DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 9-12 and 23-26 in the reply filed on 3 Sep 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 requires that R1 and R1c are each an imidazolium functional group. However, claim 11 depends from claim 10, which requires that R1 and R1c are each a cationic ammonium functional group. For examination purposes, it is assumed that claim 11 was intended to depend from claim 9 instead of claim 10. Claim 12 is similarly rejected as it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 25.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 requires that R1 and R1c are each an imidazolium functional group. However, claim 25 depends from claim 24, which requires that R1 and R1c are each a cationic ammonium functional group. For examination purposes, it is assumed that claim 25 was intended to depend from claim 23 instead of claim 24. Claim 26 is similarly rejected as it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 25.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cathode" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4-12 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 3.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the chemical structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 6-12 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 5.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the chemical structure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 10-12 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 9.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the chemical structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 20-26 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 19.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the chemical structure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 24-26 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11, 17-19, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263).
As to claim 1, Holoubek et al. discloses a low temperature-discharging lithium battery (see e.g. coin cell, pg. 3, para 1) comprising:
a separator (see e.g. polypropylene membrane, Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1); a nickel metal oxide cathode (see e.g. NMC811 cathode, Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1);
a lithium salt (see e.g. LiPF6, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2);
a first solvent, having a low melting point, which is selected from either methyl propionate or butyl propionate (see e.g. MP/FEC (9:1), which comprises methyl propionate (MP) which reads on a first solvent, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2, Table S1, and Fig. S4); and
a second solvent having a high electrochemical stability, which is selected from either fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate (see e.g. MP/FEC (9:1), which comprises fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) which reads on a second solvent having a high electrochemical stability, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2, Table S1, and Fig. S4); and,
wherein the first solvent and the second solvent are present at a volume ratio of (first solvent : second solvent) from (1.0 : 0.01) to (1.0 : 0.3) (see e.g. Holoubek et al.: Fig. S4, MP/FEC (9:1) solvent comprises MP and FEC in a 9:1 ratio by volume. Because the ratio 9:1 is equivalent to (9/9):(1/9) = (1.0:0.11), this corresponds to a 1.0:0.11 by volume ratio, which lies within and thereby anticipates the claimed range of 1.0:0.01 to 1.0:0.3);
wherein the nickel metal oxide cathode comprises an active material consisting of the group selected from NMC811, NMC622, NMC532, a mixed metal nickel-oxide with at least 50 weight % nickel, a mixed metal nickel-oxide with at least 5 weight % manganese and at least 5 weight% cobalt, and an aluminum-doped mixed metal nickel-oxide with at least 50 weight % nickel and at least 5 weight % aluminum (see e.g. NMC811 cathode, Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1).
Further regarding claim 1, Holoubek et al. discloses an anode that is Li metal, and does not disclose a silicon-carbon anode (see e.g. Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1).
Smart et al., also working in the field of low-temperature battery systems, teaches an analogous battery in which the battery may comprise an anode that is Li metal or silicon-carbon (see Smart et al.: [0028]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. by replacing the Li metal anode with a silicon-carbon anode. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution because Smart et al. teaches that Li metal and silicon-carbon are functionally equivalent anode materials for a low-temperature battery.
Further regarding claim 1, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. as applied above does not teach a battery further comprising a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating that coats a liquid electrolyte-solid cathode interfacial surface of the nickel metal-oxide cathode wherein the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises an ionically conducting polymer,
Gin et al., also working in the field of low-temperature battery materials, teaches the use of a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating (see e.g. polymer electrolyte, Gin et al.: [0026]-[0027]. This polymer electrolyte comprises an ionic polymer and a liquid electrolyte and thereby can be considered to be a charge transfer assisting polymer coating) that coats a liquid electrolyte-solid cathode interfacial surface (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0027], the polymer electrolyte can be a film that coats a cathode surface). Gin et al.’s charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises an ionically conducting polymer (see e.g. ionic polymer, Gin et al.: [0027]).
