DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 13, 15 and 17-19 are currently amended; claims 2-3, 5-7, 9, 11-12, 14, 16 and 20 were previously presented.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 12/19/2024 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection of Oliver necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oliver (U.S. Pat. No. 6298611 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Oliver teaches an anchoring device comprising:
an anchoring stake (20) having a proximal end and a distal end, and having a shaped cross section that includes at least one shape selected from the group consisting of tubular shapes, channel shapes, and shapes formed by multiple line segments extending radially from a central point, said anchoring stake defining a longitudinal stake axis (vertical central axis of 20);
a step plate (O1 see annotated figure below) a top face and being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake such that said anchoring stake extends away from said top face, said step plate being sized to extend beyond said proximal end;
a tether attachment eye (O2 see annotated figure below) offset from said stake axis so as to define a nominal line direction from the axis to said eye, said tether attachment eye being configured to allow passing a line or shackle therethrough; and
said anchoring stake having a plurality of wings (34) projecting from said anchoring stake, said plurality including at least a pair of wings that extend beyond said shaped cross-section in a direction substantially perpendicular to the nominal line direction [capable].
Regarding claim 2, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake comprises a sidewall (sidewall defining cross-section as shown in Fig. 2) that defines said shaped cross section as an elongated shape that forms an elongated cavity (inner cavity of 22), said sidewall having at least one outlet opening (at lower portion of 22) in fluid communication with said elongated cavity.
Regarding claim 3, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake comprises a sidewall (sidewall defining cross-section as shown in Fig. 2) that defines said shaped cross section as an elongated shape that forms an elongated cavity (inner cavity of 22), said anchoring stake having an inlet opening (at lower portion of 22) in fluid communication with said elongated cavity at least at said distal end.
Regarding claim 4, Oliver teaches said shaped cross section is a shape selected from the group consisting of circular shape, oval shape, rectangular shape, triangular shape, cruciform shape, vee shape, modified vee shape, and polygonal shape (see Figs. 1-8 for configuration).
Regarding claim 5, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake is fabricated with a material selected from the group consisting of aluminum, aluminum alloys, titanium, stainless steel, iron, beryllium, magnesium alloys, metal alloys, polymers, wood, and carbon reinforced (Col. 2; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 7, Oliver teaches said wings (34) have a shape selected from the group consisting of a rectangular shape, a triangular shape, a circular shape, a parabolic shape and a polygonal shape (see Figs. 1-6 for configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver (U.S. Pat. No. 6298611 B1) in view of Veloskey (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20170198887 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Oliver teaches the step plate is removably connected to said anchoring stake (Col. 2; lines 63-65). However, Oliver is silent to disclose said step plate is removably connected to said anchoring stake via a connection device including at least one device selected from the group consisting of clip, hinge, screw, or pin connection.
Veloskey teaches the step plate is removably connected to said anchoring stake via a connection device including at least one device selected from the group consisting of clip, hinge, screw, or pin connection [Veloskey; 0066 & element 14].
Oliver and Veloskey are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the plate of Oliver that is removably connected. The motivation would have been to make the stake of Oliver universally usable.
Claims 8-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver (U.S. Pat. No. 6298611 B1) in view of Deamud (U.S. Pat. No. 3009550).
Regarding claim 8, Oliver teaches an anchoring device comprising:
an anchoring stake (20) having a proximal end and a distal end and having a shaped cross section that includes at least one shape selected from the group consisting of tubular shapes, channel shapes, and shapes formed by multiple line segments extending radially from a central point, said anchoring stake defining a longitudinal stake axis;
a tether attachment eye (O2 see annotated figure above) offset from said stake axis so as to define a nominal line direction from the stake axis to said eve, said tether attachment eye being configured to allow passing a line or shackle therethrough; and a step plate (O1 see annotated figure above) having a top face.
However, Oliver is silent to disclose the step plate being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake such that said anchoring stake is inclined with respect to said top face such that, when said top face is horizontal, said distal end of said anchoring stake extends in the nominal line direction.
Deamud teaches a stake having a top plate (Deamud; 24) being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake such that said anchoring stake is inclined with respect to said top face.
Oliver and Deamud are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Oliver having the top plate as disclosed by Deamud such that, when said top face is horizontal, said distal end of said anchoring stake extends in the direction of a line attached to said tether attachment eye and extending directly away from said proximal end. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip during the retention.
Regarding claim 9, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake comprises a sidewall (sidewall defining cavity as shown in Fig. 2) that defines said shaped cross section as an elongated shape that forms an elongated cavity (inner cavity of 22 as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Oliver teaches said shaped cross section is a shape selected from the group consisting of circular shape, oval shape, rectangular shape, triangular shape, cruciform shape, vee shape, modified vee shape, and polygonal shape (see Figs. 1-6 for configuration).
