DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/649,302 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader because they do not specify the silicon-based coating or that the components are separated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the specific silicon-based coating of the copending claims would fall within the broadly disclosed silicon-based coating of the present claims and thereby one would arrive at the present invention from the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "each layer of the two or more layers" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim given that claim 8 depends from claim 1 which merely recites a coating. For purposes of this office action, claims 8 will be interpreted as “wherein the coating has a uniform composition along a length of the fluid passageway”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawes et al. (US 2005/0077222).
In regard to claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, and 10, Dawes discloses a liquid chromatography system that includes a separation column having an internal bore and an end fitting assembly (abstract). The separation column is preferably a micro capillary or nano liquid chromatography column ([0026]), also a metal frit and a metal sheath (i.e. providing a liquid chromatography system; having a fluid passageway; wherein the fluid passageway comprises a column) ([0017]-[0018]). The separation column is preferably made of glass lined metal tubing (i.e. a liquid chromatography system having a fluid passageway comprising an interior surface coated with a uniformly thick silicon-based coating; coating includes a material selected from SiO2)([0026]).
Dawes discloses that liquid chromatography systems force a liquid phase through the separation column with a sample to be analyzed and the effluent of the column are carried to a detection system used to measure and quantitate the separated components (i.e. a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through the coated fluid passageway)([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any material disclosed for the separation column, including glass lined metal tubing and to use the separation column for its intended purpose to provide a liquid chromatography process for analyzing samples and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
While there is no specific disclosure that the glass is uniformly thick, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to use a glass lining that is uniform in thickness along the length of the coated passageway so that the liquid chromatography column would have a steady and even flow of the sample therethrough.
Regarding claim 4, given that glass is generally considered to be an amorphous material, it is the examiner’s position that the coating is amorphous.
Regarding claim 6, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to use two layers of glass on the column because this would merely amount to duplicating parts. It is noted that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Regarding claim 8, given that the glass liner is the same composition throughout and does not vary in composition, it is intrinsically uniform in composition along the length of the coated passageway.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawes et al. (US 2005/0077222) in view of Smith et al. (US 2012/0251797).
In regard to claims 1-10, Dawes discloses a liquid chromatography system that includes a separation column having an internal bore and an end fitting assembly (abstract). The separation column is preferably a micro capillary or nano liquid chromatography column ([0026]), also a metal frit and a metal sheath (i.e. providing a liquid chromatography system; having a fluid passageway; wherein the fluid passageway comprises a column)([0017]-[0018]). The separation column is preferably made of glass lined metal tubing (i.e. having a fluid passageway; wherein the fluid passageway comprises a column)([0026]).
Dawes discloses that liquid chromatography systems force a liquid phase through the separation column with a sample to be analyzed and the effluent of the column are carried to a detection system used to measure and quantitate the separated components (i.e. a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through the coated fluid passageway)([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the separation column for its intended purpose to provide a liquid chromatography process for analyzing samples and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Dawes is silent with regard to the fluid passageway having an inert coating comprising a silicon species including a material selected from the group consisting of SiO2, SiC, Si3N4, SiOxCy, SiOxNy, SiCxHy or mixtures thereof.
Smith discloses a chemical vapor deposition coating that is inert (abstract, [0033]). The method includes thermal decomposition of dimethylsilane to achieve desired surface properties ([abstract]). The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. silicon-based coating; SiC, SiOxCy, SiCxHy; wherein the coating comprises a SiOxCy species)([0047]). It is noted that there is additionally a diffusion layer 108 and a functionalized layer 110 ([0038]-[0039]). The coating is formed on any suitable substrate ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the metal tubing of Dawes before the application of glass motivated by the expectation of forming a separation column that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]). Alternatively, it is noted that the coating could be applied to the glass layer. Alternatively, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the entirety of the metal sheath of Dawes motivated by the expectation of forming a sheath that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]).
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the metal sheath of Dawes motivated by the expectation of forming a sheath that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]).
While there is no specific disclosure that the coating is substantially uniform along a length of the coated passageway, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to use a coating that is substantially uniform in thickness so that the liquid chromatography column would have a steady and even flow of the sample therethrough. Further, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to coat the coating uniformly in thickness along the length of the column to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claims 3-4, The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. SiOxCy)(Smith [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, the coating is amorphous (Smith [0038],[0047]).
Regarding claim 5, the coating comprises an amorphous array of Si-C bonds (Smith [0038]).
Regarding claim 6-7, the glass layer could be considered the second layer comprising a silicon-based species. Alternatively, the functionalized surface layer and the layer beneath the functionalized layer could be considered the two layers comprising a silicon-based species (i.e. two or more layers each comprising a silicon-based species; different silicon species).
Regarding claim 8, given that the coating is the same composition vapor deposited on the surface and not formed by different compositions in different positions on the surface, it is the examiner’s position that it would be uniform in composition and also it would have been obvious to coat the coating uniformly in structure and composition along the length of the column to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claim 9, modified Dawes discloses that the coating has thickness of between about 0.1 micrometers to about 3.0 micrometers (i.e. overlapping about 10 nm to about 5 µm)([Smith 0038]).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (US 2002/0176800 A1) in view of Dawes et al. (US 2005/0077222) and Smith et al. (US 2012/0251797).
