DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11-22 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, and 11-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stack (US 7,818,606) and in view of Chen (US 10,652,115) and in view of Hsu (US 2019/0190851).
Re Claim 1, Stack discloses a method, comprising:
managing, by a software agent at a smart network interface card of a cloud-computing environment (col. 1, lines 55-65, architecture includes intelligent multi-protocol switches (IMPS, i.e., smart NIC). Col. 7, lines 33-38, IMPS supports virtual SANs (cloud computing. FabricX includes Control Path Processor (CPP) and provides support for storage and switch software applications that handles the fast-path.), a set of network paths comprising an active network path and a plurality of passive network paths, the active network path being associated with an established network connection between the smart network interface card and a first storage component of the cloud-computing environment, each of the plurality of passive network paths being associated with a respective storage component of the cloud-computing environment for which a network connection is currently unestablished (col. 8, line 64-col. 9, line 35. Target can be active (capable of completing I/O for the logical unit) or passive (incapable of completing I/O for the logical unit). Passive target can be made active and expects that this operation will make one active targets passive.);
obtaining, by the software agent, respective heat measurements corresponding to the respective storage component for each of the plurality of passive network paths (col. 9, line 14-35, autotrespass can be provided to switch when an active target transitioning to passive is drained of outstanding I/O operations. Once the switch runs out of operation paths to an active target, the switch issues a trespass to the passive target which switches the active and passive paths); and
selecting, by the software agent executing at the smart network interface card, a passive network path of the plurality of passive network paths to replace the active path (col. 9, line 14-35, the software agent selects the passive path to replace the active path by the trespass command.); and
replacing the active path with the passive path, wherein replacing the active network path causes a new network connection associated with the passive network path to be established between the smart network interface card and another storage component of the cloud-computing environment (col. 9, line 14-35, autotrespass can be provided to switch when an active target transitioning to passive is drained of outstanding I/O operations. Once the switch runs out of operation paths to an active target, the switch issues a trespass to the passive target which switches the active and passive paths).
Stack discloses the software agent executing at the smart network interface card associated with the active network path (col. 9, line 20-27, FabricX utilizes ethernet NIC for connectivity provided isolation and dedicated 100 Mbps bandwidth to the IMPS and CPP). Stack does not clearly disclose, however Chen discloses the respective heat measurements being calculated based at least in part on at least one of CPU utilization, network utilization, network latency, or memory utilization that is experienced by the respective storage component (col. 5, lines 31-55, traffic analyzer is configured to determine the multiple physical network paths based on utilizing network traffic measurements such as network traffic flowrate measurements (traffic utilization);
Selecting the network path, based at least in part on the rate of network traffic and the respective heat measurement corresponding to the respective storage component for each of the plurality of passive network paths (col. 4, lines 29-35, traffic analyzer provides the ability to accurately project future network traffic flows though the different paths of the network and identify the different traffic flows.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stack’s intelligent switch with Chen’s traffic analyzer to determine the traffic measurements of future paths.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to choose the path with the load that has be most bandwidth.
While Stack discloses the software agent executing at the smart network interface card associated with the active network path (col. 9, line 20-27, FabricX utilizes ethernet NIC for connectivity provided isolation and dedicated 100 Mbps bandwidth to the IMPS and CPP), Stack and Chen do not clearly disclose a rate of network traffic associated with the active network path.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsu discloses a rate of network traffic associated with the active network path ([0040]-[0041] Choose H1 to H6 (510 Mbps) instead of H3 to H5 (283 Mbps) or H2 to H6 (140 Mbps).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stack’s intelligent switch with Hsu’s determination of available transmission load. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to choose the path with the load that has be most bandwidth.
Re claim 2, Stack discloses wherein replacing the active network path further comprises terminating the established network connection between the smart network interface card and the first storage component (col. 9, line 14-35, autotrespass can be provided to switch when an active target transitioning to passive is drained of outstanding I/O operations. Once the switch runs out of operation paths to an active target, the switch issues a trespass to the passive target which switches the active and passive paths).
Re claim 4, Stack discloses wherein the active network path is replaced based at least in part on detecting that the established network connection between the smart network interface card and the first storage component has failed (col. 9, line 14-35, autotrespass can be provided to switch when an active target transitioning to passive is drained of outstanding I/O operations. Once the switch runs out of operation paths to an active target, the switch issues a trespass to the passive target which switches the active and passive paths).