Gin et al. further teaches that this charge transfer-assisting polymer coating exhibits high bulk ion conductivity at ambient and sub-ambient temperatures and retains its ion conductivity longer than traditional Li polymer electrolytes at low temperatures (see e.g. Gin et al. [0025], [0051]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instantly-claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. by adding the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprising an ionically conducting polymer taught by Gin et al. to the coat a liquid electrolyte-solid cathode interfacial surface of the nickel metal-oxide cathode of the battery. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Gin et al. teaches that such a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating exhibits high bulk ion conductivity at ambient and sub-ambient temperatures and retains its ion conductivity longer than traditional Li polymer electrolytes at low temperatures.
Further regarding claim 1, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. and Gin et al. teaches a lithium ion-conducting polymer, and further teach that this polymer forms LLC (lyotropic liquid crystal) phases and comprises hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups that define the interfaces of ordered domains enclosing an immiscible liquid (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]) but the combined references as applied above do not explicitly teach that this lithium ion-conducting polymer is selected from a group consisting of an ammonium-containing polymer, and an imidazolium-containing polymer.
Martin et al. teaches polymers that form LLC phases and conduct ions (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0004]-[0005], teaching that the liquid crystal phase-forming polymerizable surfactants are useful as battery separator materials, which implies they conduct ions) that comprise hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0010] the polymerizable structure shown comprises tail sections X that are hydrophobic due to their aliphatic chains, and headgroups HG that are ionic and therefore hydrophilic). Martin et al.’s ion-conducting polymer is selected from a group consisting of an imidazolium-containing polymer (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0038]-[0039], Scheme 6, and Fig. 1, showing an embodiment with imidazole-derived headgroups that reads on an imidazolium-containing polymer).
Martin et al.’s ion-conducting polymer is made with a simpler process than conventional processes for producing LLC polymers, because it does not require the use of Matteson’s reagent as an intermediate step, which simplifies the synthesis of the polymer (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0007]-[0009]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. and Gin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer with the imidazolium-containing lithium ion-conducting polymer taught by Martin et al.. This is because Martin et al.’s polymer forms LLC phases and comprises hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups, and therefore would be a functional equivalent to the ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. and Gin et al.. Additionally, said artisan would have been motivated to use Martin et al.’s imidazolium-containing lithium ion-conducting polymer because Martin et al. teaches that this polymer can be synthesized via a simplified process that does not require the use of Matteson’s reagent as an intermediate step.
As to claim 2, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 1, wherein the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises a lithium ion-conducting polymer that comprises at least one polymer segment formed by the polymerization of a latent polymerizable diene monomer (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6 and Fig. 1, showing an embodiment of the lithium ion-conducting polymer having a diene-derived segment. See also Illustration 1 below).
Illustration 1: Reproduction with annotation of Scheme 6 of Martin et al..
As to claim 3, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 2, wherein the cathode further comprises an electrically conductive carbon (see e.g. super-P, which reads on an electrically conductive carbon, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 1) and a binder (see e.g. polyvinylidene fluoride, which reads on a binder, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 1).
As to claim 4, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 3, wherein the binder is polyvinylidene fluoride (see e.g. polyvinylidene fluoride, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 1).
As to claim 5, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 9, wherein the latent polymerizable diene monomer comprises the chemical structure R3-R2-R1, wherein R3 is a latent polymerizable diene, R2 is a spacer group and R1 is a cationic headgroup (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 below).
Illustration 2: Reproduction with annotation of Scheme 6 of Martin et al..
As to claim 7, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 5, wherein R1 comprises an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).that further comprises a counter anion selected from the groups consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-).
As to claim 9, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 5, further comprising the chemical structure R3-R2-R1-L-R1c-R2c-R3c wherein R3 and R3c are each a latent polymerizable diene, R2 and R2c are spacer groups, which may be the same spacer group or different spacer groups, R1 and R1c are each a cationic headgroup, and L is a linker group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6 and Illustration 3 below).
Illustration 3: Reproduction with annotation of Scheme 6 of Martin et al..
