DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, particularly the application of the Carley reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7,12-15,18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dods (US Pat. 10,972,508) in view of Keller et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0098561), hereafter, “Keller,” and Carley (US Pub. No. 2008/0072291).
As to claim 1, Dods discloses a method of managing security for an endpoint device, the method comprising:
making, by a management controller of the endpoint device that operates as a separate and independent computing device from the endpoint device, an identification that an intrusion event has occurred for the endpoint device (column 3, lines 17-45; particularly, “In some implementations, malicious behavior, such as a cyberattack, malware, and/or the like, may be caused by a bad actor (e.g., a network intruder) based on compromising one of the endpoint devices (e.g., a compromised endpoint device). In some implementations, one or more network devices may identify the malicious behavior. As further shown in FIG. 1A, and by reference number 105, the security platform may receive, from the one or more network devices, information identifying the malicious behavior by the compromised endpoint device associated with the network.”)
performing, by the management controller, a forensic analysis of the intrusion event to obtain a forensic report, the forensic report indicating an impact of the intrusion event on hardware components of the endpoint device, and the forensic analysis being performed, at least in part, by snooping communication (column 4, line 47-column 5, line 14, particularly, “As shown in FIG. 1D, and by reference number 125, the security platform may process the traffic associated with the compromised endpoint device, the endpoint device information, and the network device information, with a machine learning model, to generate a security policy to isolate the malicious behavior.”); and
performing, by the management controller and based on a policy keyed at least a portion of the forensic report, an action set to remediate an impact of the intrusion event on the hardware components of the endpoint device (column 4, line 47-column 5, line 14, particularly, “As shown in FIG. 1D, and by reference number 125, the security platform may process the traffic associated with the compromised endpoint device, the endpoint device information, and the network device information, with a machine learning model, to generate a security policy to isolate the malicious behavior.”).
However, Dods does not explicitly disclose the forensic analysis being performed, at least in part, by snooping communication between the hardware components of the endpoint device.
But, Keller discloses a forensic report indicating an impact of an intrusion event on hardware components of the endpoint device the forensic analysis being performed, at least in part, by snooping communication between the hardware components of the endpoint device (Fig. 4 and [0057], particularly, “Many exemplary embodiments operate by analyzing the unintended or intended emissions of a microelectronic device, phenomenology that is causally dependent on its internal circuitry and programming. Malicious circuitry resulting from hardware or software modifications such as hardware Trojans emit well-defined signatures that are detected by identifying characteristic signature elements associated with altered or additional functionality inserted into the IC.” See also, [0163])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Dods and Keller in order to be able to more closely monitor the operations of entities in a network so as to provide a higher level of security.
But, Dods and Keller do not explicitly disclose the management controller is physically installed within the endpoint device and still operates as a separate and independent computing device from the endpoint device.
However, Carley discloses making, by a management controller that is physically installed within the endpoint device and that operates as a separate and independent computing device from the endpoint device, an identification that an intrusion event has occurred for the endpoint device (Fig. 2, [0027]-[0029], [0042], particularly, “A primary function of the SMACC is to provide for the separation of management data from user data both within the device being managed and while the management information is in transit. Within the device, the SMACC sets up a separate processor for receiving management information and interacting with the control functions of the device.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Dods and Keller with Carley in order to provide for the secure management of devices without requiring additional devices taking up additional rack space by embedding the necessary hardware and software for secure management of the device in the device to be managed (Carley, [0016]).
As to claims 12 and 17, they are rejected by a similar rationale by that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claims 2, 13, and 18, the teachings of Dods, Keller, and Carley as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose making the identification that an intrusion event has occurred comprises obtaining, by the management controller, an intrusion alert from a tamper detection device of the endpoint device (Keller, [0163]).
As to claims 3, 14, and 19, the teachings of Dods, Keller, and Carley as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the tamper detection device comprises at least one device selected from a list of devices consisting of: an intrusion detector (Keller, [0163]-[0164); a general-purpose input/output (GPIO) tamper detector; and a serial communication tamper detector.
As to claim 6, the teachings of Dods, Keller, and Carley as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose providing, by the management controller and via an out of band communication channel, the forensic report to a remote server (Fig. 4 and Carley, [0050]).
As to claim 7, the teachings of Dods, Keller, and Carley as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose performing the action set comprises: providing, by the management controller, the forensic report to a startup management entity of the endpoint device to cause the startup management entity to revert impact of the intrusion event on the hardware components (Keller, [0057]).
Claims 4, 5, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dods, Keller, and Carley in view of Malinowski et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0378103), hereafter, “Malinowski.”
As to claims 4 and 16, the teachings of Dods and Keller disclose the parent claim but do not disclose the forensic report comprises: an identifier for a first hardware component of the hardware components impacted by the intrusion event; and a list of identified modifications made to the first hardware component during the intrusion event, the list being based at least in part on the snooped communications.
However, Malinowski discloses a forensic report comprises: an identifier for a first hardware component of the hardware components impacted by the intrusion event; and a list of identified modifications made to the first hardware component during the intrusion event, the list being based at least in part on the snooped communications (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014], and [0050]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Dods and Keller with Malinowski in order provide more information to users so as they can more easily diagnosis and mange their respective systems.
As to claims 5 and 16, the teachings of Dods, Keller, Carley, and Malinowski as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 4’s rejection further disclose performing the action set comprises at least one action selected from a list of actions consisting of: disabling the first hardware component; depowering the first hardware component; and reversing the identified modifications (Keller, [0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458