DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application filed on June 07, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 29, 2024 have been submitted for consideration. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to share prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species 2 encompassing claims 1-6 in the reply filed on June 01, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, and the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Rejection of claim 1, the limitation “the first signal connector and the inter circuit board connector being configured to be capable of outputting a first signal… and wherein the first signal is input from the first circuit board to the second circuit board via the inter circuit board connector” is new matter and has enablement issue.
See figure 6 wherein the inter circuit board connector 2a and 2b are connected to only 24v power. Also, see specification wherein power connectors 2a and 2b, and the main board 1 supplies power source voltage to the first circuit board 8 via the power connectors 2a and 2b. The main board 1 transmits signals to the first circuit board 8 via the signal connector 3 and receives signals from the first circuit board 8 via the connector 3. Therefore, it appears new matter based on elected species as well as having enablement issue, because no proper structure provided that showing the power connectors 2a and 2b connected to first signal.
Therefore, claims contains subject matter which is not supported by proper structure and not able to understand how is able to output first signal.
Rejection of claims 2-6, claims 2-6 are rejected by the same reason applied to rejection of claim 1.
Claim 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, the limitation “the first signal connector and the inter circuit board connector being configured to be capable of outputting a first signal… and wherein the first signal is input from the first circuit board to the second circuit board via the inter circuit board connector” is new matter and has enablement issue.
See figure 6 wherein the inter circuit board connector 2a and 2b are connected to only 24v power. Also, see specification wherein power connectors 2a and 2b, and the main board 1 supplies power source voltage to the first circuit board 8 via the power connectors 2a and 2b. The main board 1 transmits signals to the first circuit board 8 via the signal connector 3 and receives signals from the first circuit board 8 via the connector 3. Therefore, it appears new matter based on elected species as well as having enablement issue, because no proper structure provided that showing the power connectors 2a and 2b connected to first signal.
Rejection of claims 2-6, claims 2-6 are rejected by the same reason applied to rejection of claim 1.
Rejection of claim 5, the limitation “wherein the inter circuit board connector includes: a first inter circuit board connector that transmits the first signal, and a second inter circuit board connector that transmits the power” is indefinite or unclear.
It appears that claim is misleading in term of what to consider as “a connector” or “connectors”. From the specification “A circuit board unit”, “a second signal”, and “a second signal connector” appears to be defining signal object. And “slots” “drums” “second circuit boards” “inter circuit board connectors” appears to be defining plurality.
Additionally see other analogy, for example, there is clear difference between a car or a paper and cars or papers. Wherein cars includes a car; but a car can not have cars and a car can only be part of cars.
Therefore, proper clarification is required.
Note: Rejection under USC 102 below is given to advance prosecution, however, a proper clarification or amendment is required as mentioned above under USC 112 and requires proper clarification or amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/ (a)(2) (whichever apply)as being anticipated by Elsing et al. (US20200229305, herein referred to as Elsing) or Iwasaki et al. (US20190103788, herein referred to as Iwasaki).
Rejection of claim 1, Elsing (figures 1-6 of Elsing) or Iwasaki (figures 1-6b of Iwasaki) discloses a circuit board unit comprising:
a first circuit board (one of plurality of boards in Elsing; or 30 in Iwasaki) having a first signal connector (one of connectors between two boards in Elsing, and see figures 3-6 of Elsing; or a first signal connector 62A and a second signal connector of Iwasaki) and an inter circuit board connector (other connector of the connectors between two boards in Elsing; or a power supply terminal connector 63CP of Iwasaki), the first signal connector and the inter circuit board connector being configured to be capable of outputting a first signal (each connector has capacity to connect to first signal by connecting first signal to both connectors in Elsing or Iwasaki); and
a second circuit board (other adjacent board of plurality of boards in Elsing; or 30 in Iwasaki; or 60 in Iwasaki) having a second signal connector (a connector on other board in Iwasaki; or a signal connector on 60 in Iwasaki) configured to be capable of outputting a second signal (see Elsing or Iwasaki have the second circuit board with connector that has capability of plural signals outputting);
wherein in a connector inserting and pulling direction of the first signal connector, the first circuit board and the second circuit board are disposed overlapping with each other such that the second circuit board covers a connector outlet of the first circuit connector (see the figures of Elsing or Iwasaki), wherein the first signal is input from the first circuit board to the second circuit board via the inter circuit board connector (this limitation is nto clear, see USC 112 rejection), and wherein the second signal connector outputs the first signal and the second signal (see the figures of Elsing or Iwasaki wherein )
Rejection of claim 2, Elsing (figures 1-6 of Elsing) or Iwasaki (figures 1-6b of Iwasaki) discloses the circuit board unit according to claim 1, wherein the first signal connector is not connected to a connection target outside the first circuit board (see figures of Elsing or Iwasaki).
Rejection of claim 3, Elsing (figures 1-6 of Elsing) or Iwasaki (figures 1-6b of Iwasaki) discloses the circuit board unit according to claim 1, wherein the first signal includes a signal for controlling a first load and the second signal includes a signal for controlling a second load (for only show intended use; connectors has capacity of send and/or signals from first board to second board; therefore able to or having capacity to perform this functions) .
Rejection of claim 4, Elsing (figures 1-6 of Elsing) or Iwasaki (figures 1-6b of Iwasaki) discloses the circuit board unit according to claim 1, wherein power for driving the second circuit board is supplied from the first circuit board to the second circuit board via the inter circuit board connector (see specification of Elsing or Iwasaki which able to drive power from the first circuit board to the second circuit board via the inter circuit board connector; “for” only defines intended use) .
Rejection of claim 6, Elsing (figures 1-6 of Elsing) or Iwasaki (figures 1-6b of Iwasaki) discloses the circuit board unit according to claim 1, wherein the inter circuit board connector is disposed to be distanced from the edges of the first circuit board in a direction perpendicular to the connector inserting and pulling direction for a distance according to a distance between the first circuit board and the second circuit board in the connector inserting and pulling direction (see figures of Elsing or Iwasaki).
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various circuit boards units.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847