25C and Fig. 10C)
Regarding claim 15, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A), the sensor electrode (Shor, electrode 243a, Fig. 29C), the second cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A), and the infusion cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) are configured to linearly travel to extend at least partially outside the housing (Shor, Fig. 25A, Fig. 29C).
Shor does not expressly disclose the first trocar and the second trocar.
Gibson teaches the first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]) and the second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include the first trocar and the second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Regarding claim 16, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
a sensor carrier (Shor, lower portion 212, Fig. 24C) slidingly engaged with the housing (Shor, Figs. 23A-23B) and coupled to the sensor electrode (Shor, "… a lower portion 212 that holds a cannula 216 …" - Para [0177]) (Shor, "… two electrodes located, 243a, 243b, located on the cannula 216." - Para [0222]), and a cannula carrier (Shor, lower portion 212, Fig. 24C) slidingly engaged with the housing (Shor, Figs. 23A-23B) and coupled to the infusion cannula (Shor, "… a lower portion 212 that holds a cannula 216 …" - Para [0177]).
Regarding claim 18, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
linear travel of the first cannula and the sensor electrode (Shor, "… two electrodes located, 243a, 243b, located on the cannula 216." - Para [0222]) (Shor, See annotated Fig. 25A) is laterally spaced apart from linear travel of the second cannula and the infusion cannula (Shor, See annotated Fig. 25A).
Shor does not expressly disclose linear travel of the first trocar and the second trocar.
Gibson teaches linear travel of the first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]) and the second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include linear travel of the first trocar and the second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Regarding claim 19, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the sensor electrode (cannula 216, Fig. 21A - 21C) (Shor, "… two electrodes located, 243a, 243b, located on the cannula 216." - Para [0222]) is configured to be movably received within a recess of the first housing (lower portion 212, Figs. 21A - 21C) ("a lower portion 212 that holds a cannula 216 (e.g., a flexible cannula), such that the cannula 216 is mounted on the needle 214." - Para [0177]).
Shor does not expressly disclose that the sensor electrode is configured to be movably received within a recess of the first trocar.
Gibson teaches that the sensor electrode is configured to be movably received within a recess of the first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Shor to include that the sensor electrode is configured to be movably received within a recess of the first trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, para [0381]).
Regarding claim 20, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the second cannula (needle 214, Figs. 21B-21C) is configured to extend within a lumen of the infusion cannula (cannula 216, Fig. 24C) ("the cannula 216 is mounted on the needle 214." - Para [0177]).
Shor does not expressly disclose the second trocar.
Gibson teaches the second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include the second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Regarding claim 21, Shor in view of Gibson disclose a device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114a, Fig. 10C) comprising a first ring gear (Shor, outer gear 407, Fig. 24C) and a first planet gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) engaged with the first ring gear (Shor, Figs. 24C-24E);
a second epicyclic gear arrangement (Shor, drive train 114a, Fig. 10C) comprising a second ring gear (Shor, outer gear 407, Fig. 24C) and a second planet gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) engaged with the second ring gear (Shor, Figs. 24C-24E);
a first cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) coupled to the first planet gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) (Shor, "The inner gear 406 can also be attached to the upper portion 210 of the cannula plunger 208." - Para [0183]) and movably coupled to a first medical device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1); and
a second cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) coupled to the second planet gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24C) (Shor, "The inner gear 406 can also be attached to the upper portion 210 of the cannula plunger 208." - Para [0183]) and movably coupled to a second medical device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1);
wherein actuation of the first and second epicyclic gear arrangements drives travel of the first and second trocars, respectively (Shor, "...the disposable part 102 includes two reservoirs 106a, 106b that contain separate plunger assemblies 108a, 108b, each of which are driven by separate drive trains 114a, 114b." - Para [0142]).
Shor does not expressly disclose a first trocar and a second trocar.
Gibson teaches a first trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]) and a second trocar (Gibson, "… retraction of the needle, trocar, and/or cannula." - Para [0381]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the infusion device of Shor to include a first trocar and a second trocar as taught by Gibson for dispensing a fluid to a patient (Gibson, Para [0381]).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas as shown in Fig. 25A to have its own gear arrangement as described in the spec (“… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue.” – Para [0189]). Thus, each cannula has the same gear arrangement as depicted in Figs. 24A-24E.
