DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. US 11228750 B1 and US 12003694 B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 32-38, 40, 42-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyne et al. (US 7962329 B1) in view of Kanyuk et al. (US 9214036 B1) and JIANG et al. (US 20200334893 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 40. Coyne discloses A method (abstract, A system for generating a scene description from a set of words; column 1 lines 31-32, a method of converting text into three-dimensional scene descriptions) comprising:
generating, based on a first plurality of nouns identified in a textural document, a first virtual reality (VR) scene (column 2 lines 20-27, A system to generate arbitrary scenes in response to a substantially unlimited range of words; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations; column 10 lines 3-9, Consider again the following example sentences: "John said that the cat was on the table. The animal was next to a bowl of apples." In an embodiment, two scene descriptions may be generated; a first scene description for the first sentence and a second scene description for the second sentence; column 4 line 10-column 5 line 12, The following identifiers have the following meaning: … NP stands for noun phrase, … VP stands for verb phrase, …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations) that comprises:
a first plurality of VR objects, wherein the first plurality of objects is depicted as performing a first set of actions based on a first plurality of verbs identified in the textual document as related to the first plurality of nouns (column 2 line 65 - column 3 line 37, … Object database 40 may include a plurality of three-dimensional models for objects to be included in a low-level scene description. In addition to three-dimensional data, an embodiment may associate additional information with each three-dimensional model, such as a function of an object or its size. Pose database 42 may include poses for actions that may be typically associated with scene descriptions, such as jump, give, and carry. …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations); and
generating, based on a second plurality of nouns identified in the textual document, a second VR scene (column 2 lines 20-27, A system to generate arbitrary scenes in response to a substantially unlimited range of words; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations; column 10 lines 3-9, Consider again the following example sentences: "John said that the cat was on the table. The animal was next to a bowl of apples." In an embodiment, two scene descriptions may be generated; a first scene description for the first sentence and a second scene description for the second sentence; column 4 line 10-column 5 line 12, The following identifiers have the following meaning: … NP stands for noun phrase, … VP stands for verb phrase, …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations) that comprises:
a second plurality of VR objects, wherein the second plurality of objects is depicted as performing a second set of actions based on a second plurality of verbs identified in the textural document as related to the second plurality of nouns (column 2 line 65 - column 3 line 37, … Object database 40 may include a plurality of three-dimensional models for objects to be included in a low-level scene description. In addition to three-dimensional data, an embodiment may associate additional information with each three-dimensional model, such as a function of an object or its size. Pose database 42 may include poses for actions that may be typically associated with scene descriptions, such as jump, give, and carry. …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations).
Kanyuk discloses a short animated sequence may be looped in order to present the appearance of a longer animated sequence (column 4 lines 21-23); an animation sequence is “looped” (i.e., the end of the animation sequence is blended with the start of the same animation sequence so that the loop can be replayed) (column 4 lines 27-30); the animation data engine 240 may utilize data provided as model inputs and/or animations inputs in order to realistically blend animated sequences. The animation data engine 240 may be configured to blend a single animated sequence into a looping sequence (column 7 lines 14-20); a single animated sequence is looped, the second animated sequence may be a copy of the first animated sequence (column 8 lines 60-62); the animation system 200 may retrieve one animated sequence that will be joined to itself to create a loop of animated data (column 10 lines 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Coyne according to the invention of Kanyuk, to repeat the actions while the first/second VR scene is being generated for display, in order to have a better VR experience.
JIANG discloses
a first virtual reality (VR) scene comprises:
a first portal ([0075] In an application scenario, a user can see the initial virtual scene (for example, a house) and the two first scene conversion triggers (for example, two portals) of the initial virtual scene), and
a second portal ([0075] In an application scenario, a user can see the initial virtual scene (for example, a house) and the two first scene conversion triggers (for example, two portals) of the initial virtual scene); and
a second VR scene comprises:
a third portal ([0080] The second scene conversion trigger set in the target virtual scene includes at least one second scene conversion trigger), and
a fourth portal ([0080] The second scene conversion trigger set in the target virtual scene includes at least one second scene conversion trigger); and
in response to a user interaction with the first portal:
terminating the generation for display of the first VR scene; and
generating a second VR scene ([0058] a portal in the virtual scene is similar to a door, a gate, or an entrance, and user may enter another virtual scene by entering the portal; [0063] the scene conversion trigger may be a virtual portal, a cave entrance, a door, or a gate, etc., a user may enter a next virtual scene by using the scene conversion trigger; figure 1, [0075] Through each portal, the user can see different target virtual scenes. For example, through the first portal, the user can see partial information of a desert scene, and through the second portal, the user can see partial information of a forest scene; [0081] Render the determined target virtual scene and second scene conversion trigger set, and display the determined target virtual scene and second scene conversion trigger set in the screen area);
in response to a user interaction with the second portal:
terminating the generation for display of the first VR scene; and
generating for display a third VR scene (figure 1, [0075] Through each portal, the user can see different target virtual scenes. For example, through the first portal, the user can see partial information of a desert scene, and through the second portal, the user can see partial information of a forest scene; [0081] Render the determined target virtual scene and second scene conversion trigger set, and display the determined target virtual scene and second scene conversion trigger set in the screen area);
