DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 3/5/2026 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 12, 13, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kutch et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0117360), hereinafter referred to as Kutch.
Regarding claim 1, Kutch discloses a data processing unit (DPU) comprising: DPU hardware comprising a processing device and an acceleration hardware engine (paragraph 56, integrated in xPU, and paragraph 311, xPU includes DPU, and paragraph 54, acceleration hardware); and a memory operatively coupled to the DPU hardware, the memory to store DPU software comprising a network pipeline abstraction layer (NPAL) that supports multiple network protocols and network functions in a network pipeline, wherein the network pipeline comprises a set of tables and logic organized in a specific order to be accelerated by the acceleration hardware engine, wherein the acceleration hardware engine is to process network traffic data using the network pipeline (paragraph 61, mapping packet processing pipeline stages between software and accelerator hardware).
Regarding claim 2, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port to receive the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet input); a filtering network function operatively coupled to the input port, the filtering network function to filter the network traffic data (paragraph 276, packet filtering); an ingress port operatively coupled to the filtering network function (paragraph 276, ingress); a first network function operatively coupled to the ingress port, the first network function to process the network traffic data using one or more ingress Access Control Lists (ACLs) (paragraph 276, classify ingress packets, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge operatively coupled to the first network function, the bridge to perform a layer 2 (L2) bridging operation (paragraph 276, L2 level); one or more Switched Virtual Interface (SVI) ACLs operatively coupled to the bridge (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L2, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a router operatively coupled to the SVI ACLs, the router to perform a layer 3 (L3) routing operation (paragraph 276, L3 level); a second network function operatively coupled to the router, the second network function to process the network traffic data using one or more egress ACLs (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L3, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an egress port operatively coupled to the second network function (paragraph 276, egress); and an output port to output the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 3, Kutch discloses wherein the ACLs comprise at least one of a static ACL or a dynamic ACL (paragraph 66, accelerators for access control operations are fixed or programmable).
Regarding claim 4, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port to receive the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet input); a filtering network function operatively coupled to the input port, the filtering network function to filter the network traffic data (paragraph 276, packet filtering); an ingress port operatively coupled to the filtering network function (paragraph 276, ingress), the ingress port having a first network function to perform first virtual local area network (VLAN) mapping on the network traffic data (paragraph 157, mapping with VLAN tags); a second network function operatively coupled to the ingress port, the second network function to process the network traffic data using one or more ingress Access Control Lists (ACLs) (paragraph 276, classify ingress packets, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge operatively coupled to the second network function, the bridge to perform a layer 2 (L2) bridging operation (paragraph 276, L2 level); one or more Switched Virtual Interface (SVI) ACLs operatively coupled to the bridge (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L2, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a router operatively coupled to the SVI ACLs, the router to perform a layer 3 (L3) routing operation (paragraph 276, L3 level); a third network function operatively coupled to the router, the third network function to process the network traffic data using one or more egress ACLs (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L3, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an egress port operatively coupled to the third network function (paragraph 276, egress), the egress port having a fourth network function to perform second VLAN mapping on the network traffic data (paragraph 157, mapping with VLAN tags); and an output port to output the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 5, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises two or more of the following: a first network function to perform layer 2 (L2) bridging; a second network function to perform layer 3 (L3) routing; a third network function to perform tunnel encapsulation or tunnel decapsulation; a fourth network function to perform a hash calculation; a fifth network function to perform an Equal-Cost Multi-Path (ECMP) operation; a sixth network function to perform a Connection Tracking (CT) operation; or a seventh network function to perform a network address translation (NAT) operation (paragraph 276, VPN handling, routing and forwarding, NAT, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline abstraction layer comprises a set of applications programming interfaces (APIs) or classes that provide a unified interface to one or more applications executed by the processing device (paragraph 87, APIs to configure rules).
Regarding claim 7, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port (paragraph 85, packet input); an ingress dynamic or static Access Control List (ACL) (paragraph 276, ingress, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge (paragraph 276, L2 level); a router (paragraph 276, L3 level); an egress dynamic or static ACL (paragraph 276, egress, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an output port (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 8, Kutch discloses a computing system comprising: a host device (paragraph 58, host); an integrated circuit coupled to the host device and a network (paragraph 56, chip package), wherein the integrated circuit comprises: a network interconnect coupled to the network (paragraph 58, Network Interface Manager); a host interconnect coupled to the host device (paragraph 58, Host Interface Manager); an acceleration hardware engine (paragraph 58, workload accelerator); a memory to store DPU software comprising a network pipeline abstraction layer (NPAL) that supports multiple network protocols and network functions in a network pipeline, wherein the network pipeline comprises a set of tables and logic organized in a specific order to be accelerated by the acceleration hardware engine, wherein the acceleration hardware engine is to process network traffic data using the network pipeline (paragraph 61, mapping packet processing pipeline stages between software and accelerator hardware).
Regarding claim 9, Kutch discloses wherein the integrated circuit is at least one of a data processing unit (DPU), a network interface card (NIC), a network interface device, or a switch, wherein the DPU is a programmable data center infrastructure on a chip (paragraph 56, chip package, and paragraph 56, integrated in xPU, and paragraph 311, xPU includes DPU).