As to claim 11, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Marrtin teaches the battery of claim 9 (see the claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above), wherein R1 comprises an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).that further comprises a counter anion selected from the groups consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-).
As to claim 17, Holoubek et al. discloses a low temperature-discharGin et al.g lithium battery (see e.g. coin cell, pg. 3, para 1) comprising:
a separator (see e.g. polypropylene membrane, Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1); a nickel metal oxide cathode (see e.g. NMC811 cathode, Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1);
a lithium salt (see e.g. LiPF6, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2);
a first solvent, having a low melting point, which is selected from either methyl propionate or butyl propionate (see e.g. MP/FEC (9:1), which comprises methyl propionate (MP) which reads on a first solvent, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2, Table S1, and Fig. S4); and
a second solvent having a high electrochemical stability, which is selected from either fluoroethylene carbonate or ethylene carbonate (see e.g. MP/FEC (9:1), which comprises fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) which reads on a second solvent having a high electrochemical stability, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2, Table S1, and Fig. S4); and,
wherein the first solvent and the second solvent are presentat a volume ratio of (first solvent : second solvent) from (1.0 : 0.01) to (1.0 : 0.3) (see e.g. Holoubek et al.: Fig. S4, MP/FEC (9:1) solvent comprises MP and FEC in a 9:1 ratio by volume. Because the ratio 9:1 is equivalent to (9/9):(1/9) = (1.0:0.11), this corresponds to a 1.0:0.11 by volume ratio, which lies within and thereby anticipates the claimed range of 1.0:0.01 to 1.0:0.3);
wherein the nickel metal oxide cathode comprises an active material consisting of the group selected from NMC811, NMC622, NMC532, a mixed metal nickel-oxide with at least 50 weight % nickel, a mixed metal nickel-oxide with at least 5 weight % manganese and at least 5 weight% cobalt, and an aluminum-doped mixed metal nickel-oxide with at least 50 weight % nickel and at least 5 weight % aluminum (see e.g. NMC811 cathode, Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1).
Further regarding claim 17, Holoubek et al. discloses an anode that is Li metal, and does not disclose a silicon-carbon anode (see e.g. Holoubek et al.: pg. 3, para 1).
Smart et al., also working in the field of low-temperature battery systems, teaches an analogous battery in which the battery may comprise an anode that is Li metal or silicon-carbon (see Smart et al.: [0028]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. by replacing the Li metal anode with a silicon-carbon anode. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution because Smart et al. teaches that Li metal and silicon-carbon are functionally equivalent anode materials for a low-temperature battery.
Further regarding claim 1, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. as applied above does not teach a battery further comprising a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating that coats a liquid electrolyte-solid anode interfacial surface of the nickel metal-oxide cathode wherein the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises an conically conducting polymer,
Gin et al., also working in the field of low-temperature battery materials, teaches the use of a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating (see e.g. polymer electrolyte, Gin et al.: [0026]-[0027]. This polymer electrolyte comprises an ionic polymer and a liquid electrolyte, and thereby can be considered to be a charge transfer assisting polymer coating) that coats a liquid electrolyte-solid anode interfacial surface (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0027], the polymer electrolyte can be a film that coats a anode surface). Gin et al.’s charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises an ionically conducting polymer (see e.g. ionic polymer, Gin et al.: [0027]).
Gin et al. further teaches that this charge transfer-assisting polymer coating exhibits high bulk ion conductivity at ambient and sub-ambient temperatures, and retains its ion conductivity longer than traditional Li polymer electrolytes at low temperatures (see e.g. Gin et al. [0025], [0051]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instantly-claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. by adding the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprising an ionically conducting polymer taught by Gin et al. to the coat a liquid electrolyte-solid anode interfacial surface of the nickel metal-oxide cathode of the battery. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Gin et al. teaches that such a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating exhibits high bulk ion conductivity at ambient and sub-ambient temperatures and retains its ion conductivity longer than traditional Li polymer electrolytes at low temperatures.
