DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/649,269 originally filed 04/29/2024. The amendment presented on 03/24/2026 which provides no amendments to claims 1-28 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1-28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1 and further related arguments for claims 8-15, 23, 25, 27, and 28, Applicant asserts that the term “slightly before” “communicates that the turn-off event occurs at the current zero crossing or at a small lead time before that objective event, as would be understood and implemented by those skilled in the art.” In simplest terms, the claimed invention recites, “driver circuitry configured to … control the power switch to turn off … slightly before… the power switch crosses zero”. In other words, Applicant is claiming a device that is providing a turn off signal to cut off power “slightly before” the zero crossing at 0 volts however, broadly, this could mean any time after the turn on period. More specifically, there is a time frame (i.e. the circled portion from the marked up figure 4A) from when applicant chooses to assert the turn off time prior to 0V. This is the “slightly before” time period in question. Due to the overall breadth of the claim, The Office notes that this “small lead time before” is what is in question. In other words, the claim appears to suggest that there is a margin of time prior to turn off. What Applicant considers a “small lead time before” or “slightly” does not appear to have been clearly defined by the specification as filed (or as suggested in the specification provided in the remarks). Thus, the metes and bounds of the phrase “slightly before” were not adequately described by the application as filed such that one of skill in the art could not readily ascertain the scope of this phrase. Applicant asserts that “The MPEP similarly instructs that relative terms are evaluated in view of whether one skilled in the art would understand the scope in light of the specification and knowledge in the art.” and while The Office agrees with such a statement, Applicant has not provided direct evidence that supports this assertion from the specification as filed, a relevant source, or prior art(s). During prosecution, the applicant may overcome a rejection by amending the claim to remove the subjective term, or by providing evidence that the meaning of the term can be ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art when reading the disclosure.
[AltContent: arrow]
"Claim language employing terms of degree has long been found definite where it provided enough certainty to one of skill in the art when read in the context of the invention." Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 766 F.3d 1364, 1370, 112 USPQ2d 1188, 1192-93 (Fed. Cir. 2014) The rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). The proper test is whether or not one skilled in the art could determine specific values for the amount based on the disclosure. See In re Mattison, 509 F.2d 563, 184 USPQ 484 (CCPA 1975). However, unlike In re Mattison, the specification of the instant application appears to fail to provide those of skill in the art the ability to determine, and including from the examples, how much time a “slightly before” amount is. However, "[f]or some facially subjective terms, the definiteness requirement is not satisfied by merely offering examples that satisfy the term within the specification." DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1261, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Even if the specification uses the same term of degree as in the claim, a rejection is proper if the scope of the term is not understood when read in light of the specification. While, as a general proposition, broadening modifiers are standard tools in claim drafting in order to avoid reliance on the doctrine of equivalents in infringement actions, when the scope of the claim is unclear a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is proper. See In re Wiggins, 488 F. 2d 538, 541, 179 USPQ 421, 423 (CCPA 1973). MPEP 2173.05(b). Therefore, this rejection will be currently maintained.
Regarding the use of the terms "driver," "driver circuit," or "driver circuitry," The Office respectfully submits that the term “control circuit” is synonymous with these terms. Essentially, the terms “controller”, "driver," "driver circuit," or "driver circuitry," used in the instant application is similar to “control circuit” as both are utilized to drive and control other elements (e.g sending or receiving signals to the gates of transistors or other elements to turn them ON or OFF). Shimada expressly teaches in [0039] “The switching circuit 11, switching circuit 12, and switch SW1 are controlled by a control section 1.”. Thus, the “control circuit” of Shimada performs the function of providing input signals to the remaining parts of the circuit that allows the device to “to operate in different modes depending on the direction of power transfer, including a first mode in which the driver circuitry independently controls the power switch based on switch feedback, and a second mode in which the driver circuitry operates in the conventional manner to drive the power switch based on a driver input signal”. In addition, elements disclosed in the circuit itself, e.g. switching devices S1-4 can readily provide the claimed functions of the "driver circuitry" for the first and second modes. While The Office can appreciate the differences within both disclosures, sufficient details of the "driver circuitry" and/or other elements are not provided within the independent claim to clearly distinguish from the prior art. Therefore, Applicants claimed invention is still currently broad enough to read on the prior art of record and these arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant further asserts that Shimada does not provide “an integrated device” however based on the disclosure of Shamada and cited art in the “Description of the Related Art” section it is readily apparent the disclosure is directed to “an integrated device”. Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Regarding claim rejections in view of Sharma, Sharma readily teaches multiple individualized IC components that are singularly provided together and all of which have I/O ports. Not only does Sharma also readily show these together as an “integrated device” but clearly shows that these elements can be linked together and connected via I/O ports. Thus, based on the disclosure of Sharma, connecting components via I/O ports is well-known in the art and obvious. Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Regarding claim 9, please note comments above and as pointed out by Applicant, Shimada discloses the components are connected to current and/or voltage sensors. Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “slightly before” in claim 1, 8, 9, 14, 15, 19, 23, 25 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly before” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification appears silent with regards to the metes and bounds of this term and it is therefore indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Remaining claims not mentioned above inherit the deficiencies of their respective base claims and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-15, 23, 25, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimada et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052423 A1 hereinafter Shimada
Consider Claim 1:
Shimada discloses an integrated device, comprising: (Shimada, See Abstract.)
