Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Ye et al., CN 111750105) alone.
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-20, a fitting for a liquid cooling loop of an information processing device, comprising:
a plug (6) comprising a mating protrusion (7) and a plug gland surface (Surface of 6 that contacts O-ring 10 defines the plug gland surface.);
a socket (3) comprising a socket gland surface (Surface of 3 that contacts O-ring 10 defines the plug gland surface.) and a mating recess configured to receive the mating protrusion in a mated state of the plug and socket (Portion of 3 that receives 6 defines the mating recess.); and
an O-ring (10),
wherein the plug gland surface and socket gland surface are configured to, in the mated state, form a gland which contains the O-ring (Figures 4,8,12,16, and 20),
wherein the plug gland surface comprises sealing surface features (20) and the socket gland surface comprises complementary sealing surface features (21) configured to, in the mated state, compress the O-ring therebetween and form a plurality of non-radial seal pairs (in the compressed state, 20 and 21 form non-radial seal pair.), and
wherein each of the non-radial seal pairs comprises two contact-stress surface-seals formed by one of the sealing surface features and one of the complementary sealing surface features on opposite non-radial sides of the O-ring (The protrusions 20, 21 are disposed on opposite sides of O-ring 10. The inclined surfaces of 20, 21, and the flat surfaces adjoining the inclined surfaces together define the contact-stress surface seals of the assembly.)
D1 discloses the claimed invention with non-radial seal pair, except for a plurality of non-radial seal pairs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of non-radial seal pairs, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One skill in the art would realize that having a plurality of non-radial seal pairs would yield predicted effective sealing environment.
For claim 2, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the sealing surface features of the plug gland surface comprise a face-seal surface feature and a first angular-seal surface feature, and the complementary sealing surface features of the socket gland surface comprise a complementary face-seal surface feature and a complementary first angular-seal surface feature (one of the inclined surfaces of 20, 21 defines the first angular-seal surface feature and complementary first angular-seal surface feature respectively. Figure 20), wherein the face-seal surface feature and the complementary face-seal surface feature are configured to, in the mated state, engage opposite axial sides of the O-ring to form a face seal pair (Figure 20), the face seal pair being one of the non-radial seal pairs (Figure 20), and wherein the first angular-seal surface feature and the complementary first angular-seal surface feature are configured to, in the mated state, engage a first pair of opposite diagonal sides of the O-ring to form a first angular seal pair, the first angular seal pair being one of the non-radial seal pairs (Figure 20.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 2, wherein the face-seal surface feature comprises an axial protrusion from an axial face of the plug and the complementary face-seal surface feature comprises an axial protrusion from an axial face of the socket (20 and 21 have axial protrusions. Figures 12, 16, and 20.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 3, wherein, in the mated state, the face-seal surface feature is axially aligned with the complementary face-seal surface feature (Figures 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20.)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 2, wherein the first angular-seal surface feature comprises a first sloped surface in an axial face of the plug and the complementary first angular-seal surface feature comprises a second sloped surface in an axial face of the socket (Figures 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 5, wherein, in the mated state, the second sloped surface and the first sloped surface are sloped at a same angle relative to an axis of the fitting (Figure 20.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 2, wherein, in the mated state, in a cross-section a line extending from the first angular-seal surface to the complementary first angular-seal surface feature is at a non-zero non-right angle relative to an axis of the fitting (Figures 8, 12, 16, and 20.)
For claim 8, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 7, wherein, in the mated state, the line extending from the first angular-seal surface to the complementary first angular-seal surface feature is at an angle θ relative to the axis of the fitting (Figures 20), where the absolute value of θ equals 45°±15°.
D1 discloses the claimed invention with the first angular-seal surface feature is at an angle θ relative to the axis of the fitting, except for the absolute value of θ equals 45°±15°. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the absolute value of θ equals 45°±15°, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One skill in the art would realize that having the absolute value of θ equals 45°±15° would yield the expected effective sealing for the intended environment.
For claim 9, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 2, wherein the sealing surface features of the plug gland surface comprise a second angular-seal surface feature and the complementary sealing surface features of the socket gland surface comprise a complementary second angular-seal surface feature (Figures 8, 12, 16, and 20), and wherein the second angular-seal surface feature and the complementary second angular-seal surface feature are configured to, in the mated state, engage a second pair of opposite diagonal sides of the O-ring to form a second angular seal pair, the second angular seal pair being one of the non-radial seal pairs (Figures 8, 12, 16, and 20.)
For claim 10, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the sealing surface features of the plug gland surface comprise a first angular-seal surface feature and a second angular-seal surface feature, and the complementary sealing surface features of the socket gland surface comprise a complementary first angular-seal surface feature and a complementary second angular-seal surface feature (Figures 8, 12, 16, and 20), wherein the first angular-seal surface feature and the complementary first angular-seal surface feature are configured to, in the mated state, engage a first pair of opposite diagonal sides of the O-ring to form a first angular seal pair, the first angular seal pair being one of the non-radial seal pairs (Figures 8, 12, 16, and 20), and wherein the second angular-seal surface feature and the complementary second angular-seal surface feature are configured to, in the mated state, engage a second pair of opposite diagonal sides of the O-ring to form a second angular seal pair, the second angular seal pair being one of the non-radial seal pairs (Figures 8,12,16, and 20.)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 10, wherein the first angular-seal surface feature comprises a first sloped surface in an axial face of the plug and the complementary first angular-seal surface feature comprises a second sloped surface in an axial face of the socket (Figures 4,8,12, and 16); and wherein the second angular-seal surface feature comprises a third sloped surface in the axial face of the plug and the complementary second angular-seal surface feature comprises a fourth sloped surface in the axial face of the socket parallel to and facing the third sloped surface (Figures 4,8,12, and 16.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 11, wherein, in the mated state, the second sloped surface and the first sloped surface, are sloped at a first angle relative to an axis of the fitting, and the fourth sloped surface and the third sloped surface are sloped at a second angle relative to the axis of the fitting (Figures 4, 8,12, and 16.)