Further regarding claim 1, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. and Gin et al. teach a lithium ion-conducting polymer, and further teach that this polymer forms LLC (lyotropic liquid crystal) phases and comprises hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups that define the interfaces of ordered domains enclosing an immiscible liquid (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]) but the combined references as applied above do not explicitly teach that this lithium ion-conducting polymer is selected from a group consisting of an ammonium-containing polymer, and an imidazolium-containing polymer.
Martin et al. teaches polymers that form LLC phases and conduct ions (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0004]-[0005], teaching that the liquid crystal phase-forming polymerizable surfactants are useful as battery separator materials, which implies they conduct ions) that comprise hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0010] the polymerizable structure shown comprises tail sections X that are hydrophobic due to their aliphatic chains, and headgroups HG that are ionic and therefore hydrophilic). Martin et al.’s ion-conducting polymer is selected from a group consisting of an imidazolium-containing polymer (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0038]-[0039], Scheme 6, and Fig. 1, showing an embodiment with imidazole-derived headgroups that reads on an imidazolium-containing polymer).
Martin et al.’s ion-conducting polymer is made with a simpler process than conventional processes for producing LLC polymers, because it does not require the use of Matteson’s reagent as an intermediate step, which simplifies the synthesis of the polymer (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0007]-[0009]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. and Gin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer with the imidazolium-containing lithium ion-conducting polymer taught by Martin et al.. This is because Martin et al.’s polymer forms LLC phases and comprises hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups, and therefore would be a functional equivalent to the ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al. and Gin et al.. Additionally, said artisan would have been motivated to use Martin et al.’s imidazolium-containing lithium ion-conducting polymer because Martin et al. teaches that this polymer can be synthesized via a simplified process that does not require the use of Matteson’s reagent as an intermediate step.
As to claim 18, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 17, wherein the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises a lithium ion-conducting polymer that comprises at least one polymer segment formed by the polymerization of a latent polymerizable diene monomer (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6 and Fig. 1, showing an embodiment of the lithium ion-conducting polymer having a diene-derived segment. See also Illustration 1 above).
As to claim 19, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 18, wherein the latent polymerizable diene monomer comprises the chemical structure R3-R2-R1, wherein R3 is a latent polymerizable diene, R2 is a spacer group and R1 is a cationic headgroup (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above).
As to claim 21, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 19, wherein R1 comprises an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).that further comprises a counter anion selected from the groups consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-).
As to claim 23, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 19, further comprising the chemical structure R3-R2-R1-L-R1c-R2c-R3c wherein R3 and R3c are each a latent polymerizable diene, R2 and R2c are spacer groups, which may be the same spacer group or different spacer groups, R1 and R1c are each a cationic headgroup, and L is a linker group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6 and Illustration 3 above).
As to claim 25, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Marrtin teaches the battery of claim 23 (see the claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above), wherein R1 comprises an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).that further comprises a counter anion selected from the groups consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045) and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Elliott et al. (US 2004/0211939).
As to claim 6, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 10. However, in Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al.’s lithium ion-conducting polymer comprises a counter anion selected from the group consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-). However, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches that the group R1 that is an imidazolium functional group rather than a cationic ammonium functional group.
Elliott et al., also working in the field of LLC polymers, teaches an analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer having a similar structure with a hydrophobic tail group and a cationic headgroup that comprises an ammonium functional group as one of several possible cationic headgroups (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0056] and Fig. 1A-1D). Elliott et al.’s ion-conducting polymer forms LLC phases (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0057]-[0058]), which is the same function performed by the analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]).
Illustration 3: Reproduction of Fig. 1D of Elliott et al..
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic imidazolium functional group with the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group as taught by Elliott et al.. This is because Elliott et al. teaches that a lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group is a functional equivalent to the polymer taught by Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al., and such a substitution would produce no new benefit or result that would not have been reasonably expected by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (US 2024/0279376).
As to claim 8, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 7, including an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).
However, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. does not teach an imidazolium functional group wherein a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl.