Regarding claim 10, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port to receive the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet input); a filtering network function operatively coupled to the input port, the filtering network function to filter the network traffic data (paragraph 276, packet filtering); an ingress port operatively coupled to the filtering network function (paragraph 276, ingress); a first network function operatively coupled to the ingress port, the first network function to process the network traffic data using one or more ingress Access Control Lists (ACLs) (paragraph 276, classify ingress packets, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge operatively coupled to the first network function, the bridge to perform a layer 2 (L2) bridging operation (paragraph 276, L2 level); one or more Switched Virtual Interface (SVI) ACLs operatively coupled to the bridge (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L2, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a router operatively coupled to the SVI ACLs, the router to perform a layer 3 (L3) routing operation (paragraph 276, L3 level); a second network function operatively coupled to the router, the second network function to process the network traffic data using one or more egress ACLs (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L3, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an egress port operatively coupled to the second network function (paragraph 276, egress); and an output port to output the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 11, Kutch discloses wherein the ACLs comprise at least one of a static ACL or a dynamic ACL (paragraph 66, accelerators for access control operations are fixed or programmable).
Regarding claim 12, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port to receive the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet input); a filtering network function operatively coupled to the input port, the filtering network function to filter the network traffic data (paragraph 276, packet filtering); an ingress port operatively coupled to the filtering network function (paragraph 276, ingress), the ingress port having a first network function to perform first virtual local area network (VLAN) mapping on the network traffic data (paragraph 157, mapping with VLAN tags); a second network function operatively coupled to the ingress port, the second network function to process the network traffic data using one or more ingress Access Control Lists (ACLs) (paragraph 276, classify ingress packets, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge operatively coupled to the second network function, the bridge to perform a layer 2 (L2) bridging operation (paragraph 276, L2 level); one or more Switched Virtual Interface (SVI) ACLs operatively coupled to the bridge (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L2, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a router operatively coupled to the SVI ACLs, the router to perform a layer 3 (L3) routing operation (paragraph 276, L3 level); a third network function operatively coupled to the router, the third network function to process the network traffic data using one or more egress ACLs (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L3, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an egress port operatively coupled to the third network function (paragraph 276, egress), the egress port having a fourth network function to perform second VLAN mapping on the network traffic data (paragraph 157, mapping with VLAN tags); and an output port to output the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 13, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises two or more of the following: a first network function to perform layer 2 (L2) bridging; a second network function to perform layer 3 (L3) routing; a third network function to perform tunnel encapsulation or tunnel decapsulation; a fourth network function to perform a hash calculation; a fifth network function to perform an Equal-Cost Multi-Path (ECMP) operation; a sixth network function to perform a Connection Tracking (CT) operation; or a seventh network function to perform a network address translation (NAT) operation (paragraph 276, VPN handling, routing and forwarding, NAT, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline abstraction layer comprises a set of applications programming interfaces (APIs) or classes that provide a unified interface to one or more applications executed by the integrated circuit (paragraph 87, APIs to configure rules).
Regarding claim 15, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port (paragraph 85, packet input); an ingress dynamic or static Access Control List (ACL) (paragraph 276, ingress, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge (paragraph 276, L2 level); a router (paragraph 276, L3 level); an egress dynamic or static ACL (paragraph 276, egress, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an output port (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 16, Kutch discloses a method of operating a data processing unit (DPU) (paragraph 56, integrated in xPU, and paragraph 311, xPU includes DPU), the method comprising: executing one or more instructions of a network pipeline abstraction layer (NPAL) that supports multiple network protocols and network functions in a network pipeline, wherein the network pipeline comprises a set of tables and logic organized in a specific order to be accelerated by an acceleration hardware engine of the DPU (paragraph 61, mapping packet processing pipeline stages between software and accelerator hardware); receiving network traffic data over a network (paragraph 55, ingress traffic); and processing, using the acceleration hardware engine of the DPU, the network traffic data using the network pipeline (paragraph 61, mapping packet processing pipeline stages between software and accelerator hardware).
Regarding claim 17, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port to receive the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet input); a filtering network function operatively coupled to the input port, the filtering network function to filter the network traffic data (paragraph 276, packet filtering); an ingress port operatively coupled to the filtering network function (paragraph 276, ingress); a first network function operatively coupled to the ingress port, the first network function to process the network traffic data using one or more ingress Access Control Lists (ACLs) (paragraph 276, classify ingress packets, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge operatively coupled to the first network function, the bridge to perform a layer 2 (L2) bridging operation (paragraph 276, L2 level); one or more Switched Virtual Interface (SVI) ACLs operatively coupled to the bridge (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L2, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a router operatively coupled to the SVI ACLs, the router to perform a layer 3 (L3) routing operation (paragraph 276, L3 level); a second network function operatively coupled to the router, the second network function to process the network traffic data using one or more egress ACLs (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L3, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an egress port operatively coupled to the second network function (paragraph 276, egress); and an output port to output the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 18, Kutch discloses wherein the ACLs comprise at least one of a static ACL or a dynamic ACL (paragraph 66, accelerators for access control operations are fixed or programmable).