driver circuitry configured to, (Shimada, [0039], “The switching circuit 11, switching circuit 12, and switch SW1 are controlled by a control section 1. The control section 1 is connected to voltage sensors 21, 22 and current sensors 31, 32.”)
in a first mode when a current through a power switch flows in a first direction from a source of the power switch to a drain of the power switch, control the power switch to turn off when, or slightly before, the current through the power switch crosses zero; and (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0069], “When the current in the winding N21 is reduced to zero, the diode DS1 goes into reverse conduction, and then achieves reverse recovery. Upon reverse recovery, the current flowing during such reverse conduction is diverted to the diode DS3. In this instance, the switching device S3 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching). Further, the voltage of the DC power supply V1 is applied to the winding N1.”)
in a second mode when the current through the power switch flows in a second direction from the drain of the power switch to the source of the power switch, (Shimada, [0072-0095], [0073], “FIG. 4 shows circuit diagrams (A) to (H) illustrating how the bidirectional DC-DC converter according to the second embodiment achieves backward power transmission. Backward power transmission operations will now be described in detail with reference to FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, (A) to (H) depict modes A to H, respectively.”)
control the power switch to turn on and turn off based on a driver input signal from a controller. (Shimada, [0042], “Next, an operation that the bidirectional DC-DC converter according to the first embodiment performs for backward power transmission will now be described. The control section 1 maintains the switch SW1 in the OFF state and applies an AC voltage to the winding N2 by allowing the switching circuit 12 to perform a switching operation. The switching circuit 11 rectifies a voltage induced across the winding N1 and supplies electrical power to the DC power supply V1.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, wherein, in the first mode, the driver circuitry is configured to turn on the power switch based on the driver input signal from the controller, and turn off the power switch when, or slightly before, a current through the power switch crosses zero. (Shimada, [0058], “If MOSFETs are used as the switching devices S1-S4, the loss may be reduced by shunting the current in the diodes DS1 and DS4 to the switching devices S1, S4 while the switching devices S1 and S4 are ON. Reducing the loss by turning ON a MOSFET in a situation where a diode's forward current flows to a diode antiparallelly connected to the MOSFET or a body diode of the MOSFET is hereinafter referred to as synchronous rectification. In this instance, the switching device S4 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching).”)
Consider Claim 9:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, wherein the driver circuitry is further configured to, in the second mode, disconnect from power one or more of: a zero crossing detector that operates to turn off the power switch when, or slightly before, a current through the secondary side switch crosses zero; and (Shimada, [0082], “When the switching devices H2 and H3 are turned OFF, the current in the switching devices H2 and H3 flows to the DC power supply V1 through the diode DH4, winding N1, resonant reactor Lr, resonant capacitor Cr, diode DH1, and diode D1, thereby supply energy to the DC power supply V1. In this instance, the switching devices H1 and H4 are turned ON (zero-voltage switching).”)
a current sense circuit used to measure the current through the power switch. (Shimada, [0052], “The switching devices H1-H4, S1-S4 and switch SW1 are controlled by a control section 1. The control section 1 is connected to voltage sensors 21, 22 and current sensors 31, 32.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, wherein the driver circuitry includes: a first driver circuit configured to determine when the current through the power switch crosses zero and turn off the secondary side switch; and a second driver circuit configured to control the power switch based on the driver input signal from the controller. (Shimada, [0058], “If MOSFETs are used as the switching devices S1-S4, the loss may be reduced by shunting the current in the diodes DS1 and DS4 to the switching devices S1, S4 while the switching devices S1 and S4 are ON. Reducing the loss by turning ON a MOSFET in a situation where a diode's forward current flows to a diode antiparallelly connected to the MOSFET or a body diode of the MOSFET is hereinafter referred to as synchronous rectification. In this instance, the switching device S4 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching).”)