Re claim 5, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stack and Chen for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Hsu discloses selecting a first passive network path of the plurality of passive network paths to replace the active network path, the first passive network path being selected over a second passive network path of the plurality of passive network paths based at least in part on determining that a first heat measurement corresponding to the first passive network path is less than a second heat measurement corresponding to the second passive network path. ([0040]-[0041], device selects the path with the largest available transmission load, ie. Choose H1 to H6 (510 Mbps) instead of H3 to H5 (283 Mbps) or H2 to H6 (140 Mbps).
Re claim 6, Stack discloses obtaining, by the software agent, a heat measurement for the active network path; and calculating, by the software agent, a heat score for the active network path, the heat score being calculated based at least in part on dividing the rate of network traffic by the heat measurement for the active network path, wherein the active network path is replaced based at least in part on determining that the heat score for the active network path exceeds a predefined threshold value (col. 9, line 14-35, autotrespass can be provided to switch when an active target transitioning to passive is drained of outstanding I/O operations. Once the switch runs out of operation paths to an active target, the switch issues a trespass to the passive target which switches the active and passive paths. The threshold has been exceeded when it has been determined the active target has been drained out of I/O operations.)
Re claims 7-8, 11, and 14-20, they are similar to claims 1-2, and 4-6 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Re claim 9, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stack and Chen for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Hsu discloses wherein executing the computer-executable instructions further causes the one or more processors to: calculate a first heat score for a first passive network path of the plurality of passive network paths, the first heat score being calculated based at least in part on the rate of network traffic and a first heat measurement of the respective heat measurements, the first heat measurement corresponding to a second storage component of the cloud-computing environment ([0040]-[0041], device selects the path with the largest available transmission load, ie. Choose H1 to H6 (510 Mbps) instead of H3 to H5 (283 Mbps) or H2 to H6 (140 Mbps). The first heat score is the bandwidth Mbps of H1 to H6); and
calculate a second heat score for a second passive network path of the plurality of passive network paths, the second heat score being calculated based at least in part on the rate of network traffic and a second heat measurement of the respective heat measurements, the second heat measurement corresponding to a third storage component of the cloud-computing environment; wherein the passive network path that replaces the active network path is identified as the first passive network path based at least in part on the first heat score and the second heat ratio. ([0040]-[0041], device selects the path with the largest available transmission load, ie. Choose H1 to H6 (510 Mbps) instead of H3 to H5 (283 Mbps) or H2 to H6 (140 Mbps). The second heat score is the bandwidth Mbps of H3 to H5)
Re claim 12, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stack and Chen for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Hsu discloses determining, by the software agent, a third value corresponding to a second rate of network traffic through the second network path; and determining, by the software agent, a fourth value corresponding to a second heat measurement associated with a second storage component associated with the second network path; wherein diverting the portion of network traffic is further based at least in part on the third value and the fourth value. ([0040]-[0041], device selects the path with the largest available transmission load, ie. Choose H1 to H6 (510 Mbps) instead of H3 to H5 (283 Mbps) or H2 to H6 (140 Mbps). The third value and fourth value is the same and is the Mbps of the different routes).
Re claim 13, one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Stack and Chen for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Hsu discloses determining, by the software agent, a third value corresponding to a second rate of network traffic through a third network path of the plurality of network paths; and determining, by the software agent, a fourth value corresponding to a second heat measurement associated with a second storage component associated with the third network path; wherein diverting the portion of network traffic is further based at least in part on the third value and the fourth value ([0040]-[0041], device selects the path with the largest available transmission load, ie. Choose H1 to H6 (510 Mbps) instead of H3 to H5 (283 Mbps) or H2 to H6 (140 Mbps) The third value and fourth value is the same and is the Mbps of the different routes.)
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stack and in view of Chen and in view of Hsu and in view of Lee (US 2014/0126356).
Re Claims 21 and 22, Stack, Chen and Hsu does not disclose, however Lee discloses determining, by the software agent executing at the smart network interface card, whether to initiate a failover of the active network path with a passive network path of the plurality of passive network paths based at least in part on the rate of network traffic and the respective heat measurement corresponding to the respective storage component for each of the plurality of passive network paths ([0039], [0055], switching to the redundant network path (failover) such as a second path in regards to failover elements related to the threshold of wireless signal, minimum available bandwidth, threshold of jitter and latency, error rate, ping count, and the like).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Stack, Chen and Hsu’s switch/NIC with Lee’s intelligent network card to switch (failover) to the redundant network path. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to create a more versatile system by being able to switch to a redundant network path in light of errors/failures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443