DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 26, 28-38, 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockway et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0289424) in view of Lisogurski et al (Pub, No.: US 2015/0157269).
Regarding claims 21, 33, 41-42, Brockway et al disclose a system for determining correct photoplethysmography device positioning on a user, the system comprising:
a photoplethysmography device having a sensor array (one or more physiological signals via sensors 201) in contact with or proximate to tissue of the user [see 0072, 0076]; configured to receive energy reflected by or transmitted through the tissue of the user [see 0072];
one or more processors in communication with the photoplethysmography device and configured to implement a signal validity classification system to use a validity threshold [see 0061- 0061, 0115] to determine:
(i) validity of one or more signals received by the sensor array [see 0061-0063];
wherein the validity threshold is based on a weight, a height, or a particular health condition of (arrhythmia event) the user [see 0061-0064, 0079-0080, 0115] by disclosing a confidence value is computed as a function of the SNR, and the detected cardiac event is classified as valid in response to said confidence signal exceeding a predetermined first threshold. Such confidence values may, for
example, make up part of a confidence signal that includes one or more such values. In addition, the confidence value may be computed based upon the SNR, morphology of the signal and a pattern of feature points in the signal [see 0061].
a communication circuit to confirm that the electrodes (photoplethysmography device) have been placed on the subject properly and the device is acquiring data appropriately [see 0196];
control operation of the photoplethysmography device depending on the determination as to whether or not the photoplethysmography device (sensing electrodes) is correctly positioned on the user [see 0196-0197].
Brockway et al don't disclose whether or not the photoplethysmography device is correctly positioned on the user to measure medical signs of the user based on the validity threshold,
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose whether or not the photoplethysmography device is correctly positioned on the user to measure medical signs of the user based on the validity threshold [see 0178-0179; fig 10] by disclosing a calibration routine can be performed which establishes measurement thresholds (validity threshold) to indicate when probe 1610 is placed on tissue 1640 or off of tissue 1640 and measurement equipment can detect when probe 1610 has fallen off or been removed from tissue 1640 and alert monitoring personnel accordingly [see 0178-0179].
Lisogurski et al disclose measurement parameters can be modified based on the body location and placement, such as loading correct calculation coefficients based on the placement or body location [see 0123].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by determining whether or not the photoplethysmography device is correctly positioned on the user to measure medical signs of the user based on the validity threshold; to enhance physiological measurements [see 0164, Lisogurski et al]
Regarding claims 22, 34, Brockway et al disclose wherein the signal validity classification system is configured to determine the validity of the one or more signals received by the sensor array by calculating a validity score (validity metric/value or confidence values) for the received one or more signals [see 0097] by disclosing a value of dSNR is computed for a window of two to ten cardiac cycles and this value is used in calculating a validity metric for all cardiac cycles within the window [see 0097].
Regarding claims 23, 35, Brockway et al disclose wherein the validity threshold is further based on one or more signals received from photoplethysmography devices worn by users having at least a shared one of the weight, the height, or the particular health condition (arrhythmia event) of the user [see 0061-0064, 0079-0080] by disclosing a confidence value is computed as a function of the SNR, and the detected cardiac event is classified as valid in response to said confidence signal exceeding a predetermined first threshold. Such confidence values may, for example, make up part of a confidence signal that includes one or more such values. In addition, the confidence value may be computed based upon the SNR, morphology of the signal and a pattern of feature points in the signal [see 0061].
Regarding claim 24, Brockway et al disclose wherein the signal validity classification system is configured to compare the validity score (confidence value) to the validity threshold (confidence threshold) to determine whether the one or more signals are valid [see 0061-0062, 0157, 0115];
Brockway et al don't disclose subsequently whether the photoplethysmography device is correctly positioned on the user.
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose whether the photoplethysmography device is correctly positioned on the user [see 0178-0179] by disclosing a calibration routine can be performed which establishes measurement thresholds (validity threshold) to indicate when probe 1610 is placed on tissue or off of tissue 1640 and measurement equipment can detect when probe 1610 has fallen off or been removed from tissue 1640 and alert monitoring personnel accordingly [see 0178-0179].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by determining whether the photoplethysmography device is correctly positioned on the user; to enhance physiological measurements [see 0164, Lisogurski et al]
Regarding claim 26, Brockway et al disclose wherein the validity threshold is further based on one or a combination of:
a device type of the photoplethysmography device, medical signs (e.g., blood pressure, flow, or ECG) being measured by the photoplethysmography device [see 0124, 0197];
or a desired rate of achieving true positive results.