Consider Claim 11:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, the power switch is a secondary side switch and the controller also controls a primary side switch to turn on and to turn off synchronously with the secondary side switch. (Shimada, [0035], “In this document, electrical power transmission from a DC power supply V1 to a DC power supply V2 is referred to as forward power transmission, whereas electrical power transmission from the DC power supply V2 to the DC power supply V1 is referred to as backward power transmission. Further, the voltage of a switching device in the ON state or a voltage equivalent to or lower than a forward dropped voltage of a diode is referred to as the zero voltage. Moreover, reducing switching loss by changing the state of a switching device between ON and OFF while the zero voltage is applied to the switching device is referred to as zero-voltage switching.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, wherein the power switch is a secondary side switch and the driver circuitry is configured to operate in the first mode to transfer energy from a primary side of a power converter to a secondary side of the power converter. (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0035], “In this document, electrical power transmission from a DC power supply V1 to a DC power supply V2 is referred to as forward power transmission, whereas electrical power transmission from the DC power supply V2 to the DC power supply V1 is referred to as backward power transmission. Further, the voltage of a switching device in the ON state or a voltage equivalent to or lower than a forward dropped voltage of a diode is referred to as the zero voltage. Moreover, reducing switching loss by changing the state of a switching device between ON and OFF while the zero voltage is applied to the switching device is referred to as zero-voltage switching.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, wherein the power switch is a secondary side switch and the driver circuitry is configured to operate in the second mode to transfer energy from a secondary side of a power converter to a primary side of the power converter. (Shimada, [0072-0095], [0035], “In this document, electrical power transmission from a DC power supply V1 to a DC power supply V2 is referred to as forward power transmission, whereas electrical power transmission from the DC power supply V2 to the DC power supply V1 is referred to as backward power transmission. Further, the voltage of a switching device in the ON state or a voltage equivalent to or lower than a forward dropped voltage of a diode is referred to as the zero voltage. Moreover, reducing switching loss by changing the state of a switching device between ON and OFF while the zero voltage is applied to the switching device is referred to as zero-voltage switching.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Shimada discloses a bi-directional power converter, comprising: (Shimada, See Abstract.)
a primary side of a transformer that includes a primary side switch and a primary side terminal; a secondary side of the transformer that includes a secondary side switch and a secondary side terminal; and (Shimada, [0047], “FIG. 2 is a schematic circuit diagram of a bidirectional DC-DC converter according to a second embodiment of the present invention. The bidirectional DC-DC converter transfers electrical power between a DC power supply V1 and a DC power supply V2, which are connected to opposite ends of the bidirectional DC-DC converter. A load R1 is connected to the DC power supply V1, whereas a load R2 is connected to the DC power supply V2.”)
driver circuitry configured to drive the secondary side switch, and controllable to operate in: a first mode in which the driver circuitry controls the secondary side switch to transfer energy from the primary side terminal to the secondary side terminal based on causing the secondary side switch to turn off when, or slightly before, a current through the secondary side switch crosses zero; and (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0069], “When the current in the winding N21 is reduced to zero, the diode DS1 goes into reverse conduction, and then achieves reverse recovery. Upon reverse recovery, the current flowing during such reverse conduction is diverted to the diode DS3. In this instance, the switching device S3 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching). Further, the voltage of the DC power supply V1 is applied to the winding N1.”)
a second mode in which the driver circuitry controls the secondary side switch to turn on and turn off to transfer energy from the secondary side terminal to the primary side terminal based a driver input signal from a controller. (Shimada, [0072-0095], [0073], “FIG. 4 shows circuit diagrams (A) to (H) illustrating how the bidirectional DC-DC converter according to the second embodiment achieves backward power transmission. Backward power transmission operations will now be described in detail with reference to FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, (A) to (H) depict modes A to H, respectively.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 14, wherein operating the driver circuitry in the first mode includes turning on the secondary side switch based on the driver input signal from the controller, and turning off the secondary side switch when, or slightly before, a current through the secondary side switch crosses zero. (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0069], “When the current in the winding N21 is reduced to zero, the diode DS1 goes into reverse conduction, and then achieves reverse recovery. Upon reverse recovery, the current flowing during such reverse conduction is diverted to the diode DS3. In this instance, the switching device S3 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching). Further, the voltage of the DC power supply V1 is applied to the winding N1.”)
