Regarding the discussion of the transflective film (layers in the multiple stack 928), the examiner apologizes for any confusion resulting from the typographical errors. The applicant’s understanding is appreciated, and the applicant is encouraged to contact the examiner for clarification regarding such issues. The transflective film should have been transflective film (layers in the multiple stack 928), since a light-transmitting conductive layer is ITO 926.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that McCabe does not disclose a hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate and McCabe provides no teaching that the front-viewed color appearance of the tape is to be controlled or coordinated with another region of the reflective element. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Even though McCabe does not disclose a hiding perimeter layer disposed directly on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, McCabe et al. (figure 16) discloses an electrochromic rearview mirror assembly as claimed including a hiding perimeter layer (black, opaque foam tape 925) disposed behind the mirror system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In addition, the applicant has not provided any criticality for hiding perimeter layer to be disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate. The applicant should note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant further argues that McCabe does not identify b* as a parameter to be controlled or disclose any b* value or range for the first peripheral or first primary region. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize utilizing wherein a ratio of width to height of the first light-shielding wall or the second light-shielding wall ranges from 1:100 to 2:1, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It is noted that the claimed structure serves the purpose of providing transmission of display information or illumination or radiant energy through the reflective element of the mirror reflective element assembly, while providing sufficient reflectance of the reflective element. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to achieve a high quality device. In other words, McCabe et al. (figure 16) discloses an electrochromic rearview mirror assembly as claimed including the transflective film is a metal-free multi-layer film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transflective film is a metal-free multi-layer film, a b* value of the first peripheral region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between −2.6 and 0, and a b* value of the first primary region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between 0 and +2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, a b* value of the first peripheral region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between −2.6 and 0, and a b* value of the first primary region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between 0 and +2.5” appears to be a conditional claim. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the limitation is no longer valid if the viewing direction is not from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first peripheral region is approximately −2.3” appears to be a conditional claim. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the limitation is no longer valid if the viewing direction is not from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first primary region is approximately +2.4” appears to be a conditional claim. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the limitation is no longer valid if the viewing direction is not from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first peripheral region is between −2.6 and 0” appears to be a conditional claim. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the limitation is no longer valid if the viewing direction is not from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first primary region is between 0 and +2.5” appears to be a conditional claim. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the limitation is no longer valid if the viewing direction is not from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCabe et al. (US 2009/0116097).
Regarding claim 1, McCabe et al. (figure 16) discloses an electrochromic rearview mirror assembly (figure 2), comprising:
a first substrate (front glass), comprising a first surface facing a viewer and a second surface behind the first surface, the first surface comprising a first peripheral region and a first primary region surrounded by the first peripheral region, the second surface comprising a second peripheral region and a second primary region surrounded by the second peripheral region (seal area 941 and display area);
a second substrate (rear glass) disposed behind the first substrate, the second substrate comprising a third surface facing the first substrate and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface;
an electrochromic medium (EC medium) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a light-transmitting conductive layer disposed on the second primary region of the second surface of the first substrate (ITO 926);
a transflective film (translective reflector 926) disposed on the third surface of the second substrate, the transflective film facing the second primary region of the second surface of the first substrate; and
a hiding perimeter layer (black, opaque foam tape 925);
wherein, the transflective film is a metal-free multi-layer film.
McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate; when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, a b* value of the first peripheral region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between −2.6 and 0, and a b* value of the first primary region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between 0 and +2.5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transflective film is a metal-free multi-layer film, a b* value of the first peripheral region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between −2.6 and 0, and a b* value of the first primary region on the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between 0 and +2.5 when viewed from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 2, McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first peripheral region is approximately −2.3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the b* value of the first peripheral region when viewed from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is approximately −2.3, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 3, McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first primary region is approximately +2.4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the b* value of the first primary region when viewed from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is approximately +2.4, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 6, McCabe et al. (figure 16) discloses the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly according to claim 1, further comprising an infrared thermal image sensor disposed on a side of the second substrate away from the first substrate, wherein the infrared thermal image sensor receives infrared rays transmitted through the first substrate and the second substrate from an outside to obtain an infrared thermal image data (The transflective cell 1216 further includes an infrared or near infrared transmitting (IRT) stack or layers 1228, which, in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 19, is positioned or stacked on the rear surface of the rear substrate 1224; see at least paragraph 0123 and figure 19).
The limitations “wherein the infrared thermal image sensor receives infrared rays transmitted through the first substrate and the second substrate from an outside to obtain an infrared thermal image data” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, McCabe et al. (figure 16) discloses an electrochromic rearview mirror assembly (figure 2), comprising:
a first substrate (front glass), comprising a first surface facing a viewer and a second surface behind the first surface, the first surface comprising a first peripheral region and a first primary region surrounded by the first peripheral region, the second surface comprising a second peripheral region and a second primary region surrounded by the second peripheral region (seal area 941 and display area);
a second substrate (rear glass) disposed behind the first substrate, the second substrate comprising a third surface facing the first substrate and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface;
an electrochromic medium (EC medium) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a light-transmitting conductive layer disposed on the second primary region of the second surface of the first substrate (ITO 926);
a transflective film (translective reflector 926) disposed on the third surface of the second substrate; and
wherein, the transflective film is a metal-free multi-layer film;
a hiding perimeter layer (black, opaque foam tape 925).