Yoshimura et al., working in the field of polymers for electrochemical devices, teaches an analogous polymer comprising an imidazolium head group, a spacer group, and a tail group (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: Chemical Formula 1 and [0019]). Yoshimura et al. further teaches that alkaline resistance can be imparted to this structure by adding chemically protecting portions to the imidazolium group, including position 2 (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: [0017], [0045], and [0048]). Specifically, Yoshimura et al. teaches the use of hydrocarbon protecting groups comprising 1-6 carbon atoms, which reads on methyl, ethyl, or propyl alkyl pendant moieties (see e.g. R1-R4, Yoshimura et al.: [0019] and [0045]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. by modifying the imidazolium functional group such that a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl in the manner taught by Yoshimura et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Yoshimura et al. teaches that a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl alkyl pendant moiety placed at position 2 of an imidazolium functional group improves the alkaline resistance of said imidazolium group.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Elliott et al. (US 2004/0211939).
As to claim 10, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 9. However, in Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al.’s lithium ion-conducting polymer comprises a counter anion selected from the group consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-). However, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches that the group R1 that is an imidazolium functional group rather than a cationic ammonium functional group.
Elliott et al., also working in the field of LLC polymers, teaches an analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer having a similar structure with a hydrophobic tail group and a cationic headgroup that comprises an ammonium functional group as one of several possible cationic headgroups (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0056] and Fig. 1A-1D). Elliott et al.’s ion-conducting polymer forms LLC phases (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0057]-[0058]), which is the same function performed by the analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic imidazolium functional group with the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group as taught by Elliott et al.. This is because Elliott et al. teaches that a lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group is a functional equivalent to the polymer taught by Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al., and such a substitution would produce no new benefit or result that would not have been reasonably expected by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al.,, Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263), and Elliott et al. (US 2004/0211939) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (US 2024/0279376).
As to claim 12, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., Martin et al., and Elliott et al. teaches the battery of claim 11, including an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).
However, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., Martin et al., and Elliott et al. does not teach an imidazolium functional group wherein a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl.
Yoshimura et al., working in the field of polymers for electrochemical devices, teaches an analogous polymer comprising an imidazolium head group, a spacer group, and a tail group (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: Chemical Formula 1 and [0019]). Yoshimura et al. further teaches that alkaline resistance can be imparted to this structure by adding chemically protecting portions to the imidazolium group, including position 2 (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: [0017], [0045], and [0048]). Specifically, Yoshimura et al. teaches the use of hydrocarbon protecting groups comprising 1-6 carbon atoms, which reads on methyl, ethyl, or propyl alkyl pendant moieties (see e.g. R1-R4, Yoshimura et al.: [0019] and [0045]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., Martin et al., and Elliott et al. by modifying the imidazolium functional group such that a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl in the manner taught by Yoshimura et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Yoshimura et al. teaches that a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl alkyl pendant moiety placed at position 2 of an imidazolium functional group improves the alkaline resistance of said imidazolium group.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045) and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Elliott et al. (US 2004/0211939).
As to claim 20, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 19. However, in Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al.’s lithium ion-conducting polymer comprises a counter anion selected from the group consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-). However, Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. teaches that the group R1 that is an imidazolium functional group rather than a cationic ammonium functional group.
Elliott et al., also working in the field of LLC polymers, teaches an analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer having a similar structure with a hydrophobic tail group and a cationic headgroup that comprises an ammonium functional group as one of several possible cationic headgroups (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0056] and Fig. 1A-1D). Elliott et al.’s ion-conducting polymer forms LLC phases (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0057]-[0058]), which is the same function performed by the analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic imidazolium functional group with the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group as taught by Elliott et al.. This is because Elliott et al. teaches that a lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group is a functional equivalent to the polymer taught by Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al., and such a substitution would produce no new benefit or result that would not have been reasonably expected by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al.,, Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (US 2024/0279376).
As to claim 22, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 21, including an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).
However, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. does not teach an imidazolium functional group wherein a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl.