Consider Claim 23:
Shimada discloses a method, comprising: (Shimada, See Abstract.)
operating driver circuitry of a power converter in a first mode when a current through a power switch flows in a first direction from a source of the power switch to a drain of the power switch, wherein in the first mode the driver circuitry controls a power switch to turn off when, or slightly before, the current through the power switch crosses zero; and (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0069], “When the current in the winding N21 is reduced to zero, the diode DS1 goes into reverse conduction, and then achieves reverse recovery. Upon reverse recovery, the current flowing during such reverse conduction is diverted to the diode DS3. In this instance, the switching device S3 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching). Further, the voltage of the DC power supply V1 is applied to the winding N1.”)
operating the driver circuitry of the power converter in a second mode when the current through the power switch flows in a second direction from the drain of the power switch to the source of the power switch, wherein in the second mode, the driver circuitry controls the power switch to turn on and turn off based on a driver input signal from a controller. (Shimada, [0072-0095], [0073], “FIG. 4 shows circuit diagrams (A) to (H) illustrating how the bidirectional DC-DC converter according to the second embodiment achieves backward power transmission. Backward power transmission operations will now be described in detail with reference to FIG. 4. In FIG. 4, (A) to (H) depict modes A to H, respectively.”)
Consider Claim 25:
Shimada discloses the method of claim 23, wherein operating the driver circuitry in the first mode includes turning on the power switch based on the driver input signal from the controller, and turning off the power switch when, or slightly before, a current through the secondary side switch crosses zero. (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0069], “When the current in the winding N21 is reduced to zero, the diode DS1 goes into reverse conduction, and then achieves reverse recovery. Upon reverse recovery, the current flowing during such reverse conduction is diverted to the diode DS3. In this instance, the switching device S3 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching). Further, the voltage of the DC power supply V1 is applied to the winding N1.”)
Consider Claim 27:
Shimada discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising: operating the driver circuitry in the first mode to transfer energy from a primary side of a power converter to a secondary side of the power converter. (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0035], “In this document, electrical power transmission from a DC power supply V1 to a DC power supply V2 is referred to as forward power transmission, whereas electrical power transmission from the DC power supply V2 to the DC power supply V1 is referred to as backward power transmission. Further, the voltage of a switching device in the ON state or a voltage equivalent to or lower than a forward dropped voltage of a diode is referred to as the zero voltage. Moreover, reducing switching loss by changing the state of a switching device between ON and OFF while the zero voltage is applied to the switching device is referred to as zero-voltage switching.”)
Consider Claim 28:
Shimada discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising: operating the driver circuitry in the second mode to transfer energy from a secondary side of a power converter to a primary side of the power converter. (Shimada, [0072-0095], [0035], “In this document, electrical power transmission from a DC power supply V1 to a DC power supply V2 is referred to as forward power transmission, whereas electrical power transmission from the DC power supply V2 to the DC power supply V1 is referred to as backward power transmission. Further, the voltage of a switching device in the ON state or a voltage equivalent to or lower than a forward dropped voltage of a diode is referred to as the zero voltage. Moreover, reducing switching loss by changing the state of a switching device between ON and OFF while the zero voltage is applied to the switching device is referred to as zero-voltage switching.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052423 A1.
Consider Claim 19:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 14, wherein the driver circuitry includes: a …driver circuit configured to cause the secondary side switch to turn off when, or slightly before, a current through the secondary side switch crosses zero; and a … driver circuit to turn on and turn off based the driver input signal from the controller. (Shimada, [0039], [0053-0071], [0069], “When the current in the winding N21 is reduced to zero, the diode DS1 goes into reverse conduction, and then achieves reverse recovery. Upon reverse recovery, the current flowing during such reverse conduction is diverted to the diode DS3. In this instance, the switching device S3 is turned ON (zero-voltage switching). Further, the voltage of the DC power supply V1 is applied to the winding N1.”)