For claim 13, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the plug (6) comprises a first base portion (portion of 6 with largest diameter) and a first channel extending through the base portion and through the mating protrusion (channel in 5, 6), the mating protrusion protruding axially from the plug, the plug gland surface comprising surfaces of the first base portion and the mating protrusion and wherein the socket comprises a second base portion, an axial ring, and a second channel (9) extending through the second base portion, the matting recess comprising a portion of the second channel, the socket gland surface comprising surfaces of the axial ring and the second base portion (Figure 4.)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Ye et al., CN 111750105) in view of D2 (Kesler et al., US Pub. App. 2020-0047592).
For claim 14, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a radially outer surface of the mating protrusion comprise a tapered lead-in.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-4, system with a socket 40 and a plug 20 with a radially outer surface of the mating protrusion comprise a tapered lead-in for ease of assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plug of D1 to have a radially outer surface of the mating protrusion comprise a tapered lead-in, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an ease of assembly.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Ye et al., CN 111750105) in view of D3 (Tadano et al., US Pub. App. 2015-0137460).
For claim 15, D1 discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein a radially outer surface of the mating protrusion comprises an O-ring seat configured to carry the O-ring in a non-mated state of the plug and socket (Figures 4, 8, 12, and 16), and a sloped ramp configured to engage the O-ring during a mating of the plug and socket such that the O-ring slides along the sloped ramp and the sloped ramp stretches the O-ring radially outward.
D3 teaches a sealing system with socket 1 and plug 2 having a sloped ramp 21 to facilitate sealing engagement with the seal 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a radially outer surface of the mating protrusion comprises a sloped ramp, such that the sloped ramp configured to engage the O-ring during a mating of the plug and socket such that the O-ring slides along the sloped ramp and the sloped ramp stretches the O-ring radially outward, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of facilitating sealing engagement with the seal.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Ye et al., CN 111750105) in view of D4 (Pawlak et al., US Pub. App. 2007-0284094).
For claim 16, D1 discloses an information processing device comprising: but does not disclose a chassis; a primary system board comprising one or more electronic components disposed in the chassis; and a liquid cooling loop disposed in the chassis and configured to circulate liquid coolant to cool the one or more electronic components, wherein the liquid cooling loop comprises the fitting of claim 1.
D4 teaches a system with computer case, liquid cooling, and electronic components, CPU, pimp, and heat exchanger providing a compact unit (Abstract, para. [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the components of D1 are incorporated in a chassis having a primary system board comprising one or more electronic components disposed in the chassis, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a compact unit.
For claim 17, D1 discloses an information processing system comprising: but does not disclose a plurality of information processing devices, respectively; and a system liquid cooling loop configured to circulate liquid coolant to the information processing devices, wherein the system liquid cooling loop comprises: a coolant distribution unit comprising a heat exchanger; local cooling loops disposed, respectively, in chassis of the information processing devices to cool the information processing devices, liquid supply lines connecting a supply side of the coolant distribution unit to the local cooling loops of the information processing devices; liquid return lines connecting the local cooling loops of the information processing devices to a return side of the coolant distribution unit; and one or more instances of the fitting of claim 1.
D4 teaches a system with computer case, liquid cooling, and electronic components, CPU, pump, and heat exchanger providing a compact unit (Abstract, para. [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the components of D1 are incorporated in a plurality of information processing devices, respectively; and a system liquid cooling loop configured to circulate liquid coolant to the information processing devices, wherein the system liquid cooling loop comprises: a coolant distribution unit comprising a heat exchanger; local cooling loops disposed, respectively, in chassis of the information processing devices to cool the information processing devices, liquid supply lines connecting a supply side of the coolant distribution unit to the local cooling loops of the information processing devices; liquid return lines connecting the local cooling loops of the information processing devices to a return side of the coolant distribution unit, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a compact unit.
For claim 18, D1 discloses the information processing system of claim 17, wherein the information processing devices include a first information processing device having a first chassis and a first local cooling loop inside the first chassis, wherein the system liquid cooling loop comprises a first local pump module disposed in or attached to the first chassis and comprising one or more pumps, wherein the one or more instances of the fitting comprise a first fitting communicably connecting the first local pump module to the first local cooling loop.
D4 teaches a system with computer case, liquid cooling, and electronic components, CPU, pump, and heat exchanger providing a compact unit (Abstract, para. [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 to include a pump to circulate the cooling fluid, as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a compact processing unit.
For claim 19, D1 modified with D4 teaches the information processing system of claim 17, wherein the one or more instances of the fitting comprise a first fitting (5 of D1) communicably connecting one of the liquid supply lines to one of the local cooling loops (D1 modified with D4 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 20, D1 modified with D4 teaches the information processing system of claim 17, wherein the system liquid cooling loop comprises a manifold (24 of D4, Para. [0014]), and the one or more instances of the fitting (5 of D1) comprise a first fitting communicably connecting the manifold to one of the liquid supply lines or one of the liquid return lines (D1 modified with D4 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Brusila (US Pub. 2015-0123663); Brunschwiler (US Pub. 2016-0059367); and Varghese (US Pub. 2014-0346739).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675