Regarding claim 19, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises: an input port to receive the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet input); a filtering network function operatively coupled to the input port, the filtering network function to filter the network traffic data (paragraph 276, packet filtering); an ingress port operatively coupled to the filtering network function (paragraph 276, ingress), the ingress port having a first network function to perform first virtual local area network (VLAN) mapping on the network traffic data (paragraph 157, mapping with VLAN tags); a second network function operatively coupled to the ingress port, the second network function to process the network traffic data using one or more ingress Access Control Lists (ACLs) (paragraph 276, classify ingress packets, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a bridge operatively coupled to the second network function, the bridge to perform a layer 2 (L2) bridging operation (paragraph 276, L2 level); one or more Switched Virtual Interface (SVI) ACLs operatively coupled to the bridge (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L2, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); a router operatively coupled to the SVI ACLs, the router to perform a layer 3 (L3) routing operation (paragraph 276, L3 level); a third network function operatively coupled to the router, the third network function to process the network traffic data using one or more egress ACLs (paragraph 276, packet inspection at L3, and paragraph 85, ACL operations); and an egress port operatively coupled to the third network function (paragraph 276, egress), the egress port having a fourth network function to perform second VLAN mapping on the network traffic data (paragraph 157, mapping with VLAN tags); and an output port to output the network traffic data (paragraph 85, packet output).
Regarding claim 20, Kutch discloses wherein the network pipeline comprises two or more of the following: a first network function to perform layer 2 (L2) bridging; a second network function to perform layer 3 (L3) routing; a third network function to perform tunnel encapsulation or tunnel decapsulation; a fourth network function to perform a hash calculation; a fifth network function to perform an Equal-Cost Multi-Path (ECMP) operation; a sixth network function to perform a Connection Tracking (CT) operation; or a seventh network function to perform a network address translation (NAT) operation (paragraph 276, VPN handling, routing and forwarding, NAT, etc.).
Response to Arguments
In the remarks, the applicant has argued:
<Argument 1>
Kutch does not disclose the features of independent claim 1 because he does not disclose “a memory operatively coupled to the DPU hardware, the memory to store DPU software comprising a network pipeline abstraction layer (NPAL)” as recited in claim 1.
<Argument 2>
Kutch does not disclose the features of independent claim 1 because he does not disclose “a network pipeline abstraction layer (NPAL) that supports multiple network protocols and network functions in a network pipeline” as recited in claim 1.
<Argument 3>
Kutch does not disclose the features of independent claim 1 because he does not disclose “wherein the network pipeline comprises a set of tables and logic organized in a specific order to be accelerated by the acceleration hardware engine” as recited in claim 1.
<Argument 4>
Kutch does not disclose the features of dependent claim 2 because he does not disclose the components of the network pipeline as arranged and operatively coupled in the expressly recited sequence.
In response to argument 1, Kutch does disclose the features as recited in claim 1. The rejection cites paragraph 61, which shows the ability to map packet processing pipeline stages between software and the accelerator hardware. This is seen to meet the limitation at hand as it is the software-defined processing that effectuates the pipeline configuration. The claim does not define the term “network pipeline abstraction layer” beyond such an interpretation.
In response to argument 2, Kutch does disclose the features as recited in claim 1. The rejection cites paragraph 61, which shows the ability to map packet processing pipeline stages between software and the accelerator hardware. This is seen to meet the limitation at hand as the listed networking applications clearly have different protocols and functions. Here the applicant states that “The cited passage addresses distribution of execution, not the presence of an abstraction layer providing protocol and function support in a defined pipeline.” However, Kutch clearly teaches software-defined processing that effectuates the pipeline configuration, where the various protocols and functions of different applications are supported. The applicant also states that Kutch’s disclosure “concerns programmability of execution placement.” However, the processing is still software-defined as discussed herein above.
In response to argument 3, Kutch does disclose the features as recited in claim 1. The rejection cites paragraph 61, which shows the ability to map packet processing pipeline stages between software and the accelerator hardware. This is seen to meet the limitation at hand as the pipeline clearly represents stages for the accelerator hardware. Here the applicant states that Kutch’s mapping framework “is directed to allocation of processing stages rather than definition of a pipeline comprising tables and logic arranged in a specific order.” However, Kutch’s processing stages clearly are a pipeline. Kutch’s mapping is software-defined and as such inherently uses the data structures and code of the software. For example, Kutch explicitly states the use of tables at, inter alia, paragraph 157.
In response to argument 4, Kutch does disclose the features as recited in claim 2. The rejection shows various examples of pipeline stages as cited at paragraphs 85 and 276. This is seen to meet the limitation at hand as the very nature of a pipeline implies “sequence” and Kutch clearly states the use of configurable entry and exit points. See again paragraph 61. Since Kutch discloses all of the recited components as well as the flexibility of pipeline configuration, Kutch meets the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493