in response to a user interaction with the third portal:
terminating the generation for display of the second VR scene;
generating for display the first VR scene ([0024] If one of the first scene conversion triggers is triggered, the terminal switches the virtual scene from the initial virtual scene to the target virtual scene associated with the first scene conversion trigger, and the target virtual scene and the second scene conversion trigger set in the target virtual scene are displayed on the screen area. In this case, the target virtual scene becomes the initial virtual scene, and correspondingly, the second scene conversion trigger set in the target virtual scene becomes the first scene conversion trigger set; conversion between a plurality of virtual scenes can be implemented, so that a user visually feels to travel amongst a plurality of virtual scenes; [0062] After switching from the desert scene to the land scene, the land scene becomes the initial virtual scene. Therefore, the initial virtual scene and target virtual scene are relative concepts, as after a scene conversion, a target virtual scene may be switched to an initial virtual scene); and
in response to a user interaction with the fourth portal:
terminating the generation for display of the second VR scene; and
generating for display a fourth VR scene ([0024] If one of the first scene conversion triggers is triggered, the terminal switches the virtual scene from the initial virtual scene to the target virtual scene associated with the first scene conversion trigger, and the target virtual scene and the second scene conversion trigger set in the target virtual scene are displayed on the screen area. In this case, the target virtual scene becomes the initial virtual scene, and correspondingly, the second scene conversion trigger set in the target virtual scene becomes the first scene conversion trigger set; conversion between a plurality of virtual scenes can be implemented, so that a user visually feels to travel amongst a plurality of virtual scenes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Coyne according to the invention of JIANG, to use different portals to change to different scenes based on respective nouns in the textual document, in order to have a better VR experience.
Regarding claims 32, 42. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising identifying a parameter referenced in the second text portion which corresponds to one of the plurality of first nouns (column 9 lines 56-65, Nouns can also corefer, as in the following example: John said that the cat was on the table. The animal was next to a bowl of apples. While it is not strictly required that the animal denote the cat mentioned in the first sentence of the above example, the coherence of the discourse depends upon the reader or listener making that connection),
wherein the generating the first VR scene is further based on the identified parameter (column 10 lines 3-20, Consider again the following example sentences: "John said that the cat was on the table. The animal was next to a bowl of apples." In an embodiment, two scene descriptions may be generated; a first scene description for the first sentence and a second scene description for the second sentence. Each scene description, as discussed earlier, may include multiple scene description fragments. In the second scene description, the object corresponding to the animal, may be described by a list of possible animals from a set of three-dimensional models; the object also may contain an annotation for a POSSIBLE-COREFERENT. In this example, the POSSIBLE-COREFERENT would be the node corresponding to the cat. Thus, the description module (see section entitled Interpretation of the Scene Description into a Three-Dimensional Image) may make use of POSSIBLE-COREFERENT information. Instead of adding a new animal and putting it next to a bowl of apples, the description module may put the already existent cat next to a bowl of apples).
Regarding claims 33, 43. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising identifying an adjective associated with one of the first plurality of nouns,
wherein the generating the first VR scene is further based on the identified adjective (column 5 lines 25-30, A dependency structure is one possible representation of the semantic relations of a sentence. A dependency structure may enable the focusing of attention on certain dependents. For example, one might be interested in interpreting all adjectives that depend upon a noun (e.g., the large fat green cat)).
Regarding claims 34, 44. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a first content structure (column 10 lines 3-20, Each scene description may include multiple scene description fragments; abstract, generating a scene description from a set of words includes modules that perform the following functions: performing a linguistic analysis on a set of words to generate a structure representation of semantic relationships between words within the set of words) comprising a first object that matches a first one of the first plurality of nouns, wherein the first object comprises a first plurality of attribute table entries based on a second one of the first plurality of nouns and the first plurality of verbs (figure 2, column 6 lines 30-67, Returning now to FIG. 2, at step 56, the dependency structure may be converted to a scene description. The scene description may be a description of the objects to be depicted in the scene, and the relationships between the objects. An example of a scene description for the sentence: "John said that the cat is on the table." is given below: …; column 4 lines 19-22, This result indicates that John is a proper noun (NNP), said and was are past tense verbs (VBD), the is an article (DT), on is a preposition (IN) and cat and table are nouns (NN)).
Regarding claims 35, 45. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 34, wherein the first plurality of attribute table entries is further based on at least one of a first one of the second plurality of nouns and a first one of the second plurality of verbs (column 14 lines 39-49, Implicit constraints. Implicit constraints are those constraints which may be imposed on objects because of the objects' usage in the context of the entered text. Consider the sentences: "The lamp is on the table. The glass is next to the lamp." It may be preferable not to have the glass floating in the air next to the lamp. Instead, the glass would preferably be put on the table. Therefore, an implicit constraint may be implemented which provides that "If X is next to Y, and X is not already on a surface, and X is not an airborne object (e.g., a helium balloon), then place X on the same surface as Y." Other implicit constraints may additionally be implemented).
