DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5 September 25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 6, the claim recites the limitation “aqueous solution”. However, claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends, already introduces the limitation of “an aqueous solution”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 6 intends to refer back to that of claim 1 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0079540 A1 to Bocarsly et al. (Bocarsly) in view of In Situ Carbon Encapsulation Confined Nickel-Doped Indium Oxide Nanocrystals for Boosting CO2 Electroreduction to the Industrial Level to Chen et al. (Chen).
As to claims 1, 3, 4, 5 and 9, Bocarsly teaches a system for reducing carbon dioxide to oxalate comprising an aqueous solution comprising KCl, an inorganic salt, and carbon dioxide, into which a plurality of separated electrodes are immersed, a working electrode and a counter electrode, the working electrode comprising Cr2O3:Ga2O3 in a 3:1 ratio (thus x=3), and thus a container of some sort for holding the aqueous solution and the plurality of electrodes. The electrodes supplied with a potential of 1.38 V, and thus comprising a circuitry of some sort configured for applying this voltage to the electrodes (Paragraphs 0050-0054).
However, Bocarsly fails to further teach that the working electrode is metal enhanced. However, Chen also discusses selective metal oxide catalysts for carbon dioxide reduction and teaches that by doping these catalysts with nickel the adsorption capacity of the catalysts for carbon dioxide molecules and reaction intermediates is enhanced (Section 1. Introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to nickel dope the oxide electrode of Bocarsly in order to enhance the adsorption capacity of the catalysts for carbon dioxide molecules and reaction intermediates as taught by Chen, thus a copper free electrode.
As to claims 6, 7 and 8, the combination of Bocarsly and Chen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Bocarsly further teaches that the aqueous solution comprises a pH adjustor for a target pH of, for example, 5.1 (Paragraph 0054).
Claims 1, 2, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of US 2019/0085477 to Ono et al. (Ono).
As to claims 1, 2, 3 and 9, Chen teaches a system for reducing carbon dioxide to a product, the system comprising a container (cell), an aqueous solution within the container, the aqueous solution comprising a potassium hydroxide electrolyte and carbon dioxide, a plurality of electrodes, a cathode and an anode, separated by a salt bride, anion exchange membrane, the cathode comprising a nickel doped indium oxide (thus copper free), a potential of, for example, 0.9V applied to the electrodes, thus a circuitry of some sort configured to provide a voltage to the plurality of electrodes (Section 1. Introduction; Section 2.7 Electrochemical Experiments in the Flow Cell).
However, Chen teaches that the electrolyte comprises potassium hydroxide, thus failing to teach an inorganic salt. However, Ono also discusses electrolytic carbon dioxide reduction and teaches that, for example, potassium chloride, an inorganic salt, is a known equivalent to potassium hydroxide (Paragraph 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the potassium hydroxide with potassium chloride as a known equivalent as taught by Ono (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Enhanced activity of β-Ga2O3 by substitution with transition metal for CO2 photoreduction under visible light irradiation to Li et al. – specifically doping gallium oxide with nickel.
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794