Regarding claims 28, 37, Brockway et al don't disclose wherein the sensor array comprises a plurality of transmitters and receivers.
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose wherein the sensor array comprises a plurality of transmitters and receivers [see 0113, fig 3].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by using a plurality of transmitters and receivers; so that measurements can be taken at different location if desired.
Regarding claims 29, 38, Brockway et al don't disclose wherein the signal validity classification system is configured to, at a remote location from the photoplethysmography device,
at least one of:
receive a signal generated at the photoplethysmography device, determine whether the one or more signals received by the photoplethysmography device are valid, allow for remote control of operation of the photoplethysmography device,
or
deactivate parts of the photoplethysmography device.
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose deactivate parts of the photoplethysmography device [see 0118, fig 10] by disclosing measurement system can turn off optical emitter elements of optical sensor 1010, such as removing power from a laser diode or LED portion of optical sensor 1010 that emits optical signal 1031. By turning off the power to the emitter portion of optical sensor 1010, the measurement system can save power and allow associated equipment to operate in a low power mode, or a battery-save mode [see 0118].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by deactivate parts of the photoplethysmography device; the measurement system can save power and allow associated equipment to operate in a low power mode, or a battery-save mode [see 0118].
Regarding claim 30, Brockway et al don't disclose wherein the photoplethysmography device is a wrist-worn device and an energy transmitter configured to project energy toward a wrist of the user.
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose the photoplethysmography device is a wrist-worn device [see 0084]. an energy transmitter (optical emitter) configured to project energy toward a wrist of the user [see 0122, 0167] by disclosing Optical sensor 1010 is configured to emit and detect optical signal 1030 in finger 1020 to determine a PPG waveform [see 0113].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by using a wrist-worn device and an energy transmitter configured to project energy toward a wrist of the user; to provide a compact device.
Regarding claim 31, Brockway et al don't disclose wherein the energy transmitter is configured to project the energy toward the wrist of the user at a set of wavelengths at least one of:
sequentially or periodically during a predetermined time period.
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose wherein the energy transmitter is configured to project the energy toward the wrist [see 0084, 0122] of the user at a set of wavelengths sequentially [see 0043, 0097, 0167] by disclosing one or more optical wavelengths can be used by optical node 180 to measure tissue 140, and the one or more optical wavelengths can be selected based on various physiological factors such as 660 nm and 808 nm [see 0043] and further disclose a sequential measurement [see 0077].
Optical sensor 1010 is configured to emit and detect optical signal 1030 in finger 1020 to determine a PPG waveform [see 0113].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by projecting the energy toward the wrist of the user at a set of wavelengths sequentially; the accuracy of vital sign monitoring can be improved. This is crucial for long-term monitoring, as the quality of the signals can fluctuate over time.
Regarding claims 32, 40, Brockway et al don't disclose deactivate one or more components of the photoplethysmography device responsive to determining that the one or more signals are invalid.
Nonetheless, Lisogurski et al disclose deactivate one or more components of the photoplethysmography device responsive to determining that the one or more signals are invalid [see 0118, fig 10, 0122] by disclosing measurement system can turn off optical emitter elements of optical sensor 1010, such as removing power from a laser diode or LED portion of optical sensor 1010 that emits optical signal 1031. By turning off the power to the emitter portion of optical sensor 1010, the measurement system can save power and allow associated equipment to operate in a low power mode, or a battery-save mode [see 0118].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al and Lisogurski et al by deactivating parts of the photoplethysmography deactivate one or more components of the photoplethysmography device responsive to determining that the one or more signals are invalid; the measurement system can save power and allow associated equipment to operate in a low power mode, or a battery-save mode [see 0118].
Claim(s) 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockway et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0289424) in view of Lisogurski et al (Pub, No.: US 2015/0157269) and applied to claims 21, 33 above and further in view of Burg et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0313484).
Regarding claim 27, Brockway et al disclose wherein the validity threshold is pre-set based on a specific number of true positive results for determining signal validity and wherein the validity threshold is set to achieve a true positive result determination rate of 99%.
Nonetheless, Burg et al disclose wherein the validity threshold is pre-set based on a specific number of true positive results for determining signal validity and wherein the validity threshold is set to achieve a true positive result determination rate of 99% [see 0092].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Brockway et al, Lisogurski et al and Burg et al by having validity threshold set to achieve a true positive result determination rate of 99%; to perform a more precise determination and validate the overall result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797