Regarding claims 36, 46. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 35, wherein the generating the first VR scene comprises generating the first VR scene based on the first content structure (abstract, generating a scene description from a set of words includes modules that perform the following functions: performing a linguistic analysis on a set of words to generate a structure representation of semantic relationships between words within the set of words).
Regarding claims 37, 47. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
parsing the textual document to identify a third text portion corresponding to the third scene (column 2 lines 20-27, A system to generate arbitrary scenes in response to a substantially unlimited range of words; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations; column 10 lines 3-9, Consider again the following example sentences: "John said that the cat was on the table. The animal was next to a bowl of apples." In an embodiment, two scene descriptions may be generated; a first scene description for the first sentence and a second scene description for the second sentence);
identifying the third plurality of nouns referenced in the third text portion, and a third plurality of verbs related to the third plurality of nouns (column 4 line 10-column 5 line 12, The following identifiers have the following meaning: … NP stands for noun phrase, … VP stands for verb phrase, …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations);
parsing the textual document to identify a fourth text portion corresponding to the fourth scene (column 2 lines 20-27, A system to generate arbitrary scenes in response to a substantially unlimited range of words; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations; column 10 lines 3-9, Consider again the following example sentences: "John said that the cat was on the table. The animal was next to a bowl of apples." In an embodiment, two scene descriptions may be generated; a first scene description for the first sentence and a second scene description for the second sentence);
identifying the fourth plurality of nouns referenced in the fourth text portion, and a fourth plurality of verbs related to the fourth plurality of nouns (column 4 line 10-column 5 line 12, The following identifiers have the following meaning: … NP stands for noun phrase, … VP stands for verb phrase, …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations);
wherein the third VR scene comprises a third plurality of objects based on the third plurality of nouns, each object of the third plurality of objects depicted as performing an action based on the third plurality of verbs (column 2 line 65 - column 3 line 37, … Object database 40 may include a plurality of three-dimensional models for objects to be included in a low-level scene description. In addition to three-dimensional data, an embodiment may associate additional information with each three-dimensional model, such as a function of an object or its size. Pose database 42 may include poses for actions that may be typically associated with scene descriptions, such as jump, give, and carry. …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations); and
wherein the fourth VR scene comprises a fourth plurality of objects based on the fourth plurality of nouns, each object of the fourth plurality of objects depicted as performing an action based on the fourth plurality of verbs (column 2 line 65 - column 3 line 37, … Object database 40 may include a plurality of three-dimensional models for objects to be included in a low-level scene description. In addition to three-dimensional data, an embodiment may associate additional information with each three-dimensional model, such as a function of an object or its size. Pose database 42 may include poses for actions that may be typically associated with scene descriptions, such as jump, give, and carry. …; column 9 lines 49-50, semantically interpreting words that denote particular objects, actions, or relations).
Regarding claims 38, 48. (New) Coyne discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising parsing the textual document to identify a first location for the first VR scene and a second location for the second VR scene (column 1 lines 31-32, a method of converting text into three-dimensional scene descriptions; column 8 lines 49-59, verbs may include ACTIONLOCATION; column 9 lines 10-18, This semantic entry includes a set of verb frames, each of which defines the argument structure of one "sense" of the verb say. Arguments include an action location).
Claims 31, 39, 41, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyne et al. (US 7962329 B1) in view of Kanyuk et al. (US 9214036 B1) and JIANG et al. (US 20200334893 A1) as applied above in claim 1, and further in view of Grigore (US 20200314477 A1).
Regarding claims 31, 41. (New) Grigore discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first VR scene, the second VR scene, and the fourth VR scene form a storyline ([0003] systems and methods for users to consider the individual storylines, navigate to the content with timelines they want to consume, and filter and watch content. [0076] The timeline may be given by actual storyline timeline (e.g., as presented in the episodes chronologically); [0047] The system may be a virtual reality device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Coyne, Kanyuk and JIANG with the invention of Grigore, to use a storyline to change scenes, in order to have a better VR experience.
Regarding claims 39, 49. (New) Grigore discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the third VR scene includes a particular character that was in the first VR scene ([0003] systems and methods for users to consider the individual storylines, navigate to the content with timelines they want to consume, and filter and watch content. [0076] The timeline may be given by actual storyline timeline (e.g., as presented in the episodes chronologically); [0047] The system may be a virtual reality device; abstract, The storylines may include other attributes than chronological timelines such as characters; [0036] the system may allow the user to play particular chapters related to predefined attributes such as a particular character's presence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Coyne, Kanyuk and JIANG with the invention of Grigore, to include a particular character to change scenes, in order to have a better VR experience.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488