DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7: “into the roller .” should read “into the roller.” to remove the extra space after “roller”.
Claim 6, line 2: “and rotatable together” should read “and is rotatable together” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “air injection member” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomba & Gloerfeld (EP 2329806 A1; hereinafter “Lomba”) in view of Hall et al. (US 20120310125 A1; hereinafter “Hall”).
Regarding claim 1, Lomba discloses a roller assembly for massage (Fig. 4; [0024], see provided translation), the roller assembly comprising:
a roller (2; Fig 4) having one side surface (outer-most surface of 8; Fig. 4; [0034], see provided translation) coupled to a first frame (6; Fig. 4), and another side surface (outer-most surface of 7; Fig. 4; [0034], see provided translation) coupled to a second frame (5; Fig. 4); and
an air injection member (8,12; Fig. 4) tightly attached to the first frame ([0034], lines 5-6, see provided translation) and having an air injection part (17; Fig. 4) disposed at an outer side of the air injection member (see Fig. 4; fourth sentence of [0036], see provided translation), the air injection part being configured to receive air therethrough to inject the air into the roller ([0036], lines 12-14, see provided translation).
While Lomba further discloses the use of known rolling or sliding bearings to realize the rotational movement of the pressure element (2) relative to the handle element (3; Fig. 3; [0031], see provided translation), Lomba fails to explicitly disclose a central shaft penetrating a center of the roller.
However, Hall teaches an analogous roller massage tool (Fig. 2; Abstract; [0014]) with an inner shaft (202; Fig. 2) that extends through an inflatable roller (102; Fig. 2; [0014]) and connects to two end caps (206; Fig. 2) on each end of the inflatable roller (see Fig. 2), where the two end caps (206) act as bearing to facilitate the rotation of the inflatable roller (102) about the inner shaft ([0028]; [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pressure element, taught by Lomba, with the two end caps, taught by Hall above, as two bearings on either end of the pressure element (7 and 8 respectively; Fig. 4) connected to the inner shaft, as taught by Hall above (Hall Fig. 2) to provide a smooth rotational movement of the pressure element (2) relative to the handle element (3; [0031], see provided translation; Hall [0028] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the air injection member (8,12) has therein an air injection chamber configured to communicate with an inside of the roller (chamber formed in 8 and 12 containing 17, see Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 4, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2, wherein the first frame has an air hole, and the air hole is configured to communicate with the air injection chamber and the inside of the roller (see Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 5, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the air injection part (17) has a nipple (part of 17 extending out of 8, see Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 6, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the air injection member (8, 12) is fixedly coupled to the central shaft (8 and 12 coupled to Hall 202 by one of Hall 206, see claim 1 above) and rotatable together with the central shaft ([0031], see provided translation; Hall [0028] and [0041]; see claim 1 above), and wherein the roller (2) is rotatable about the central shaft together with the first frame and the second frame ([0031], see provided translation; Hall [0028] and [0041]; see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first frame (6) has an outer wheel portion (see Annotated Fig. 4 below), and the outer wheel portion surrounds an outer-diameter portion of the air injection member (8,12; see Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 8, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the roller has a rubber-based material ([0025], see provided translation).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomba (EP 2329806 A1) in view of Hall (US 20120310125 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and supported by Velling (Velling, Andreas. “Types of Bearings.” Fractory, 22 Sept. 2020. Internet Archive, https://web.archive.org/web/20200922163249/https://fractory.com/types-of-bearings/.).
Regarding claim 3, Lomba as modified teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the roller and the first frame are connected by a fixing bead.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the two bearings taught by Hall (Hall 206, see claim 1 above) as ball bearing, as ball bearings are one of the most common types of bearing classes (Velling pg. 4). Hence, the roller (2) and the first frame (6) are connected by the rolling elements, or bearing balls, of the ball bearing (Hall 206) to ensure a smooth rotation of the pressure element (2) while decreasing friction during rotation (Velling pg. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al. (CN 211835292 U): Regarding a massage wheel with an inflatable air bag within the wheel to facilitate a massage.
Ruan et al. (CN 218012611 U): Regarding a roller with an inflatable air bag within the roller, and an air pump for said air bag fixed to a connecting plate at an end of the roller.
/ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785