Regarding claim 11, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake is fabricated from a material selected from the group consisting of aluminum, aluminum alloys, titanium, stainless steel, iron, beryllium, magnesium alloys, metal alloys, polymers, wood and carbon reinforced plastics (Col. 2; lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 13, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake has a plurality of wings projecting from said anchoring stake, said plurality including at least a pair of wings (34) that extend beyond said shaped cross-section in a direction substantially perpendicular to the nominal line direction and which have a shape selected from the group consisting of a rectangular shape, a triangular shape, a circular shape, a parabolic shape and a polygonal shape.
Regarding claim 14, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake (20) has a cross section (taken along a vertical plane) that varies such that said proximal end is larger than said distal end.
Regarding claim 15, Oliver teaches an anchoring device comprising:
an anchoring stake (20) having a proximal end and a distal end, and having a shaped cross section that includes at least one shape selected from the group consisting of tubular shapes, channel shapes, and shapes formed by multiple line segments extending radially from a central point, said anchoring stake defining a longitudinal stake axis;
a step plate (O1 see annotated figure above) having a top face and being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake, said step plate being sized to extend beyond said proximal end;
a tether attachment eye (O2 see annotated figure above) offset from said stake axis so as to define a nominal line direction from the axis to said eye, said tether attachment eye being configured to allow passing a line or shackle therethrough [capable]; said step plate being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake such that said anchoring stake extends away from said top face; and said anchoring stake being characterized in having at least one resistance-increasing feature selected from the group of: having a plurality of wings (34) projecting from said anchoring stake, said plurality including at least a pair of wings that extend beyond said shaped cross-section in a direction substantially perpendicular to the nominal line direction, and being affixed with respect to said step plate.
However, Oliver is silent to disclose the step plate being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake such that said anchoring stake is inclined with respect to said top face such that, when said top face is horizontal, said distal end of said anchoring stake extends in the direction of a line attached to said tether attachment eye and extending directly away from said proximal end.
Deamud teaches a stake having a top plate (Deamud; 24) being affixed with respect to said proximal end of said anchoring stake such that said anchoring stake is inclined with respect to said top face.
Oliver and Deamud are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Oliver having the top plate as disclosed by Deamud such that, when said top face is horizontal, said distal end of said anchoring stake extends in the nominal line direction. The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip during the retention.
Regarding claim 16, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake comprises a sidewall (sidewall defining cavity as shown in Fig. 2) that defines said shaped cross section as an elongated shape that forms an elongated cavity (internal cavity of 22), said sidewall having at least one outlet opening in fluid communication with said elongated cavity.
Regarding claim 17, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake cross section shape is selected from the group consisting of circular shape, oval shape, rectangular shape, triangular shape, cruciform shape, vee shape, modified vee shape, and polygonal shape (see Figs. 1-6 for configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Oliver teaches said wings (34) have a shape selected from the group consisting of a rectangular shape, a triangular shape, a circular shape, a parabolic shape and a polygonal shape.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver (U.S. Pat. No. 6298611 B1) in view of Deamud (U.S. Pat. No. 3009550) and further in view of Veloskey (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20170198887 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Oliver teaches the step plate removably connected. However, Oliver is silent to disclose said step plate is removably connected to said anchoring stake via a connection device including at least one device selected from the group consisting of clip, hinge, screw, or pin connection.
Veloskey teaches the step plate is removably connected to said anchoring stake via a connection device including at least one device selected from the group consisting of clip, hinge, screw, or pin connection [Veloskey; 0066 & element 14].
Oliver and Veloskey are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the plate of Oliver that is removably connected. The motivation would have been to make the stake of Oliver universal to be used for various application.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver (U.S. Pat. No. 6298611 B1) in view of Gretz (U.S. Pat. No. 6779764 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Oliver teaches a marine anchoring device for attaching to a line connecting to a marine vessel, the anchoring device comprising:
a generally planar top face (at O1 see annotated figure above); an anchoring stake (10 or 20) affixed with respect to said top face so as to extend generally perpendicular thereto, said anchoring stake having a proximal end and a distal end, and comprising a sidewall (sidewall defining inner cavity as shown in Fig. 2) that defines a shaped cross section that forms an elongated cavity (internal cavity of 22), said top face being sized relative to said proximal end so as to extend therebeyond with respect to a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (central vertical axis of 20) of the anchoring stake.
However, Oliver is silent to disclose said sidewall having at least one outlet opening. Gretz teaches the stake comprising a sidewall having at least one outlet opening (Gretz; 32) in fluid communication with said elongated cavity and having an inlet opening (Gretz; 80) in fluid communication with said elongated cavity at least at said distal end.
Oliver and Gretz are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. providing a ground insertable device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the stake of Oliver having outlet as disclosed by Gretz. The motivation would have been to allow attachment of accessories.
Regarding claim 20, Oliver teaches said anchoring stake further comprises a plurality of wings (34) projecting from said anchoring stake so as to extend beyond said shaped cross-section, including at least one pair of opposed wings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631