Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 drawn to an apparatus for changing modes of a bicycle component by widening a flow duct of a valve in the reply filed on 5/26/26 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 10 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “the drive member and the driving tooth” renders the claim indefinite because both terms lacks antecedent basis and any spatial connection with the claimed bicycle device.
Further, regarding claim 11, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “the operating member is moved from the rest position to the actuating position for shifting the operating mode” renders the claim indefinite because the underlined terms lack antecedent basis and any spatial connection with the claimed bicycle device.
Regarding claim 15, the terms the operating member, the rest position, and the first actuating position render the claim indefinite because the terms lack antecedent basis and any spatial connection with the claimed bicycle device.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP S593037 U to Nakayama.
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses a bicycle device with a bicycle component (1) with two adjustable, different operating modes and an adjusting member (17,18,21) accommodated in the bicycle component (1) for setting the operating modes (Figs. 1-3 & p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 discloses rotating dial 26 between the four depicted positions adjusts the damping force of the suspension),
wherein the adjusting member (17,18,21) comprises a valve, which opens a flow duct (18a) in a first position wider than in a second position (Figs. 1-3 & p. 6 ¶ 3 and p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 discloses that by rotating knob 26 the plate 18 is rotated and changes the width of the oil passage between four sizes varying from narrowest to widest.); and
the adjusting member (17,18,21) comprises a rotary adjusting mechanism (17.18.21), which includes different adjusting positions for the different operating modes, so that further rotation is possible from a first operating mode to a second operating mode in one direction of rotation, and from the second operating mode to the first operating mode, in the same direction of rotation (Figs. 1-3 & p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 discloses four positions for four different dampening modes where they are adjusted by rotating dial 26 and thereby the rotary adjusting mechanism components 17,18,21).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Nakayama further discloses wherein the bicycle component (1) comprises at least one unit from a group of units including a spring unit and a damper unit (Fig. 1 & p. 9 ¶ 1 discloses the component is a damper. Fig. 1 & p. 6 ¶ 3 discloses the component includes a spring 14 and thus is further interpreted as including a spring unit).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 2, Nakayama further discloses wherein the valve of the adjusting member sets the damper unit to softer damping in one position, and to harder damping, in another position (Figs. 1-3 & p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 noting that lower/higher damping force is interpreted to be harder/softer).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 1, Nakayama further discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism (17.18.21) and the valve share one rotation axis, wherein the adjusting mechanism engages (17.18.21) into a plurality of angular positions (Figs. 1-3 & p. 6 ¶ 3 and p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 disclose valve 12 and the components of the adjusting mechanism angularly adjust into one of four positions to allow different flow rates through the orifices ).
As best can be understood, regarding claim 14, depending on claim 1, Nakamura further discloses wherein the operating member (26) is moved from the rest position to the actuating position for shifting the operating mode (Figs. 1-3 & p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 disclose moving the dial 26 between a first position, i.e., a rest position, and another position, e.g., position 2, i.e., the actuation position, which shafts the operating mode by changing the damping characteristics by restricting/expanding flow through the orifice), and wherein repeated actuation of the operating member (26) from the rest position to the actuating position of the bicycle component causes the successive setting of alternating different operating modes (Figs. 1-3 & p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 disclose each time the dial is rotated from one position, at rest, to the next actuated position, the operation mode, i.e., damping characteristic changes.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama in view of US 2008/0116622 A1 to Fox.
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Nakayama does not appear to further disclose wherein a rotary motion of the adjusting mechanism is impeded in at least one direction of rotation by a fixing device, and wherein the fixing device comprises a fixing part, which is biased into a fixing position by a biasing force.
Fox teaches that it was old and well known in the art of suspension adjustment, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a rotary motion of the adjusting mechanism (67) is impeded in at least one direction of rotation by a fixing device (196), and wherein the fixing device (196) comprises a fixing part (202), which is biased into a fixing position by a biasing force (Fig. 4B & [0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of suspension adjustment before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suspension adjustment system disclosed by Nakayama to incorporate for a rotary motion of the adjusting mechanism is impeded in at least one direction of rotation by a fixing device, and wherein the fixing device comprises a fixing part, which is biased into a fixing position by a biasing force as taught by Fox in order to provide positive tactile feedback to the user of each available position, e.g., see Fox [0089], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 1, Nakayama does not appear to further disclose wherein the adjusting mechanism returns a signal as a feedback, as another operating mode is reached.
Fox teaches that it was old and well known in the art of suspension adjustment, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the adjusting mechanism (67) returns a signal as a feedback, as another operating mode is reached (Fig. 4B & [0089] discloses the ball springing into the detent provides positive, i.e., signal, feedback to the user.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of suspension adjustment before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suspension adjustment system disclosed by Nakayama to incorporate for the adjusting mechanism returns a signal as a feedback, as another operating mode is reached as taught by Fox in order to provide positive tactile feedback to the user of each available position, e.g., see Fox [0089], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claims 11 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama in view of DE10252557A1 to Denk.
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 1, Nakayama further discloses a handlebar and a control unit (A) with a supporting component (B) (Annotated Fig. 1 & p. 7 ¶ 3 disclose a handlebar is included and the dial 26), and an operating member (26) movable between a rest position and at least one actuating position (Figs. 1-3 & p. 7 ¶2 – p. 8 ¶3 disclose moving the dial 26 between a first position, i.e., a rest position, and another position, e.g., position 2, i.e., the actuation position), … wherein the operating member (26) is connected with the adjusting mechanism (17.18.21) via at least one mechanical connection member such as a control cable (23) or a hydraulic line (Figs. 1 and 3 & p.7 ¶ 3), wherein the connection member (23) is coupled with the drive member (24) and the driving tooth (25) (Figs. 1 and 3 & p.7 ¶ 3).
Although Nakayama discloses that the control unit (A) is mounted *near* the handlebar it is unclear if the control unit is actually mounted to the handlebar or not. Therefore, Nakayama does not explicitly disclose that the control unit (A) is mounted to the handlebar.
Denk teaches that it was old and well known in the art of suspension adjustment devices, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the control unit (8) to be mounted to the handlebar (4) (Fig. 2 & [0029]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of suspension adjustment devices before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suspension adjustment device disclosed by Nakayama to incorporate the control unit is mounted to the handlebar as taught by Denk in order to provide suspension adjustment control in a convenient location to the normal riding position, e.g., see Fig. 2 & [0005] and [0029]-[0030], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 11, the modified combination of Nakayama/Denk further discloses wherein the handlebar (Denk – 4) is configured largely straight (4) or curved as a racing handlebar, and allows operation from at least two different gripping positions (Denk Fig. 2 depicts a straight handlebar that could be gripped from any variety of positions, e.g., via a standard grip where hand generally covers the grip 11 and alternatively where the hand generally covers the brake 9 and other controllers 8,10. Examiner notes that the underlined clause is considered to be intended use as it is a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and although fully considered – is not understood to affect the scope of the claim because recitations of intended use of the claimed invention do not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2114.).
It would have been obvious to have modified Nakayama in view of the teachings of Denk for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 11 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 13, depending on claim 11, the modified combination of Nakayama/Denk further discloses claim 11, comprising a suspension fork and/or a rear wheel damper (Nakayama - 1) as a bicycle component (Nakayama - 1), wherein the adjusting member (Nakayama – 17, 18, 21) is accommodated on the bicycle component (Nakayama - 1), and wherein the control unit (Nakayama - A) can be disposed on the handlebar (Denk – 4) of a bicycle (Denk – 1).
It would have been obvious to have modified Nakayama in view of the teachings of Denk for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 11 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611