DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/650063 (reference application). The claim mapping is as follows:
Current Application
Copending Application No. 18/650063
Claim 1
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8
Claim 2
Claims 6 and 8
Claim 3
Claims 7 and 9
Claim 4
Claim 9
Claim 5
Claim 1
Claim 6
Claim 2
Claim 7
Claim 4
Claim 8
Claim 10
Claim 9
Claim 11
Claim 10
Claim 12
Claim 11
Claim 13
Claim 12
Claim 14
Claim 13
Claim 15
Claim 14
Claim 16
Claim 15
Claims 17 and 20
Claim 16
Claim 18
Claim 17
Claim 19
Claim 18
Claim 17
Claim 19
Claim 19
Claim 20
Claim 19
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 15 of the present application are directed to a transducer and earphone as similarly recited in claims 1 and 17 of the copending application, including most of the features of the claims in the copending application. Claims 1 and 15 however further recite the magnet assembly including a magnet and an adapter, the magnet being of a hard magnetic material and the adapter not being made of the hard magnetic material. The additional features are similarly recited in claim 8 of the copending application. In addition, the limitations in dependent claims 2-14 and 16-20 parallel those of the claims of the copending application as mapped out above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/648980 (reference application). The claim mapping is as follows:
Current Application
Copending Application No. 18/648980
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claims 3-4
Claim 4
Claims 5-6
Claim 5
Claim 1
Claim 6
Claim 1
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claim 11
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 13
Claim 13
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claim 15
Claim 15
Claim 16
Claim 16
Claim 17
Claims 17 and 20
Claim 18
Claim 18
Claim 19
Claims 17 and 20
Claim 20
Claim 19
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 15 of the present application are directed to a transducer and earphone as similarly recited in claims 1 and 17 of the copending application, including most of the features of the claims in the copending application, and the copending application further limiting the coil as being fixed to the inner side of the magnet assembly and being spaced apart from the first magnet conductor, as similarly recited in claims 5-6 of the present application. Claims 1 and 15 further recite the magnet assembly including a magnet and an adapter, the magnet being of a hard magnetic material and the adapter not being made of the hard magnetic material. In addition, the limitations in dependent claims 2-14 and 16-20 parallel those of the claims of the copending application as mapped out above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “the first vibration transmission plate” and “the second vibration transmission plate” in lines 2-3 and 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the claim has been interpreted as being dependent on claim 7 in order to provide sufficient antecedent basis. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claims 11-12 are dependent on claim 10 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the same reason as claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub No 2003/0034705 A1 to Hakansson.
As to claim 1, Hakansson discloses a transducer device including a first magnet conductor (pole 11 or central bobbin body made of conductive material 5, 6, 20 and 51, see figures 2-6; pg. 3, ¶ 0029; pg. 4, claim 1), a coil (coil 7, see figures 2-6; pg. 3, ¶ 0029), and a magnet assembly (magnets 8, 24a-d and 40a-d and yokes 9, 23a-b, 28a-d and 52, see figures 2-6; pg. 3, ¶ 0029, ¶ 0038; pg. 4, ¶ 0042, claim 1), wherein an orthographic projection of the coil on a reference plane perpendicular to a first reference direction surrounds a periphery of an orthographic projection of at least a portion of the first magnet conductor on the reference plane (coil surrounds central pole or bobbin body portion, see figures 2-6), an orthographic projection of the magnet assembly on the reference plane surrounds a periphery of the orthographic projection of the coil on the reference plane (magnetic assembly surrounds coil, see figures 2 and 4-6), one of the first magnet conductor and the magnet assembly is connected to the coil (see figures 2-6), the magnet assembly includes a magnet and an adapter stacked along the first reference direction, the magnet is made of a hard magnetic material, and the adapter is not made of the hard magnetic material (permanent magnets 8, 24a-d and 40a-d and soft iron yokes 9, 23a-b, 28a-d and 52, see figures 2 and 4-6; pg. 2, ¶ 0017; pg. 4, ¶ 0042, claim 10), and a magnetic field generated by the coil after an excitation signal is input interacts with a magnetic field generated by the magnet assembly to cause the first magnet conductor to move relative to the magnet assembly (axial force, see figures 2 and 4-6; pg. 1, ¶ 0001, ¶ 0008; pg. 3, ¶ 0029; pg. 4, claim 1).
As to claim 2, Hakansson further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of the coil on an inner circumferential surface of the magnet assembly along a second reference direction overlaps with a junction between the magnet and the adapter, and the second reference direction is perpendicular to the first reference direction (junction point of magnet and adapter/yoke overlaps with coil in a perpendicular direction, see figures 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakansson in view of US Patent Pub No 2021/0168483 A1 to Zhang et al. (“Zhang”).
