CTNF 18/649,001 CTNF 84217 DETAILED ACTION 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a regulator” in claim 1, “a second positioner” in claim 2, “a second regulator” in claim 11, “another regulator” and “an interlock” in claim 12, “a pair of regulators” and “a second positioner” in claim 18 and “a regulator” in claim 21. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (US Patent No. 4,610,445) . Regarding Claim 1 , Schneider et al. discloses a storage (10) configured to store a sheet; a conveyance unit (156) configured to convey the sheet stored in the storage; a sealing member ("seal", line 58 of Column 4); and a holder (comprising 150, within 4) configured to movably hold the storage in a moving direction (i.e. movements are not defined, wherein these may be taken as two independent directions of movement, wherein the storage is movable in the insertion direction of Schneider et al. and yet is held by the holder in all directions, including the widthwise direction/parallel to ‘7’ in Fig. 5a as the moving direction , due to the bottom lips of 150/152 as seen in Fig. 5a. Additionally, “movably” and “a moving direction” are not linked by the claim), wherein the storage includes: a first unit (comprising 202, 204) configured to store the sheet (via 202) and including a regulator (204) configured to regulate an edge of the sheet stored in the storage, and a second unit including a second sealing surface (i.e. that of 13, line 58 of Column 4) disposed opposite to a first sealing surface (i.e. 'surface of the housing 4', line 59 of Column 4) provided on the holder, wherein a relative position in the moving direction between the first unit and the second unit is changeable (i.e. since 204 are slideable, they move relative to 13), and wherein the sealing member is disposed between the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface (i.e. since it interfaces between both 13 and 4, lines 58-59 of Column 4). Regarding Claim 10 , Schneider et al. discloses the sealing member ("seal", line 58 of Column 4) has elasticity (i.e. it is noted that all materials have some innate elasticity, wherein the claim does not further define or quantify it). Regarding Claim 11 , Schneider et al. discloses wherein the holder movably holds the storage in the moving direction (i.e. parallel to arrow '7' in Fig. 5a) orthogonal to a conveyance direction (i.e. left to right in Fig. 10) in which the conveyance unit conveys the sheet stored in the storage, wherein the regulator regulates the edge of the sheet stored in the storage in the moving direction (i.e. 204 regulates the edge in a direction parallel to ‘7’ in Fig. 5a), wherein the first unit includes: a sheet stacking surface (202) on which the sheet is stacked, and a second regulator (206, Fig. 8) configured to regulate a rear edge of the sheet stacked on the sheet stacking surface in the conveyance direction . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US Patent No. 4,610,445) in view of Yoshii et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0087087 A1) . Regarding Claim 12 , Schneider et al. discloses wherein the regulator regulates the edge of the sheet stored in the storage in the moving direction (i.e. parallel to arrow '7' in Fig. 5a) orthogonal to a conveyance direction (i.e. left to right in Fig. 10) in which the conveyance unit conveys the sheet, and another regulator (204) configured to regulate another edge of the sheet stored in the storage in the moving direction, Schneider et al. does not disclose an interlock. Yoshii et al. discloses the first unit 300 includes an interlock (83) configured to interlock the regulator (41, 42) and the another regulator so that, when one of the regulator and the another regulator is moved a distance in one direction in the moving direction, the other of the regulator and the another regulator is moved by the same distance in a direction opposite to the one direction ([0053], Fig. 3) for the purpose of symmetrically moving the guides and aligning the sheet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Schneider et al. by including the interlock as disclosed by Yoshii et al., for the purpose of symmetrically moving the guides and aligning the sheet . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al. (US Patent No. 4,610,445) in view of Ertik et al. (US Pub No. 2016/0320119 A1) . Regarding Claim 13 , Schneider et al. discloses the sealing member is provided on either the first sealing surface or the second sealing surface (on 13), but does not disclose magnetic force. Ertik et al. discloses a sealing member (4a, provided on 4) is attracted to the other of the first sealing surface (of 2, [0053]) or the second sealing surface by a magnetic force, for the purpose of hermetic sealing and holding the door closed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Schneider et al. by including the magnetic force as disclosed by Ertik et al, for the purpose of hermetic sealing and holding the door closed (i.e. the same problems as addressed by Applicant's invention) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-9, 15-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a second positioner and first positioner as per the 112(f) interpretation (i.e. requiring equivalent structure and positioning), that position the storage with respect to the holder in a moving direction ( Claims 2-4 and 20 ) or the second unit to have a support member as claimed that is adjustable in the moving direction ( Claims 5-8 ) or the storage to be pulled out in the moving direction ( Claim 9 ). The prior art also does not show a magnet enclosed within the sealing member with the other sealing surface being of a magnetic material ( Claims 15 and 16 ) or the other sealing surface being of a magnetic material ( Claim 17 ) . 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 18, 19 and 21 are allowed. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the prior art of record shows a second positioner and first positioner as per the 112(f) interpretation (i.e. requiring equivalent structure and positioning), that position the storage with respect to the holder in a sheet width direction ( Claims 18 and 19 ) or the storage to be pulled out in the sheet width direction ( Claim 21 ) as claimed, in combination with the remaining elements . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Response to Arguments In response to Applicant’s argument that “In this case, "regulator" in the context of the claim is similar to the examples that to not invoke 112(f) in that one having ordinary skill in art would understand what structure performs the function even if covering a broad class and lacking precise physical structure.”, it is noted that “regulator”, “positioner” and “interlock” differ from these examples since these are terms formed from broad root words “regulate”, “position” and “interlock” and do not impart or imply any structure since they may be embodied in a broad variety of ways. In contrast, the amendment made to Claim 19 (i.e. screw) does impart structure and therefore 112(f) does not apply. In response to Applicant’s argument that “The alleged "first unit" of Schneider is the unit that has the element 204 is not configured to store the sheet, as recited by amended claim 1.”, it is noted that as per the Claim 1 rejection above, “first unit” is now construed as comprising 204 but also 202, which does store the sheet. Additionally, “first unit” is not limited to including only one discrete structure but may be an assembly as per Applicant’s “U1”. 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PRASAD GOKHALE whose telephone number is (571)270-3543. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9am - 5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael McCullough can be reached at (571) 272-7805. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 May 28, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 2 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 3 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 4 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 5 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 6 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 7 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 8 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 9 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/649,001 Page 10 Art Unit: 3653