Yoshimura et al., working in the field of polymers for electrochemical devices, teaches an analogous polymer comprising an imidazolium head group, a spacer group, and a tail group (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: Chemical Formula 1 and [0019]). Yoshimura et al. further teaches that alkaline resistance can be imparted to this structure by adding chemically protecting portions to the imidazolium group, including position 2 (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: [0017], [0045], and [0048]). Specifically, Yoshimura et al. teaches the use of hydrocarbon protecting groups comprising 1-6 carbon atoms, which reads on methyl, ethyl, or propyl alkyl pendant moieties (see e.g. R1-R4, Yoshimura et al.: [0019] and [0045]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. by modifying the imidazolium functional group such that a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl in the manner taught by Yoshimura et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Yoshimura et al. teaches that a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl alkyl pendant moiety placed at position 2 of an imidazolium functional group improves the alkaline resistance of said imidazolium group.
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Elliott et al. (US 2004/0211939).
As to claim 24, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 23. However, in Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al.’s lithium ion-conducting polymer comprises a counter anion selected from the group consisting of a bromide, a chloride, an iodide, a PF6-, a Tf2N-, a BF4- and an FSI- (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the counter anion is a bromide Br-). However, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches that the group R1 that is an imidazolium functional group rather than a cationic ammonium functional group.
Elliott et al., also working in the field of LLC polymers, teaches an analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer having a similar structure with a hydrophobic tail group and a cationic headgroup that comprises an ammonium functional group as one of several possible cationic headgroups (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0056] and Fig. 1A-1D). Elliott et al.’s ion-conducting polymer forms LLC phases (see e.g. Elliott et al.: [0057]-[0058]), which is the same function performed by the analogous lithium ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic imidazolium functional group with the lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group as taught by Elliott et al.. This is because Elliott et al. teaches that a lithium ion-conducting polymer comprising a cationic ammonium functional group is a functional equivalent to the polymer taught by Holoubek et al. in view of Smart et al., Gin et al., and Martin et al., and such a substitution would produce no new benefit or result that would not have been reasonably expected by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Smart et al. (US 2012/0007560), Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (US 2024/0279376).
As to claim 26, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. teaches the battery of claim 25, including an imidazolium functional group (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above, the R1 functional group comprises an imidazolium functional group).
However, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. does not teach an imidazolium functional group wherein a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl.
Yoshimura et al., working in the field of polymers for electrochemical devices, teaches an analogous polymer comprising an imidazolium head group, a spacer group, and a tail group (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: Chemical Formula 1 and [0019]). Yoshimura et al. further teaches that alkaline resistance can be imparted to this structure by adding chemically protecting portions to the imidazolium group, including position 2 (see e.g. Yoshimura et al.: [0017], [0045], and [0048]). Specifically, Yoshimura et al. teaches the use of hydrocarbon protecting groups comprising 1-6 carbon atoms, which reads on methyl, ethyl, or propyl alkyl pendant moieties (see e.g. R1-R4, Yoshimura et al.: [0019] and [0045]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. and Martin et al. by modifying the imidazolium functional group such that a carbon atom in position 2 of the imidazolium functional group is alkyl substituted with an alkyl pendant moiety selected from the group consisting of a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl in the manner taught by Yoshimura et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Yoshimura et al. teaches that a methyl, an ethyl, or a propyl alkyl pendant moiety placed at position 2 of an imidazolium functional group improves the alkaline resistance of said imidazolium group.
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (Holoubek et al., Supporting Information for ACS Energy Letters 5.5 (2020): 1438-1447) in view of Gin et al. (US 2012/0129045), and Martin et al. (WO 2020/014263).
As to claim 31, Holoubek et al. discloses a low-temperature battery electrolyte comprising:
methyl propionate or butyl propionate (see e.g. MP/FEC (9:1), which comprises methyl propionate (MP) which reads on an electrolyte, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2, Table S1, and Fig. S4);
fluoroethylene carbonate (see e.g. MP/FEC (9:1), which comprises fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) which reads on a second solvent having a high electrochemical stability, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2, Table S1, and Fig. S4);
a lithium salt (see e.g. LiPF6, Holoubek et al.: pg. 1, para 2).
