Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 29th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 10 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1 of Application No. 18/649,034. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/649,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 is anticipated by claim 1. The only variance in these claims is the inclusion of functional language for the “second micro-robot” in claim 10 including the limitation of “configured to apply eyelashes”. Claim 10 further depends upon a base claim directed to “an eyelash dispenser” being an overall system including the two micro-robots with their respective components. Examiner notes because the structure and function of the system comprising the two micro-robots are exactly the same, claim 10 of the instant application is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of claim 1 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/649,034. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harding et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0235847 A1), herein “Harding”.
Regarding Claim 1, Harding discloses an eyelash dispenser (See 0006, “[…] a machine and method which aid in the application of eyelash extensions by a robotic mechanism.”) comprising:
one or more micro-robots (See 0087, “[…] provide two robots […]”); and
one or more single eyelashes, eyelash clusters, or a combination thereof, wherein each micro-robot of the one or more micro-robots is configured to carry and apply a single eyelash or an eyelash cluster (See 0087, “[…] provide two robots, one orienting a first set of tweezers for isolating an eyelash and the second robot orienting a second set of tweezers for placing an extension. In the case where the two robots are both six axis arms, the arrangement is roughly analogous to a human doing eyelash extension with each of their two arms controlling a set of tweezers.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Harding further discloses the dispenser of Claim 1, wherein each micro-robot of the one or more micro-robots comprises a plurality of magnets (See 0079, “[…] eyelash isolator mechanism 254 is implemented as a four-bar linkage as shown here, an optical or magnetic encoder can be put on one of the joints of the linkage to detect motion continuously […] a magnetic or inductive proximity sensor can be used to detect the approach of the bars as the mechanism is moved. One skilled in the art of automated equipment design will note that there are many ways in which this can be accomplished.” Examiner notes magnetic encoders contain magnets as the key portion of their sensing elements).
Regarding Claim 7, Harding further discloses the dispenser of Claim 1, wherein the one or more micro-robots further comprise an applicator (See 0074, “[…] robotic mechanism 219 were holding a tool such as a nail polish applicator in tweezers […]”).
Regarding Claim 9, Harding further discloses the dispenser of Claim 7, wherein the applicator is a double pronged applicator (See 0074 as referenced above. See also 0136, “[…] either tweezers or a double probe as described above can be positioned exactly around this single eyelash […]”).
Regarding Claim 12, Harding further discloses the dispenser of Claim 1, wherein the one or more eyelashes or eyelash clusters comprise an eyelash glue (See 0108, “Glue 714 is shown schematically as a drop between each eyelash and extension 715, which is at a proper extension angle […]” See also 0135, “[…] the robot can be configured to glue some extensions specifically in clusters.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The available prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest in combination the specific structural components comprising the claimed eyelash dispenser. The eyelash dispenser system comprising multiple micro-robotic mechanisms for housing eyelashes in slots, drum pods preloaded with eyelashes, the chemical makeup and arrangement of the magnets disposed on each robot, and the separation arm for further mechanical manipulation of the front micro-robot in particular are novel improvements over other systems for dispensing and applying eyelashes or any other makeup product(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pelrine et al. (US Patent No. 9,647,523 B2), which is directed towards automated robotic placement of extensions and associated robotic end effectors.
Dewey et al. (US Patent No. 12,127,617 B2) which is directed towards eyelash clusters and artificial lash arrangements.
/BRYANT TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658