DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed July 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 10, 11 and 22 have been cancelled. Claim 30 is new. Claims 1-9, 21 and 23-30 are pending.
The previous rejections of claims 1 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and claims 1-9 and 21-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwano et al. (US 5,591,471) are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed July 10, 2026.
This office action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (WO 2021/029103 – Clarivate Analytics group translation).
Regarding claims 1-8, 21, 23-28 and 30, Ryu discloses a puffed and fermented food composition (i.e., swollen composition) comprising an edible plant material and satisfies all of the following requirements: (a) contains 3 mass% or more of insoluble dietary fiber; (b) contains 5 mass% or more of starch; (c) contains 4 mass% or more of protein (Abstract). Ryu discloses the puffed food composition has a water content of less than 20% by mass (i.e., about 25% by mass moisture on a dry basis -Extruder). Ryu et al. disclose the puffed and fermented food composition is made from a fermented dough (i.e., adding yeast to the dough for fermentation-Manufacturing method of swollen food composition).
Ryu et al. disclose examples of edible plants include, but are not limited to cereals, potatoes, beans, nuts and seed, vegetables, fruits and mushrooms (Edible Plants).
Given Ryu discloses a puffed and fermented food composition (i.e., swollen composition) comprising the claimed components, inherently the composition would satisfy conditions (4) and (5) of claims 1-5 (MPEP 2112).
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claims 9 and 29, Ryu et al. disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ryu et al. disclose the composition comprising an edible plant material contains 5 mass% or more of starch. The references does not disclose additional sources of starch. Therefore, the puffed and fermented food composition would comprise a ratio of starch content contained in the pulse/and or cereal to a total starch content of the puffed and fermented food composition of 100 mass% which overlaps the claimed range of 10% mass or more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-9 and 21-29 under 25 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwano et al. (US 5,591471) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ryu (WO 2021/029103 – Clarivate Analytics group translation).
Conclusion
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759