The limitation “the transflective film has a b* value between −5.7 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly; and a hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, the hiding perimeter layer having a b* value between −2.6 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the transflective film has a b* value between −5.7 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly; and a hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, the hiding perimeter layer having a b* value between −2.6 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transflective film has a b* value between −5.7 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly and the hiding perimeter layer having a b* value between −2.6 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 8, McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first peripheral region is between −2.6 and 0. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the b* value of the first peripheral region when viewed from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between −2.6 and 0, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 9, McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for when viewed from the front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, the b* value of the first primary region is between 0 and +2.5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the b* value of the first primary region when viewed from front of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly is between 0 and +2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 13, McCabe et al. (figure 16) discloses an electrochromic rearview mirror assembly (figure 2), comprising:
a first substrate (front glass), comprising a first surface facing a viewer and a second surface behind the first surface, the first surface comprising a first peripheral region and a first primary region surrounded by the first peripheral region, the second surface comprising a second peripheral region and a second primary region surrounded by the second peripheral region (seal area 941 and display area);
a second substrate (rear glass) disposed behind the first substrate, the second substrate comprising a third surface facing the first substrate and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface;
an electrochromic medium (EC medium) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate;
a light-transmitting conductive layer disposed on the second primary region of the second surface of the first substrate (ITO 926);
a transflective film (translective reflector 926) disposed on the third surface of the second substrate, the transflective film is a metal-free multi-layer film;
a hiding perimeter layer (black, opaque foam tape 925).
The limitation “the transflective film has a b* value between −5.7 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly; and a hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, the hiding perimeter layer having a b* value between −2.6 and 0 prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate; wherein a b* value of the first primary region and a b* value of the first peripheral region of the first surface of the first substrate satisfy the following formula: b.sub.1*<b.sub.2* b.sub.1* is the b* value of the first peripheral region, and b.sub.2* is the b* value of the first primary region; and wherein, a b* value of the transflective film and a b* value of the hiding perimeter layer satisfy the following formula: b.sub.4*<b.sub.3* b.sub.3* is the b* value of the hiding perimeter layer prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, and b.sub.4* is the b* value of the transflective film. prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hiding perimeter layer disposed on the second peripheral region of the second surface of the first substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a b* value of the first primary region and a b* value of the first peripheral region of the first surface of the first substrate satisfy the following formula: b.sub.1*<b.sub.2* b.sub.1* is the b* value of the first peripheral region, and b.sub.2* is the b* value of the first primary region; and wherein, a b* value of the transflective film and a b* value of the hiding perimeter layer satisfy the following formula: b.sub.4*<b.sub.3* b.sub.3* is the b* value of the hiding perimeter layer prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, and b.sub.4* is the b* value of the transflective film. prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The limitation “a b* value of the first primary region and a b* value of the first peripheral region of the first surface of the first substrate satisfy the following formula: b.sub.1*<b.sub.2* b.sub.1* is the b* value of the first peripheral region, and b.sub.2* is the b* value of the first primary region; and wherein, a b* value of the transflective film and a b* value of the hiding perimeter layer satisfy the following formula: b.sub.4*<b.sub.3* b.sub.3* is the b* value of the hiding perimeter layer prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly, and b.sub.4* is the b* value of the transflective film. prior to fabrication of the electrochromic rearview mirror assembly” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCabe et al. (US 2009/0116097) in view of Lenef et al. (US 2020/0284401).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 14, McCabe et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claims 1, 7, and 13 above. However, McCabe et al. is silent regarding wherein the transflective film comprises a first layer, a second layer disposed on the first layer, a third layer disposed on the second layer, a fourth layer disposed on the third layer and a fifth layer disposed on the fourth layer, the first layer is indium tin oxide (ITO), the second layer is silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2), the third layer is niobium pentoxide (Nb.sub.2O.sub.5), the fourth layer is silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2), and the fifth layer is amorphous silicon (a-Si). Lenef et al. (figure 2) teaches wherein the transflective film comprises a first layer, a second layer disposed on the first layer, a third layers disposed on the second layer, a fourth layer disposed on the third layer and a fifth layer disposed on the fourth layer, the first layer is indium tin oxide (ITO), the second layer is silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2), the third layer is niobium pentoxide (Nb.sub.2O.sub.5), the fourth layer is silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2), and the fifth layer is amorphous silicon (a-Si) (reflectors 41-45; The reflector layers may be metal oxides or semiconductor oxides. Binary as well as ternary or quaternary oxides can be used. For example, the materials of the reflector layers may be at least one selected from: SiO.sub.2, Ta.sub.2O.sub.5, MgF.sub.2, ITO, ZnO, CaF.sub.2, BaF.sub.2, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2, ZrO.sub.2, Y.sub.2O.sub.3, HfO.sub.2, In.sub.2O.sub.3, and Nb.sub.2O.sub.5.; see at least paragraphs 0089 and 0103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transflective film as taught by Lenef et al. in order to achieve semiconductor light source that improves light-extraction efficiency.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 15, McCabe et al. discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding a thickness of the first layer is between 100 nm and 200 nm, a thickness of the second layer is between 50 nm and 100 nm, a thickness of the third layer is between 25 nm and 75 nm, a thickness of the fourth layer is between 75 nm and 125 nm, and a thickness of the fifth layer is between 10 nm and 50 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of the first layer is between 100 nm and 200 nm, a thickness of the second layer is between 50 nm and 100 nm, a thickness of the third layer is between 25 nm and 75 nm, a thickness of the fourth layer is between 75 nm and 125 nm, and a thickness of the fifth layer is between 10 nm and 50 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lauren Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871