Shimada however only discloses a control section 1 for controlling the switches however does not specify this as being a first driver circuit and second driver circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the singular circuit in a first driver circuit and second driver circuit, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Consider Claim 20:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 19, further comprising: a first decoupling switch arranged to decouple the first driver circuit from a gate terminal of the secondary side switch; and a second decoupling switch arranged to decouple the second driver circuit from the gate terminal of the secondary side switch. (Shimada, [0053-0071], [0070] “The switching devices S1 and S4 are OFF so that a voltage developed across the winding N22 is applied to the DC power supply V2 through the diode DS2 and smoothing reactor L. Consequently, energy is supplied to the DC power supply V2. Further, a voltage developed across the windings N21 and N22 is applied to the clamp capacitor Cc through the diodes DS2 and DS3. Consequently, the clamp capacitor Cc is charged.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 16, 18, 21-22, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052423 A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharma U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0346386 A1 hereinafter Sharma.
Consider Claim 2:
Shimada discloses the integrated device of claim 1, further comprising: the driver circuitry includes a drive circuit configurable to operate in the first mode or the second mode based on a control signal. (Shimada, [0052], “The switching devices H1-H4, S1-S4 and switch SW1 are controlled by a control section 1. The control section 1 is connected to voltage sensors 21, 22 and current sensors 31, 32.”)
Shimada however does not specify this is provided as a package that houses the driver circuitry, and receiving signals at an I/O port of the package.
Sharma however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide the circuity as packages including IO ports and therefore teaches a package that houses the driver circuitry, and the driver circuitry includes a drive circuit configurable to operate in the first mode or the second mode based on a control signal received at an I/O port of the package. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Consider Claim 3:
Shimada in view of Sharma discloses the integrated device of claim 2, wherein the I/O port is a first I/O port, and the package includes a second I/O port coupled to receive the driver input signal from the controller. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Shimada in view of Sharma discloses the integrated device of claim 3, wherein the power switch is housed in a package with the driver circuitry. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Shimada in view of Sharma discloses the integrated device of claim 4, wherein the driver circuitry is coupled to a current sensing circuit monolithically integrated with the power switch. (Sharma, [0058], “FIG. 15 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a converter comprising Switched Bidirectional Power Steering Module 10 using four back-to-back power switches as illustrated in FIG. 15A and an exemplary Multi Function Converter Controller as shown in FIG. 15B.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Shimada in view of Sharma discloses the integrated device of claim 4, wherein the power switch is a laterally arranged power switch. (Shimada, [0047], “FIG. 2 is a schematic circuit diagram of a bidirectional DC-DC converter according to a second embodiment of the present invention. The bidirectional DC-DC converter transfers electrical power between a DC power supply V1 and a DC power supply V2, which are connected to opposite ends of the bidirectional DC-DC converter. A load R1 is connected to the DC power supply V1, whereas a load R2 is connected to the DC power supply V2.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 14, however Shimada does not specify this is provided as a package and does not appear to teach wherein the secondary side switch is integrated with the driver circuitry in a package.
Sharma however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide the circuity as packages including IO ports and therefore teaches wherein the secondary side switch is integrated with the driver circuitry in a package. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Consider Claim 18:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 14, however does not specify further comprising: a package that houses the driver circuitry, and the driver circuitry includes a drive circuit configurable to operate in the first mode or the second mode based on a control signal received at an I/O port of the package.
Sharma however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide the circuity as a package including IO ports and therefore teaches a package that houses the driver circuitry, and the driver circuitry includes a drive circuit configurable to operate in the first mode or the second mode based on a control signal received at an I/O port of the package. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Consider Claim 21:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 20, wherein the first driver circuit is housed in a first package, and the second driver circuit is housed in a second package different than the first package.