Regarding claim 22, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
at least one shaft (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 24A) coupled to one or both of the first and second epicyclic gear arrangements (Shor, cannula insertion mechanism 400, Fig. 24A).
Regarding claim 23, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the at least one shaft (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 24A) comprises a first rotatable hub (Shor, hub 404, Fig. 24A) coupled to the first planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24A) (Shor, "The hub 404 can attach to an inner gear 406 …" - Para [0183]) and a second rotatable hub (Shor, hub 404, Fig. 24A) coupled to the second planetary gear (Shor, inner gear 406, Fig. 24A) (Shor, "The hub 404 can attach to an inner gear 406 …" - Para [0183]).
Examiner interprets each of the cannulas in Fig. 25A to have its own respective gear arrangement as described in the spec ("… multiple cannula insertion mechanisms 200 can be used to deliver multiple cannulas 216 into the subcutaneous tissue." - Para [0189]). Each have the gear arrangement depicted in Figs. 24A-24E.
Regarding claim 24, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first and second rotatable hubs are coupled together (Shor, See annotated Fig. 10C).
Regarding claim 26, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
actuation of the first epicyclic gear arrangement drives the first cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) in a first linear path (Shor, “… rotation of the torsion spring 202 initially causes the cannula plunger 208 to displace downwards, causing insertion of both the needle 214 and the cannula 216 into the subcutaneous tissue of the patient.” – Para [0177]) and actuation of the second epicyclic gear arrangement drives the second cannula (Shor, cannula 216, Fig. 25A) in a second linear path (Shor, “… rotation of the torsion spring 202 initially causes the cannula plunger 208 to displace downwards, causing insertion of both the needle 214 and the cannula 216 into the subcutaneous tissue of the patient.” – Para [0177]) spaced apart from the first linear path (Shor, See annotated Fig. 25A).
Regarding claim 27, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the first medical device comprises a sensor (Shor, "The device 100 can include various other types of sensors." - Para [0194]).
Regarding claim 28, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the second medical device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) comprises a cannula Shor, (cannula 216, Fig. 24A).
Claim(s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shor et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0123806 A1) in view of Gibson et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0316291 A1) and in further view of Yodfat et al. (US Patent No. 8568361 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
Shor in view of Gibson does not expressly disclose that the trigger comprises a remote trigger mechanism.
Yodfat teaches the trigger comprises a remote trigger mechanism ("Fluid delivery programming can be performed by buttons/switches disposed on the dispensing unit or by a remote control unit …" - Col. 5 Lines 13-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Shor in view of Gibson to include that the trigger comprises a remote trigger mechanism as taught by Yodfat for dispensing therapeutic fluids (Yodfat, Col. 1 Line 18).
Regarding claim 17, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
Shor in view of Gibson does not expressly disclose at least one latch configured to selectively limit a position of the sensor carrier, the cannula carrier, or both the sensor and cannula carriers relative to the housing.
Mercer teaches at least one latch (latches 22, Fig. 6A) configured to selectively limit a position of the sensor carrier ("The latches 22 and 24 are used for securing the dispensing unit 10 to the cradle unit 20 …" - Col. 20 Line 38-39), the cannula carrier (cradle unit 20, Fig. 6A), or both the sensor and cannula carriers relative to the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Shor in view of Gibson to include at least one latch configured to selectively limit a position of the sensor carrier, the cannula carrier, or both the sensor and cannula carriers relative to the housing as taught by Yodfat for enabling disconnection and reconnection (Yodaft, Col. 20 Line 40).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shor et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0123806 A1) in view of Gibson et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0316291 A1) and in further view of Mercer et al. (US Pub No. 20130245563 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Shor in view of Gibson disclose the device (Shor, patch pump 100, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
Shor in view of Gibson does not expressly disclose that the first and second rotatable hubs are splined together.
Yodfat teaches that the first and second rotatable hubs are splined together.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Shor in view of Gibson to include that the first and second rotatable hubs are splined together as taught by Yodfat for enabling disconnection or reconnection (Yodfat, Col. 20 Line 40).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783