DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 4/29/24.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brokaw (US20120153921).
Regarding Claim 1, Brokaw discloses a voltage regulator (fig. 4, 5) comprising: a power transistor (M0) configured to provide a load current (¶12 & 48); a voltage follower (MP2, MN0, M1, ¶39) configured to provide a gate voltage of the power transistor (gate of M0); and a circuit (M0R, 530, 540) configured to transform the gate voltage of the power transistor (gate of M0 to gate of M0R) into a mirror current of the load current and to adjust a current flow through the voltage follower based on the mirror current (¶58).
Regarding Claim 2, Brokaw discloses (fig. 4, 5) the circuit further configured to adjust the current flow through the voltage follower (via feedback of IFB) with a comparator (460) configured to generate the mirror current with a scale replica of the power transistor (M0R, ¶47).
Regarding Claim 3, Brokaw discloses (fig. 4, 5) the comparator (460) is configured with a trip point (point at which the comparator output toggles) determined by a size of the scale replica of the power transistor (size of M0R determines 590 which determines compensation ramp feed into comparator 460 which determines toggled output of the comparator, ¶40).
Regarding Claim 4, Brokaw discloses (fig. 4, 5) a gate of the scale replica (M0R) of the power transistor (M0) is configured to receive the gate voltage of the power transistor (see gates tied together in fig 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Brokaw discloses a circuit (fig. 3, 4, 5) comprising: a voltage follower (MP2, MN0, M1, ¶39, 800) configured to compare a voltage on a load (420) and a reference voltage (110); and an adaptive slew-rate booster (M0R, 530, 540) configured to transform an output voltage of the voltage follower into a replica of current drawn by the load (gate of M0 to gate of M0R) and to adjust current flows within the voltage follower based on the replica of the current (¶58).
Regarding Claim 11, Brokaw discloses (fig. 4, 5) the adaptive slew-rate booster (M0R, 530, 540) further configured to adjust the current flow through the voltage follower (via feedback of IFB) with a comparator (460) configured with a scale replica of a power transistor for the load (M0R, ¶47).
Regarding Claim 12, Brokaw discloses (fig. 4, 5) the comparator (460) is configured with a trip point (point at which the comparator output toggles) determined by a size of the scale replica of the power transistor (size of M0R determines 590 which determines compensation ramp feed into comparator 460 which determines toggled output of the comparator, ¶40).
Regarding Claim 13, Brokaw discloses (fig. 4, 5) a gate of the scale replica (M0R) of the power transistor (M0) is configured to receive the gate voltage of the power transistor (see gates tied together in fig 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Claims 5-8, 10, 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the circuit further configured to adjust the current flow through the voltage follower with a plurality of comparators each configured to trip at a different magnitude of the load current.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the adaptive slew-rate booster configured to imbalance current flows in an error amplifier of the voltage follower to boost a slew rate of the output voltage of the voltage follower.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the adaptive slew-rate booster further configured to adjust the current flow through the voltage follower with a plurality of comparators each configured to trip at a different level of the current drawn by the load” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose: “...generating a gate voltage to a power transistor of a load with a voltage follower; and transforming the gate voltage into replicas of a load current in a plurality of comparators; and unbalancing current flows in the voltage follower to an extent based on the replica currents.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170371365, Kossel; Marcel A. discloses a voltage regulator.
US 20250330082, Jiang; Xi et al. discloses feed forward supply noise cancellation (FFNC) technique with load current sensor for regulator PSR improvement.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838