Sharma however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art to provide the circuity as a package including IO ports and therefore teaches a first package, and the second driver circuit is housed in a second package different than the first package. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Consider Claim 22:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 21, wherein a control terminal of the first decoupling switch is coupled to an enable port of the first package, and a control terminal of the second decoupling switch is coupled to an enable port of the second package. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Consider Claim 24:
Shimada discloses the method of claim 23, further comprising operating the driver circuitry in the first mode or the second mode based on a control signal received at an I/O port of a package that houses the driver circuitry. (Sharma, [0068-0075], [0069], “Multimode Converter Controller Module 20 is implemented with a Microcontroller MC and an Analog Signal Processor Block SP. Controllers other than those shown in the FIG. 2 can be used, to provide all the functions of Module 20. DC power is connected to the microcontroller MC and the signal Processor SP using link 20E and Link 20F. Link 20G provides input power type and Link 20F provides the desired output type information to the microcontroller MC.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Consider Claim 26:
Shimada discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the driver circuitry is integrated in a first semiconductor substrate, and the power switch is integrated with a current sense circuit in a second semiconductor substrate housed in a package with the first semiconductor substrate. (Shimada, [0052], “The switching devices H1-H4, S1-S4 and switch SW1 are controlled by a control section 1. The control section 1 is connected to voltage sensors 21, 22 and current sensors 31, 32.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the circuity in package form as this was a known technique in view of Sharma as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of providing circuitry in a packaged form for improvements in cost, size and efficiency. (Sharma, [0029])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052423 A1 in view of Sharma U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0346386 A1 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Mcintyre U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0072393 A1 hereinafter Mcintyre.
Consider Claim 6:
Shimada in view of Sharma discloses the integrated device of claim 4, however does not specify the wherein the power switch is a gallium nitride power switch.
Mcintyre however teaches that it was a known technique to use power switch is a gallium nitride power switch. (Mcintyre, [0030], “The bidirectional non-isolated DC-DC converter 100 preferably includes the primary windings (P1 and P2) of two current-sense transformers (TX1 and TX2), six resistors (R2, R4, R9, R10, R15, and R16), two transistors (Q1 and Q2), five capacitors (C6, C7, C8, C9, and C11), one inductor (L1), two diodes (D3 and D4), and one driver (U1), for example. Transistors Q1 and Q2 are preferably metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors (MOSFETs), and more preferably power MOSFETs, for example. Specific examples of transistors Q1 and Q2 include silicon power MOSFETs, insulated gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs), and gallium nitride (GaN) power MOSFETs. Driver U1 is preferably a MOSFET driver IC, for example. A voltage VCC is preferably provided from a separate DC-DC voltage regulator (not shown) and input to the driver U1 according to the requirements of the driver U1. The separate DC-DC voltage regulator may provide the voltage VCC from the high-voltage terminal Vhigh, the low-voltage terminal Vlow, or an external power source. Preferably, the voltage VCC is between about 8 V and about 14 V.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use gallium nitride as a switch as this was a known technique in view of Mcintyre and as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of use in to increase the efficiency of these circuits. (Mcintyre, [0007])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0052423 A1 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Mcintyre U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0072393 A1 hereinafter Mcintyre.
Consider Claim 17:
Shimada discloses the bi-directional power converter of claim 14, wherein the secondary side switch is a laterally arranged power switch integrated in a substrate with a current sensing circuit. (Shimada, [0047], “FIG. 2 is a schematic circuit diagram of a bidirectional DC-DC converter according to a second embodiment of the present invention. The bidirectional DC-DC converter transfers electrical power between a DC power supply V1 and a DC power supply V2, which are connected to opposite ends of the bidirectional DC-DC converter. A load R1 is connected to the DC power supply V1, whereas a load R2 is connected to the DC power supply V2.”)
Shimada however does not specify gallium nitride power switch.
Mcintyre however teaches that it was a known technique to use power switch is a gallium nitride power switch. (Mcintyre, [0030], “The bidirectional non-isolated DC-DC converter 100 preferably includes the primary windings (P1 and P2) of two current-sense transformers (TX1 and TX2), six resistors (R2, R4, R9, R10, R15, and R16), two transistors (Q1 and Q2), five capacitors (C6, C7, C8, C9, and C11), one inductor (L1), two diodes (D3 and D4), and one driver (U1), for example. Transistors Q1 and Q2 are preferably metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors (MOSFETs), and more preferably power MOSFETs, for example. Specific examples of transistors Q1 and Q2 include silicon power MOSFETs, insulated gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs), and gallium nitride (GaN) power MOSFETs. Driver U1 is preferably a MOSFET driver IC, for example. A voltage VCC is preferably provided from a separate DC-DC voltage regulator (not shown) and input to the driver U1 according to the requirements of the driver U1. The separate DC-DC voltage regulator may provide the voltage VCC from the high-voltage terminal Vhigh, the low-voltage terminal Vlow, or an external power source. Preferably, the voltage VCC is between about 8 V and about 14 V.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use gallium nitride as a switch as this was a known technique in view of Mcintyre and as one of skill in the art would have readily recognized the benefit of use in to increase the efficiency of these circuits. (Mcintyre, [0007])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626