In regard to claims 1-10, Henry discloses a liquid chromatography system that includes a separation column having an internal bore and an end fitting assemblies, wherein the liquid chromatography column comprises metal, stainless steel and end-fittings containing frits that may be stainless steel (i.e. providing a liquid chromatography system having a fluid passageway; comprises a column) (abstract, [0022], claim 6, [0057]).
Henry does not specifically disclose a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through a coated fluid passageway.
Dawes discloses that liquid chromatography systems force a liquid phase through the separation column with a sample to be analyzed and the effluent of the column are carried to a detection system used to measure and quantitate the separated components (i.e. a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through the coated fluid passageway)([0003]).
Henry and Dawes are analogous art because they both teach about chromatography systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the liquid chromatography system of Henry for its intended purpose as taught by Dawes to provide a liquid chromatography process for analyzing samples and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Henry is silent with regard to the fluid passageway having a silicon-based coating, the coating including a material selected from the group consisting of SiO2, SiC, Si3N4, SiOxCy, SiOxNy, SiCxHy or mixtures thereof.
Smith discloses a chemical vapor deposition coating that is inert (abstract, [0033]). The method includes thermal decomposition of dimethylsilane to achieve desired surface properties ([abstract]). The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. SiC, SiOxCy, SiCxHy)([0047]). It is noted that there is additionally a diffusion layer 108 and a functionalized layer 110 ([0038]-[0039]). The coating is formed on any suitable substrate ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the entirety of metal tubing (including the interior surface) of Henry motivated by the expectation of forming a separation column that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]).
While there is no specific disclosure that the coating is substantially uniform along a length of the coated passageway, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to use a coating that is substantially uniform in thickness so that the liquid chromatography column would have a steady and even flow of the sample therethrough. Further, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to coat the coating uniformly in thickness along the length of the column to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claims 3-4, The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. SiOxCy)(Smith [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, the coating is amorphous (Smith [0038],[0047]).
Regarding claim 5, the coating comprises an amorphous array of Si-C bonds (Smith [0038]).
Regarding claim 6-7, the glass layer could be considered the second layer comprising a silicon-based species. Alternatively, the functionalized surface layer and the layer beneath the functionalized layer could be considered the two layers comprising a silicon-based species (i.e. two or more layers each comprising a silicon-based species; different silicon species).
Regarding claim 8, given that the coating is the same composition vapor deposited on the surface and not formed by different compositions in different positions on the surface, it is the examiner’s position that it would be uniform in composition and also it would have been obvious to coat the coating uniformly in structure and composition along the length of the column to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claim 9, modified Dawes discloses that the coating has thickness of between about 0.1 micrometers to about 3.0 micrometers (i.e. overlapping about 10 nm to about 5 µm)([Smith 0038]).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawes et al. (US 2005/0077222) in view of Smith et al. (US 2012/0251797) and Ackermann et al. (US 5,059,231).
In regard to claims 1-10, Dawes discloses a liquid chromatography system that includes a separation column having an internal bore and an end fitting assembly (abstract). The separation column is preferably a micro capillary or nano liquid chromatography column ([0026]), also a metal frit and a metal sheath (i.e. providing a liquid chromatography system; having a fluid passageway; wherein the fluid passageway comprises a column)([0017]-[0018]). The separation column is preferably made of glass lined metal tubing (i.e. having a fluid passageway; wherein the fluid passageway comprises a column)([0026]).
Dawes discloses that liquid chromatography systems force a liquid phase through the separation column with a sample to be analyzed and the effluent of the column are carried to a detection system used to measure and quantitate the separated components (i.e. a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through the coated fluid passageway)([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the separation column for its intended purpose to provide a liquid chromatography process for analyzing samples and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Dawes is silent with regard to the fluid passageway having an inert coating comprising a silicon species including a material selected from the group consisting of SiO2, SiC, Si3N4, SiOxCy, SiOxNy, SiCxHy or mixtures thereof.
Smith discloses a chemical vapor deposition coating that is inert (abstract, [0033]). The method includes thermal decomposition of dimethylsilane to achieve desired surface properties ([abstract]). The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. silicon-based coating; SiC, SiOxCy, SiCxHy; wherein the coating comprises a SiOxCy species)([0047]). It is noted that there is additionally a diffusion layer 108 and a functionalized layer 110 ([0038]-[0039]). The coating is formed on any suitable substrate ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the metal tubing of Dawes before the application of glass motivated by the expectation of forming a separation column that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]). Alternatively, it is noted that the coating could be applied to the glass layer. Alternatively, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the entirety of the metal sheath of Dawes motivated by the expectation of forming a sheath that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]).
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the metal sheath of Dawes motivated by the expectation of forming a sheath that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]).
Dawes does not disclose that the coating is uniformly thick.
Ackermann discloses a CVD coating on the inner surface of a tube and that a constant layer thickness over the entire coating region is sought (i.e. uniformly thick) (C1/L40-45).