Holoubek et al. does not disclose a latent polymerizable diene monomer that comprises the chemical structure: R3 R₂ R₁ wherein R₃ is a latent polymerizable diene, R₂ is a spacer group and R₁ is a cationic headgroup.
Gin et al., also working in the field of low-temperature battery materials, teaches the use of a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating (see e.g. polymer electrolyte, Gin et al.: [0026]-[0027]. This polymer electrolyte comprises an ionic polymer and a liquid electrolyte, and thereby can be considered to be a charge transfer assisting polymer coating) that coats a liquid electrolyte-solid cathode interfacial surface (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0027], the polymer electrolyte can be a film that coats a cathode surface). Gin et al.’s charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprises an ionically conducting polymer (see e.g. ionic polymer, Gin et al.: [0027]).
Gin et al. further teaches that this charge transfer-assisting polymer coating exhibits high bulk ion conductivity at ambient and sub-ambient temperatures, and retains its ion conductivity longer than traditional Li polymer electrolytes at low temperatures (see e.g. Gin et al. [0025], [0051]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instantly-claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. by adding the charge transfer-assisting polymer coating comprising an ionically conducting polymer taught by Gin et al. to the coat a liquid electrolyte-solid cathode interfacial surface of the nickel metal-oxide cathode of the battery. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Gin et al. teaches that such a charge transfer-assisting polymer coating exhibits high bulk ion conductivity at ambient and sub-ambient temperatures and retains its ion conductivity longer than traditional Li polymer electrolytes at low temperatures.
Further regarding claim 1, Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. teaches a lithium ion-conducting polymer, and further teach that this polymer forms LLC (lyotropic liquid crystal) phases and comprises hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups that define the interfaces of ordered domains enclosing an immiscible liquid (see e.g. Gin et al.: [0034] and [0053]) but the combined references as applied above do not explicitly teach a latent polymerizable diene monomer that comprises the chemical structure: R3 R₂ R₁ wherein R₃ is a latent polymerizable diene, R₂ is a spacer group and R₁ is a cationic headgroup.
Martin et al. teaches polymers that form LLC phases and conduct ions (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0004]-[0005], teaching that the liquid crystal phase-forming polymerizable surfactants are useful as battery separator materials, which implies they conduct ions) that comprise hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0010] the polymerizable structure shown comprises tail sections X that are hydrophobic due to their aliphatic chains, and headgroups HG that are ionic and therefore hydrophilic). Martin et al.’s ion-conducting polymer is selected from a group consisting of an imidazolium-containing polymer (see e.g. Martin et al.: [0038]-[0039], Scheme 6, and Fig. 1, showing an embodiment with imidazole-derived headgroups that reads on an imidazolium-containing polymer). Further, Martin et al.’s ion-conducting polymer comprises a lithium ion-conducting polymer that comprises at least one polymer segment formed by the polymerization of a latent polymerizable diene monomer wherein the latent polymerizable diene monomer comprises the chemical structure R3-R2-R1, wherein R3 is a latent polymerizable diene, R2 is a spacer group and R1 is a cationic headgroup (see e.g. Martin et al.: Scheme 6, Fig. 1, and Illustration 2 above).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al. by replacing the lithium ion-conducting polymer with the imidazolium-containing lithium ion-conducting polymer that comprises at least one polymer segment formed by the polymerization of a latent polymerizable diene monomer wherein the latent polymerizable diene monomer comprises the chemical structure R3-R2-R1, wherein R3 is a latent polymerizable diene, R2 is a spacer group and R1 is a cationic headgroup, as taught by Martin et al.. This is because Martin et al.’s polymer forms LLC phases and comprises hydrophobic tail sections and hydrophilic headgroups, and therefore would be a functional equivalent to the ion-conducting polymer of Holoubek et al. in view of Gin et al.. Additionally, said artisan would have been motivated to use Martin et al.’s imidazolium-containing lithium ion-conducting polymer because Martin et al. teaches that this polymer can be synthesized via a simplified process that does not require the use of Matteson’s reagent as an intermediate step.
Conclusion
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723