As to claim 15, Hakansson discloses an earphone (hearing aid, see pg. 1, ¶ 0001) including a transducer device, the transducer device including a first magnet conductor (pole 11 or central bobbin body made of conductive material 5, 6, 20 and 51, see figures 2-6; pg. 3, ¶ 0029; pg. 4, claim 1), a coil (coil 7, see figures 2-6; pg. 3, ¶ 0029), and a magnet assembly (magnets 8, 24a-d and 40a-d and yokes 9, 23a-b, 28a-d and 52, see figures 2-6; pg. 3, ¶ 0029, ¶ 0038; pg. 4, ¶ 0042, claim 1), wherein an orthographic projection of the coil on a reference plane perpendicular to a first reference direction surrounds a periphery of an orthographic projection of at least a portion of the first magnet conductor on the reference plane (coil surrounds central pole or bobbin body portion, see figures 2-6), an orthographic projection of the magnet assembly on the reference plane surrounds a periphery of the orthographic projection of the coil on the reference plane (magnetic assembly surrounds coil, see figures 2 and 4-6), one of the first magnet conductor and the magnet assembly is connected to the coil (see figures 2-6), the magnet assembly includes a magnet and an adapter stacked along the first reference direction, the magnet is made of a hard magnetic material, and the adapter is not made of the hard magnetic material (permanent magnets 8, 24a-d and 40a-d and soft iron yokes 9, 23a-b, 28a-d and 52, see figures 2 and 4-6; pg. 2, ¶ 0017; pg. 4, ¶ 0042, claim 10), and a magnetic field generated by the coil after an excitation signal is input interacts with a magnetic field generated by the magnet assembly to cause the first magnet conductor to move relative to the magnet assembly (axial force, see figures 2 and 4-6; pg. 1, ¶ 0001, ¶ 0008; pg. 3, ¶ 0029; pg. 4, claim 1).
Hakansson does not disclose the earphone including a support assembly and a core module connected to the support assembly, the support assembly being configured to support the core module and place the core module at a wearing position, the core module including a core housing and the core housing being connected to the support assembly, and the transducer device being disposed in an accommodation cavity of the core housing.
However such a configuration is known in the art of hearing devices, as taught by Zhang, which discloses a similar hearing device (see pg. 3, ¶ 0060), and further discloses the device having a support assembly for the speaker to enable a wearing state of the device (supporting connector 10 with hooks 30 and 50, see figure 1; pg. 4, ¶ 0061), the device further including a core module or speaker assembly including a housing and a speaker or transducer (speaker assembly 40, see figure 1; pg. 4, ¶ 0061, ¶ 0063), and the speaker being disposed in an accommodation cavity of the core housing (see figures 15-16; pg. 6, ¶ 0090; pg. 12, ¶ 0138). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as such a configuration is known in the art, the motivation being as a matter of design and depending on the type of hearing device, and further to provide a structure that enables close contact with a user for bone conduction while the device is in a wearing state (see figure 1; pg. 1, ¶ 0004; pg. 2, ¶ 0018; pg. 4, ¶ 0061).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 13-14 and 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and further pending the filing of a terminal disclaimer to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action.
Claims 10-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and further pending the filing of a terminal disclaimer to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 further limits the magnet assembly of claim 2 as having a second magnet conductor, with at least a portion of the second magnet conductor being disposed on an inner side of the magnet and the adapter facing the first magnet conductor, and an orthographic projection of the coil along the second reference direction forms a first overlap region with an orthographic projection of the magnet along the second reference direction, the orthographic projection of the coil along the second reference direction forms a second overlap region with an orthographic projection of the second magnet conductor along the second reference direction, and a height of the second overlap region in the first reference direction is greater than a height of the first overlap region in the first reference direction.
Claim 7 further limits the transducer device of claim 1 as further including a first vibration transmission plate and a second vibration transmission plate disposed on two sides of the coil in the first reference direction, respectively, the first vibration transmission plate is connected to one end of the first magnet conductor and the magnet, and the second vibration transmission plate is connected to the other end of the first magnet conductor and the adapter.
Claim 16 further limits the earphone of claim 15 as having the core module include at least one vibration damping sheet and a vibration panel, the transducer device being suspended in the accommodation cavity through the at least one vibration damping sheet, the vibration panel being connected to the first magnetic conductor and configured to transmit a mechanical vibration generated by the transducer device to a user.
The closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention as recited in claims 3, 7 and 16. The claims are therefore considered to include allowable subject matter, and remaining dependent claims are further considered to include allowable subject matter at least for their dependency on claims 3, 7 and 16.
Conclusion
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693