Ackermann and modified Dawes are analogous art because they both teach about CVD coatings on the inside surface of a tube. It would have been obvious to provide the coating having a constant layer thickness as taught by Ackermann in the liquid chromatography column/sheath of modified Dawes because it well-known in the art to do so, doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known coating configuration in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result and to provide a liquid chromatography column having a steady and even flow of the sample therethrough and to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claims 3-4, The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. SiOxCy)(Smith [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, the coating is amorphous (Smith [0038],[0047]).
Regarding claim 5, the coating comprises an amorphous array of Si-C bonds (Smith [0038]).
Regarding claim 6-7, the glass layer could be considered the second layer comprising a silicon-based species. Alternatively, the functionalized surface layer and the layer beneath the functionalized layer could be considered the two layers comprising a silicon-based species (i.e. two or more layers each comprising a silicon-based species; different silicon species).
Regarding claim 8, given that the coating is the same composition vapor deposited on the surface and not formed by different compositions in different positions on the surface, it is the examiner’s position that it would be uniform in composition and also it would have been obvious to coat the coating uniformly in structure and composition along the length of the column to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claim 9, modified Dawes discloses that the coating has thickness of between about 0.1 micrometers to about 3.0 micrometers (i.e. overlapping about 10 nm to about 5 µm)([Smith 0038]).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (US 2002/0176800 A1) in view of Dawes et al. (US 2005/0077222), Smith et al. (US 2012/0251797) and Ackermann et al. (US 5,059,231).
In regard to claims 1-10, Henry discloses a liquid chromatography system that includes a separation column having an internal bore and an end fitting assemblies, wherein the liquid chromatography column comprises metal, stainless steel and end-fittings containing frits that may be stainless steel (i.e. providing a liquid chromatography system having a fluid passageway; comprises a column) (abstract, [0022], claim 6, [0057]).
Henry does not specifically disclose a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through a coated fluid passageway.
Dawes discloses that liquid chromatography systems force a liquid phase through the separation column with a sample to be analyzed and the effluent of the column are carried to a detection system used to measure and quantitate the separated components (i.e. a method of separating components in a sample comprising directing a sample through the coated fluid passageway)([0003]).
Henry and Dawes are analogous art because they both teach about chromatography systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the liquid chromatography system of Henry for its intended purpose as taught by Dawes to provide a liquid chromatography process for analyzing samples and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Henry is silent with regard to the fluid passageway having a silicon-based coating, the coating including a material selected from the group consisting of SiO2, SiC, Si3N4, SiOxCy, SiOxNy, SiCxHy or mixtures thereof.
Smith discloses a chemical vapor deposition coating that is inert (abstract, [0033]). The method includes thermal decomposition of dimethylsilane to achieve desired surface properties ([abstract]). The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. SiC, SiOxCy, SiCxHy)([0047]). It is noted that there is additionally a diffusion layer 108 and a functionalized layer 110 ([0038]-[0039]). The coating is formed on any suitable substrate ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the functionalized coating layer of an amorphous carboxysilane of Smith on the entirety of metal tubing (including the interior surface) of Henry motivated by the expectation of forming a separation column that has improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion over non-diffusion coatings ([Smith 0037]).
Henry does not disclose that the coating is uniformly thick.
Ackermann discloses a CVD coating on the inner surface of a tube and that a constant layer thickness over the entire coating region is sought (i.e. uniformly thick) (C1/L40-45).
Ackermann and modified Henry are analogous art because they both teach about CVD coatings on the inside surface of a tube. It would have been obvious to provide the coating having a constant layer thickness as taught by Ackermann in the liquid chromatography column of modified Henry because it well-known in the art to do so, doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known coating configuration in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result and to provide a liquid chromatography column having a steady and even flow of the sample therethrough and to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claims 3-4, The coating layer can be a functionalized layer, in which the amorphous carbosilane is oxidized to form an oxidized layer of amorphous carboxysilane (i.e. SiOxCy)(Smith [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, the coating is amorphous (Smith [0038],[0047]).
Regarding claim 5, the coating comprises an amorphous array of Si-C bonds (Smith [0038]).
Regarding claim 6-7, the glass layer could be considered the second layer comprising a silicon-based species. Alternatively, the functionalized surface layer and the layer beneath the functionalized layer could be considered the two layers comprising a silicon-based species (i.e. two or more layers each comprising a silicon-based species; different silicon species).
Regarding claim 8, given that the coating is the same composition vapor deposited on the surface and not formed by different compositions in different positions on the surface, it is the examiner’s position that it would be uniform in composition and also it would have been obvious to coat the coating uniformly in structure and composition along the length of the column to provide the desirable properties of improved chemical resistance, improved inertness, and improved adhesion evenly over the entire column.
Regarding claim 9, modified Dawes discloses that the coating has thickness of between about 0.1 micrometers to about 3.0 micrometers (i.e. overlapping about 10 nm to about 5 µm)([Smith 0038]).
Conclusion
/JAMES C YAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782